Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 20th May 2019 - 13:36:02

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Breads > Turkish Calzone - Feta and Spinach review

« Turkish Calzone - Deli Meats reviewTurkish Calzone - Deli MeatsTurkish Pizza Bases - Thin and Crispy Pre-Sauced reviewTurkish Pizza Bases - Thin and Crispy Pre-Sauced »

Score: 7.6/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 4068 - Turkish Calzone - Feta and Spinach
Brand / Source : Turkish Bread Ltd

Turkish Calzone - Feta and Spinach
Price:
$7.89
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Turkish Bread (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at your local supermarket

Turkish Calzone - Feta and Spinach product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsCalzone is an Italian word. Traditionally Calzone is a pizza that is cooked folded in half - much like a Cornish pasty is a folded pie.

Our Calzone is handmade, like all of our products, in our stone oven with the best ingredients available. Healthier than a pie, tastier than a bag of chips - less fat than both!

Put it in your lunchbox they're just as good cold and you can even microwave them... if you must.

Check out Turkish Bread (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Turkish Bread (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
calzone   capsicum   feta   mozzarella   nzmade   spinach   turkish
Other listings you may be interested in:
Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread with CheeseTurkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread with Cheese
Rating: 9.0
Roma & UnoRoma & Uno
Rating: 9.3
Howler Hotdogs - Original Mini HotdogsHowler Hotdogs - Original Mini Hotdogs
Rating: 8.8
Wok Creations: Pad ThaiWok Creations: Pad Thai
Rating: 9.0
Edmonds Sweet Muffin MixEdmonds Sweet Muffin Mix
Rating: 10.0
The Crown CreperieThe Crown Creperie
Rating: 9.6
Turkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic BreadTurkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic Bread
Rating: 7.7
Delites Sea Salt & Balsamic VinegarDelites Sea Salt & Balsamic Vinegar
Rating: 8.4
Taste of India Butter Chicken Simmer SauceTaste of India Butter Chicken Simmer Sauce
Rating: 9.1
Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic BreadTurkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread
Rating: 8.9
Turkish Pizza Bases - Thin and Crispy Pre-SaucedTurkish Pizza Bases - Thin and Crispy Pre-Sauced
Rating: 9.1
Pasta mia Gluten-free Fresh FettuccinePasta mia Gluten-free Fresh Fettuccine
Rating: 9.0
Turkish Calzone - Deli MeatsTurkish Calzone - Deli Meats
Rating: 8.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 29th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I didn't bother to share this one with my husband (not a big spinach fan) and my daughters (feta is such a strong flavoured cheese). I cut it in half and yesterday I cooked one half of this calzone in my sandwich press. I used some grease-proof baking paper to wrap it. Then I put it into the machine for about 5 minutes. The smell after that time was far too tempting for me to leave the bread alone. I took it out, and happily ate the whole half.

The flavour of the filling in this was delicious. The feta was not too strong, the spinach was a good amount for colour, texture and flavour addition. There is mozzarella, which gives the filling a springy stretch and a dash of sundried tomato I believe. The flavour was really nice. I was by far more impressed with this calzone than the deli meats one.

Today I took the rest of the calzone to work with me. I microwaved it for 2 minutes on high. The bread came out piping hot. I ate that for my lunch. The flavour was the same, the bread was a lot softer and squishy. I think I preferred the way it came out in the sandwich press. But the microwave worked still. Both were faster than when I tried the other calzone just in the oven. This one was my favourite for sure, and I would consider buying this again since it easily did two lunches.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 26th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

NOT A FAN of Feta... and not a huge fan of spinach either... so when I realised this was the second to last product I had left to try, I was really tempted to make it the last... or find someone else to take it for review. Alas, it was not to be... so, gritting my teeth I fired up the oven and prepared to make it thermally-gifted.

After a 12-minute cook time, it appeared to be ready. Thinking if I cut it into four segments, if I didn't like it then at least I could offer a piece to the other members of my family as see what they thought. As it turned out, that wasn't going to be an issue.

The first piece I tried was more bread than filling, so was an easy-pass. The next piece though had a lot more filling, and I could taste it. Though it wasn't anywhere near as unpleasant as I was expecting, it still didn't really "rev my engine", so I threw some finely shredded ham on top of this piece and that really made a difference. The slight saltiness of the Feta worked very well with the ham, giving it a complementary lift without the need for anything extra.

The third portion got shredded roast chicken on top instead, and this was better yet! The distinctive "roast chicken skin" taste worked very well along side the spinach and the Feta sat more in the background on that piece. The last piece was, again, more bread than filling so it got used as a dipping piece to mop up the last of the chicken juices, and that was a great way to stop the bread - now cooling rapidly - from feeling dry and chewy in my mouth.

Overall, not my favourite by any stretch, but surprisingly it was far from being an ordeal as feared. Using this as the basis for a roast chicken open sandwich, or as a side-dish for something like a steak with pepper or mushroom sauce would be quite a stunning experiment I think. Heck, I may even be tempted to try it next time I see this on special in the supermarket chilled shelves aisle.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 19th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I am sorry to say this, but this is actually my least favourite bread. I am not much of a vegetarian, so unless it is garlic bread, I am not one for the "meat-free" stuff. The taste was rather disturbing, I am not a fan of spinach unless it is in a hummus, so this was a large contributing factor to my dislike of this product. Another thing was the cheese, broccoli cheese is something that I am not hesitant towards eating, but SPINACH CHEESE? Not very nice.

Because of this, flavour gets a 4/10, but keep in mind, this is only my opinion, there may be some people out there who have different tastes and would enjoy this. Once again, I got the cooking time wrong (what is wrong with me?). I didn't set a timer this time, I just stuck the bread in and kept it in until it felt soft. I took it out, and had put it on a plate when I realized that it was still cold. I immediately put it in the microwave for a couple of minutes and that seemed to do the trick.

After finding out that this stuff was rather unpleasant, I tried scooping some mustard pickle onto it, but even that didn't help. Price is good, even though I didn't find this stuff all that good, I'm sure there are others who would say otherwise, so it gets a 10/10. Portion size is great, it can naturally feed 2 people as a full meal but could feed several people if it is chopped up and added to, let's say, some mince and mash? I only took a couple of bites before I ceased eating, but it was enough to get a good idea on the flavour. So, word of advice, unless you are someone who loves Spinach and Feta, this is a product I only loosely recommend.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 17th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 7 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

I got given this to review and was fairly excited about it as I LOVE feta, cannot get enough of it, and since one of the key words on this package was feta I was eager to give it a try. Sadly it wasn't what I expected it to taste like.

This is a good portion size, I split it up between four adults and we all had it with a bowl of pumpkin soup. The only issue that I had with the cooking of it was that I had to cut it up after it had been cooking for a while so that the middle of the bread would heat up as well as it was starting to get too brown on top and not warm enough on the bottom. Everyone agreed though that portion sizes were good.

As I said above, I'm a big fan of feta. My husband loves it too, my mum enjoys it and my step-dad is indifferent about it. For my mum, husband and I (My step-dad has only eaten feta a handful of times in his life) we all agreed that this didn't have the taste that we were expecting. This was very creamy, but there was no feta taste to it at all (we are a family that has feta at least once a fortnight, cooked in different types of meals).

The filling itself was a little bit of an overload, one bite and it went squishing out the side, had the flavour been better this would have been a fine problem, but since there was no taste of feta in this, it was just extra filling that wasn't needed.

Sadly, while this was nice, it tasted pretty average to us, just tasted like cream cheese and spinach mixed together. I do like the idea of this product, but the flavour would need a vast improvement before I would buy it.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 17th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When I first found out about the Turkish Bread products available for review the calzones were the ones I really wanted to try although I was a bit unsure about the feta and spinach one. I am not a huge feta fan and my husband hates spinach so we were probably going to luck out with this one.

The first thing I noticed when I went to removed my calzone from the freezer was there was no suggested time for cooking from frozen. It said 5 minutes in the oven but I assumed that was for one from the fridge. I cooked it for 5 minutes and then checked it was still frozen in the middle. I continued checking it every 5 minutes until it had been in the oven 20 minutes and then removed it. The ends were fine but it was only lukewarm in the middle. That suited us as our kids don't like their food too hot.

The kids couldn't wait to try it. This was probably because I sold it to them as a pizza sandwich. They both ate more that I expected with Miss 4.5 proclaiming "I love this. Thank you so much Mummy." My husband surprisingly was willing to try it but it didn't have enough feta taste for him. I agreed with him that the feta provided the creamy texture rather than a dominant flavour so I loved the flavour.

I will be picking up another one of these to go in the freezer as a heat and eat meal for the odd time it is just me and the kids for dinner as it will more than feed the three of us. It is also the thing that would be great for a pot luck dinner, take a plate affair.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 17th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I was starving when I got home and being a huge feta and spinach fan I was straight into this with my homemade pumpkin soup. Because I was so hungry I thought I would be able to eat this all by myself so heated the whole thing (It does say serves two on the packet) in the microwave and then put in the fry pan to crisp it up. Although the bottom, and then top when I flipped it, heated up well It was still stone cold in the middle when I cut it so I then just heated up pieces individually until I was happy with the warmth.

The bread of the calzone is more bready than pizza so was light and fluffy and tasted nice. The filling however was a different story. Given it was feta and spinach I had expected a nice crumbly feta with the spinach but this was really creamy and the mixed in with the spinach in a way that was just a bit sickly really. I couldn't even eat half of it as it was just too creamy and rich. Hubby ate my other half later in the day (I had put it in the fridge) cold and also found it quite rich and not particularly great. Maybe to just have a small piece would be okay but I wouldn't try to tackle half (or the whole) calzone again. I am not sure if I would buy this again actually especially at almost $8.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 8032: Hellers Roast Chicken & Bacon Soup -  Brand : Hellers

Product image for Hellers Roast Chicken & Bacon SoupWe've now taken your classic, favourite soups and paired them with our delicious, premium meats.

This rich, warming soup is stuffed with roast chicken, bacon and wholesome veges. Seasoned to perfections with a touch of thyme; this soup rules the roost.

Hellers Soups, hearty yet nutritious combinations, bringing comfort to Kiwi homes this winter!

Ingredients
Water, Vegetables [Onions, ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"If corn oil is made from corn, and vegetable oil is made from vegetables, then what is baby oil made from?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream