Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 22nd September 2019 - 17:53:25

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > RJ's Pineapple Choc Triple Logs review

« Hardcore Henry reviewHardcore HenryRJ's Jumbo Licorice Allsorts reviewRJ's Jumbo Licorice Allsorts »

Score: 9.4/10  [22 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 7257 - RJ's Pineapple Choc Triple Logs
Manufactured by RJ's Licorice

RJ's Pineapple Choc Triple Logs
Price:
$2.59 / triple pack
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by RJ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

RJ's Pineapple Choc Triple Logs product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsFor those self-indulgent moments, enjoy an RJ's Licorice log.

Savour the soft and sweet Pineapple licorice, made to our own unique recipe, then bite through and feel the snap of the fine Belgian-style choc centre. Ah, sweet heaven all in one bite.

Check out RJ's Licorice onlineClick here to see all the listings for RJ's Licorice Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chocolate   levin   licorice   liquorice   nzmade   pineapple   rjs
Other listings you may be interested in:
Chocolate Pineapple BallsChocolate Pineapple Balls
Rating: 9.5
Simple Spicy Beef StirfrySimple Spicy Beef Stirfry
Rating: 9.7
RJ's Jumbo Licorice AllsortsRJ's Jumbo Licorice Allsorts
Rating: 9.6
RJ's Licorice MedleyRJ's Licorice Medley
Rating: 9.6
Beak & Sons Slow Cooked Pork in Apple BBQ SauceBeak & Sons Slow Cooked Pork in Apple BBQ Sauce
Rating: 9.4
Farmland Thin-Sliced SalamiFarmland Thin-Sliced Salami
Rating: 8.3
RJ's Salted Caramel Choc Triple LogsRJ's Salted Caramel Choc Triple Logs
Rating: 9.8
Corn Nuts - Chile PicanteCorn Nuts - Chile Picante
Rating: 8.1
RJ's Sour Twisters - SodaRJ's Sour Twisters - Soda
Rating: 8.6
Chocolate Raspberry BallsChocolate Raspberry Balls
Rating: 9.3
RJ's Sour Twisters - CitrusRJ's Sour Twisters - Citrus
Rating: 8.8
Spicy Fruit LoafSpicy Fruit Loaf
Rating: 9.3
House of Dumplings - Full HouseHouse of Dumplings - Full House
Rating: 9.0
RJs Soda TwistersRJs Soda Twisters
Rating: 8.3
RJ's Berry TwistersRJ's Berry Twisters
Rating: 9.4
Pretzel Crisps - Buffalo WingPretzel Crisps - Buffalo Wing
Rating: 9.9
Barrys Bay Peninsula BlueBarrys Bay Peninsula Blue
Rating: 9.7
RJs Fruity TwistersRJs Fruity Twisters
Rating: 9.1
Kiwi QuinoaKiwi Quinoa
Rating: 9.2
RJs Sour Twisters Logs - Grape & LimeRJs Sour Twisters Logs - Grape & Lime
Rating: 8.6
Meyer Garlic & Chives GoudaMeyer Garlic & Chives Gouda
Rating: 9.3
RJ's Raspberry Licorice StrapsRJ's Raspberry Licorice Straps
Rating: 9.2
RJs Sour Twisters Logs - Cola & RaspberryRJs Sour Twisters Logs - Cola & Raspberry
Rating: 8.9
Cursed PizzaCursed Pizza
Rating: 8.8
Kiwi Bacon - Maple MiddleKiwi Bacon - Maple Middle
Rating: 9.3
La Mole Sfornatini Mini Breadsticks - Olive OilLa Mole Sfornatini Mini Breadsticks - Olive Oil
Rating: 8.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 4th of April, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

With RJ'S Licorice manufactured literally down the road it is no wonder their treats have become a guilty pleasure. Their Raspberry Chocolate Logs in particular are a favourite! I was excited to try the Pineapple Choc Logs, a sneaky little treat all for me!

First of all the colour of the licorice on the packaging is very vibrant upon opening the licorice I was happy to see it was not quite as bright. I was anticipating a flavour somewhat similar to Pineapple Lumps. The Pineapple flavour was quite strong but somewhat unnatural. It was very sweet, sweeter I found than any of the other flavours. Usually I would peel the licorice from the chocolate, eating the licorice first then the delicious chocolate. Does anyone else find the chocolate inside RJ'S Licorice far better than any other chocolate? Anyway I decided not too eat it this way this time. I did enjoy the flavour but found it too sweet, I certainly could not consume the three logs in one sitting!

I find the RJ'S Licorice triple packs great value for money and the perfect self indulgent treat, addition to gifts or treat to share. Although I found this sweet my daughter,11, loved the flavour and said she would pick this flavour over any other. I wouldn't pick Pineapple everytime but would when I find myself with a particularly sweet tooth.

Click here to read the profile of axiath

Review by: axiath (Diana)
Dated: 12th of November, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

RJ's Licorice are well known in our house for quality, New Zealand Made licorice and chocolate combinations. When we saw the chance to try the Pineapple Choc Logs - we jumped at the opportunity! The price of the product is listed at $2.59 for 120g / 3 logs. This is a reasonable price for the quality and size of the product, and the handy triple pack enables easy sharing with family or friends (if they're lucky!).

The logs are nicely packaged, an easy size and shape to store in a lunch box or hand bag. The package presents well with an eye catching, familiar design. The interior of the package is a foil type for freshness, and is easy to open. The Pineapple Choc Logs also have a reasonable shelf life. On opening the packet, we noticed a very strong pineapple smell - similar to that of a pineapple K Bar. Unfortunately the packet may have been submitted to some heat in transit causing the logs to stick together, making it quite difficult to get a log out without opening up the entire packet, and reducing the chance of saving any for later (not that we would, so that's not an issue for us!).

First bite - I'm in love. As a self confessed sweet tooth, the RJ's Pineapple Choc Logs appeal to me greatly. The chocolate centre is the same indulgent chocolate used in other RJ's products and never disappoints. The pineapple licorice is very sweet, which may be a draw-back for some, and the texture seems to be softer than the raspberry logs. The licorice can also get stuck to your teeth quite easily, which is not unusual for flavoured licorice.

Overall - another quality product from RJ's Licorice, worth trying if you're intrigued at all by the combination of pineapple with chocolate, however may not be suited to those who do not like very sweet treats. 10/10 will buy again.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 2nd of November, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am a bit of a sucker for the RJ chocolate licorice logs and they regularly make it into my shopping trolley but rarely survive the car journey home so I had no doubt that these would be well worth trying. I love pineapple flavoured anything so a combination of chocolate and pineapple seemed like agreat idea.

These Choc logs come in a pack of three and once you open the pack its very hard not to eat all three logs. I usually kid myself that I will just have one but they are so incredibly good that its nigh on impossible not to demolish them all in one sitting and of course they are way to good to share!

The pineapple choc logs are a pineapple outer surrounding a chocolate inner. These are the perfect combination of pineapple and chocolate and are incredibly yummy. The pineapple is actually really sweet so for the first time I found myself able to put them in the cupboard and eta just a bit at a time but that could be because I had almost a kilo of other RJ licorice in the cupboard to get through as well!

I really did enjoy eating these and will definitely buy them again in the future. They are actually a great substitute for pineapple lumps as the choc logs are very moist and melt in your mouth. I can definitely recommend these if you like pineapple and need a sweet treat to get you through the day. Price wise they are good value for money and at $2.60 per packet an affordable treat.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 8th of October, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

OMG I think I have died and gone to heaven RJ's Licorice has managed to combine all my favourites into one treat, pinceapple, licorice and chocolate whats not to love! The second I saw that this combination was being released I had to try it, I searched all the local shops but no-one had it in yet. Thankfully KIWIreviews saved the day by sending me a pack in my review package.

The second my review parcel arrived and I spotted this in it I barely managed to take a photo before ripping into it. From first bite I wasn't disappointed like all the other flavours RJ's had another winner on their hand. The pineapple flavour wasn't as strong as I expected but I think RJ's has the combination just right. Any stronger and the chocolate centre would of been lost. I had planned on trying just a little and keeping the rest to try in a dessert but by the time I gave the husband some to try and kept nibbling myself it was soon gone. I blame the perfect soft texture to the licorice and the yummy Belgian-style chocolate they are just too good not to keep eating!

Thankfully doing my shopping the next day I discovered the local supermarket now stocks it so I could buy some more and try my dessert. I have a pineapple lump cheesecake recipe which is a favourite so I made it up replacing the pineapple lumps with chopped up pineapple logs instead. I'm pleased to say once again it was winner by everyone who tried it, including a friend who almost didn't try it because she doesn't like anything licorice! I will be buying it again for sure, it's my new shopping day treat.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 8th of October, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Oh my, this has to be one of the best review items I have had to date. I absolutely love pineapple and chocolate also licorice so in my eyes this was the perfect combination and I was excited to try it. Our household are big licorice eaters and chocolate eaters so I was looking forward to giving this a try. I love the fact that RJ's seem to come out with amazing different combinations, and this was another amazing combination.

I was surprised to find that the pineapple flavour was not as strong as I would have liked. However, perhaps this was done on purpose as otherwise it may have overpowered the chocolate flavour and lets face it, you don't want to overpower a chocolate flavour. I really enjoyed biting into the licorice to find that it was a really soft licorice and not tough and chewy like some other brands. In my eyes there was the perfect amount of chocolate in the middle and it was the perfect amount to blend nicely with the pineapple licorice.

The packing on the pineapple chocolate logs is really good. I love the fact that although it looks simplistic it is really effective and I feel that the yellow from the pineapple chocolate log picture makes it stand out. I think if you walked past a supermarket aisle you would spot this licorice easy with its bold yellow colour on the front. I found the packaging really easy to tear open and get into.

I think that having three logs in one pack is great. I think two logs wouldn't be enough (especially when you need to share) so having three is ample for sharing especially with a small family for a treat. In my opinion, these are the perfect size to chuck in your handbag when heading out or into my work drawers when I want a sneaky mid afternoon sugar kick. Price wise I think this is really reasonable for an amazing flavour and a good amount of licorice. Another fantastic product RJ's.

The size

Click here to read the profile of gamerulz

Review by: gamerulz (Mike)
Dated: 6th of October, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Not a fan of fake pineapple flavours so this wasn't one I was super keen on, just a bit curious and wanted to do my bit to help get the reviews out. I have tried, and like, the berry logs so I knew the general idea of these - fruity licorice on the outside with a stick of chocolate down the middle, kinda like an edible pencil. :D I know the single logs are more than a dollar each so three logs for under $3 was a good deal no matter how you spin it. Still, taste is everything, am I right?

The taste was a little disappointing, but only a little. It tasted sorta like pineapple but it wasn't quite right. It still had something else in the back that threw me off but when the chocolate flavours joined in everything tasted pretty good so I'm not going to mark it down. If you like the flavour of licorice and sorta-pineapple then the logs are going to ring your bell more than it did for me I guess. Still, everyone has their own flavour preferences and I gotta say this wasn't too bad in the end.

I ended up sharing the last log with a couple of girls in the office and they were pleased by them. Worked better than flowers would. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 2nd of October, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have always loved licorice. My earliest memory of eating licorice was pulling it from my rabbit birthday cake that Grandma had made me when I was four, licking the icing off it and then eating the strip and of course then unsticking it from my teeth. Fast-forward 30 odd years and you can now get licorice in tubes, allsorts, bullets, chocolate coated, chocolate filled...the list goes on.

I was especially excited to see these Pineapple Chocolate logs come onto the market, combining two of my favourite flavours, how could I resist? My daughter and I already love the RJ's raspberry chocolate logs and we were eager to taste the pineapple logs. The first taste was just divine....very similar to the first lick of a Pineapple Fruju (another favourite of mine), so of course I was hooked! The chocolate centre was creamy and smooth and complimented the pineapple licorice coating very well.

I have since been out and bought more of the logs and used one of the logs sliced thinly as a topping on a pineapple cheesecake that I made for a friends dinner party we attended. They were a hit with the guests with them all commenting of their yummy taste, and many of them coming up with more ideas on their uses; cupcake toppings, in lollie cake and on pavlovas!

I would recommend to everyone who loves licorice, RJ's licorice is soft and always tastes fresh, so you will not be disappointed.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 29th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I love a good licorice though after a bad experience flavour wise a few years ago, I haven't strayed outside of my comfort zone too much, so getting these to review was the perfect opportunity to do just that. The kids and I split one log between the four of us, which worked out well as none of them were particularly fussed about it, with one giving it a big thumbs down and asked to spit and rinse to get rid of the taste.

I didn't find that I could really taste the pineapple in this, it was such a weak flavour in my opinion however I thought that the chocolate was delicious. I ended working out a good compromise with myself, chewing off the pineapple outer and then letting the chocolate melt in my mouth. I have been slowly finishing off the logs. I don't like how gummy the outer is and this is a big put off for me, I only ate it so I could get to the choc centre. Had the kids really liked it I would have considered buying it, though I am trying to avoid foods that contain palm oil (this has palm kernel oil, which various lists star as another name for it).

The chocolate is divine, the pineapple not so much, not sure I'd get this again.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 28th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I grew up with Licorice Allsorts as a special treat and any licorice brings back fond memories of my younger years. I have been ignoring this in my review box while I wait for inspiration to strike but finally thought to just eat it especially as my kids started asking why I was saving it and how did I plan to review it without eating it.

I had to divide the logs in half so that all four of us could have a taste. Mr 6 said it was yuck and he wouldn't even take a second bite. My other two loved it. I found the pineapple outer layer was a bit sticky, I would have preferred a firmer outer layer, tasted rather sweet. I have a sweet tooth but found that was a little bit too sweet. The chocolate log on the inside was nice and not too hard. I am not a fan of dark chocolate so it was nice to realise that the chocolate was milk chocolate. The last log was easy to cut into three pieces.

Although I did like this licorice I wouldn't buy it again as I prefer the strawberry with white chocolate which is unfortunately very hard to find at times.

Click here to read the profile of kime82

Review by: kime82 (Kim)
Dated: 22nd of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

These RJs pineapple choc logs were the first item I wanted to try in my review box, they really stuck out as looking very interesting and I had never tried this brand before.

The concept of putting the pineapple flavour on the outside and the chocolate on the inside is brilliant. I was alittle bit worried about an overbearing licorice flavour as I have never been a huge fan of black licorice but do enjoy the other flavours including raspberry. However you can't actually taste any licorice which I enjoyed but lovers of licorice may not, the pineapple is lovely and sweet with a jelly like consistency and the chocolate is solid milk chocolate on the inside. I would describe these as an inside out pineapple lump.

I love that these are New Zealand made as everything seems to be going overseas. I think the price is very reasonable being approximately $2.59 for a pack of 3 logs. The only thing I didn't like was that my kids loved them too so I had to share otherwise a double thumbs up for me. I can see these as being stocking stuffers in the upcoming Xmas season or as a sneaky after the kids are in bed treat.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 21st of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have had this sitting in my review box for close to a week now dying to try. My plan was once alone I would open but I have not had that luxury and I always seem to have someone with me at all times, either my two girls or my husband. So yesterday I bit the bullet and along with my daughter we broke one of the three logs up into mouth size bites, for the both of us to enjoy.

I love Pineapple, even though I am not supposed to eat it. While in Fiji I ate it fresh every day right up to our wedding and on wedding day I had a bad reaction and my tongue swelled. Looking back it is funny but at the time it was not! The acid in fresh pineapple reacts with my skin and I usually break out in bad excema or my tongue expands. Taking one of the bite size pieces my tongue started to play up and felt like it had a fizzy lolly on the back of it. I am not sure if it was the licorice or not but I decided not to take any more until my husband came home.

After dinner last night I pulled out the second log and again broke up into bite size pieces for the rest of the family to experience. All three loved them and asked for more. I was a little more hesitant in trying as my husband told the wedding day story. But, after some peer pressure from the three of them I took another sample. The delightful taste of pineapple hit me straight away followed by the chocolate taste and thankfully this time no tingling. My tongue was safe.

I can not say if it was this product or not that gave me that reaction. I love licorice and am always sneaking black licorice home with me after an outing and I think in future I might stay away from this product and stick to the black flavour. My girls and husband loved it and finished the third log last night where as I was content on just having the one piece and letting them enjoy the rest. I know it was not the chocolate as have the black and red licorice with the chocolate center all the time, so maybe it was the Pineapple flavouring, my daughter has the same reaction with cherry flavouring. Yummy but in future I think I will look at it from a distance.

Click here to read the profile of hoollypoolly

Review by: hoollypoolly (Holly)
Dated: 19th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

RJ's Licorice Logs have always been my go to treat. I'd drive home from work and stop at the supermarket to collect things for dinner and inevitably end up with RJ's in my trolley. TIP: If you leave them in your glovebox they get all soft and gooey! Now i've got another licorice log to add to my glovebox family and my RJ's love.

I was so excited to try these. After trying the latest Whittaker's pineapple and chocolate combo I had high hopes for this product and it didn't disappoint. Unlike the Whittaker's chocolate this product doesn't seem to be a limited edition as well. Let's start with the colour: Beautiful, bright and vibrant. They say you eat with your eyes and I was definitely ready to try these little sunshine logs.The taste: YUM! The pineapple was reminiscent of pineapple Fruju's I'd eat as a kid and the chocolate always has the greatest snap to it.

So after keeping two to myself and reluctantly sharing the third with the husband we're fans and dare I say it I think I prefer these ones over the raspberry. My advice is to a live a little next time you're wandering the confectionery aisle and try something a little different. RJ's pineapple logs are the perfect treat.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 18th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I can't stand black licorice, never have, never will! However, in the past, I have tried RJ's Licorice Strawberry White Chocolate Logs and Raspberry Choc Logs which I've really enjoyed as they appeal to my 'sweet' tooth (unlike the bitter black stuff!) I was very excited to try the Pineapple Choc Logs as I thought it would be an interesting combination.

The packet contains 3 sticks (1 stick = 1 serving) of milk chocolate coated in a pineapple licorice which luckily is not the same colour as the packaging suggests! Upon opening the wrapper, I was first greeted with the lovely smell of pineapple. The sticks are quite flexible and the milk chocolate inside is quite firm without being hard. The logs are 40g each which makes for a nice size serve for an adult. The logs are slightly chewy but the combination of chewy pineapple licorice and slowly melting chocolate is a refreshing one and reminiscent of pineapple lumps, but better! The Belgian Style chocolate tastes like good quality chocolate and the licorice to chocolate ration is perfect.

I really enjoyed Pineapple Choc Logs and I'm sure my girls would too, but unfortunately for them, they're not going to be able to sample this pack! If you are looking for a tasty, refreshing treat that's a little bit different from the rest then I would recommend these Choc Logs.. They are also very reasonably priced so ideal for the whole family.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 17th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have always been a fan of RJ's licorice products and was so excited to try the pineapple choc log. In fact, after requesting to review I did get a little impatient and try and find it in our local supermarket, unfortunately they haven't yet got it on the shelves. So I had to be patient and wait until my review parcel had arrived with a pack of the pineapple choc log hiding inside! Having waited what seemed like forever to try it I managed to save it for a time when hubby was sleeping and I didn't have to share!

Upon opening the packet I first noticed the colour of the licorice. On the packet it appears quite a bright yellow colour, however the product is a much duller yellow. This is good as it would require a lot of extra unnatural colouring to get it as bright as the colour on the packet. I do think too that because it has a slight translucent look to it the yellow is dulled a little bit with the brown chocolate behind it.

I pulled one of the logs out of the packet and had a little smell. I was greeted with the most amazing smell of pineapple. Pineapple is one of my favourite flavours and I was pleased to find that it wasn't an overly fake smelling pineapple as some products can be. One of my favourite parts of eating an RJ's choc log is sinking your teeth into the soft licorice before breaking the chocolate on the inside and hearing it snap. The pineapple choc log did not disappoint! It was just the same as eating any of the other RJ's choc logs. The flavour of the pineapple with the chocolate was just amazing. In fact it was so amazing that some how the three logs disappeared pretty quickly. I was pleased I didn't have to share!

There is only one issue I have with this product - now that I know the pineapple choc log is so good, how do I choose between it and my other favourite raspberry choc log when treating myself?! Fingers crossed it won't be long until our local supermarkets are stocking it.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 15th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Liquorice is something I have never been a fan of, black liquorice that is. But according to a quick google search, the alternative spelling of licorice is used to differentiate between those flavoured from the liquorice extract, and those that are not and are commonly made into chewy ropes and tubes. So seeing that this product wasn't black, and was spelled with a "c", I decided it was safe to give it a try.

As the picture n the packaging quite rightly shows, this product is comprised of a slim cylinder of chocolate, surrounded by a layer of pineapple flavoured chewiness. The flavour itself is very reminiscent of the "Kiwi's favourite lollies", 'Pineapple Lumps', and I enjoyed it. The fact that it didn't get stuck in my teeth much was a factor that actually puts it slightly higher in the rankings. Overall it's a nice blend of flavours and textures, with the sweetness of the pineapple , the smoothness of the chocolate, and the chewiness of the licorice.

I quite liked their choice of chocolate, very smooth and milky. Wasn't hard and clunky like other brands, it was solid enough to provide a slight crunch when you bit into it, but then it becomes a melt in your mouth sensation. The style of chocolate reminds me of advent calendar chocolate. smooth taste, soft texture, and a slight hint of a nutty flavour to it. The pineapple licorice leaves sweet notes on the edge of your palate, and the flavour lingers long after the product has been eaten.

With the sweetness of the pineapple though, a 3 log pack actually becomes a share pack. Normally I could eat 250g+ in a sitting and still want more, but I felt satisfied after one and a half, so I'd definitely need to find someone to share with, or find a good place to store it until I'm hungry again. An enjoyable treat, which I will definitely add to the list of "things to look out for" at the local dairy.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 15th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love licorice and always have. When new flavours come out I have to try them because well thats what I do. I have had raspberry with choc, and mango with choc. When I saw pineapple choc logs, I mean I love pineapple and chocolate (not together normally) but its also licorice how can you not want to try. This also comes in a 3 pack instead of a 2 pack so its triple the yum. I love the packet cause it tells you what is in there and gives you a picture of what it will look like when you bite into it.

When I opened the packet there was a slight pineapple smell but when I actually pulled it out and gave it the smell test it didn't smell like pineapple, it was weird, I can't even explain the smell to be honest. But I was still keen to give it a go, biting into the pineapple choc log, there was a hint of pineapple not as much as I was hoping and the chocolate seemed to already be broken inside in sections (this could of been from shipping or handling) it didn't affect it but didn't give that feeling of breaking into the chocolate with my teeth that I was hoping for, but again nothing major to complain about, I will just have to buy more.

$3 for a pack of 3 is pretty good actually and I would be happy to pay for that for a different flavour of licorice, just really wish the taste of pineapple was a little stronger. I would be sure to buy these again.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 24th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

My husband and I love licorice and everything made from licorice. It appears that our children are following in our footsteps in this regard too! Along with the other licorice products from RJ's that I have already tasted and enjoyed, I have also previously enjoyed some of their variations of the logs that they have created. I thought that pineapple version would be worth a try as I usually enjoy pineapple flavoured products.

The outside casing of the log is very different to what I would consider licorice to be. Although it is made by RJ's Licorice, I assumed that it was a product which had evolved from the licorice logs that RJ's also make. Upon closer reading of the ingredients, I found that this product does in fact contain licorice extract. This did surprise me a bit as it doesn't taste like licorice at all. The outside colour of the product was very different to the colour shown on the front of the packaging. Instead of a vibrant yellow, the actual product is more of a greeny-yellow colour. I am hoping that this difference in colour is because they have used less colouring in the product. My preference would be to have less (or even better no) colouring rather than gaining the perfect colour.

The inside of the log consists of a hard log of chocolate. I have got to say that it tasted rather nice. I was interested to see what was in the chocolate, so off to the ingredients list I went. I found that there was palm kernel oil in the list. I don't know a huge amount about it, but I understand that it isn't good for our environment to be using this product. I think that I will need to do a bit of research on this ingredient to make a fair decision on my thoughts about the inclusion of it in RJ's products. For the time being, I will enjoy the chocolate until I work on my knowledge of the specific ingredients!

I sliced one of the logs up into little discs, as I often use products like this as decorations for children's birthday cakes etc. I wanted to know how easy it was to cut through the chocolate log without damaging it too badly. I found that if I was slow and patient, I could slice through it without changing the shape of the piece excessively or allowing the chocolate to crumble too much.

I remember using lollies to learn to use chopsticks in Japanese class at high school. The pile of lollies that I had created by slicing up the log seemed to offer a perfect chance to teach my children to use chopsticks. The fact that they are slightly sticky and not shiny and slippery on the outside allowed the children to have a better chance of actually being able to pick them up with the chopsticks.

There were very mixed reactions in our house with this product. My husband wasn't into it at all as he found that it stuck to his teeth too much as he tried to eat it. I have got to say that I had the same experience, however I put up with it! The children were happy just to eat as much of it as they could get their hands on. Overall, we didn't think that it was very licorice-like. The kids and I enjoyed it This product isn't my favourite version of the choc logs that RJ's have produced and therefore I am unlikely to make it a priority to choose this one again. This is not to say that I didn't like it, more that I REALLY like RJ's other products and would tend to buy them instead.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 23rd of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We love RJ's licorice in our house so I was pretty excited to see that RJ's had released a new flavour, and better still that it was available for review! I am huge fan of pineapple flavoured foods and of chocolate (who isn't) so this flavour sounded like something I would love, I couldn't wait to try it.

Opening up the packet I was hit by a strong aroma of juicy pineapple, there was no mistaking that this was a pineapple flavoured type of lolly that's for sure. With 3 individual licorice logs in the pack I decided to cut 1 into 3 pieces for my family to all try, Miss 3 loved it and quickly gobbled it down, as did both my partner and myself. We all agreed that it tasted absolutely delicious and that the taste of pineapple was nice and fruity and really complemented the chocolate hit in the middle, the textures worked together perfectly, soft and chewy licorice on the outside with a yummy creamy real chocolate stick in the middle, a great all round combination.

I had been busy thinking up other possible uses for the remainder of my licorice logs for some time with several ideas popping to mind such as using it to decorate cupcakes, or to add to pineapple flavoured ice cream, however at the supermarket the other day I spotted the new Whittakers K-bar chocolate and pineapple and decided to grab a block, together with the licorice logs I created the most delicious chocolate pineapple fudge. This was so simple to make and I loved how easy the licorice logs were to slice through, and also the fact these did not melt when added to a relatively hot fudge mixture. The flavours of the fudge were amazing and it was a nice surprise every time you would bite into a piece of licorice log, my whole family including my partners parents loved the fudge and even took some home with them, they thought the pineapple flavour went really nicely with the chocolate, must say that I love how far 1 licorice can go!

This is certainly another product of RJ's which we will continue to buy without any second thoughts, we have actually been out trying to source some already however it is yet to hit the shelves it seems much to my partners disappointment as he wanted a pack for his fishing trip the other day, though he happily settled for a raspberry chocolate licorice log instead! I would love it if RJ's would consider making up a mixed fruit licorice bag that contains all of their delicious fruity and chocolatey flavours in one as sometimes it's hard to decide just which one to buy, this way we could have all our favourites in one bag!

A great product at a unbelievable price, you really can't go wrong 10/10 for me!

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 22nd of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I don't like chocolate so I asked lots of friends to help me sample this product - and boy, was I sorry! I could have eaten the entire three-pack without any assistance at all. The predominant taste and texture was that of the pineapple licorice (reminiscent of a fruit leather) and the presence of the chocolate it was wrapped around was quite muted in contrast which meant, to my great surprise, that I really liked it! I chopped each roll into four so that there was enough for my ten tasters and two pieces left for me (because I needed extra to be able to write the review, ok?)

My testers were divided in their reactions. The younger ones (ranging from 13 to 35) liked it and commented particularly on the pineapple taste. The youngest said he loved the chewy texture which had just the right degree of firmness. A second person (aged 29) said she found it moreish and could easily eat the whole packet. She also commented that there was a slight after-taste of lemon and paeroa! I could not find any mention of lemon in the ingredients listed on the label, but there is a reference to "natural flavour" so I guess it is possible that both pineapple and lemon flavours are included!

The older people who tasted it were less enthusiastic. One person said it stuck to her teeth and a second said she thought it was a bit "weird" and she found the pineapple far too dominant (well, hey, it was a pineapple log!) However, a third "older" person (age 63) said he liked the al dente texture of the licorice and the slightly crunchy quality of the chocolate filling.

I think that means that this is a product that will appeal to some people but not everyone. Personally I loved it and if chocolate is going to be packaged like this, I could even become a chocoholic. And next time, I will not even think of sharing!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 22nd of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Pineapple is one of my favourite flavours, and while pineapple liquorice isn't actually a new thing - it's a flavour that has popped up a number of times over the years - it's one that to date no-one has managed to make into a liquorice product itself - it's always been a flavour of the icing, or coating the liquorice. Until now. RJ's have managed to make a pineapple flavoured liquorice that is liquorice, and does taste like pineapple. Wrapping it into a tube and filling with with soft, melt-in-your-mouth milk chocolate has elevated this humble treat to something almost artistic.

When I opened the packet, I was hit with a not-hugely-pleasant smell. I figured it was something to do with the gas pumped into the packaging to extend the shelf-life, so my strong suggestion is to open the pack, remove the liquorice and leave it on a plate for 10 minutes to 'breath' and allow the liquorice to restore itself to it's natural, delightful scent. Which, is, no surprises, a wonderfully rich, sweet and tangy pineapple.

Biting into these logs, you get an instant hit of the pineapple taste, followed by the crisp cracking of the chocolate that quickly becomes a smooth and creamy flavour spreading through your mouth as the heat in your mouth melts it. This is a taste experience I can never hope to describe properly, so I can only encourage you to head down to your local dairy, supermarket, gas station or wherever... and BUY SOME! If they don't have any, ask them to get some from the wholesaler on their next visit.

Overall, for a naughty but oh-so-nice treat... this is a must-try!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 16th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have always loved RJ's licorice and have tried most of the products over the years. When I was offered their Pineapple Choc Logs to review I knew my family would be keen to be taste testers. The fact that it came in three logs made it easy to share and it was a good incentive for my girls to tidy their bedroom.

With the pineapple on the outside and the chocolate on the inside we decided to call these our "inside out pineapple lumps." They really were. The taste was so similar but not the look and texture. The outside was a soft sweet pineapple licorice.The inside was a harder chocolate core.In summer I would probably keep these in the fridge so the chocolate didn't go too soft. The only negative thing we all commented on was the colour. Instead of being a bright yellow like on the packet it was a greenish-yellow. This is purely cosmetic but the taste was a perfect mix of pineapple and chocolate.

As I was cutting up the logs to drip feed the bribery I thought they looked like eyes. The girls agreed so they helped me to make faces on biscuits using thin slices of the logs and wine gums. These were a big hit with the kids and didn't last long although I smuggled some into their lunchboxes for the next day. The log's flavour was still obvious on the biscuit and suited the chocolate icing.

This is a product I will happily get to share with the kids or sneakily eat on my way home from the supermarket. It is affordable although I have yet to see this new product in stores yet. I am thinking my girls will be searching for it. Maybe we will get a packet of another RJ's log to make sharing easier.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 14th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love choc logs and these looked to be a great alternative to the usual raspberry flavour, so I was keen to try them when they came up for review. At 120g, this little packet actually holds a reasonable amount of product and the 3 logs go quite a long way. As well as being great to snack on by yourself, they cut up nice and easily so can be shared around a group setting too.

I started off by offering these around my family - Miss 7 really doesn't like lollies much, so I wasn't expecting her to like them... but for review purposes I eventually persuaded her to try a small piece. I'm pleased to report that she was straight back for a second piece - success! The fact that she liked this product is testament to the fact that they aren't overly sickly sweet - at least in small quantities!

Hubby and I both enjoyed them and noticed that you could definitely tell it was pineapple flavour, and that it tasted quite natural which was great. The colour is quite a murky yellow, as the pineapple part is slightly translucent and you can see the chocolate coming through from the middle. This is something to note if you are using this to decorate cakes and so on - they aren't a bright artificial yellow. They are sticky on your teeth like a choc log should be... with plenty of flavour to last in your mouth for quite some time! I also tasted a piece of the chocolate from the middle on it's own and am pleased to report that it's not like some artificial cooking chocolates - it's a really nice, creamy milk chocolate - yum!

I had some leftover pineapple juice after some other baking and decided the flavour would blend really well with the choc logs, so made some chocolate muffins topped with pineapple icing and the choc logs on top. They were really nice and the natural juice in the icing along with the pineapple sweets did go together really well. I'd happily buy these again for a sweet treat - yum!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.2
Product reviews for listing 5122: Indian Creations: Korma -  Produced by Watties

Product image for Indian Creations: KormaCreate your own soft velvety Korma, where the delicate mix of authentic spices does all the talking. Simply add lamb or chicken and some cream (or full fat yoghurt). That's all it takes to prepare an aromatic Korma to charm everyone's taste buds.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do, and they will surprise you with their ingenuity."
George S. Patton (1885 - 1945)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream