Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 16th July 2019 - 10:13:44

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Breads > Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread with Cheese review

« Little Chef Spring Roll Pastry reviewLittle Chef Spring Roll PastryGregg's Green Curry Paste reviewGregg's Green Curry Paste »

Score: 9.0/10  [8 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 4012 - Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread with Cheese
Brand / Source : Turkish Bread Limited

Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread with Cheese
Price:
$5.79
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Turkish Bread (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
chilled aisle at the supermarket

Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread with Cheese product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsIf you want even more than garlic bread - try our Gourmet Cheesy Garlic Bread. We've added Mozzarella cheese, herbs and spices to our Gourmet Garlic Bread creating a flavour that's hard to beat - and even harder not to want more.

Check out Turkish Bread (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Turkish Bread (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
bread   cheese   garlic   heat and eat   herbs   nzmade   turkish
Other listings you may be interested in:
El Mexicano - Nacho cheese SauceEl Mexicano - Nacho cheese Sauce
Rating: 8.5
Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic BreadTurkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread
Rating: 8.9
Farmer Bills Baby CarrotsFarmer Bills Baby Carrots
Rating: 9.7
Kaweka - Field Mushroom RisottoKaweka - Field Mushroom Risotto
Rating: 7.6
Maketu Mince Pie - Single ServeMaketu Mince Pie - Single Serve
Rating: 9.1
Turkish Calzone - Feta and SpinachTurkish Calzone - Feta and Spinach
Rating: 7.6
Turkish Calzone - Deli MeatsTurkish Calzone - Deli Meats
Rating: 8.4
Turkish Pizza Bases - Thin and Crispy Pre-SaucedTurkish Pizza Bases - Thin and Crispy Pre-Sauced
Rating: 9.1
Turkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic BreadTurkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic Bread
Rating: 7.7
Indonesian Nasi GorengIndonesian Nasi Goreng
Rating: 7.0
Slow-cooked Pulled Duroc PorkSlow-cooked Pulled Duroc Pork
Rating: 8.5
Farrah's Mexican Range - Taco Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Taco Spice Mix
Rating: 9.4
Mini Gingerbread Men Mini Gingerbread Men 
Rating: 8.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 14th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 8 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

After reading all these reviews I was really keen to try this bread out. It was on special at my local supermarket so I bought a couple of packets. The packaging is really appealing and stands out when it is in the refrigerated section, it draws you to it being pink and orange.

When I brought these home, I put one in the freezer and decided that we would have one to eat immediately. I preheated the oven as it suggests and put in it. It took longer that the instructions say, but I was wanting to get the cheese melted in the middle. I found that the middle didn't want to completely melt (or I was just too impatient) but the rest of the bread was a nice golden brown.

It was easy to cut into fingers, and didn't create a mass of crumbs as some other breads do. It was a winner at the dinner table, even my extremely fussy 2 year old gave it the thumbs up! There wasn't much left for my partner when he finally arrived at the table! The garlic flavor is strong, but not too overpowering which is great.

Tonight we had the other bread that I had frozen. I cooked it in the same way in the oven and again fond that the cheese in the middle wouldn't melt completely. We used it as dippers into our tomato soup and it was fantastic. Again it was gobbled down in record time with the children asking for second helpings of soup, hoping that more bread would accompany!

Overall this is an awesome yummy product, it's slightly on the more expensive side, but if you are having it teamed with soup for dinner, it still makes for a cheap, hearty comforting meal! A winner in this house.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 28th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 8 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I got some stirfry beef out for dinner tonight and decided that we would have a garlic bread as well. Stirfry is so quick and easy to pull together, which is great when you have a baby cruising all over the show. But its a meal that my fussy almost 6 year old doesn't always eat. Knowing I had some garlic bread in the freezer made tonight so easy!

I pulled out the cheesy garlic bread as that sounded the most appetising of the two I had left. I then baked that in the oven for about 20 minutes, while pulling the stirfry together. The smell of the garlic and cheese was delicious and had my daughter asking when she could eat. Finally I served her up her portion of meat, noodles and veges, gave baby some noodles and meat strips and served up the adult portions complete with thai coconut sauce.

I cut the garlic bread into thick fingers and I gave two to my husband, two for me, one for each daughter. That left three on the chopping board. Both daughters ate the bread up, apart from the crust. Husband wolfed his bread down and seemed to clearly enjoy that more than the stirfry. I ate my pieces quickly too. The taste was fantastic. The garlic and cheese was a real winner. However, the crust was a bit chewy like a frozen bread can get. Also I found that the middle wasn't as fluffy as the gourmet loaf came out. Still it was really nice.

As a courtesy to my family, I offered up the last of the bread and my eldest daughter claimed every last left over piece! So that was that really. This one was really nice and I think I would buy it again, but maybe thaw it slightly before cooking next time. I think that might solve the non-fluffiness of the middle.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 22nd of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 6 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I enjoyed the gourmet garlic bread but I love, love, love the cheesy garlic bread. What is not to love when you combine garlic and mozzarella cheese. Before I tried it I knew it was going to be my favourite of the three of Turkish Bread's garlic breads I have eaten.

I was having soup for lunch and thought the cheesy garlic bread would go well with it. I heated it in the sandwich press and it was ready before the jug had boiled for my instant soup. Since the cheese, garlic and butter are all on the top of the bread it browned before the bread had heated through but as it was just me eating it appearance wasn't important. If I was serving it to impress someone I would heat it in the oven.

It smelt so good that all the kids were asking what I was cooking for my lunch. I wasn't sharing this with anyone. It tasted even better. The cheese really did compliment the garlic bread. This is where I confess to spending the rest of the afternoon eating the rest of the loaf. It was impossible to resist the call of the garlic bread in my fridge.

I will be buying this again. It is not the sort of thing I would eat often due to the calories and the cost but it is great quality. The packaging claimed it was restaurant quality and that is true. It is perfect to serve for guests. It is the best garlic bread I have ever eaten.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 20th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We were having pizza for dinner (more on that in the pizza bases review) and I was worried that two pizza's wouldn't be enough so I grabbed the cheesy garlic bread out of the freezer and put it on an oven tray to defrost while the oven heated for our pizza's.

The cheesy garlic topping doesn't go right to the ends so I grated some cheese on to it and then placed in the oven with the pizza's. This was heated to perfection by the time the pizza's were cooked.

The bread is absolutely divine. So light and fluffy yet beautifully moist and the perfect texture. I absolutely love this and the topping is just the icing on the cake really. Yummy. I would have preferred the topping to go all the way to the ends as the bits in the middle are just scrummy.

Having eaten this I am not sure that I would ever buy other brands of commercial garlic bread again. This is so wholesome and so yummy that I will be buying this to have on hand in the freezer. I would definitely recommend this to have on hand for dinner parties or just a nice lunch or dinner addition.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 17th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 7 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Garlic and cheese. Two items that really enjoy, joined on the same bread, yes please. I was curious how to see how this would pan out, as while I really love garlic I find that most garlic breads are too buttery and not enough garlic, so I end up being unable to eat it. I hoped that this would not be the case with this, and happily, it wasn't.

The great thing about the bread is that it only needs until the cheese has melted and it is ready to eat, and even better, you can do this from frozen and none of it ends up icky due to moisture etc. This smelled wonderful as it was cooking, the smell was very tempting (was hard not to keep opening the oven door) and I was really looking forward to trying it.

This is a good portion size, I cut it up so that 6 people got a piece each, my two older children and four adults. Now, my only complaint with this is that the cheese and garlic did not cover the entire top of the bread, so as a result two out of six ended up with a bit of bread with a little bit of salt on it, but no garlic and no cheese. That one thing would be what would put me off buying this again as I don't want to buy something that means you either have bread that no one eats, or some people not getting the full product ie. bread not cheesy garlic bread.

I think that if I did get this again I would get some kind of dip such as a feta & spinach or a basil pesto dip and put some of that on each piece of the bread, just to give it a bit more oompf, but overall this bread was enjoyed by those of us who got the full trifecta, those who didn't get the full trifecta were most disappointed (don't worry, we did share with them).

I do like the ease of this product, but I would only buy again if more of the bread had the cheesy garlic deliciousness on it.

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 17th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 5 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

My wife and I both love garlic, so much so that we use it almost everyday. Cheese with garlic can only make a dish that much better. So getting to try this, I was very excited and it was my first choice out of the breads that my wife got to review.

My only complaint about it was that the cheese and garlic didn't spread right to the edges of the bread, so there was a bit at each end that was just bread, which was a real shame and let this bread as a whole down (or I would have given it a 10 out of 10)

A bread like this I think would go great with most dishes, just as something on the side or to dip into soup. But it would go just as well on its own, I could easily cut this into bite sized pieces with a dip to go with it.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 16th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 8 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Okay, this is the first product I tried, and so far it is the best! The cheesy topping was 100% delish, and the bread was awesome! Unlike the regular garlic bread, this stuff wasn't infused with garlic, it had the garlic on top, along with some herbs, spices and yummy, gooey cheese that makes my mouth water even now. The packaging was okay, it looked reasonably airtight, which would probably extend the lifetime of the bread, even if we hadn't put it in the freezer.

Cooking was reasonably simple, but what ever you do, if you are cooking from frozen, DO NOT FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS! This might be some strange advice, but trust me, it is good advice. The instructions on the packet say to bake the bread in the oven at 180C for 6 minutes. This might be the truth if you are cooking the bread from thawed, but from frozen I found that it took about 14 minutes. It was a bit of a juggle, trying to find the right time, I started off with cooking for 6 minutes, after which it was still mostly frozen.

Then I added another 5 mins, then another 3, and then it was done. The stuff was great, serving it was easy, I just cut it in half and then ate it. It says that 1 bread = "a meal for 2", but it was so good I ended up having the whole lot!! The price is absolutely ASTOUNDING! I would have actually thought that something this good would be just a little more expensive, but now that I know that this stuff is only $5.79 a pack, I am rather glad.

I have to say that I am very impressed, this was a great first impression of what the bakers at "Turkish Bread" can do and make. Overall, this is a product I highly recommend!!

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 31st of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 8 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This is the yummiest garlic bread I have ever tried because I am such a sucker for garlic and cheese!! I have also tried the original garlic version and love that too but this is even better as it has the cheese on the top.

You put these in the oven for 8 minutes and then cut up and serve. They are great on their own as a snack or you can have them as a side dish with a meal. I doubt they are that healthy as they have cheese although it is mozzarella cheese so not too bad, plus I make it worse by adding butter to the side.

The portion size is good enough for the family to get a couple of slices each with their meal. We have even used this as a pizza base and it is really good as you get the extra hit of garlic with your pizza. I love Turkish bread it is so nice and soft, and if you heat this for a little less time than the instructions say you get that real soft doughy texture in the middle which I actually really like.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.1
Product reviews for listing 7379: Farrah's Mexican Range - Burrito Spice Mix -  Brand / Manufacturer : Farrah's

Product image for Farrah's Mexican Range - Burrito Spice MixFarrah's Burrito Spice Mix combines great Mexican flavours with chipotle chilli, coriander and cumin to delight your taste buds. This easy to use spice mix adds a burst of flavour to a range of Mexican dishes like burritos or chilli con carne. It has a medium heat, contains no artificial flavours or colours and is made right here in New Zealand.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Internet is so big, so powerful and pointless that for some people it is a complete substitute for life."
Andrew Brown

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream