Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 19th November 2017 - 23:37:10

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > DIY Ingredient Kits > Lots of... Fudgie Chocolate Brownie Jar review

« Lots of... Cranberry White Choc Cookies Jar reviewLots of... Cranberry White Choc Cookies JarI Love Baking - Manuka Honey Muesli Cookies reviewI Love Baking - Manuka Honey Muesli Cookies »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.3/10  [13 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 7683 - Lots of... Fudgie Chocolate Brownie Jar
Brand / Manufacturer Lots of

Lots of... Fudgie Chocolate Brownie Jar
Price:
$12.50
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Lots of...

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store and selected retail outlets

Lots of... Fudgie Chocolate Brownie Jar product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsMix melted butter, an egg, some water and vanilla essence together, add to the contents of the jar, mix and bake.

So rich, fudgie and decadent! Its great for any occasion whether it be afternoon tea or a fantastic dessert. Dust with a little icing sugar for something special.

Makes ~8 nice sized pieces.

Ingredients:
Flour, baking powder, salt, cocoa, sugar, white chocolate and milk chocolate.

Allergen Info:
Contains Gluten (flour) and egg (user added)

Check out Lots of... onlineClick here to see all the listings for Lots of... Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
baking powder   brownies   cocoa   flour   fudge   kit   milk chocolate   salt   sugar   white chocolate   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Chop Chop! Chicken - Italian TomatoChop Chop! Chicken - Italian Tomato
Rating: 8.7
Mrs Rogers Eco-Pack - Mexican SeasoningMrs Rogers Eco-Pack - Mexican Seasoning
Rating: 9.9
BITE ME - Cookie CaramelBITE ME - Cookie Caramel
Rating: 9.9
Lots of... Cranberry White Choc Cookies JarLots of... Cranberry White Choc Cookies Jar
Rating: 8.9
Central Otago Apricot and Mustard DressingCentral Otago Apricot and Mustard DressingChocolate Lava CakeChocolate Lava Cake
Rating: 7.9
Chocolates Are Us - Coconut RoughChocolates Are Us - Coconut Rough
Rating: 9.1
Taste of India Madras SauceTaste of India Madras Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Seafood and Veges DumplingsSeafood and Veges Dumplings
Rating: 8.0
Red Pepper JellyRed Pepper Jelly
Rating: 8.5
Meyer Tasty GoudaMeyer Tasty Gouda
Rating: 9.8
Ming Du Takeaway Food BarMing Du Takeaway Food Bar
Rating: 7.3
Top of the Range Ruahine Venison SteaksTop of the Range Ruahine Venison Steaks
Rating: 9.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 8th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love baking and being completely honest prepacked mixes that you just add the simplest of ingredients too are a bit of a life saver especially when baking with children to avoid extra stress. My children do love to get involved but this generally involves a whole lot of extra mess and a whole lot of me muttering under my breath omigosh why did I say they can help lol. With these kits, they can practically do it themselves and with minimal mess or effort so it does make it a great option for those kinds of baking days.

Compared to similar brownie mixes we have used these ingredient jars are fairly more expensive so it is not something I would buy often as an everyday baking kit because it is just out of my budget range. However, I thought the packaging was just so beautiful that they would make a great gift for someone when you were looking to gift something that little bit different. Very impressive packaging and they looked great sitting out on my bench before we got around to making them up.

Very ease to follow instructions with just a couple of steps and a few extra ingredients to add really made it a no fuss to use ingredient jar which I just loved. I did feel when we had mixed it all that it seemed quite a thick mixture compared to brownies I have made in the past so was a little unsure if I had got it right. I baked it for the time suggested and it didn't seem cooked through so I gave it extra time. Unfortunately, I think I gave it a little too much extra time and the brownie became more of a biscuit consistency. It tasted divine but was definitely more crispy biscuit that soft dense brownie. You could definitely still eat it like this because they still had all the taste.

I decided to crumb mine and make it into a cheesecake base though and it was absolutely delicious everyone who had a piece wanted to know what I had made the base out of. The chocolate taste was great and with the two varieties of chocolate chips made it very sweet and moreish.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 6th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have always been a keen baker and my favourite past time is searching through books or the Internet, to try and find more new and exciting recipes to try. I learnt everything I know about baking from my mother and from her mother, my Nana. Before having children I had lots of free time for baking, however now that I have three children under the age of 6 it's not so easy. The idea of these cookie ingredient jars really appealed to me as it meant that baking preparation wouldn't take as long, and when I got the urge to do some baking it wouldn't be a big mission.

When I decided to make the Fudgie Brownie I was amazed how simple it was, and the instructions were nice and easy to understand. After untying the ribbon and unscrewing the jar lid it was time to add the jar contents to the bowl of butter, egg, water and vanilla essence. The only downside to having the dry ingredients in a jar was I needed a spoon to free the ingredients from the jar because it was compacted well. I loved how the jar was virtually full to the top meaning value for money. The mixture made a very generous sized brownie.

When it came time to taste the fudgie brownie I cut it into squares and started salivating at the delicious aroma. My first bite and I absolutely loved it and instantly went back for another bite. The two types of chocolate make the brownie flavour nice and sweet, but not overpowering. My children tried a piece each and came back and asked for more as soon as they had finished their first piece. Throughout my busy day I found myself going to the pantry and devouring extra pieces.

I highly recommend these ingredient jars for being quick, easy and tasty to use. I am eagerly looking forward to trying the other flavors available in the range. These would make a wonderful present, added to a gift basket, or to take on holiday so you don't have to take all the large packs of flour etc. Now that I have been writing my review and finished it I'm going to sneak the last piece.

Click here to read the profile of raz_1984

Review by: raz_1984 (Sarah)
Dated: 4th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I've made ingredient jars before for friends and family, but I always found it hard to get the right amount of ingredients and ratios. This takes all the guess work out and looks wonderful! The packaging is nothing fancy, but having a nearly clear glass jar showing all the layers of ingredients is very effective and nothing else flashy is needed,

The directions were easy to follow that Miss 5 was able to help me. All we needed was a bowl, wooden spoon and a loaf tin. The only problem we encountered was that we have 3 different sized loaf tins and we were not sure which one to use! Dimensions of a tin would have been more helpful than just saying a loaf tin. We had to cook the brownie for a bit longer that stated because of this. But other than that, there were no problems.

In just a short time, the smell of homemade brownie started filling our kitchen. Once cooked and cooled, it was ready to taste! I was very excited to try this one as I have a different brownie mix that I love and was happy to see how it stacked up. And wow, it tasted as good as it looked! A dark, rich chocolate brownie with splattering of white chocolatier chips made for a very appealing brownie. Not only did it live up to other brownies which I had already deemed to be delicious, but it surpassed many brands and my expectations! It had a smooth taste which made it easy to eat...and made me wanting more!

I love that with just a few extra ingredients (egg, butter, vanilla essence and water), a small glass jar was transformed into what felt like a homemade brownie without all the effort and minimal cleaning up. I would buy these for gifts, and even for myself to keep in the pantry for those times I feel like baking...but never have the right ingredients.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 1st of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was excited to see this product for review and kept my fingers crossed I would be lucky enough to try it. I have never done baking using an ingredients jar however I have heard of them before and really like the idea, especially for gift baskets etc. I also love the idea for simplicity and the fact that it means that my daughter (aged 4) can do baking at the drop of a hat when she insists she really NEEDS to but I just don't have the time to dedicate to baking. I can guarantee you that nearly every weekend she suggests "maybe we could just do some baking" - sometimes this is great and not a problem - other times like I say I don't have the time but really want to as she isn't requesting something hard and her interest in the kitchen is something I want to maintain.

Once I had shared with my daughter and showed her the Lots of fudge brownie jar she was SO excited and was busting to get baking from the minute she woke up. I melted the butter and my daughter added the vanilla, water and egg before she did a great job shaking the contents of the jar out. It was surprising how much of the ingredients fitted into the jar and it was wonderful knowing they were actual real ingredients we were using not filled with additivities to make it last on the supermarket shelf. It did take a little bit of shaking to loosen the ingredients, but nothing that was to hard or had me worried, it was to be expected I thought.

We followed all instructions perfectly and when the time was up to pull it out of the oven I could see a large amount of the middle was far to liquid like so left it to bake for another 5-10minutes keeping a very close eye on it so as not to over cook it. What resulted from the oven was a delicious brownie that was utterly divine to eat! I loved it, my husband loved it, my daughter (aged 4) loved it and my son (aged 2) loved it. Would I buy this again - yes in a heartbeat!! Do I recommend it to others - yes without a doubt!!

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 28th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I've seen these on Facebook before and always thought they were a fantastic idea. A perfect gift for that hard to buy for person, or for someone you wanted to send baking to but didn't want it getting destroyed in the post.

I was really curious to see how well this jar would travel and see if the ingredients inside would all get messed up and mixed together. I'm happy to report that upon arrival it looked exactly the same as the photos online and that not even one chocolate piece was out of place. After opening the jar I could see why, everything was jam packed into that jar so tightly that even turning the jar upside down with the lid off nothing fell out. We had to actually scrape the first two layers out before the rest came tumbling out.

I developed my love of baking when I was a child and I really want to pass that love on to my children. My daughter, 6 years old, is now the perfect age to help out, read and follow instructions on her own and I thought this jar of ingredients would be a fantastic way to start getting her involved with my favourite hobby and help her appreciate that there is more to baking that just licking the bowl at the end.

My daughter gathered all the tools she thought she would need and started reading the back of the jar. I cut up some butter for her and we melted it. I then helped her crack an egg and measure out some vanilla essence and then she stirred these ingredients together. The next step was to add the jar. With very little effort at all she opened the jar (the lid must have been quite loose) and tried to tip everything out. After I showed her how to scrap the stuff out of the top she managed to get the rest of the jar emptied into her mixing bowl and then she mixed them all together.

I read the back of the jar and it said to pour into a pan. This is where we both got a little confused. The mixture was very very thick, very much like cookie dough and so it didn't exactly "pour" into anything, it was at this point that I reread everything to make sure we hadn't missed something but figured it must be right so we flattened the mixture into a greased pan and put it in the oven to cook for the required 18 mins.

After 17 mins I declared the brownies cooked and removed them from the oven to cool down. After they were cool I added some icing sugar and cut them up for my daughter to proudly give some to her brother and father. Everyone said they were delicious and a huge success.

Overall, I love the idea of this Jar of ingredients but I do think they need to reword the "pour" at the end of the instructions. Or even provide some description of what the mixture should look/feel like before cooking, something like "The mixture should remind you of cookie dough, press this mixture firmly into a pan." would go a long way in reducing some of the confusion.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 27th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love baking and I love Chocolate Fudge Brownies so I was looking forward to trying this. The Brownie mixture comes beautifully presented in a clear jar which means you can see the different layers of ingredients. It has a lovely pink ribbon tied around it so 10 out of 10 for presentation.

I decided to get my daughter to help make these as she loves to bake. She tipped the ingredients in a bowl and asked me why there was cheese in there (it was the white chocolate!!) I added the butter, water, egg and vanilla and she mixed away. Once mixed she asked me "Is that it?" and was surprised when I said yes. The process is extremely quick and great if you're in a rush or can't be bothered measuring out the dry ingredients. It says to bake for 18 minutes but I have a large gas oven so baked for 25 minutes and it was cooked around the edges and gooey on the inside. We served warm with ice cream for dessert and it was delicious, moist and gooey. Everyone in the family was extremely impressed and loved them. I managed to make 9 large pieces (the jar says approximately 8) and the following day they were a welcome treat in my girl's lunch box.

Although it is a little more expensive than preparing the ingredients yourself, this is fantastic for making delicious brownies that would impress everyone. Great if you're not the best baker and good to have in the cupboard if you have unexpected visitors!

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 24th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The first impressions of this product were amazing, it is very aesthetically pleasing and would make anyone feel very special to receive one of these jars of goodness. Sometimes though beautiful packaging and presentation do not guarantee a decadent treat. So I was anxious to whip this dessert up.

The ingredients were jam-packed into the jar, and there was no shortage of real chocolate chips, both white and milk chocolate. I got my 11-year-old to whip these up, if she could make them with no intervention then they have to be simple to whip up. She tipped the contents into a bowl and had to tap the bottom of the jar to release all the ingredients as they were so tightly packed in, in fact, it was surprising how much the jar held when it was all distributed into the jar. Now I was a little worried at this stage - this looked so GOOD and I was about to run the risk for potentially ruining the brownies, as I have an egg allergy and I was substituting egg with apple sauce. The typical substitution rate 1/4 of a cup of apple sauce for one egg was used in this. Miss 11 added the rest of the ingredients, butter, vanilla and water, the recipe said to pour the mixture into the tray, and it was a little thicker than a poured mixture so again I was a little anxious about the end results.

This smelled divine as it cooked, it really smelt like something from heaven and when I took it out of the oven it looked like store bought brownies, (something as someone with egg allergies I have only been able to admire and not enjoy). I sprinkled some icing sugar on the top and dished it up for dessert with the family, I let them all bite into it before I took my piece and it was then they realised it was egg free, - all they could say was how divine the taste of the brownies were, crunchy on the outside and gooey chocolate on the inside.

Would I buy these again? Yes, at $12 they would not be a regular in my shopping trolley but I think they are value for money, and they are decadent, easy to make and would make a great gift either in the jar or made up. I highly recommend these, and they can be made egg free for those who have allergies.

Click here to read the profile of kime82

Review by: kime82 (Kim)
Dated: 22nd of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love products like the "Lots of" brand that makes baking simple especially for me as a working mum and when the last minute shared morning tea at school pops up that I regularly have a box of quick baking items like this in the pantry.

I was really keen to try the fudge brownies as this is a favourite with the kids. The packaging is amazing I love the clear glass allowing you to see the layers and what's exactly in the mixture. And the instructions couldn't be simpler butter, an egg, some water and vanilla essence then tip the jar of ingredients in. I was worried that the mixture wasn't going to make much as it was only recommended to use a loaf sized tin. In the oven, it went with all its chocolatey goodness. The instructions said approx 15-17mins but it didn't seem ready so left for another 5, it still seemed really runny but decided to take out and cool in the tin as didn't want to overcook it. Well I was impressed there was enough for the kids' lunches for a couple of days (and for me to try a couple of bits) and they LOVED them.

Now the price - oooohhh they are quite expensive at $12.50. The other brands in the supermarket I can pick up between $5-6 which will make quite a lot and the difference in taste are not enough to buy the "Lots of" brand instead. If you were making a gift basket these would be perfect to add as the presentation is really pretty. If I saw these at the supermarket at a more reasonable price I would definitely buy them.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 18th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I've never made brownies before. It's always been the case that I have one or two ingredients missing and I really can't be bothered going to the supermarket to get what I need. So I was definitely interested in this product because the only items it needed, were items that I generally will always have in my pantry and fridge.

Looking at the jar, I checked out the ingredients needed, and sure enough, I had an egg, vanilla essence, and butter. The directions are incredibly simple: preheat the oven, mix wet ingredients, add and mix the contents of the jar, put in a loaf tin, and bake. The packaging is well sealed but still very easy to open, and I wondered how the ingredients stayed so well separated, and it is because it is very densely packed. Kudos to the makers, for figuring out the exact proportions needed to make the brownies and simultaneously perfectly fill the jar! The dense packing does mean you have to give the jar a bit of a whack to get it out (or alternatively I guess you could work it out with a utensil), but once it started to move it all came out in one go.

All-in-all, these brownies took less than 25 minutes to make, from starting the preheat, up until removing the baked product from the oven. I was pleasantly surprised how simple, quick and easy it was. Minimal effort, very little mess, and I didn't end up with kilos of unused flour, sugar, chocolate drops, cocoa, or baking powder sitting in the pantry. For someone that doesn't like wasting food, this is ideal for efficient food preparation.

Once I allowed the brownies to cool slightly, I couldn't help myself and I chopped it up and started eating it straight away. Cutting into the slab, the brownie had a slight crunch to the exterior, but the insides were soft and luxurious in flavour. The chocolate flavour was rich and decadent, with the chocolate drops providing a great little flavour hit and variety in texture.

I am incredibly impressed. Actually, impressed. Immediately after eating a slice, I had to contact KIWIreviews to convey how impressed I was. If these ever find their way into a supermarket, I will definitely buy many of them. With 8 good sized pieces, it's an ideal amount if you are making them for the family to share, or if your work was having a shared lunch. I love it.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 5th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We love brownies and I regularly bake them too. A couple of years ago one of my girls was given a jar of brownie mix and she still talks about it. When she saw the Lots of ... fudgie brownie in a jar she knew what it was all about and was keen to make it. I made her wait until the weekend but when the time came to make it Miss 7 wasn't too keen so Miss 9 made it with minimal supervision.

It was so quick and easy to make the most time consuming thing was waiting for the oven to preheat. It only made a loaf size pan but we cut it into 8 rather than the suggested eight pieces. We took the brownie, fresh from the oven and still in the loaf tin, around to the grandparent's place as it was Father's Day. My mother in law served it up on a plate and commented that it was quite moist. I am assuming if we had cooked it longer than the recommended 18 minutes it would have been more cake like but as it was a fudgie brownie it was great for us. All eight of us loved the brownie and my father in law even sent a text later that evening to thank us for the brownie. It tasted like home baking should, not at all like a packet mix.

The jar was beautifully presented with all the ingredients layered and there were several different coloured ribbons to chose from. Our jar had an electric blue organza ribbon. This makes the it an ideal gift for an individual or a family. I liked that all the ingredients were common things found in the pantry. There was no artificial rubbish or additivies I hadn't heard of. The ingredients we had to add were also things I had on hand: butter, egg, vanilla and water. This also meant that if you were baking it for someone with an egg allergy you could use an egg substitution.

I am keen to try some of the other products in the Lots of... range as a way to get my girls baking and as gifts for the teachers.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 4th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Who doesnt love chocolate brownie? Gooey sticky slices of rich chocolate brownie with a crunchy top. Well if made right that is lol I first heard of these 'Lots of' products when browsing the KIWIreviews website one-day. I noticed that there were a couple of the products listed for review, but as I had not long got back into reviewing I decided I would not apply to review them at this stage. But, the more I seen them, the more I really wanted to try them. So, I found the supplier on Facebook (easily found thanks to KIWIreviews), and I purchased two lots of their goodies.

One of the products purchased was the fudgie chocolate brownie. Delivery of my order (Im at the bottom of the south island), only took a couple days. The package arrived and, to my relief, the jars were very well secure in the box. I admit I was a little concerned that the jars may get damaged in transit, but Lots of ensures their products will arrive to you in the same condition they leave them which is such a relief. this brings me to the price, although much more than most of us would pay for for a small brownie, it is worth it give the love and care that goes into packing the jars, and then packaging them for delivery. Especially as these can be used for the perfect gift.

So the recipe mix is beautifully layered in the jar, then sealed and ribbon attached. Stickers are stuck to the front and back of the jar. the back sticker is the instructions for making the brownie. These jars would suit for any age group as gifts, because they are so super easy to make and just look so good. I love the simplicity of it all. Pour, add a couple pantry staples, mix, and bake. Before ya know it your home is filled with the wonderful rich chocolatey smell of brownie. And whats even better is, it actually makes the perfect brownie. And omg so so SO good! I very very highly recommend supporting this little company.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 30th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I looked at the instructions for this product, I decided to let Miss Five have a go at making them on her own. Her brother, Mr Seven, and I would help her but only if it was absolutely necessary - like reading the instructions to her as she has only just started learning to read, and organising the oven. The instructions were quite straightforward and she has already had some experience in the kitchen (under supervision, of course) so she was well set up to produce a masterpiece.

The preparation process was incredibly easy. She had to break an egg into a bowl and add melted butter, water and vanilla before stirring in the dry ingredients. With a little bit of assistance - I turned the oven on while Mr Seven held the bowl steady as she stirred it - the mixture practically prepared itself. She resisted the urge to lick the spoon during the mixing process because I thought it was important that she learn to take hygienic measures. However, I assured her that she could lick everything once the product was safely in the oven!

Putting the mixture into a baking tray was a bit of a challenge because she had to drop it in as a sticky lump and then spread it out. However, she made a reasonable job of it and if the mix was thicker at one end than the other then the cooked product would just look authentically home-made! Once the tray was in the oven, she had a great time ensuring there was nothing else left in the bowl.

The jar said it would take 15 minutes to cook. The oven at her house (where we were baking) is a bit slow so I checked it every few minutes and it actually took 22. Brownies are one dish that must not be overcooked - they are ready when they are still soft, so this is where she needed my help. The only way you can learn that is from experience and this was her first time cooking something like this.

They were a resounding success - the whole family loved them, and there was plenty to go round. In fact, I was impressed by just how much that small jar produced. I had thought initially that it was incredibly expensive for what you got, but I was wrong - the result was a large tray of brownies, more than enough to stock the tins for a week.

And the flavour? Absolutely delicious. Soft, melt-in-the-mouth chocolatey, totally decadent, an utter delight. Never mind the kids, next time I make them it will be when I am attending a function and am asked to bring a plate. And the next time a child's birthday comes round, I will consider giving them a jar of their own as Miss Five took so much pleasure out of making her own batch and showing off her culinary expertise!

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 26th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I absolutely love to bake and when it comes to baking Chocolate Brownie is one of my absolute favourite things to cook... and eat. I find that homemade brownies are always so much nicer than store brought brownies so seeing this ready measured jar of brownie mix made me pretty happy, I loved the idea of a simple to prepare brownie which Miss 4 and I could enjoy making together!

This mix couldn't have turned up at a better time, I received it the day before we were heading off to the snow with a group of friends and seeming as I had the next morning off work before we left I decided to whip these up with Miss 4 as I thought they would be perfect to take along to share as a delicious tasty treat. First of all I have to mention the gorgeous presentation of this product, it comes in a glass jar which is presented beautifully with a ribbon tied to the top of it (i saw that this comes in a variety of colours, mine was blue), there is a white circular label one on the front which states what the product is and one on the back which lists the ingredients and also the instructions. The part of the presentation that I loved the most however was the beautiful layering of the ingredients in the jar, each ingredient was easy to distinguish and it made such a neat appearance through the glass jar. Miss 4 and I had a bit of a game where we enjoyed guessing what we thought each of the ingredients we could see were!

The preparation of the brownies could not have been simpler, infact they were so easy that I let Miss 4 do the lot via my instructions. First of all I cut 85gms of butter from the block and melted this in the microwave, then Miss 4 added 1 egg, 1 tbsp of water and 1tsp of vanilla essence to this and mixed it until combined. Once this was done she tipped in all of the contents from the jar, these came out pretty easily however she did have to use her hands a little bit to get the first layer of the ingredients free. These were mixed into the wet mixture using a wooden spoon, and Miss 4 had no problem doing this herself, the mixture seemed just the right consistency not to wet, not to dry. Miss 4 placed the mixture into a small slice tray that had been lined with baking paper and I then placed it in the oven to cook. Just a nite the packaging does say to cook this in a loaf sized tin (which would make approx 8 squares) however I opted to make thinner pieces so that these would go further.

After 17 minutes in the oven the brownies were cooked and smelt absolutely amazing, it was hard not to nibble at the topping but both Miss 4 and myself held back from doing so as we planned to dust them with icing sugar once cooled. I sliced the brownie into pieces and found I was actually able to make it do 16 good sized pieces. Miss 4 and myself shared a piece and thought it was delicious, though Miss 4 was a bit worried that it had nuts in it but was happy to hear it was actually white chocolate. The next day at the snow I decided to heat the brownie up in the microwave for about 30 seconds to serve for dessert with icecream and chocolate sauce for the 13 of us that were at the bach. The brownie got rave reviews from both the children and the adults and everyone wanted the recipe, they were impressed when I showed them the lotsof website. The brownie tasted amazing heated, rich, gooey and chocolatey just the way a brownie should be.

This brownie mix would make such a lovely gift for a person who loves to bake. If your not great in the kitchen I reckon you should try this mix out so simple to use, you can't really go wrong and the results are amazingly good.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 1963: Purgatory Pizza
Produced by Hell Pizza, Palmerston North

Product image for Purgatory PizzaOnion, Garlic, Mushroom, Sundried Tomato, Fresh Spinach & Feta Cheese. Optional Olives and Pepperoni.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Politics is not a bad profession. If you succeed there are many rewards, if you disgrace yourself you can always write a book."
Ronald Reagan (1911 - 2004)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream