Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 15th August 2018 - 21:08:24

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > RJ's Sour Twisters - Citrus review

« RJ's Sour Twisters - Soda reviewRJ's Sour Twisters - SodaD-Link COVR Seamless WiFi System reviewD-Link COVR Seamless WiFi System »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.9/10  [10 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7974 - RJ's Sour Twisters - Citrus
Manufactured by RJ's

RJ's Sour Twisters - Citrus
Price:
$3.49
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by RJ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

RJ's Sour Twisters - Citrus product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsHungry for an exciting new treat? Try RJs Twisters. They come in a range of delicious flavours to tantalise your taste buds, but here's the real twist... they don't contain licorice.

Two twisted flavours per pack: Orange & Lime.

Ingredients:
cane sugar, wheat flour, glucose syrup (wheat/corn), water, humectant (E422), acidity regulators (E330, E331, E262), rice bran oil, vegetable fat (from sustainable source), natural flavours, natural colours (E100, E163, E120, E160a), salt, gelatine.

Allergens:
Gluten from Wheat

Check out RJ's Licorice onlineClick here to see all the listings for RJ's Licorice Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
lime   nzmade   orange   rjs   twisters
Other listings you may be interested in:
RJs Berry TwistersRJs Berry Twisters
Rating: 9.4
Lime and Mustard Seed DressingLime and Mustard Seed Dressing
Rating: 8.6
Chocolate Raspberry BallsChocolate Raspberry Balls
Rating: 9.3
Whittakers Braeburn Apple with Vanilla ChocolateWhittakers Braeburn Apple with Vanilla Chocolate
Rating: 8.8
Aberdeen on BroadwayAberdeen on Broadway
Rating: 9.4
Vege Grande PizzaVege Grande Pizza
Rating: 9.0
RJ's Sour Twisters - SodaRJ's Sour Twisters - Soda
Rating: 8.7
RJ's Pineapple Choc Triple LogsRJ's Pineapple Choc Triple Logs
Rating: 9.4
Orbit RestaurantOrbit Restaurant
Rating: 9.5
Gluten-Free Garlic Flattie Heat'n'EatGluten-Free Garlic Flattie Heat'n'Eat
Rating: 9.3
Oxford Steak & Cheese pieOxford Steak & Cheese pie
Rating: 9.0
RJs Fruity TwistersRJs Fruity Twisters
Rating: 9.1
RJs Soda TwistersRJs Soda Twisters
Rating: 8.7
SP Herb Massaman Curry PasteSP Herb Massaman Curry Paste
Rating: 9.1
RJ's Salted Caramel Choc Triple LogsRJ's Salted Caramel Choc Triple Logs
Rating: 9.8
RJs Sour Twisters Logs - Grape & LimeRJs Sour Twisters Logs - Grape & Lime
Rating: 9.0
Anathoth Beetroot ChutneyAnathoth Beetroot Chutney
Rating: 9.8
RJ's Jumbo Licorice AllsortsRJ's Jumbo Licorice Allsorts
Rating: 9.6
TOMeTTe - Leek and Potato SoupTOMeTTe - Leek and Potato Soup
Rating: 9.3
RJs Sour Twisters Logs - Cola & RaspberryRJs Sour Twisters Logs - Cola & Raspberry
Rating: 8.8
RJ's Licorice MedleyRJ's Licorice Medley
Rating: 9.6
Chocolate Pineapple BallsChocolate Pineapple Balls
Rating: 9.5
RJ's Raspberry Licorice StrapsRJ's Raspberry Licorice Straps
Rating: 9.2
Barker's Lime CurdBarker's Lime Curd
Rating: 9.0
Manuka Smoked Garlic SaltManuka Smoked Garlic Salt
Rating: 9.2
Crema di Parmigiano ReggianoCrema di Parmigiano Reggiano
Rating: 7.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 9th of August, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Citrus and sour go together perfectly, they are literally made to be together. And a touch of extra sweetness alongside that- what could be better? Citrus is always a firm favourite in our household, and with a sour twist to these lollies, we were so excited to give them a try.

At first glance the bag is a very generous size- perfect for sharing and great for dipping into over a few sittings. When I first opened the bag I was really pleased to see that each sweet was a really generous size- much more than a single mouthful. The colours were really bright and enticing, and it was really clear to see which flavour was which. The lollies were clearly made up of two components, an outer covering with an inner core. When you eat them, the first thing that you get is the outer chewy shell, which is a mild and mellow lime or orange flavour. However, when you reach the central core, that is when all of the action happens. The incredibly zingy and sour core wasn't chewy, but almost dissolved in the mouth- not too dissimilar from a sherbert. So whilst you might start out with a mild citrus flavour, the finish is a huge hit of sour power. That sour nature was so different and worked so well for me, that before I knew it the bag was empty- you just have to keep going back for more.

Once again, RJ's have come up with such a delicious and different sweet. If you are looking for a really strong citrus hit, these may not be the lolly for you. However, if you are after citrus and sour as a fantastic pairing, with that sour hit which truly keeps you going back for more, these are a winner. Finding something quite as sour as this is quite rare, and so I have been very impressed.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 5th of August, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I absolutely adore coloured licorice-type lollies, so jumped at the chance to try the RJ's Twisters Sours - I mean - sour lollies and licorice - yum yum yum!! RJ's make great quality confectionery, so was super excited to see these in my review box from KIWIreviews when I opened it.

The packaging for all the RJ's products is quite recognisable, as their simple black and white logo catches your eye. What I also love is that on all their products you are able to easily see what you are buying thanks to the bold colour and big writing. My three children aged 9, nearly 7 and 5 are able to easily distinguish between the flavours and could easily tell me what they thought the flavours were going to be when I asked them - thumbs up to RJ's for making it simple!

Opening up the package, I noted it is foiled - meaning all the flavour stays inside, even, I you do not eat them all in one sitting! I would love to see a resealable package - maybe encouraging us to not eat so many and be able to enjoy them on more than one day (who am I kidding!) The nutritional information is easy to read and although was not hugely interested - was good to see the ingredients (albeit a far amount of sugar) contained natural flavours and colours. The size of the package is 180g making it a great share size.

I offered these to my children as well as trying them myself - on the proviso that they tried both the orange and the lime flavours. I toyed with the idea of telling them that they were sour - but wanted to see their honest reaction to them. We all tried the orange twister first, taking it out of the bag. I noted that the colour itself is more yellowy than orange - but you can tell that was what they were aiming for. Biting into it I was met with screwed up faces from the kids and a bit of a winch from me - definite sour kick to the sherbet typre inner - but one that I (and the kids) enjoyed. Trying the green - was not quite a flavourful, and to be honest was more tangy than sour. The green tasted quite a bit more sugary - but, still both were nice.

I would buy these again for something different to have, and definately recommend to others to try - I am not sure they would be everyone's taste - but there are a few different flavours you could try to see which one you like best. All in all these are quite moreish and a nice change to the usual chocolately based sweets we have a fair bit of.

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 29th of July, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

My friends and I indulged in these on a board games night, the packet being a good size for us to share. The packet is certainly eye-catching and we are all fans of citrus so we were pretty excited to dive into these. All four of us were rather unanimous on our feedback, the orange was great, as one person said, it tastes like solid orange raro. If you grew up being one of those kids who loved to sneakily stick your finger in the raro powder and lick it, then you know what we mean! It was excellent, all of that got eaten rather quickly!

By comparison the green one was not as popular, we hadn't looked at the pack so didn't realise it was meant to be lime flavour until we did. One person said it was quite a fruity flavour but what flavour exactly was unclear. The other comments were that it was "meh" and "bland." That said we did eat most of them but more because they were there than that they were our preference. We didn't find either flavour to be particularly sour.

Overall, the pack is reasonably priced so pretty good value for money. Three out of the four of us would buy the orange on it's own but not the mixed pack due to not really liking the lime as much.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 28th of July, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

There's no doubt that this product catches your eye, it's bright and colourful and you don't have to read it to guess what's inside.

The orange twisters got a thumbs up from all three of my children, they all agreed that it had a good orange flavour but my nine year old agreed with my view that the outside of the orange one didn't taste as good as the middle, finding that it had a slightly odd taste, though my other two children didn't think that and thought it tasted just right. My mum tried a piece and said that although it had a good flavour she wasn't too fussed on it. A bit dissapointing was that these massively outnumbered the green ones, to the point that this family of five each got one and a half of the lime each and four of the orange one each.

The lime was the most popular of the two flavours, which made it dissapointing that there was hardly any of it to eat. I actually didn't like lime as much as everyone else though it had a really nice zing to the sherbet in the middle, however I found the odd slight aftertaste a little stronger in this variety, so not quite sure what it is that I'm tasting. I really like that these have centres to them and that added a bit more to the product than just thick chewy lollies. I love that the palm oil is from a sustainable source and made in New Zealand is an even bigger plus.

While I'm not in love with this, all three of my kids thought it was fab and it's a product I'll happily buy again for them.

Click here to read the profile of onyxcyrus

Review by: onyxcyrus (Cat)
Dated: 25th of July, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Iā ™m not a fan of black licorice but love the coloured varieties so was looking forward to trying these! Once opened it was easy to see that the pictures of the twisters on the bag were slightly bigger than in real life and the colour much more orange and green than they actually are. A quick glance inside the bag showed that they were about 80% orange so definitely not evenly distributed.

However going on the taste the sherbet inside the orange twisters has a nice tangy taste to it, slightly sour but not too much. The outside of the twister tastes a bit like orange peel but when chewed together with the sherbet itā ™s a nice mix and there is a good ratio of lollie to sherbet. The green twisters outside didnā ™t really taste like lime but the sherbet did and they tasted delicious anyway. They also had a good ratio of sherbet to lollie.

They taste good so are easy to eat, I prefer them like this in a bag rather than in a stick form but it would be easy to not stop and keep eating and these are full of sugar. There are approximately 4.5 servings per bag which is around 6 pieces per serve which should leave you feeling satisfied. RJā ™s lollies are made in Levin so itā ™s nice to be supporting a NZ made product. The packet states that the palm kernel oil is from a sustainable source which is good. These are a good alternative to the usual lollies you can buy and Iā ™ll definitely be buying theses again and trying some other flavours.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 23rd of July, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have always been fairly fond of anything that is a citrus flavour, I also have quite a sweet tooth, especially when it comes to confectionery. RJ's has got to be one of my favourite NZ brands when it comes to delicious treats, so I was keen to get my hands on a packet to sample. Thankfully in my KIWIreviews box there was a packet included, as soon as I had taken the photo of the items I quickly tried one of each flavour.

This packet of Citrus Mix Twisters would certainly stand out on the grocery shelf, it has bright colours and you can't help but look at it. The nutritional information on the back of the packet says there are approximately 4.5 servings in the packet, with a serving being approximately 6 pieces. Reading the ingredients list I was pleased to see that the product contains natural flavours and natural colours, and the palm kernal oil is from a sustainable source. 180g is a decent sized package which makes it ideal for sharing or for keeping for a sudden sugar pick-me-up.

First up I decided to try a lime twister. When I grabbed one from the bag it was a definite gummy texture, with the green outer being a nice bright green colour and the inside sour part being yellow. My first bite and I was greeted by a sharp burst of sourness but which quickly faded, the sourness teamed with the gummy worked well but I was left wanting more, I hoped the orange would be better as In the past I have tried some candy that has tried to imitate the orange flavour, but all seem to be missing something vital to the taste, and I am often left feeling disappointed. I grabbed a piece from the bag and noticed the orange colour wasn't as vibrant as on the front of the packet - this was more of a yellow/orange with a white centre. Once I took a bite I was ecstatic to be hit with a delicious orange taste which was very convincing. I decided to unravel the Twister to see if most of the flavour was from the outer or inner layer, after doing so it was apparent that it was the inner sour layer providing the wonderful taste that kept me going back for more.

I highly recommend this product and I will be certain to buy some on my shopping to stash away. My children liked them but could only manage one and were happy enough to then came back later for another.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 22nd of July, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was excited to try the RJ's Sour Twisters Citrus flavour as I love sour lollies so when they arrived I opened these first to try. My 9 year old son and his friend who was over were also excited to try the flavour, and I used it as a bribing tool to get them to clean up there mess before they had some. Which worked a treat I must add.

However once they both got to finally try the citrus flavour they both didnā ™t like it and I was surprised to this as my son loves sour lollies. I on the other hand really enjoyed the lollies and loved both the flavours orange and lime. I thought the flavours were bang on and tasted like they were meant to and had a nice sour tang to it. I am unsure why my son and his friend didnā ™t like them, they just said it tastes weird. My partner tried these when he got home from work and liked them, he said it was a yummy treat and liked the flavour and sour taste. He has a sweet tooth so he was really into them.

I would recommend these to friends, and for the cheap price you canā ™t go wrong. I guess they are not everyoneā ™s choice but it is a bonus if the kids donā ™t like them as more for me and I donā ™t have to hide them. I love the packaging and I find it simple but appealing.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 15th of July, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I'm a person that loves his fizzy and energy drinks. Sour things are an added plus. That being said, orange and lime didn't really strike me as something that would be a good fit for a "sour" branded product, as the flavours are already naturally citrusy. I had no qualms with giving the product a try, however, and really I'm glad I did. The sour centre of these gummies almost gives the product a realistic fruity experience; you get the soft squishy flesh, that when bitten into releases a sharp, citrusy burst of flavour, that almost feels like juice as the sour mixture melts in your mouth. It's potentially the most realist orange flavour that I have come across in lollies.

The pack contains two flavours, the orange 'orange' flavour with a white supposedly generic sour mixture in the centre, and the green 'lime' flavour with a yellow sour mixture, which is almost orange/lemon in flavour. It works well to give the lime a smoother flavour, but it isn't anywhere near as realistic a flavour as the orange.

The gummies themselves are reasonably solid, but unlike the cola and blue lemonade variety, the orange and lime aren't so sticky on the outside. This means that they don't have that unfortunate choking factor that the sticky blue lemonade flavour had if not thoroughly chewed. This product also does have an acidic component to it, but it's fine as long as you don't eat too many. So share them around, that orange one is amazing!

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 4th of July, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

YUM!!! Another new product to try from the most amazing company RJ's my family could not wait to try it. As soon as we got home from picking up the review goods and posting a photo up on the Facebook page this bag was teared open and my family was reaching in for their first taste test of this easy pleasing looking product that was the Citrus Mix Twisters.

Within the 180 gram package of Twisters there were 2 different flavour combinations of sour citrus mixed twisters orange and lime, the hardest decision that I was faced with was which flavour to try first. Biting into one of the orange twisters I was hit with a tangy flavour of what tasted like a yummy orange flavoured confectionery treat with a sour sherbet like flavoured centre which reminded me a lot of these orange flavoured sherbet sticks I used to eat as a kid, the sherbet filling and the chewy shell were a great combination sweet and tangy all in one. Next to try was the lime flavoured lolly which was almost as good as the orange, there was no doubting that this was a lime flavoured item however I did feel it had a bit of a funny after taste which I wasn't the hugest fan of however the fizzy-sour sherbet centre I did really enjoy.

Asking my family what was their favourite of the 2 I got a vote for the lime from the both of them which goes to show everyone has different taste buds. The contents of the bag seemed to be very evenly mixed with there being an even mix of both flavours, which is awesome as so many times you can buy other lollies to find only one or 2 pieces of certain flavours which can be a real disappointment. The packaging itself was bright and vibrant and I loved how well it really represented the product inside the bag, RJ's did a great job with this.

This is a great product one i'm happy to buy again, I love that there is enough in the bag to go around a large group of people. These would make a great addition to a gift hamper for something a little different. A great new product from RJ's.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 21st of June, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Citrus is a flavour set that has always appealed to me... that tangy, zestiness that hits your tongue on first contact and just hangs around... added to the extra boost from the sour/sherbert centre, well, these were ticking all the boxes for me. However, with that kind of lead-up, would they reach expectations, or fail to impress? Only one way to find out...

My first grab was the lime flavour, and it certainly looked the part with a bright green outer roll and a bright yellow filling. Biting off a piece immediately released a mild lime and a hint of lemon flavours, which blended well and gave it a nice, clean taste. The orange piece was quite different, with a strong, deep orange flavour kicking through from the first contact. Examination and experimentation determined that the outer roll carries the colour, but the majority of the taste comes from the sherbert core, which explodes with flavour as it dissolves in your mouth.

Would I buy these again? I certainly would! This is a delightful bag sure to please any citrus-lover. I would have liked to have had a stronger flavour in the lime, but that's just me - there's nothing wrong with them at all, by any means.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.4
Product reviews for listing 7648: IAM Super Food - Souper: Peppered Beef and Superbeans -  Brand : IAM Super Food

Product image for IAM Super Food - Souper: Peppered Beef and SuperbeansLow Fat, High Fibre - Nothing Artificial.

Ingredients:
Water, kidney beans, spanish white beans, potato, onion, beef, tomato, capsicum, sunflower oil, garlic, salt, yeast

Allergen Info:
May contain traces of soy, gluten and tree nuts

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why did Kamikaze pilots wear helmets?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream