Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 16th October 2019 - 11:13:45

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Spreads > Nut Brothers - Salted Caramel Peanut Butter review

« Nut Brothers - Super Crunchy reviewNut Brothers - Super CrunchyProper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea Salt reviewProper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea Salt »

Score: 9.1/10  [10 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8345 - Nut Brothers - Salted Caramel Peanut Butter
Produced by Nut Brothers

Nut Brothers - Salted Caramel Peanut Butter
Price:
$7.00 / 300g jar
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Nut Brothers

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected supermarkets nationwide

Nut Brothers - Salted Caramel Peanut Butter product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsEver imagined having the best of both worlds? Now it's just a spoonful away. This jar blends the smoothness of high-oleic peanut butter with the subtle yet delightful crunch of caramel.

Plus, all this sweetness has a 5-star health rating. Talk about having your peanut butter and eating it too!

This spread is also gluten-free and vegan-friendly, so it really is the best of both worlds, and tastes as good as it looks.

Check out Nut Brothers onlineClick here to see all the listings for Nut Brothers Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel Check them out on Pinterest Check them out on Instagram



Tags:
additive free   caramel   dairy free   gluten free   gmo free   nzmade   oil   palm oil free   peanut   salt   spread   vegan
Other listings you may be interested in:
Cec's Traditional MuesliCec's Traditional Muesli
Rating: 8.9
Fast & Fruity Chunky Pourable FruitFast & Fruity Chunky Pourable Fruit
Rating: 9.0
Sealord Tuna Express - Italian TomatoSealord Tuna Express - Italian Tomato
Rating: 9.4
Leaning Tower Pasta Uno : Delissimo LasagneLeaning Tower Pasta Uno : Delissimo Lasagne
Rating: 4.8
Top Notch Macadamias - Sweet 'n' SaltyTop Notch Macadamias - Sweet 'n' Salty
Rating: 9.3
Down to Earth Organic Soup - French LentilDown to Earth Organic Soup - French Lentil
Rating: 8.8
O'nuts - Raving CajunO'nuts - Raving Cajun
Rating: 9.5
Smokey Harissa Tuna PocketSmokey Harissa Tuna Pocket
Rating: 9.2
Swiss Deli Fine Liver Pate - Portion PackSwiss Deli Fine Liver Pate - Portion Pack
Rating: 9.7
Nut Brothers - Super CrunchyNut Brothers - Super Crunchy
Rating: 9.4
L'Authentique French CheeriosL'Authentique French Cheerios
Rating: 9.0
IAM Super Food - Souper: Pulled Pork and JalapenosIAM Super Food - Souper: Pulled Pork and Jalapenos
Rating: 8.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 29th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Peanut Butter is a popular spread in our household and something we buy often, I had heard lots of great things about Nut Brothers and even seen their peanut butters used on cooking shows but had never tried them so when I saw these pop up on KIWIreviews site I was excited t have the opportunity to review this. Salted caramel peanut butter is very appealing there is certainly something about a sweet but salty combination that is very moreish.

I have tried a few different styles of peanut butters and have enjoyed the sweeter american style peanut butters but knew this would be a bit different than that. You can tell the quality of this peanut butter when you open the jar the oils somewhat seperate but when you give it a bit of a stir to mix it all back up it goes back to that beautiful smooth texture youd expect. I'm not shy to just grab a teaspoon with peanut butter so that was my first experience with this nut brothers salted caramel. I almost forgot the "no double dipping" rule we have had to establish with two young children in the house rule as I could have easily gone straight back for another spoonful.

Despite the caramel notes that definitely come through this is not too sweet allowing the peanut butter taste to shine while adding that point of difference. For desserts and baking that use peanut butter this would be a great option as it has the peanut butter taste while being sweeter and less salty tasting than other peanut butters.

My children who are big peanut butter on toast eaters at breakfast were both very happy to have this salted caramel peanut butter on their toast. My partner got out our regular peanut butter at breakfast time and our son quickly let him know "No dad I want the yummy peanut butter" so clearly a hit with him so it wont be long before I will have to buy the next jar!

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 21st of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I was super excited to see the flavour of Nut Brothers Salted Caramel available to request for review, as I have been dying to try their spread for a while and share them with my peanut butter loving family. I quickly requested it and was delighted when it turned up in my review box. I am always pleased to be able to try New Zealand made products, and hoped that this would be no exception.

The jar itself is very simple, with each flavour of "nut butt" having its own colour, making it easy to choose the one you are wanting in a hurry. I did note that the Salted Caramel has a 5 star health rating, and is vegan and gluten free - which is a fantastic thing for coeliac or people choosing to not have much gluten, like myself. The jar is a good size and easy to open and has the added bonus of being recyclable - awesome work Nut Brothers!

Whilst others have really raved about this peanut butter, I am not a huge fan and would definitely try other flavours before buying this one again. My kids and husband seemed to really enjoy it - so it is possible it is just me. I can see a fair few uses for this - in homemade fudge, on top of desserts or in muffins, just to name a few. I think the Salted caramel definitely has it's place, and I would have no hesitations telling people about this if asked. To improve it - I'm not sure, but the caramel flavour is not strong enough, for a first suggestion.

Would I buy this again - hmmm .... possibly - it is a bit on the pricey side for me, for something that my family goes through so much of, so fast. As I mentioned, personally I did not like it, but the rest of my family did - so it is quite possible it will makes its way back into our pantry, but I would prefer trying a different flavour of peanut butter, perhaps a more standard flavour.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 18th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I used to love Peanut Butter when I was younger but that lessened over the years, I now have three children, one of whom can't stand the stuff no matter which brand I buy and two who don't care what brand I buy, enjoy it but don't use it religiously (in fact, one jar can last us six to twelve months). My girls eyes lit up when I told them that this was a salted caramel flavoured peanut butter and they didn't even wait for me to be home to use it. The downside to this was that they complained that it was very oily, had I been there I could have told them they needed to stir it first, once that was done they were much happier. For me, the caramel flavour wasn't strong enough for me to want more on its own.

I had a craving for caramel and after a quick look online, saw that I could make some using peanut butter so I figured, why not? I heated up some brown sugar, cream and butter before adding a little white sugar and a nice helping of the salted caramel peanut butter. Once it was ready I gave it a taste, which was bad timing as I was stuck in the kitchen making dinner and so I must of ended up eating a couple of tablespoons worth of the caramel, it was that delicious. I then hollowed out some vanilla muffins, popped some caramel in and then drizzled some on the finished product, which was delicious. The muffins were quickly gobbled up by my two girls.

On its own, as a spread, my girls have enjoyed it but not gone crazy over it, but as an ingredient for something more, like the caramel, they gobbled it up and asked for more.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 15th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Our household goes through peanut butter like it is going out of fashion! There is usually at least 3 or 4 jars open in the cupboard from different brands, and of course some are crunchy and some are smooth varieties. My three young children would quite happily eat peanut butter by the spoonful - something I have frequently caught. Up until now I cannot remember seeing any Salted Caramel peanut butter around, so as a salted caramel lover, I was exceptionally excited to see this product available to request.

After opening my KIWIreviews box, I was over the moon to see the 300g jar of golden goodness, nestled in with the other products. The label is easy to read and there is no denying what the product is, this has a 5 star health rating, is vegan, and gluten-free.
I unscrewed the jar lid and decided I would sample this by the spoonful, the peanut butter was creamy and smelt strongly of roasted peanuts. I put the spoon in my mouth and the peanut butter just melted in my mouth, there was a definite crunch from the caramel crunch, however I wouldn't have minded if there was a tad more salt. I found that after that spoonful I wanted to try it with chocolate - perfect combination!
The next idea is to make a cheesecake and drizzle it over the top, or make a tart and fill with chocolate, and the salted caramel peanut butter.

I have no doubt that I will purchase this again in the future, it is incredibly tasty and left me wanting more. Now I would love to try some of the other products in the Nut Brothers range.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 15th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love the contrast between sweet and savoury and salted caramel is one of my favourite flavours. I was intrigued when I saw Salted Caramel peanut butter by the Nut Brothers. The butter comes in a 300 g glass jar and the first thing I noticed on the lid was the sticker with "oil separates naturally, stir before you spread". My biggest gripe with this butter was that every time I opened it (until I got down to about 1/2 jar), the oil on top went everywhere which was extremely annoying. Just bear this in mind and try to think of a strategy that can stop this from happening - I found eating lots of it helped!

Upon opening, you need to give the peanut butter a good stir to mix the contents as there is a good layer of oil, however, this does prevent the butter from drying out. I always like to grab a teaspoon of peanut butter to test it and I found that this was nice and creamy and had a crunch which I assumed was the salt. When I looked at the ingredients, caramel crunch made up 5% of the ingredients so I would guess it was this that caused the crunchiness! I could taste the salt but the caramel was very faint and hard to detect over the peanut butter taste. Personally, I would have like to taste the caramel a little more.

Overall, this is a thick and creamy, tasty peanut butter that could be put to use in many ways. I have had it on toast but I'm sure this would be fabulous in baking and in bliss balls.

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 15th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When it comes to spreads, peanut butter is one of the top choices in our house. We normally opt for a crunchy variety (which, if you were after, the Nut Brothers super crunchy peanut butter is amongst the best we have ever eaten), but this salted caramel variant really appealed, despite being smooth. We love anything with a salted caramel flavour, and the thought of that combined with peanut butter sounded like the ultimate treat. That coupled with the fact that it had a 5 health star rating, despite the seemingly unhealthy contents was enough to have me popping open the jar as soon as we received it. I mean, surely something with salted caramel can't actually be good for you?

When we received the jar, I was really relieved to see that, like their other varieties, the ingredients list was relatively short- a real win for me and a great sign of a really high quality product. We quickly popped off the lid and delved into the jar with a spoon. The butter is smooth, but not completely. It has tiny crunchy pieces in it which help to break up the jaw-jammingly sticky tendencies of smooth peanut butter. The taste was not at all what I had imagined. It starts off as salted caramel, and then quickly the peanut butter taste comes back, meaning that you have the very best of both salted caramel and peanut butter.

Spread on toast or in a sandwich it is delicious- just sweet enough but not over-sweetened or fake tasting. However, in a smoothie or a blob added to a hot chocolate takes this to another level. Another great use was adding to chocolate brownies, where the caramel flavour worked well to enhance the sweetness but the salt and nutty flavour added a slightly savoury and incredibly moreish kick. I was so impressed with how well both the salted caramel and the peanuts came through even when I used the butter in baking and combined with other ingredients.

Overall I still can't get over that this product has a 5 health star rating. It is sweet, slightly savoury, moreish and totally delicious, but still has the amazing benefits of a truly great peanut butter too. It is probably still more of a treat than an everyday food, but it is still healthy enough for the whole family to have a treat with. It enhanced everything I tried it in, and we just can't get enough of it. Nut Brothers- another job well done, but if you're looking for another product, maybe you could make a crunchy variety too? You will not regret purchasing this if you are a salted caramel lover.

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 13th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Which is better sweet or savoury? This is the age-old question that is forever looming over our heads and now with Nut brothers salted caramel peanut butter why can't you have your cake and eat it too. For as long as I can remember peanut butter has always been a part of my life as I have memories of being in primary school with the classic peanut butter and jam sandwichs for lunch and now making peanut butter sandwichs for my own children but back in my school days there was never such a diverse range of different peanut butter flavours that exist now.

Nut brothers are no new name to me as my favourite peanut butter flavour is their Smokin' Chipotle one and I was very interested in trying their sweeter based peanut butter with salted caramel. The packaging is very rustic looking and the label colouring of light brown blends in well with the peanut butter shade of brown. It comes in a 300-gram translucent glass jar that allows you to see the tantalizing peanut butter inside which retails at $7 per jar. I chucked in two pieces of bread into the toaster and opened the jar to smell the sweet nutty aroma but struggled to smell any real caramel notes until I took a deeper sniff and they hit me satisfying my senses.

I mixed the peanut butter as the oil was separated and laying on top then proceeded to spread a decent portion onto the toast. I took a big bite out of one of the pieces and was delighted that the consistency was smooth yet crisp with the small pieces of caramel that were mixed within the peanut butter. The ratio of flavour from the peanuts and caramel was perfect as neither seemed to be the dominant taste and coincided together so well. I finished my toast and my partner wanted to try it out in a microwaved cake so she mixed up all the ingredients in a bowl including the salted caramel peanut butter and cooked it for a few minutes. She removed the bowl and layered over a decent amount of the salted caramel peanut butter on top of the cake. After she had a taste of it first I was allowed to have a teaspoon of it to taste and I must say it was so delicious and the salted caramel flavour was the main star of the show which just set it off nicely.

If you are a fan of peanut butter or salted caramel then I believe this is the product that you have been looking for. It is so nice and is a huge hit amongst our family which is great when you find a product everyone enjoys. Nut brothers have once again proven that they know what they are doing when it comes to producing high-quality tasty products and the fact that it is Gluten-free and vegan allows them to cater for a broader range of people which is excellent. I will defiantly continue to purchase such great peanut butter from their range as they are a great value.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 11th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When I read Peanut Butter and Salted Caramel together in one container I thought wow. Peanut Butter in this house does not last more than a couple of days where as Salted Caramel is my husbands dessert flavour of choice. We seem to be having trumpets rather a lot and its the one flavour the four of us can agree on (that and jelly tip).

Nut Brothers is always a brand I look at while shopping. It sits proudly on the top shelf at countdown and I have been tempted more than once to buy one of the flavours on offer. The only thing that has put me off is the price compared to the other brands. The other issue was, even though my family enjoy peanut butter and jam sandwiches or peanut butter and honey I was not sure how it would be with salted caramel and as it turns out got mixed reviews.

My husband finds it a bit decadent to be a breakfast topping. He thinks this would be perfect in home baking when making muffins or biscuits but on its own it was to rich and did not like the gritty after taste. He said its not as bad as having a mouthful of sand but it was up there. My eldest daughter hates it and does not like the taste or the flavour. Where as my youngest loves it and said it is her favourite. She said she likes the peanut butter and how afterwards you can taste the salted caramel. She also said (which blows me away and now explains how we still have the crunchy peanut butter left) that she would rather have this over peanut butter. There is only a couple of scoops left and it is because she has been eatting this instead. She then asked if she could make a sandwich now to finish it off or else will have for breakfast.

I personally do not like peanut butter. I use it in milkshakes, baking and in sauces but I will not use as a spread. But as this is a review product and too keep it above board I tried some. Like with the crunchy flavour it does say you need to stir as seperates and in order for it not to dry out. Smelling it I could sense the salted caramel. I have to admit I was rather shocked at how much I enjoyed. To me tasted like a melted chocolate bar and I did not really pick up on the peanut butter at all. I liked the gritty taste and like my daughter prefer this over regular peanut butter.

I am rather torn I did not use on toast just ended up eatting with a spoon and as there was not a lot left over I am not sure. My youngest loves so would get used and even guessing be nice in a banana split or cupcake filling but I am not sure how would be on toast. I am thinking at this stage if saw on special would buy and see how it goes - I am just shocked at how much I liked and wished I had tried sooner!

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 16th of July, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Usually I can visualise what is going to be in a particular product, but this time I was stumped. Salted caramel is a relatively new flavour, and all of a sudden it is in every second dessert and sweet snack. But peanut butter? Oh well, I got over myself with the chilli-chocolate combination (which, once I got used to it, made me realise that it was actually possible to include it as a condiment in meat dishes.) And we did once take peanut butter-and-honey sandwiches to school. So maybe this might be another new taste combination just waiting for me to discover it.

The effect was nothing like I had expected. Instead of turning the peanut butter into a sickly kind of Snickers bar, it was only slightly sweet. The salted caramel was recognisable, but only just; this was still a real peanut butter, slightly crunchy, with a subtle aftertaste of burned sugar. This was a flavour I could live with, and moreover, a flavour with lots of possibilities - both sweet and savoury.

Once I had tried a little on a teaspoon, I asked my friend to taste it too. She was visiting with her two-year-old grandson, but we did not offer him any as he is a little young for peanuts. However, he got annoyed when he found he was being left out, so we gave him a teaspoon of honey instead, hoping he would not notice the difference! My friend thought the same as I did; it was nothing like she had expected, but very tasty just the same. I took out some rye bread and made some toast and we all had some - the two of us, that is; Mr Two got toast and honey! The toast was nice, but I think it would have been even better with the nutty flavour of a grain bread.

Next evening, while visiting my daughter, I decided to try some with a new recipe using bananas and coconut ice-cream. I lined bowls with ice-cream and arranged a partially split banana on top. I then put two teaspoons of the peanut butter on top. I had intended to top the dessert with whipped cream, but I had forgotten to get any. However, although it was not quite as pretty, it tasted perfect and was probably a lot better for us! All five of us enjoyed the combination; Mr Nine said he could taste the salted caramel, but the rest of us were not so sure. However, the coconut, banana and peanut flavours were so perfect together that it did not really matter. This is one dessert that I will be making again as it is so easy, so I will be stocking up on another jar for next time.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 7th of July, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love peanut butter, if I could only ever buy one more spread again it would definitely be peanut butter! I have seen the Nut Brothers brand in some of the more common supermarkets for a while now, however I had not had the chance to purchase any of these yet due to having a stash of peanut butter already in my pantry, however the other day while on Facebook I saw an advertisement for there Salted Caramel Peanut Butter and had made myself a promise to buy some the next day when doing my weekly groceries. When I couldn't find it I was very disappointed, but this disappointment soon disappeared when I got given some for review. The combination of Peanut Butter with Salted Caramel seemed to me like a match made in heaven and so I couldn't wait to try it.

The Peanut Butter comes in a 300gram glass jar, with an easy to open twist top lid. The labeling is simple but, effective, a brownish/caramel coloured strip with a white font that tells you everything you need to know about the contents inside. I was impressed to read that the product is suitable for Vegans and those who are gluten-free, it also comes with a 5-star health rating which is pretty impressive and helps make it a little bit guilt free! The ingredients listed include no nasties and are all things which you could easily find in your kitchen pantry or that you would of at least heard of before.

After opening the jar up, I followed the instructions on the lid which said to "stir before you spread" due to the oils that separate naturally in the product. There was a rather thick layer of oil on the surface, but nothing that a good lot of stirring couldn't fix. I gave the jar a bit of a sniff but was unable to smell any traces of caramel, though to be fair I did have a bit of a blocked nose at the time! Instead, I decided to get a teaspoon to test out the taste, it took me a wee while to come across the Salted Caramel flavours, but they were there lot's of tiny crunchy pieces of caramel throughout the smooth Peanut Butter, a texture which to begin with reminded me a bit of popping candy. Although the Salted Caramel was there, it was hard to taste through the Peanut Butter, I would have much preferred a stronger caramel flavour perhaps adding this in a form of caramel sauce or the likes may have helped to bring the flavour out?

I have tried this spread on toast and also have used it as a drizzle mixed with icing sugar on some banana muffins, both these ways it has tasted great and worked well just, unfortunately, more Salted Caramel flavour would've been nice. This was a lovely Peanut Butter in general and I can't wait to try more flavours in the range.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.9
Product reviews for listing 7880: Spreadable Fruit - Seville Orange -  Produced by Barker's of Geraldine

Product image for Spreadable Fruit - Seville Orange    •  Gluten free
    •  No refined sugar
    •  No artificial sweeteners
    •  Made in New Zealand
    •  Refrigerate after opening

Sweetened only with pear juice concentrate, this is a great option for anyone looking to actively reduce their refined sugar intake, ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"You know you've read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend"
Paul Sweeney

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream