Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 16th December 2019 - 06:40:58

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Cereal/Muesli products > Hubbards Cookies & Cream Rumbles review

« Hubbards Neapolitan Super Pops reviewHubbards Neapolitan Super PopsHubbards Banana Bugs'n'mud reviewHubbards Banana Bugs'n'mud  »

Score: 9.0/10  [11 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 5306 - Hubbards Cookies & Cream Rumbles
Produced by Hubbards

Hubbards Cookies & Cream Rumbles
Price:
$3.99 +/-
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Hubbards

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
At supermarkets

Hubbards Cookies & Cream Rumbles product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsWhoever said 'Breakfast is the most important meal of the day' was probably a super smart scientist or an astronaut or something. Chances are, they might even already be enjoying a bowl of Cookies & Cream Rumbles.

Packed with cookie space balls and cream loops, it's full of the right stuff that will feed your brain what it needs to go forth and explore new horizons, build rocket ships or make the world's greatest scientific discovery. So grab a bowl and get ready for take off.

Check out Hubbards onlineClick here to see all the listings for Hubbards Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
balls   breakfast   cereal   cookies   cream   hubbards   kids   loops   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Hubbards Berry Tricks MixHubbards Berry Tricks Mix
Rating: 8.8
Hubbards Neapolitan Super PopsHubbards Neapolitan Super Pops
Rating: 8.5
Hubbards Banana Bugs'n'mud Hubbards Banana Bugs'n'mud 
Rating: 8.4
Stromboli Tomatoes, Capsicum & Onion Pasta SauceStromboli Tomatoes, Capsicum & Onion Pasta Sauce
Rating: 8.9
Frescarini Tricolore TortelliniFrescarini Tricolore Tortellini
Rating: 9.3
Health Script - AM/PM dual packHealth Script - AM/PM dual pack
Rating: 8.1
Mac Snack - Natural & CrispyMac Snack - Natural & Crispy
Rating: 7.8
Turkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic BreadTurkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic Bread
Rating: 7.7
GEM French-style Chicken Coq au VinGEM French-style Chicken Coq au Vin
Rating: 9.0
Splenda  Sugar Substitute Sweetener GranularSplenda  Sugar Substitute Sweetener Granular
Rating: 6.3
Pitango Meal for 1 - Coconut, Vege & Split Pea CurryPitango Meal for 1 - Coconut, Vege & Split Pea Curry
Rating: 8.6
Mild Chicken CurryMild Chicken Curry
Rating: 9.3
Chocolates Are Us - Peanut Butter BarkChocolates Are Us - Peanut Butter Bark
Rating: 8.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 17th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

I am not a huge fan of these however they don't last long around here! The kids LOVE them!! My youngest son, 2, suffers with a lot of Bowel problems which makes him a very cautious and picky eater, It is at times very hard to get food into him but these were no problem at all he even asked for a second bowl and requested some after tea, with him getting anything into him is a massive accomplishment!

I found these went very soggy very fast, another reason I am not a fan. This didn't seem to bother the kids though. They had them with just milk the first day and Miss 8 tried them with Plain Yoghurt the next but preferred them with milk. She asked for sugar on them but I think they are sweet enough without adding sugar to them. They seemed filling for the kids with Mr 6 not nagging straight after breakfast for a snack to eat so that is another huge bonus!

The box is very appealing and looks good. I like that there are fun facts, quiz questions and an activity on the inside of the box. The box suggests 8 servings I think that would be about right and not bad for a $3.99 box of cereal!

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 6th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

Like most parents, I like to feed my children something decent for breakfast and this seems to be doing the trick.

The design on the box is really good at drawing you in and right away my kids were asking if it was going to be their breakfast or their dessert. I settled all three down at the table, giving them each a helping and watched as they tucked in. My three year old thought is was ok and ate it as she does any other meal, my five year old wasn't too fussed on it and a couple of times only ate half the bowlful and my six year old finished it all but wasn't full of excitement for the next time.

Since the kids thought it was nice, but weren't bothered about it, I decided to use it in some baking. I found a basic chocolate chip cookie recipe online and replaced the chocolate chips with a cup full of Hubbards Cookies and Cream Rumbles. They added a slight taste to the biscuits, which my kids enjoyed, and they softened nicely adding to the chewiness of the biscuit as a whole, really well. My kids enjoyed it enough that they were asking for more.

This was nice but I would probably on buy if on special, simply as my kids weren't crazy enough over it.

Click here to read the profile of slashman

Review by: slashman (Aaron)
Dated: 23rd of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

When I got this cereal to review we had already bought the smaller serving packets for camping or single serve purposes so I was excited to have a crack at the big box. The 250g allows for 8 bowlfuls and I would have to say this is not my serve size partly because I really enjoy this cereal a lot and because I need a decent serving size to hold me until lunchtime and even so I would say 6 bowls are the more accurate serve size for me out of this box. But hey for under $4 who cares? Thats a whole week of nutritious get up and go energy for the same price as one pie.
The box has lots of fun appeal with instructionals inside the packet and also appealing to read block texts on the back, sides and bottom. I have always been a fan of fruit loops and this is so crunchy with the balls and hoops I actually prefer it to fruit loops. The taste stays chocolatey with the milk instead of it becoming a sweet milky mess.
I actually found this to be a great hunger killer as last night I was watching some mini-series and felt like something to eat. The first thing I grabbed was a bowl of Rumbles. A cereal like this is good because it isn't overly heavy, being wholegrain it also holds off hunger longer.
Nutrition wise the sugary carbs is pretty low at only 1/3rd of the total carbs and the fat being very low also at 1.2g. Minimal E numbers and made in NZ what more could you ask for?
We will be regularly buying this product to keep in our food cupboard for sure.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 23rd of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

My daughters are big fans of Coco Pops and Milo cereal so I was quite sure that they would love Hubbards Cookies and Cream Rumbles. I was certainly right there. The first morning I gave the girls (4 and 5.5 years old) all the usual breakfast choices but both selected the rumbles with yogurt. They both polished off the whole bowl and asked for more. So breakfast for these two was 1 1/2 servings. It did keep them full as both of them came home with very little eaten from their lunch box. So it is safe to say they found the rumbles both tasty and satisfying.

The ingredients list shows that the cookie space balls (the brown bits) makes up 82% of the rumbles. The dairy coated loops are the remaining 18%. Miss 5.5 was disappointed that there wasn't more of the white Os but I thought it was just as the picture on the box had indicated. It would be interesting to see how the nutritional value would have altered if the balance of the two elements were altered.

We have also been eating the rumbles dry. As I write this my girls have a small container each and are snacking on the rumbles for their afternoon tea. I have found myself eating them in the evenings in front of the TV. It satisfied my craving for sugar and filled me up without eating junk food. I also made rumbles necklaces for my girls by threading the cereal onto dental floss (but I could have used cotton or elastic). This was a very handy snack when we were out for a walk as the girls could eat it when they wanted and there was no fear of tipping it all over the ground. I have also done similar necklaces with out cereals when my girls were toddlers and they were in the stroller. Any mess fell on the ground and it kept them occupied so I could go for long walks.

My girls are both keen for us to buy rumbles again and although it isn't the healthiest breakfast cereal they have had it certainly isn't the worst so I am happy for them to have it once or twice a week.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 13th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

This cereal was interesting it reminded me of my daughters Gluten Free cocoa bombs for the choc bits and my sons cheerios for the white bits as much as my son loves my daughters cereal he gave this a go and after 2 spoonfuls wouldn't eat anymore and wanted his normal cereal. Sadly this didn't give the seal of a approval of my 4 year old boy who will normally eat any cereal.

I thought they looked pretty good and gave them a go and its not something I would be happy to sit down and eat, I didn't like the flavor of cookie and cream, I do like the ice cream of this but I'm guessing its not something I would want for breakfast. They are hard and do soften up in milk and it gave that soggy texture that I don't like aswell.

however I did like the box it came in, very fun and creative. Areas for parents and inside for kids to go nuts with, lots of interesting fun things. Would be interesting if this changes with each batch or they stay the same which could be boring like some other boxes my kids get, they are now bored of the boxes and don't want them anymore. Overall the price isnt over the top which is great, and if it was Gluten free I'm 100% my daughter would of loved it.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 6th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

My daughter's first reaction to the Cookies and Cream Rumbles was 'oh its Coco-Pop O's - the only difference is there are white ones.' I completely agree with her they are so similar in shape, texture and taste.

I found with the Cookies and Cream Rumbles that they are rather hard to begin with and its best to give them a couple of minutes after pouring the milk on them to let them soak before giving it to the children. My youngest does not like having to munch her breakfast foods so this takes some of the work out of it.

My eldest loved them to begin with, but by the end of the week was over it and asking for her normal breakfast. I had them the first time along with the girls and tend to agree with them loved the brown 'cookie' but was not so fond of the white 'cream' one - although there really is not much taste difference between the both of them just naturally preferred the thought of brown chocolate. On the third day my youngest would not touch her breakfast so I ended up eating it after sitting around for over 30 minutes and really was not pleasant could not finish the bowl. The white had started to disintegrate and looked like mouldy cream and really did not look appetising, which is return did not taste great either ended up tipping half of it.

The price is spot on. I might consider buying again but would only give it to them every other day.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 6th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

Cereals are always welcomed in my home, with three children, always eager to get in there and review. So it was only natural that I would put my hand up, when I found out that there was cereals needing hungry homes to visit. Not only that but they would be sent at random, so I had no idea what it was we would be receiving, until the day the package arrived.

Upon arrival we were lucky to receive the cookies and cream rumbles. My daughter is a crazy cookies and cream fan, it does not matter what it is, she loves it! And the cereal was no exception. She could not wait until the next day to try it for breakfast, instead requesting it for her supper before bed that night. Not a problem, as it really is an easy snack to prepare. So she gobbled it up super quickly, and went off to bed, one happy little lady. My 12yo then asked if he too may have cereal for supper. Smile Icon

And omg theres always that one person with weird taste, who has to do things differently lol He popped out to the kitchen, preparing what I assumed was a traditional bowl of cereal. When he did not return after a couple of minutes I went to investigate, and what do I find....My son sitting happily at the kitchen table, munching away on none other than a hubbards cookies and cream rumbles sandwich. ..really son? lol According to him, it was super yummo! I didi not try it, and wont try it, haha, but I will take his word for it.

My only issue I had with this cereal was, when I went to get a bowl of it the following morning for my girls breakfast, it was gone! My tween and teen sons had consumed the remainder of the box prior to going to bed the night before. So unfortunately other than the crazy sandwhich, there was no exciting experimenting this time around. But at least my kids love it, and that is the most important factor.

My other favourite thing I love about the kids cereals from Hubbards, is the information on the boxes, and the activities that are also on the boxes. In this case it was how to make your own volcano. My 7 year old, had a most wonderful time with her dad creating her very own volcano as per the instructions inside her cereal box. Who knew cereal could be so much fun these days? Two thumbs up from everyone in this house for sure.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 6th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

Not a huge fan of these ones myself, but my youngest adores them, demanding them for breakfast every morning for the last few days. Normally he is one for eggs on toast or porridge, so when he starts getting fixated on something new, it is time to pay attention to it.

He claims that the white ones are a little silly, but he loves the brown ones because they remind him of Milo - his utterly all-time favourite drink - so it would be great if Hubbard's put out a cereal that is just the brown ones. Still, trying to have something new and unique in the market is tough, so the point-of-difference is all-important here.

These stayed quite crisp after the milk was added, which is sure to win over many kids. Nothing worse that an awesome cereal that turns into mush as soon as you sit down to eat. Still, these apparently tasted good straight out of the box, because the third morning he tried them, Little Mr Fussy declared that he wanted "...milk only in the cup. Not in the bowl please!" Normally he won't give serving directions unless he is well sure of himself. In this case, he was right, and he quite happily ate the cereal one nugget at a time while reading the previous day's newspaper. It was seriously cute to watch. LOL Icon

Overall, not my thing at all - I am far more of a muesli man myself - but if the kids like it, it's worth getting more of, especially since it's a novelty cereal that's way below usual novelty cereal prices.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 1st of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

It was great to get the chance to sample and review this cereal as my 5 year old hasn't tried too many exciting cereals so it was a real treat for her.

As exciting and chocolatey as it sounds, it also claims to be full of goodness and upon tasting it I noticed that it didn't seem overly sweet and that it had a slight wholegrain taste to it so I was happy about that. My daughter really enjoyed it too - she took her job of reviewing it quite seriously and in between her crunch, crunch, crunch, she mumbled "yummy" to me. She told me that she likes it "1 more than cocoa pops" so although I'm not exactly sure of her scale I figure that's a pretty good review from her!

Although she had some cereal with milk for breakfast a couple of times, to be honest we mostly used it as a dry snack. The size of the cereal pieces are big enough to be picked up in your hands and my daughter happily munched away on it for school snacks or for an easily packed car snack. It was good to know it was filling her tummy, while providing goodness and energy but at the same time she thought of it as a little treat.

The box and packaging are great - lots of fun ideas and things to read. I'd happily buy this cereal again, and my 5 year old is keen to have more too.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 1st of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

The cartoon like font and drawings on the box appeal to my creative side. I like the way that photos and illustrations are mixed. First impressions have to come from the visual appreciation I get from the box. I like it. The other first impression comes from the branding of Hubbards. I think of the brand as being wholesome and good for you. I also think back many years to when I was classroom teaching and Hubbards sponsored our class for cereals for our class camp. A good feeling about the brand was left in my mind.

My family generally eat Weetbix or oats (cooked as porridge or as muesli) for breakfast. Every now and then we like a treat for breakfast, especially if we are going away on holiday. I am always on the lookout for something that still fits with my ideal of having a healthy, high in the good things and low in the bad things cereal!

I dished up a bowl of Cookies and Cream Rumbles with milk for my children. Both kids loved it and my four year old specifically loved the "chocolate sauce" that was created in the milk. He even picked the bowl up and drank that. It definitely passed the taste test stage for the kids. I tried it as well. My version had to have a little watered down natural yogurt as I can't drink milk. I loved the taste as well. Who wouldn't like the taste of chocolate in their cereal?

The big question then had to be asked by this mother - how much good stuff and how much not so good stuff is in the cereal? I compared what was written on the side of the box with recommendations from Consumer.

Fibre 9.2g per 100g (recommended more than 5g but no more than 15g for children).
Fat 4g per 100g (recommended less than 5g total fat)
Sugar 28g per 100g (recommended less than 15g)
Sodium 45mg per 100g (recommended less than 400mg)

Interesting reading - everything from the list looked good apart from the sugar levels. The 28g per 100g is even more than the acceptable amount of 25g per 100g if fruit forms part of the reason for the higher amount of sugar. So my question is, could the same cereal be products while lowering that sugar quantity?

The box drew my attention again - I thought I should spend a bit of time to read what was on it. I read out some of the interesting statements, quiz questions etc to my four year old and that kept him entertained for quite a while. There was lots of activity and information on the inside of the box. What a good use of the space on the cardboard box!!

Given the high amount of sugar in this cereal, it would only be an option for our family as a special treat. What a yummy treat if would be!!

Click here to read the profile of fayth

Review by: fayth (Fay)
Dated: 29th of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

I was excited to try this cereal and the fact that it contains wholegrain goodness with fibre is a real selling point for me. I also find the packaging really appealing with lots of quirky illustrations and I love all the fun facts and jokes. They've certainly thought about their product because when you open up the box, inside are instructions for making a volcano using everyday pantry ingredients. I'll definitely be giving it a go with my son these school holidays.

The cereal itself is simply delicious and I think I loved it just as much as my son did. It stayed nice and crisp even after sitting in milk for a while (perfect for those who don't like soggy cereal) while still being easy to chew. I found the chocolaty flavour to be quite subtle without being too sweet or overpowering and it's a great way to get children to eat up all their milk (who doesn't like chocolate milk?). It's definitely a winner.

It's very reasonably priced but the sugar content is a bit higher than what I usually look for when choosing breakfast cereal but my son and I have agreed that it would be a suitable breakfast treat - it will last longer that way too.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.7
Product reviews for listing 4909: Pitango Organic Spring Lamb, Red Wine and Rosemary Soup -  Brand / Manufacturer: Pitango

Product image for Pitango Organic Spring Lamb, Red Wine and Rosemary SoupA delicious soup made with lamb, vegetables and white beans, cooked in a rich lamb stock with red wine, herbs and spices.

    •  98% Fat Free
    •  Dairy Free
    •  No Added Preservatives

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do people pay to go up tall buildings and then put money in binoculars to look at things on the ground?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream