Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 23rd September 2017 - 03:18:56

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > DIY Ingredient Kits > Sachie's Kitchen - Pad Thai review

« Sachie's Kitchen - Lemongrass Chicken reviewSachie's Kitchen - Lemongrass ChickenInternational Comedy All-Stars 2017 reviewInternational Comedy All-Stars 2017 »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.2/10  [11 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 7529 - Sachie's Kitchen - Pad Thai
Brand / Manufacturer Sachie's Kitchen

Sachie's Kitchen - Pad Thai
Price:
$9.99
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Sachie

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at all leading supermarkets

Sachie's Kitchen - Pad Thai product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsEach Sachie's Kitchen meal kit serves four. They include all the base ingredients you need, including pastes, sauces, herbs and spices and noodles or rice, with only a couple of additional perishable ingredients required. The pastes have been prepared locally by myself, and I have sourced some of the more exotic authentic herbs and spices directly from Asia - meaning the kits provide the best of both worlds! Traditional, authentic ingredients along with New Zealand's fresh produce. Yum!

For every Asian country that I visit, I have a favourite noodle variety - and of course for Thailand that could only be Pad Thai. I learnt how to cook this years ago in Bangkok, and I was surprised how a dish could be so delicious and so simple once you knew the right tricks and balance of flavours. I've taken the guesswork out for you and in 30 mins with my Feed 4 Meal Kit you could be enjoying authentic Pad Thai!

What's Included in the Kit
    •  Chilli Flakes
    •  Roasted Peanuts
    •  Shallots
    •  Rice Stick Noodles
    •  Sachie Sauce

What you'll Need
    •  600g Chicken Breast
    •  3-4 Cloves of Garlic
    •  100g Mung Bean Sprouts
    •  2 Eggs
    •  40g Flat Chives (Small bundle)
    •  Cooking Oil

Ingredients
Sauce [Sugar, Tamarind Concentrate (tamarind, water, salt, preservative (211)), Fish Sauce (fish, salt, sugar), Pickled Cabbage], Tapioca Rice Sticks [rice starch, tapioca starch, salt], Dry Roasted Peanuts, Fried Shallot, Chilli Flakes.

Allergens:
    •  Contains: Peanuts, Fish
    •  May Contain: Sesame, Soy, Sulphites, Crustacea

Check out Sachie's Kitchen onlineClick here to see all the listings for Sachie's Kitchen Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cabbage   chilli   fish   gluten free   glutenfree   meal kit   no added msg   nzmade   peanuts   rice   salt   shallot   sugar   tamarind   tapioca   vinegar
Other listings you may be interested in:
Sachie's Kitchen - Lemongrass ChickenSachie's Kitchen - Lemongrass Chicken
Rating: 8.8
New Zealand Redcurrant JellyNew Zealand Redcurrant JellyM's Bear BiscuitsM's Bear Biscuits
Rating: 8.8
Betty Crocker's Chocolate Caramel MuffinsBetty Crocker's Chocolate Caramel Muffins
Rating: 9.6
Watties Tomato Sauce - Fiery ChilliWatties Tomato Sauce - Fiery Chilli
Rating: 7.9
Wattie's Toasties - Corn and CheeseWattie's Toasties - Corn and Cheese
Rating: 9.0
Healthy Choice : Fillet of LambHealthy Choice : Fillet of Lamb
Rating: 8.9
Chocolate Raspberry BallsChocolate Raspberry Balls
Rating: 9.3
Puhoi Valley Lemon Delicious YoghurtPuhoi Valley Lemon Delicious Yoghurt
Rating: 10.0
Italian Creations - Watties CarbonaraItalian Creations - Watties Carbonara
Rating: 7.7
Meyer Sheep's Milk GoudaMeyer Sheep's Milk Gouda
Rating: 8.8
Mac Snack - Lite RoastedMac Snack - Lite Roasted
Rating: 7.8
Tuna Cheese Munchie MixTuna Cheese Munchie Mix
Rating: 7.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 10th of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was thrilled to be given the chance to review this Pad Thai by Sachie's Kitchen. I absolutely love Pad Thai but never bother to make it at home as I always feel its too labour intensive, especially given I have 2 children under the age of 5 and work during the day I love meals that are easy to throw together. I was intrigued that the box said 30 minutes and I kind of laughed and thought there is no way I will get this made in 30 minutes. Well I was about to be proved wrong.

I opened the Sachie's Kitchen box and tipped it gently out onto the bench. I loved that everything was in individual packets meaning I didn't have to measure anything I could just throw it together as per the instructions. It was also nice that they were in clear packets so you could easily see what everything looked like which is another bonus for me as I like seeing what I am adding. I found the instructions really simple to follow and loved that nearly everything I needed was in the box.

I loved the taste of this pad thai. It was beautiful and refreshing and I even added a few drops of lime juice onto my meal to give it that added wee boost. I was a bit hesitant about the pad thai sauce that I needed to add as when I touched it on my finger and tried it I found it a bit sweet and overpowering. However once it was mixed through the meal with all the other ingredients you couldn't really taste the sweetness. I loved the mix of peanuts and the fried shallots as it brought a whole new texture to the dish. I think it was wise having the chilli flakes to add at the end. I love my meals hot so I added a decent shake to the top of my meal and it was just beautiful.

All in all I would happily by this again. The ease of use was great - my meal was prepared in the 30 minute window, the taste was fantastic (it didn't taste like the normal bland store brought meals) this packed a decent amount of flavour. I think $9.99 for the price is really reasonably especially for its size. Great work Sachie's I can't wait to try your other meal options.

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 2nd of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I've really loved Pad Thai ever since my chef sister introduced it to me when we were dining out together a few years back. I was excited to try out Sachies Chicken Paid Thai meal so when I received the kit I checked the ingredients that would need and luckily all I needed to buy was some mung bean sprouts and chicken breasts.

I decided to have the Pad Thai on work/school night as the packet said 30 mins to cook and any working parent knows this is a major plus! The instructions were easy to follow and even my daughter decided to help, which was a total surprise. All the ingredients supplied looked very authentic and I loved the way the spicy ingredients were separated in their own packets giving you the choice to add to meal or not which is especially child friendly.

In true 30 mins time the meal was ready to be served and there was just enough for my family of four to eat for our dinner. The smell was beautiful and I really was looking forward to eating the meal, but unfortunately after a few bites the Pad Thai sauce was just too sweet for me and I struggled to complete eating it. I couldn't say that for my husband though, he has a sweet tooth and he really loved it even eating the rest of mine I could not finish eating.

In conclusion, I love truly loved the idea and execution of the meal kit, but I was left a bit disappointed with the over-sweetened sauce that overpowered the dish for my tastes.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 2nd of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Opening up my review box and seeing the Sachie's Kitchen pad thai kit was fantastic! As every busy household with children knows, mealtimes, what to think of, what you need, and, having something different is a constant battle. We do not do different meals for the kids and us, as we like that they try new things, and broaden their horizons! What interested me most about the kit was that everything was included, and that it said it should only take 30 minutes - EXCELLENT! Not to mention - pad thai - not many I have met do not like it!

Reading the box, the instructions are clear and concise, the two varieties we received from Sachie's Kitchen are easily distinguishable and it is very simple to see at a glance what is included and what is needed. This is especially important if you have tripped to the supermarket with children - in and out quickly is the key!! Clearly stated are the allergen warnings also - great to see!

Opening the box was simple - nothing to struggle with, and removing all the items I was a little worried that the kit may not have enough to feed four (albeit two adults and three children), but thought it best to trust, start cooking and see.

Following the instructions was easy, and in a good logical order - thank you Sachie's Kitchen - this bit is 10/10 in my book!! Cooking was a breeze, and the kids quickly wanted to know what was for dinner, and if they could help add the "bits" to it - even better - HELP with dinner! True to its word - 30 mins later, it was ready, and time for the taste test.

For the children my concern with the chilli flakes and whether they would like the mung beans and shallots. In the end theirs was a little different, leaving off the mung beans. There was enough for all 5 of us, but, to the kids and my husbands dismay - no extras for lunch or seconds - but - it shows that in fact you can squeeze a meal for five from this.

The taste conclusion - YUM!!! The kids and both of us thought it was delicious!!! The right amount of spice and herbs, not too little or too much sauce, and perfect amounts of everything that was included. Like a previous reviewer - I found the sauce a little sweet, but only towards the end, and not enough to put me off buying.

I would love to see Sachie's Kitchen make these in slightly bigger kits - to feed five or six - and I know my husband would love that too!

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 1st of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Pad Thai is a favourite in our household and with two children 3 and under dinner times are always a busy time, hence the reason why I was so excited to try out this meal kit - something to lessen the load and I'm totally all there! With only my husband and I eating this meal, I followed the kit's directions and froze the other half of the meal which we had for dinner last night. I wanted to wait until I had tried this before writing this review - knowing whether I could have this option with the food keeping its full flavour and textures etc was an important aspect to add to this review I felt Smile Icon I am more than happy to report that Sachie's Pad Thai meal kit is a ten out of ten review from me.

The packaging of this meal kit is great, it has a design that isn't overpowering and the important parts don't get lost amongst any chaos. Amongst the information of the ingredients and about Sachie's Kitchen is the simple easy to follow instructions along with the "what's included in the kit" and "what you'll need". I found this great as I could quickly glance at the box and immediately know what I needed to make this meal.

The ingredients are everyday, the instructions are simple and easy to follow... this meal really was quick and easy, hassle free and delicious eating! I timed myself out of interest and it literally did take me 30minutes from start to finish. I have to say that I worried a bit that this meal/flavour base might be a bit spicy as sometimes that's the way with new brands I haven't tried before but this was not at all the case. The flavour was mild in spice, strong in flavour and the sauce was enough that it didn't dry out to nothing but at the same time wasn't too much that the meal resembled a soup of sorts. This meal kit had perfectly portioned ingredients in every packet I opened and used.

It is without a doubt that we will be buying this meal kit in the future and I look forward to continuing to enjoy this delicious meal. If you want an easy, hassle free dinner that's still full of flavour like you created it yourself from scratch then I highly recommend Sachie's Kitchen Pad Thai!

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 30th of June, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I do have to admit that I have never tried Pad Thai before, but I was very keen to give it a go. It is just my husband and I at home, and sometimes we can have late finishes at work, have work meetings and other commitments during the week so having some easy but healthy meals certainly helps us to get through the week. When the Sachie's Kitchen kits came up for review I was very keen to have a go at them as I do enjoy trying new things in the hope that we will have new things I can include on our fortnightly menu plans.

Many of the ingredients needed come in the box, however there were still a number of items that I needed to buy - definitely more than the "couple" mentioned in the description above. I collected together all of my ingredients and set to work. Unfortunately I didn't take note of exactly when I started to be able to time it, but it did take a little longer than the 30 minutes stated, but this often happens when I try something for the first time as I re-read each step that many times to make sure I am doing it right!

I did find the instructions on the back easy to read, although some of the "steps" were actually more than just one step and I did re-read a few times to make sure I hadn't missed anything. I managed to follow them all right through to the end though, so to me that means the recipe is easy enough to follow. I did love the fact that all of the components within the box were very clearly labelled so that I knew exactly which one I was putting in. My only downfall was that the little packets didn't include an easy tear section so getting them open had to be done with a pair of scissors.

Our house was smelling absolutely amazing by the time I dished it up. My husband commented a couple of times during cooking about how good it smelt. I served it up and we settled down to eat. As mentioned earlier I have never had pad thai before so I can't comment on how authentic the flavour is, however after tasting the meal I now have to make sure to try it in a restaurant some day soon! The flavour was amazing, even though it was almost, and I say ALMOST, a little too sweet. I have however been participating in Junk Free June this month and have limited my sugar intake for almost 4 weeks so the level of sweetness could have been affected by the fact my taste buds have almost forgotten what sugar is! It didn't matter though as it was completely yummy. I appreciated the chilli flakes coming as a spice on their own that could be added if you wished. This meant I could sprinkle a few flakes on mine but hubby could have quite a bit more. The few that I had added just the right amount of kick to the meal for me but meant that I wasn't sweating through the whole eating experience!

One big test for me being in a house of two is how a meal stands up to being reheated as left overs. I made my way to work the next day with my bowl of left over pad thai, hopefully about to make all of my work mates jealous! When it came to lunch time I heated it in the microwave before sitting down to tuck in. The noodles were a bit sticky and had clumped together, but other than this the meal tasted just as good as the night before. So the left over challenge got a big tick from me!

Price wise I am not 100% sure whether the kit itself is worth $10. I could probably buy all of the ingredients for less than that, however it is convenience and if I was completely honest with myself I would admit that a few extra dollars for convenience is totally worth it, especially on a busy night when we still want to eat something reasonably healthy that is quick to make.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 22nd of June, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I quickly looked at the box this morning before running out the door and thought I had read Green Beans along with the 600 grams of Chicken, Garlic, Eggs and Chives. Easy no worries. So after work I ran into the supermarket grabbed some green beans and chicken as had everything else and was patting myself on the back at how good my memory was. Left the box on the bench and put the ingredients away as my husband was making it tonight while I was out with the girls having a Brownies outing.

Came home to dinner practically been made and being asked did I know the difference between Green Beans and Mung Bean Sprouts which clearly I did not. So dinner was not quite the way it was suppose to be cooked but we were all okay with this. My husband said it was easy to prepare and that our Chives were not looking too healthy so another item missed out from the dish. But the rest was in there with extra garlic cloves added for good measure.

While it was being dished up I had a proper look at the box and was impressed at the layout of it all. So much information was displayed on the box. The steps are laid out very well and if you do bother to take your time looking at the things you will need it does state the correct bean required as well as Allergen Warning and Nutritional Information. I also like there is a 'how to' video online you can watch if you need any help in aiding you to make it correctly.

The box states thirty minutes but my husband did say he thought it took a little longer than that. I was so glad it was mild as nobody complained that it was too hot or spicy everyone ate it completely. We all adored the noodles and I loved the egg mixed in, I would happily add another couple of eggs as it tasted fantastic getting little hints of it. The peanuts were also a huge hit with the girls and they would like more dishes where we add peanuts because of it.

All and all everybody enjoyed it. It is the first time I have had Pad Thai so I was not quite sure what to expect. I think the concept is fantastic providing a majority of the ingredients so there is only a couple of things needed to add, it makes hectic lives just that little bit more easier. I am keen to see what other meals are available as this was definitely a hit for the family.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 18th of June, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have never tried to make Pad Thai before, nor have I tried it myself so I was excited to make it and see how it was. I liked how it is a mild dish and can add chilli flakes to suit, which makes the dish family friendly for everyone. I enjoyed reading the box and the steps for making the Pad Thai are very simple and easy to follow. I wanted to cook this for dinner tonight and did not have the mung bean or chives, so went without them. I feel the dish was still yummy without them and so did everyone else.

I feel the meal did not take long to cook, and I liked how easy it was to make. For someone who had never made the dish before I did not feel lost or confused about what I was doing. I read the instruction once and got to prepping and cooking the meal. I really liked how eye catching the box is and how the layout is easy to follow and easy to read.

The taste of the Pad Thai was really yummy and I enjoyed my dinner. My son really enjoyed his and asked for seconds which was great as he can sometimes turn his nose at trying new food. My mum really enjoyed her meal and went back for seconds as well. I still have enough left over for lunch tomorrow, which is great to get a lot of feeds from one dish. Price wise this could add up a bit, once you buy the box and the added ingredients on top of it. Flavour though is a pass and time and effort to make it is a pass. Very easy and simple and goes a long way.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 8th of June, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love a lot of asian dishes but can be a bit fussy at the same time. I think asian cuisine really suits me as I love noodles and rice and spices and could eat these sorts of meals every day. Having recently been found to be gluten intolerant it is important to me to find gluten free meals and recipes so I was excited to try this but a bit hesitant as I did notice there was fish sauce in the ingredients list. I am not a fan of fish sauce and with asian dishes at restaurants I will often avoid anything I can see that has fish sauce or oyster sauce in the ingredients. I do not eat any form of fish and the smell I find very off putting.

As with the other Sachie's Kitchen meal kit I tried Lemongrass Chicken the recipe and the kit are so easy to follow and make cooking no fuss. I had organised all my ingredients so cooking was a breeze with Sachie's clear and precise instructions. I have never had much luck cooking rice noodles but the instructions made this a bit easier and I think my noodles were pretty good and not as plasticy/slimy as I have made in the past. The other instructions were just as easy and helped me learn some new techniques I did fail a little in my attempts to scramble egg in the same pan as the chicken by pushing to one side but was mostly successful!

When it came to the point I was to add both the pad thai sauces I started to think no I am not going to be able to eat this, the fish sauce smell was very strong at that initial point but after a few minutes cooking down I could no longer smell fish at all. I was still very skeptical and worried I wasn't going to like the meal I had cooked but I waited and gave it a go. I served the meal up on plates with the additional toppings in bowls for everyone to add to their taste.

I must admit I wanted to add everything to mine so I could get the full experience and I sprinkled the chilli flakes on like you would sprinkle salt or pepper, ooops!! My mouth was on fire to say the least but the pad thai was so good I wanted to keep eating despite the mouth burn. I could not taste fish as much as I tried to pick up on fishy notes the taste had all gone and any odour too. I loved the addition of the peanuts and the shallots as a topping but perhaps would go a bit easier on the chilli flakes next time.

I loved my experience with pad thai and may be more keen to try other dishes with fish sauce in the future as long as I can not taste or smell the fish!! Very impressed by these meal kits and great for a busy mum trying to find new gluten free ideas with limited cooking experience!!

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 8th of June, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

As was the case with the Lemongrass Chicken, I've also never had Pad Thai before. But chicken and egg noodles sound pretty good so I figure what is the harm in giving it a try. As is to be expected with these products, Half of the ingredients you have to buy in addition to the pack. This pack needed 600g of chicken breast, 4 cloves of garlic, 100g of mung bean sprouts, 2 eggs, and flat chives. My supermarket is pretty limited apparently, so I had to get a :Crunchy Sprout Bean Mix" in place of the mung bean sprouts. All up the extra items cost me $25, so when adding in the pack, this meal for four costs a total of $35.

This meal took a lot longer for me to prepare than the 30 minutes specified on the box, all up taking about 50-55 minutes to do (Boiling the 2 litres of water in the first step took 15 minutes in itself. Would probably recommend using the kettle to boil it first). My meat also took a bit longer to cook, so my noodles did start to dry out a bit (rinsing in cold water again loosened them up nicely). All completed, my meal embarrassingly looked nothing like the photo.

Taste-wise, it was still delicious, though the fish sauce was a much stronger flavour in this meal. The tamarind and pickled cabbage created a brilliant flavour that soaked into the egg noodles, but the fish sauce seemed to primarily soak into the chicken. As far as the garnishes went, the peanuts and deep fried shallots were not altogether noticeable, but the chilli flakes definitely gave a little bit of a kick to the palate.

The meal was more time-consuming than I was prepared for, and the fish sauce flavour was too overpowering for my taste, so as a single male, this will not be a meal that I will likely try again. But I can definitely see how for a family, these meals can help bring variety and pizzazz to the usual dinners that can easily become mundane and stagnant.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 31st of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I absolutely love Pad Thai, as does the rest of my family, even Miss 4 is willing to eat it. However since first trying Pad Thai many years back I have tried several Pad Thai dishes that are absolutely amazing and others that haven't really been up to standard. Seeing this product up for review I was interested to see how it would stack up against some restaurant quality dishes, could something out of a packet really taste that amazing? There was only one way to find out...

The box of Sachie's Kitchen Pad Thai meal kit comes with almost everything that you need to make an authentic Pad Thai dish at home, it has the Pad Thai sauce, rice stick noodles, deep fried shallots,roasted peanuts and chilli flakes. Which in my opinion is awesome for such a product. All of the other ingredients listed I luckily had on hand which meant no needing to dash to the supermarket for ingredients... perfect! Everything was in it's own little package and each of these were labeled well, so there was no mistaking what was what.

Preparing the meal was easy. Firstly you boil some water in a pot which is used to cook the noodles in. While the noodles are cooking you cook up the chicken and then add to this the garlic and oil and cook. The egg is then cooked to create a scrambled egg, and then to this is added the noodles, the Pad Thai Sauce and 50mls of water, and heat until all of the water is absorbed. Once done the meal is garnished with the peanuts and the dried shallots, and if you're brave enough the chilli flakes (brave I was not).

It is important that the instructions are followed word for word ESPECIALLY the part which states to cook the noodles for only 2minutes and 30 seconds on high heat, I have to admit I wasn't to good at following this perfectly and I think I may have overcooked my noodles, as when added to the rest of the ingredients they seemed rather gluggy and didn't really mix in very well.

As far as tastes go, this was delicious, the meal was full of flavour, the sauce rich and slightly sweet, and there was plenty of it. The dried shallots were a lovely addition and I loved the crunch they added to the dish along with the peanuts. My partner loved it and asks which shop I had purchased from, when I said I made it he didn't believe me until he saw the box! This is better than some restaurants Pad Thai I have had in the past and for the price it is great value, will be buying again.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 12th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have eaten Pad Thai many times - both as a takeaway meal and as part of a restaurant selection - so I will admit to being skeptical about just how well a packet product might measure up. I chose to cook it for four other family members in order to have plenty of feedback, so they were all banished from their own kitchen and I took over for the half hour that the packet assured me would be needed for preparation.

The first test was passed without any complications. It took me exactly 30 minutes from opening the packet to serving up, and as I followed the directions exactly, I was glad to note this as it is useful to be able to estimate preparation times. I was also pleased to see that the chilli was packed separately and was an optional extra to add at the end - a good point when two of the diners are children!

The process was very clearly set out in the instructions - easy to follow, and the smaller ingredients were packaged separately. There were two packets of the main sauce but no indication as to whether they were packaged like that in case the cook wanted to prepare half the packet in one go rather than the whole lot. I tasted both as I opened them and could not tell the difference, so I am assuming this was the reason. That would be a bonus if you were cooking for just one or two people.

All of us really liked the flavour. My daughter, who counts Pad Thai as one of her favourite foods, said it was as authentic as meals she has had from various Thai restaurants and takeaway shops. In fact, she went so far as to say it was one of the best she had tasted! The finished product matched the picture on the packet, so this had not been touched up to entice the shoppers! The fish sauce flavour came through but did not overwhelm, and since we could add the chilli to our own taste, that really added to the experience by drawing out the flavour.

In terms of quantity, we had enough for three adults and two young children, and did not feel we had been deprived. Some packet meals advertise that they feed four and then there is barely enough for two. This was absolutely not the case with this product; there was plenty for everyone. The children enjoyed it, even Mr Seven who is quite fussy about what he eats, and they commented especially on the garnish of peanuts and shallots. Mr Seven said he would like a few more peanuts, but that was the only complaint.

There were several ingredients that could cause a problem for people with allergies (notably peanuts) but the contents were clearly listed on the pack and there is even an "allergen warning" which is a great idea; I wish more firms did this! The bought ingredients could be varied of course. I got chicken breast because that was what was specified, but some of us thought we might try it with prawns next time. And it would also be nice with more nuts for vegetarians and no meat at all. I am going to try it that way too.

Finally, the price. We did some quick sums to include both the RRP for the packet and the cost of the extra items, and it came to approximately $22 altogether. For a family of three adults and two littlies, or four adults, or simply three very hungry adults (!) that is a lot cheaper than the cost of the same item as a takeaway or at a restaurant. And it has the added bonus of being cooked and eaten immediately. This is a product we will certainly be looking out for on our next visit to a supermarket.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.8
Product reviews for listing 3637: Pics Peanut Butter - Original No Salt -  Produced by Pics Really Good Peanut Butter

Product image for Pics Peanut Butter - Original No SaltGood Aussie nuts, fresh roasted and masterfully squashed in Sunny Nelson, New Zealand. Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter - Original No Salt only contains peanuts.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why does someone believe you when you say there are four billion stars, but check when you say the paint is wet?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream