Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 27th June 2019 - 02:11:41

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Taste of India Goan Prawn Curry Sauce review

« Taste of India Bengal Fish Curry Sauce reviewTaste of India Bengal Fish Curry SauceProper Crisps - Kumara Crisps reviewProper Crisps - Kumara Crisps »

Score: 7.6/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 6259 - Taste of India Goan Prawn Curry Sauce
Produced by Taste of India

Taste of India Goan Prawn Curry Sauce
Price:
$4.49
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Taste of India

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Taste of India Goan Prawn Curry Sauce product reviews

A Portuguese inspired recipe of sweet & sour Tamarind with Coconut cream. Delicious Authentic Quality Cooking Sauces. Simply add your meat & simmer.

These Simmer Sauces provide a quick and convenient way to enjoy traditional authentic Indian recipes with 11 sauces now available.
    •  No preservatives, artificial colours or flavours
    •  Includes sachets of whole & ground spices for seasoning
    •  Includes a recipe booklet with illustrated instructions
    •  Shelf stable 425g spout pouches
    •  Revolutionary 18 month shelf life
    •  11 sauce recipes available
    •  Suitable for Vegetarians
    •  4 generous servings per pouch
    •  No gum and no starch
    •  Cooked in Canola oil

Ingredients:
Water, onions (21%), coconut cream (14%), mustard oil (7%), tomatoes (7%), tamarind (5%), coconut (2%), garlic (2%), salt (1.8%), sugar (1.4%), ginger (1%), herbs & spices.

Allergy Advice:
    •  Contains coconut & mustard.
    •  Made on equipment that processes dairy, nuts, soy & sesame products.

Check out Taste of India onlineClick here to see all the listings for Taste of India Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
coconut   coconut cream   garlic   ginger   gluten free   mustard   onions   salt   sugar   tamarind   taste of india   tomatoes   water
Other listings you may be interested in:
Taste of India Mango Chicken SauceTaste of India Mango Chicken Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Taste of India Rogan Josh SauceTaste of India Rogan Josh Sauce
Rating: 9.0
Loaf Mini-Bites - Lolly BitesLoaf Mini-Bites - Lolly Bites
Rating: 9.4
Taste of India Navrattan SauceTaste of India Navrattan Sauce
Rating: 7.8
Taste of India Jalfrezi Simmer SauceTaste of India Jalfrezi Simmer Sauce
Rating: 7.3
Taste of India Tikka Masala SauceTaste of India Tikka Masala Sauce
Rating: 9.6
Taste of India Butter Chicken Simmer SauceTaste of India Butter Chicken Simmer Sauce
Rating: 9.1
Taste of India Korma SauceTaste of India Korma Sauce
Rating: 9.0
Taste of India Bengal Fish Curry SauceTaste of India Bengal Fish Curry Sauce
Rating: 6.8
Taste of India Madras SauceTaste of India Madras Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Vegetable Pilau RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Vegetable Pilau Rice
Rating: 9.5
Edmonds Moist Chocolate CakeEdmonds Moist Chocolate Cake
Rating: 10.0
Taste of India Vindaloo SauceTaste of India Vindaloo Sauce
Rating: 8.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 3rd of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I am a big fan of Indian dishes, especially in the throws of winter, when its great to serve up a piping hot meal with some added kick to really warm the innards. My family and myself have always enjoyed and appreciated a good curry, but I admit, we have never had a curry with seafood before. In fact I am possibly a little nieve because I was not even aware of seafood style currys until I saw this advertised by KIWIreviews, and then received it for review *yay*.

I absolutely adore the taste of india pouches. They have a look of class without the expensive price tag. They are appealing and just a little bit fancy. And the whole package has really great qualities. Each one comes with its own sealed/attached packet of herbs and spices. To me that is just awesome. The pouch is easy to open and pour from. In fact its one of the best bav styles sauces Ive used in terms of pouring out the contents. The easy pour spout was a really great idea and addition. I do admit that the little spice package was initially a little tricky to remove and open, but when youve done it once, its easy any othrr time you use one of their mixes. Plus the shelf life of the contents is just on a year and a half..excellent, absolutely excellent!!

The sauce itself, has a really great aroma. One where you really feel like you are creating something really amazing. And do not fear about doing anything wrong, because the sauces come with a little instruction booklet, that has step by step easy to follow instructions and little pictures. I absolutely love these. Everything about them.

So seafood curry (or in this case, prawn)...yup its a little bit spicy. Just a wee bit to spicy for my family apparently. We added a lot more coconut milk than it called for in the end. The kids really limed it once we toned the heat down. Unfortunately, none of us had tried prawns before this day, and the kids were not fans of them. We have since purchased the sauce again and used it with lamb instead and the kids loved it! Again we had to add extra coconut milk lol

I love taste of India simmer sauces. So much flavour. So easy to make. A little bit classy and so easy to use. And a really great price too :)

It says that the sauce once accompanied with the added ingredients will make four servings. This is sometimes really frustrating, as we are a family of five, starting at 8 years old, but I am happy to report it made enough to feed us all, with noone starving after finishing either.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 25th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I've tried one other curry sauce in this range and was keen to try another but on close inspection some contain nuts so do read the packets carefully if you want to avoid nuts like me. However this one doesn't have nuts in it (only may contain traces) so it was the one to try. But now I had the problem where I can't eat prawns either... but luckily it said it was suitable for any type of fish so I grabbed some Hoki at the fish deli and used that...

I love this range - the extra packet of spices is well secured to the main pouch and with the whole spices and ground spices coming in separate packets, it feels more authentic to cook up. It also means you can add less spice if you wish, but I wouldn't know what difference this would make so just added the lot!

Unfortunately my Hoki broke up a lot as it cooked so I didn't take any photos of my meal - it would really put you off! But it tasted a lot better than it looked and I served it with rice as per the suggestion. My husband is not keen on a lot of spice so I toned it down at the end of cooking by adding some cream cheese. It suggests coconut cream or normal cream but I didn't have any of this on hand. I found the heat factor fine and my husband had seconds so it must have been OK for him although he did comment that he wouldn't want it any hotter.

Overall it was nice, and if I could pick this up for a good price I might try it again - I only wish I could try it with prawns as I imagine it would be delicious.

Click here to read the profile of beanie

Review by: beanie (Serena)
Dated: 25th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I just have to say first up that this product has the best packaging I have seen and used for a ready made sauce to add to a meal! It has very bright and colourful packaging and an easy pour spout which is also the perfect size for when you are trying to rinse out the packet at the tap. It is easy to read and has a 'spiciness' rating that is easy to see and read. There is a small pouch on the back of the packet which has very easy to follow instructions on how to cook a meal using this product and there are pictures that go with each step. I love the fact that there are separate spice packets which mean that you are using some nice whole spices to fry up at the start of cooking this meal and it also means that you can add as much or as little of these spices that you want depending on how you like your flavor.
I have just tried out this meal and rather than just put prawns in it I actually put in a frozen seafood mix and also some vegetables. This meal has a medium spicy heat to it and it was spicy but just the right amount without it burning your mouth. So I thought that this was a really good meal overall.

Click here to read the profile of beanie

Review by: beanie (Serena)
Dated: 23rd of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I just have to say first up that this product has the best packaging I have seen and used for a ready made sauce to add to a meal! It has very bright and colourful packaging and an easy pour spout which is also the perfect size for when you are trying to rinse out the packet at the tap. It is easy to read and has a 'spiciness' rating that is easy to see and read. There is a small pouch on the back of the packet which has very easy to follow instructions on how to cook a meal using this product and there are pictures that go with each step. I love the fact that there are separate spice packets which mean that you are using some nice whole spices to fry up at the start of cooking this meal and it also means that you can add as much or as little of these spices that you want depending on how you like your flavor.
I have just tried out this meal and rather than just put prawns in it I actually put in a frozen seafood mix and also some vegetables. This meal has a medium spicy heat to it and it was spicy but just the right amount without it burning your mouth. So I thought that this was a really good meal overall.

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 13th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

When I read the ingredients in the back of the packet, I was very keen to give this a try as it was aimed at being a seafood dish yet has no fish or meat in the actual sauce itself (which is also very handy as that means it can be used for any mea/fish). For this dinner we were using sausages as we rarely eat fish (only 3 out of the 5 of us likes seafood) and it was the easiest thing on hand. I followed the basic instructions on the recipe card, usually we add things like garlic and onion, but having not had this sauce before, we wanted to stick to the script.

I mellowed it down with some plain yoghurt, as even though it says it's medium spice level, my wife found it closer to hot. The kids got a very watered down version of the sauce, with one gobbling it all down, one eating just the sausage and the other not eating any of the sauce at all (she has a very sensitive palate). For the overall flavor, I wouldn't get it for the kids but I would buy this again just for me as I think thickened up it would be a perfect meal for two people. If you don't like heat in your meat, don't buy it, but for a bit of heat and a nice sauce... I'd buy it again.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 12th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love the pouch that comes with this kit - what a simply fantastic idea. It holds the recipe card as well as the spices - just genius. The recipe is extremely easy to follow and gives you all the information you require including pictures of what you need to do step by step. However I don't understand why they can't do something similar with the curry and spices. The simmer sauce has an opener where the curry and spices you need to use scissors it just felt a little random.

The procedure is extremely easy. I put the rice in the rice cooker and by the time it had popped the Goan Prawn Curry was also ready. It is up to you how much spice you use and also the quantity of the curry - being new to it we decided to use the whole lot. Although in the future I might hold back on the curry as was hotter than expected. It also recommended adding extra water but I decided not to as didn't want it to watered down. I did however add some coconut cream.

The packets all where very fragrant although while I was cooking it I did not smell anything. Saying that when my husband and the girls came up the stairs they all said they could smell the spices and how yummy it was smelling - completely surprised me. Unfortunately I was silly and not thinking brought prawns with the tails still on would definitely buy unshelled in future.

The girls loved it and ate it straight up with the aid of extra coconut cream. My husband commented he preferred last nights meal better where as I actually found it not as tasty as I was hoping. It was more hot then anything and I got no real flavour from it. I would like to try again as I think it has fantastic potential and not use as much curry and probably add more coconut cream and next time will have Naan bread as my husband loved the sauce.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 12th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I have used the Butter Chicken sauce in this range a few times before (not always with chicken, we like to shake things up and try different meats) and when I saw the sauces up for review I knew that I had to request some of them. One thing that I really like about this brand is the little bag on the outside with the recipe booklet and some herbs and spices. I used all of the herbs but only a tiny part of the spices as it smelled quite strong, had a sniff of the sauce and it smelled really nice, even had my kids going 'mmmm, yum'. I used sausages as we're not a big on seafood family and we like to try other meats. I left the sausages to simmer in the sauce for a good ten minutes to let it soak in it as much as I could.

My first taste was a big spice hit, right at the back of the throat, but I knew that would be too much for us all so I added some plain yogurt to the dish, eventually taking some of the mix out and added much more yogurt to it for the kids, keeping our own still rather hot. Going for overall taste, my youngest decided it was hot and that was that, my middle child adored the sausages but didn't want to eat the sauce that was left on the plate and my eldest devoured the entire plate. My husband and I both thought that the sauce was ok, it didn't taste as nice as I thought it was going to based upon how it smelled in the packet, and so we wouldn't be in a rush to buy it again, but its a good value item compared to other sauces.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.5
Product reviews for listing 7461: Marcel's Ooh La La Crepes -  Brand : Marcel's

Product image for Marcel's Ooh La La Crepes8 Ooh La La Crepes, gluten free.

Crepes are suitable for both sweet and savoury.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"It ain't the parts of the Bible that I can't understand that bother me, it is the parts that I do understand."
Mark Twain

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream