Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 19th November 2017 - 23:38:18

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > RJs Fruity Twisters review

« Denial reviewDenialRJs Berry Twisters reviewRJs Berry Twisters »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.1/10  [11 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 7704 - RJs Fruity Twisters
Manufactured by RJ's

RJs Fruity Twisters
Price:
$3.50
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by RJ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at leading supermarkets nationwide

RJs Fruity Twisters product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsTwo twisted flavours per pack - Green Apple and Grape.

Ingredients:
Cane Sugar, Invert Sugar Syrup, Wheat Flour, Water, Rice Bran Oil, Acidity Regulators (E296, E330, E331 , E262), Flavours, Colours (E163, E100)

Check out RJ's Licorice onlineClick here to see all the listings for RJ's Licorice Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
grape   green apple   rjs   twisters   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
MamasDonutsMamasDonuts
Rating: 9.3
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Lamb StockSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Lamb Stock
Rating: 9.4
ViBERi Soft-dried Organic BlackcurrantsViBERi Soft-dried Organic Blackcurrants
Rating: 9.0
RJs Soda TwistersRJs Soda Twisters
Rating: 8.7
Tasty Pot Meal - NZ Lamb Shank CasseroleTasty Pot Meal - NZ Lamb Shank Casserole
Rating: 9.1
Mr HangiMr Hangi
Rating: 9.0
Sure to Rise Chocolate Chip MuffinsSure to Rise Chocolate Chip Muffins
Rating: 9.2
Proper Crisps - Parsnip CrispsProper Crisps - Parsnip Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Scolpt Modelling Chocolate - RainbowScolpt Modelling Chocolate - Rainbow
Rating: 9.3
I Love Baking - Manuka Honey Muesli CookiesI Love Baking - Manuka Honey Muesli Cookies
Rating: 9.1
Sauce for Fruit - Vanilla CremeSauce for Fruit - Vanilla Creme
Rating: 7.0
RJs Berry TwistersRJs Berry Twisters
Rating: 9.4
Misha's Italian CafeMisha's Italian Cafe
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 14th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was excited to see RJ's bringing out a different kind of lolly. I love everything I have tried in the RJ's range so far so why not give these a go aswell. When I first read they were twisters thinking both flavours would be twistered together made me feel a little excited thinking they had put two flavours that tasted good together. After a closer inspection of the packet it looked like two twisters one in apple and one in grape I was now intrigued more.

Normally I love anything with these flavours but to be honest giving them a try I didn't really like them, the grape didn't taste like grape it was a very faint hint of the flavour, my partner tried them and also said the grape wasn't grape we feel it needs a much strong taste. However the green apple was good we enjoyed the apple flavour it really did taste like green apple which I actually don't like, but the lolly I enjoyed.

The packet is coloured pink/purple and green to represent the two flavours, I did however find the bag hard to open in the end partner used his teeth to get into it. These are a great treat to have hidden which I hide so I can enjoy when noone is looking, I enjoy pulling the twisters apart to have three small bits, doing this makes the packet last longer as I have to take the time to pull apart then eat the pieces one by one otherwise no way would the packet last 10mins.

The serving size 4 pieces however I couldn't stick too, there is no way I can stop at 4 pieces even putting the bag out of sight I would just get up to eat them I tried really hard but they just call you. The price for this bag is reasonable and I will buy them again for that price. This packet wouldn't be my first choice but I wouldn't walk pass it either if it was the only choice I had.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 8th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

RJ's, you have a knack for creating yummy, sweet treats for us all to enjoy and you certainly haven't gone wrong here either! These Fruity flavoured Twisters would be my favourite in the range, after being lucky enough to sample a packet of each flavour in my lasted KIWIreviews sample box. Grape and apple are two of my favourite flavours so I had a feeling these would be my favourite.

I love that the Twisters packets are colour co-ordinated to match the flavour of the lollies inside. In this particular case there is a purple pink and a green colour on the front which matches the purple of the grape and the green of the apple. Upon opening the packet I was met with a yummy fruity smell and couldn't wait to dig in! I counted up all of the pieces and discovered that I had 18 pieces in the bag and it was exactly half and half of each flavour - 9 of grape and 9 of apple. Having 18 pieces fitted the servings per packet mentioned on the back of the bag perfectly as it said there would be 4.5 serves of 4 pieces a serve.

Choosing a green piece I tried the apple first. It is the typical apple lolly flavour, reminds me a little of the tangy apples we used to love in high school just without the tanginess. There is an ever so slight after taste to it but it isn't unpleasant. While sweet, this flavour certainly doesn't taste too sweet which can happen with apple flavoured lollies sometimes. Next up was the grape. Once again, and typical grape lolly taste and very similar to the tangy grape lollies that came out alongside the apple. It was quite yummy, and my favourite pick out of the two. Once again not too sweet, and only a slight little after taste but nothing too unpleasant.

Stopping myself from eating the whole packet as it was, I made up a batch of home made ice cream using a 500ml bottle of cream and a tin of condensed milk. It really is easy! You simply mix the two of them together until quite a thick cream and then mix through anything you want. In this case I cut each of the Twister pieces into six pieces and mixed them through. Once frozen (overnight) we really enjoyed the ice cream made with these. They had a strong enough flavour to be able to taste it through the ice cream component, and while they had gone hard and chewy they were nice to eat. They added a nice bit of flavour and are something I would use again.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 8th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have to be honest when it comes to flavours in lollies grape and apple are probably my last choice I just personally can't get my head around artificial grape and apple flavouring but I just had to try these as being an RJ's product I could not resist. Like with the other twister flavours I loved the texture and found them easy to eat and despite the fact they were not my favourite flavour I still found them very moreish and went back for just one more a few times.

My kids probably enjoyed these the most out of the three varities both in taste and colour, the purple and the green were a huge hit colourful sweets are always a hit with the young ones. I wasn't opposed to the flavour enough to not like them as I did enjoy them it would just not be my first choice. The green apple had a distinctive apple flavour and reminded me of the apple chews you used to be apple to get with that tangy apple taste.

A great product idea by RJ's to extend the range of products I suppose there is only so much you can do with liquorice and with products that appeal to the children more it definitely opens up more sales for the brand.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 5th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I'm never too sure about grape flavoured sweets, so often it ends up being far too sweet or there's just not enough flavour to make it worthwhile buying it again. I love that these are made in New Zealand. The bag is 180 grams and there is approximately four and a half servings per bag, but that's having four pieces and since I don't let my kids eat four pieces in one go, it was easy enough to stretch the bag out into at least a dozen helpings. The packet states to keep these stored cool and dry and I found out why quickly enough when one left out got rather mushy on the outside, something I didn't repeat.

Flavour wise I liked these better than the Berry bag. Size wise, the kids really did only need one piece each, these could easily be cut in half again and still be a decent sized treat as they are thick as well, happily not too chewy but certainly didn't need a whole piece. I wasn't a big fan of the grape flavour, felt it could have done with a stronger taste however all three kids and my mother declared that they really liked the grape and she found it a delicate flavour. As for the green apple, only two of the five of us liked it, that being my ten and six year old. My eight year old described her dislike of it by pulling a face and sticking out her tongue with both thumbs down, my mum described it a bit better saying she found the tartness at was with the sweetness. She and I both agreed it was also a bit plastic tasting.

Given that on,y one flavour was a hit, we wouldn't be buying this in the future.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 1st of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

A product that contains more than one flavour always gets my attention as I truly love to have choice (even when it comes to lollies haha). When I looked through the flavours of RJ twisters that are available this one stood out the most as it made me think of grape and apple lollies from my childhood. RJs is a brand I have tried many times over and it has become one I trust for top quality products so I am happy that these twisters are another product of theirs that fits onto my favourite list.

The taste of these is very much of authentic apple and grape which I just adore. I choose to not look to closely at the ingredients list because quite simply I didn't want to know! Treats are exactly that and lollies, well of course are going to be full of sugar and all sorts of others but I quite simply just don't care - they taste amazing so that's all that matters to me.

My children (aged four and two) both loved these lollies as much as I do along with my husband so its great to have a treat that all four of us enjoy - something that doesn't often happen! My two year old struggled a little with the chewing the product which isn't the greatest for his teeth so these will be for very special treats for him. This is nothing against the product at all - it is just his age and most people probably wouldn't even try their child with such a product at his age.

As a treat for my daughter I used this product to top off her natural yoghurt which she really enjoyed, telling me "this is yummy mum, can you make this again for me". It reminded me of ambrosia so later that night I tried my own version and must admit it was quite a nice treat! Overall I loved this product and will be buying it again. Thanks RJs for providing another wonderful product Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 28th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Green and Purple. This is what I saw on the front of this bag of RJs Fruity Twisters. My kids current favourite colours. I just had to trial them and see what my kids thought. My daughters favourite colour is purple so I thought these would be a sure fire win for her and my son's current favourite colour is green so I figured he'd love those ones.

Naively I thought that these sweets like most others would be very similar in taste with a small hint of a different flavour but the main difference would be the colours. Boy was I wrong. I was right about my kids enjoying these Twisters but I was totally wrong about which colour they would prefer and about the flavours.

We were lucky enough to get all 3 bags with a total of 6 flavours and after trying them all my daughter's favourite was the Green Apple and my son couldn't tell me his favourite because he devoured anything that came near him and he liked them all the same amount, at least that's what he told me so he could have some more..

I was really curious about these RJs Twisters, they say they are without licorice but they still look like they could be licorice. The texture was chewy (very chewy actually) but also very smooth. The flavour was different which each colour, not overwhelming but definitely it's own flavour. Separately the flavours tasted good but together the two flavours tasted great. Cutting each piece in half made it a better size for my family but others may prefer the longer pieces.

At $3.50 a bag they are a great price for a sometimes treat and with the bright colours on the bag and the Twisters themselves they really come across as a fun treat for well behaved children.

Click here to read the profile of fliss1

Review by: fliss1 (Felicity)
Dated: 25th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I really wanted to like these as I pretty much like everything that RJ's make so I thought it would be a no-brainer. However, I think I am not really a "gummy sweet" fan when I think about it so this was always going to be an uphill struggle for me.

The packet was a good size and really bright and lovely and I liked the style it was giving off which I thought was really appropriate. I was surprised by two things when I opened the bag - first, they were really quite big (huge in fact to me) and second each one was only one flavour/colour.

The size was quite a bonus and I admit this definitely appealed as it made one quite a mouthful. Well done on making a nice indulgent adult-sized portion of sweet. Next, I noticed the smell was quite strong and not very "natural smelling" to me - quite artificial and sweet. I expected the apple to be quite fresh smelling but maybe it was the grape that came through more. It was a good mix of both the colours and I liked that it was pretty much even so I could try both and it looked colourful.

Next, I come to the tastes. The Green Apple was a bit sweet and flat tasting to me who likes a good sour apple taste. I felt it could have been more tart but then again it is a sweet treat so perhaps that just me. I thought the grape was a very American grape flavour taste which is totally not my preference but I understand it is popular in both sweets and drinks as a taste. Not for me and I left most of the grape for others who did enjoy them. I don't think these were the best offering from RJs as they felt quite American in taste to me but this is personal preference.

I guess for me I like the less chewy RJs products and I won't be buying these again but I can understand how others like the twisters - in fact, I might just try another flavour in case that was the issue as the texture was ok once I got used to it.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 21st of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My family love lollies, with many members actually preferring lollies over chocolate. When it comes to lolly flavours grape and apple are right up there as 2 of my partners most favourites, they are also 2 flavours which I absolutely love and so after seeing these delicious sounding and looking lollies up for review I knew that I just had to try them.

My first initial thought after receiving these was how beautifully bright, colourful and eye-catching the packaging was and while it had a lot going on in it it wasn't to much it actually all worked well, and I just loved the metallicness of the packet. The font used was neat and I loved the way the word 'Twister' was done in a twisted sort of font, even Miss 4 was quick to comment on how beautiful the packet was.

Ripping open the bag was easy and I was impressed to find when I looked inside that there appeared to be quite an even number of pieces of each of the grape and apple flavours, as more often than not I tend to find lollies in packets are very unevenly mixed, however this wasn't the case here! I would have loved to have counted them just to be sure but I wasn't quick enough in doing so as there were hands - both big and small reaching into the bag for a sample in all directions! I was surprised by the size of the pieces they were definitely all of uniform size and a lot larger than I had expected, I was expecting them to be half the size of what they are but I was happy to find them bigger as it meant that they lasted longer and were easier to work with for the likes of cake decorating of which I tried them out in, pulling the strands of the twisters apart and cutting them up to create whiskers and mouths for some cute little cat cupcakes that Miss 4 and I enjoyed making together.

Taste wise these were straight up amazing, a lovely chewy texture, which also had a nice softness to it, and so full of flavour. The green apple twisters were tangy yet sweet, and I didn't find them sour at all nor did my partner however a friend said she didn't like them as she found them sour. The purple grape were also incredibly good they tasted just like a grape that had been picked off a vine, lovely and sweet. It seemed in my house that the apple twisters were the biggest hit with my partner and I, whereas Miss4 liked the grape twisters the best, this was apparently due to colour rather than taste however.

Well done RJ's I am sold on yet another one of your products, it is great to see an awesome company branching out and creating more exciting products, I can't wait to see what you create next.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 20th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was excited to try the grape and green apple twisters and I was surprised when I opened the bag to find individual twisters each being their own flavour. I had pictured the two flavours to be wrapped around each other. One bag two flavours on the front of the bag I guess I thought that was one product with two flavours, instead of two flavours each inside the same packet. I opened the bag and tried a grape first and thought that I could open taste grape, it was not until I grabbed another one out that I noticed this time I had an apple and realised they were not combined together. I really enjoyed the apple flavour myself.

My partner tried the twisters and he mentioned he really liked the grape flavour and after eating a few asked me to take the bag away so he would not eat them all. He said I liked the texture and really loved the flavour. I was expecting more of a sour green apple taste but it is more of a sweeter taste but very much so enjoyable. I love the bag colours and the mix between the green and purple colours and also the product on the front.

I left the bag in the pantry until I was ready to sit down to do the review and when I went to grab them out, I noticed there were only 4 left for me to re try again while writing my review to refresh my memory of the flavour. This is due to my other sneaking in and getting in to the bag, she said she could not heap herself and once she started she could not stop. The price I think is fair the bag and a standard amount you would pay for a bag of lollies. They would be a great snack for the car or work space or really just to have at home.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 18th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love lollies, and apple and grape would have to be my favourite flavours of lollies. This is mainly because I love sour things, and sour apple and sour grape always seem to be the strongest flavours.

Feeling the packet, the product has a good weight to it. I good dense product that will hopefully be filling to snack on (otherwise I may eat the entire pack in one go). Ripping open the packet I can see that it is a foil bag, assumedly to keep the product fresh for longer, but the main thing I can notice is the aroma.It has that lovely sweetness of a gummy grape and apple, and it has me salivating.

I was a little surprised at the size of the product. I'm not too sure why, but I was expecting the pieces to be smaller, but with a length of approximately 7-8cm, they were around the same size (if not longer) than my pinky finger (and just as thick). On the front of the packet the image shows the twisters being split into three strands, and with a little bit of effort, I discovered that indeed it can be split into three individual strands. A nice touch, as it doubles as a plaything, to keep the kids entertained for slightly longer (and therefore reduce the amount of sugar intake without them complaining).

The twisters are brightly coloured, so there is no confusion over which flavour is which. The apple one has a great sweet flavour, whereas the grape is much more subtle, but overall the flavours weren't as strong as the aroma would have you think. Still delicious, and the more reserved flavours give it a moreish aspect, as I can eat far more of them before the sugar gets too much to handle. The consistency of the product is very firm and does require a bit of work with the teeth to get through. Nothing too difficult, but definitely noticeably firmer than most other gummy-like products.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 14th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was dubious at first about reviewing this product. Apple flavoured products are often quite tart and uninteresting to the point of being flavourless, and, as for grape, well shall we just say that we have history? Rewind a few years to when I was joint MC for a school talent quest with two other teachers. I was the straight MC who did the announcements in a duly formal fashion only to be constantly interrupted by the other two who were the comic relief. Their role was to butt in and comment on the proceedings at regular intervals.

This would have been all good - it was all finely rehearsed of course - but one of the teachers had dressed up as Kylie Mole complete with a wad of bubble gum in her mouth. Between acts she was standing just behind me in the wings, and all I can remember was the artificial and totally nauseating aroma of grape flavoured gum as she chewed it, mouth wide open, in preparation for blowing the next bubble towards the audience. It was this terrifying memory that I had to the fore when I bravely steeled myself to try a piece of the grape twister.

I could not believe it. This was nothing like my dreadful memory of that scary performance. This was the flavour of real fruit, sweet and as authentic tasting as confectionery can possibly be. I loved it! I gave the others (my testers of the day, two teenage boys and an adult) a piece each and they loved it too. Unbelievable! Come back, grape, all is forgiven. The texture, the flavour balance, the portion size: all were perfect. It would be easy to go on about this, but there is no need. The twister speaks for itself.

After we had all finished, I gave everyone an apple twister. I expected that it would be ok if a bit sour and lacking in flavour, but again I was wrong. In fact, the apple flavour was even better than the grape. It was so good that of all the six twisters I had tried over the last few days, this was actually the best of all. It really tasted of ripe apples, not too sweet but certainly not too tart either, and very moreish. In fact, this one was my personal favourite.

While we were tasting the apple twisters, a neighbour popped in. He has dentures so we asked if he would like to try some too. He took one of each, and we waited until he had finished both before asking for the verdict. He found them easy to chew and was surprised to learn that they were actually not licorice as he had made that assumption. His preference was for the apple flavour too although he did like both.

There were a few left of both varieties so we chopped them and added them to some mini-pavlovas as decoration. Interestingly, I found when I was eating my share that I ended up with a small piece of each variety in my mouth at the same time and this resulted in a completely new flavour. At my suggestion, one of the boys tried the same combination and suggested that I call the dessert a Grapple Pavlova! I might just do that.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.6
Product reviews for listing 7117: Chilli Peach Chutney -  Produced by Castle Rock Cafe

Product image for Chilli Peach ChutneyWith its sweet and spicy combination it is delicious to use on cold meat sandwiches, spread over lamb before roasting, with cheese and crackers and delicious added to any slow cooked dish.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Instead of giving a politician the keys to the city, it might be better to change the locks."
Doug Larson

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream