Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 24th March 2019 - 17:57:59

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Breads > Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread review

« Turkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic Bread reviewTurkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic BreadTurkish Calzone - Deli Meats reviewTurkish Calzone - Deli Meats »

Score: 8.9/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 4066 - Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread
Brand / Source : Turkish Bread Ltd

Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread
Price:
$5.79
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Turkish Bread (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at your local supermarket

Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsIf you really want the big taste of garlic then you need our Gourmet Garlic Bread. As used in restaurants this is not for the feint hearted.

At a big 410g per loaf Gourmet Garlic Bread is dripping with flavour. Heat, slice and serve with any meal. It's hard to say no, harder not to want more!

Check out Turkish Bread (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Turkish Bread (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
bread   garlic   heat and eat   herbs   nzmade   turkish
Other listings you may be interested in:
Kiwi Party MixKiwi Party Mix
Rating: 10.0
Turkish Calzone - Deli MeatsTurkish Calzone - Deli Meats
Rating: 8.4
Marcel's Fancy BlinisMarcel's Fancy Blinis
Rating: 9.9
Bowel Biotics + CapsulesBowel Biotics + Capsules
Rating: 10.0
Heavenly Velvet Vanilla DessertsHeavenly Velvet Vanilla Desserts
Rating: 9.1
Pics Peanut Butter SlugsPics Peanut Butter Slugs
Rating: 9.5
Sachie's Kitchen - Pad ThaiSachie's Kitchen - Pad Thai
Rating: 9.2
Yaya's Tomato SauceYaya's Tomato Sauce
Rating: 9.3
Turkish Calzone - Feta and SpinachTurkish Calzone - Feta and Spinach
Rating: 7.6
Turkish Pizza Bases - Thin and Crispy Pre-SaucedTurkish Pizza Bases - Thin and Crispy Pre-Sauced
Rating: 9.1
Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread with CheeseTurkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread with Cheese
Rating: 9.0
Turkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic BreadTurkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic Bread
Rating: 7.7
Steak & Chips PizzaSteak & Chips Pizza
Rating: 8.2

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 2nd of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I found these in the supermarket about a year ago and decided to try them as I love turkish bread and I love garlic bread so thought these would be a great alternative to the standard garlic bread you buy in tin foil. Me and my family absolutely loved this product and now buy it from time to time.

It may sound strange but I love to have this for breakfast with some feta cheese and walnuts on the top as it is really nice and a healthy breakfast that fills me up for most of the day. I got the idea from my brother in law and once I tried it I really loved it. The rest of the family aren't sold on the idea but aren't really fans of feta cheese.

We like to have this bread when we have soup for dinner or lunch as it makes a really nice dipping bread as it holds it's shape and doesn't get to soggy in the soup. However it is also nice as a side dish with a main course of steak and couscous when you heat it and spread lots of butter on the top.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 27th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 8 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I cooked up a loaf of this to have with our dinner tonight. After a great pizza effort and not so great calzone effort, it was up to the garlic bread to save the day. This is a gourmet loaf and so for me that would be something really special. I had expectations of a good garlic flavour hit, and for it to feel like good quality bread, not too oily.

The loaf itself was a good size, and almost a flat style bread. Like a rustic Turkish style bread. I really liked the presentation, with the garlic and butter sitting on the top in a shallow trench on the bread. I liked the rustic feeling of the bread, it even had the sprinkling of flour on the bottom. It had been pre-cooked and had that style of having been baked in a pizza oven. I love that style, because it feels handmade, like an artisan bread.

I cut it up into fingers, and served it to everyone. There was so much left over, even with two pieces each, that I was able to have a little snack before bed as well. This bread was a clear winner. My husband ate it all, and I didn't get any of his (unlike the calzone). My daughters both ate the middle and tops out of each of their pieces, as children do even on the nicest breads. And I yummed mine up. Despite this having been frozen, the bread was light and fluffy in the middle and just delicious. I would buy this one again.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 26th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 8 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Now THIS is what I am talking about... this was amazing. Because each loaf is a 2-person serving, I decided to try chopping it into thirds and trying it three different ways. Each segment was prepared and all three were heated at the same time.

The first segment was eaten 'as-is' - nothing added, just heat and eat. Brilliant! It had that tasty zing of plenty of garlic, a hint of saltiness from what I imaging to be rock-salt (I admit I didn't even think to read up on it, I was too keen to dig in!) and a light herbiness thrown in for overtones. Wonderful straight-up, it was also nice when I used the last little morsel to wipe up some of the sauce from my savoury-mince dinner dish, which I was preparing for later that evening. (Hey, since I was heating up the oven, I thought why not make the most of it!)

The second portion had a slice of shaved ham and a slice of Colby cheddar cheese laid over the top half-way through the heating time. This allowed the cheese to melt, without causing the ham to dry out and wither. This proved to be an inspirational snack, and I now plan to try this with an entire loaf in the near future. Perhaps with a light sprinkle of Cajun or Moroccan seasoning over the top.

The third chunk was done as a mini pizza, with some crushed pineapple, sliced champagne ham, a few slices of tomato, and topped with a bit of grated tasty cheddar cheese and some freshly ground black pepper. This, for me, was the highlight of the lot! It was an astounding combo that was not in any way ruined by the garlic - quite the opposite!

Overall, this is a wonderful product - tasty on it's own, versatile enough to be a flexible base for your inspiration to build on, yet solid enough in itself to retain its character under many other flavours. I *will* be buying more of these, for sure! (Especially as I see them on special at Pak'n Save often enough.)

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 26th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 6 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

I LOVE garlic, my husband LOVES garlic, our kids, well not as much but we do all enjoy a good garlic bread, when we can find a decent one that has enough garlic so that you can actually taste a decent amount of garlic, and not too much butter as we find that just makes it taste fowl.

Popped this in the oven, wondering what it would be like as there was also a great deal of herbs on it. Wasn't too sure about that as sometimes the herbs can be too overpowering. When cooking I didn't get a strong smell of garlic, in fact, a very minute smell of garlic which was a shame for me as I love the smell of garlic heating up in the oven.

I chopped this up into lots of small pieces and handed it out amongst the family. My step-dad had no opinion either way, whilst my mum really enjoyed it. My husband ate all of his plus some extra, my five year old ate one piece with no additions and then his second piece dipped in soy-sauce. My three year old gobbled hers down and wanted more, my two year old just licked the topping off it. I wasn't a big fan, though my pieces did seem to have a huge amount of herbs on it which was all I could taste, so I didn't finish mine.

It was a hit with everyone except for me, so I would buy it at least one more time to give it another try.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 20th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 6 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When I was given the Turkish Bread products to review I wondered how I was going to write different reviews about the garlic breads. I also thought there wouldn't be much difference between the low fat and the gourmet garlic breads but now I have sampled them I can say they are totally different.

The gourmet garlic bread is full of flavour both from the garlic and the butter. The flavour is all sitting on the top and as my husband discovered if you don't hold the bread right it can drip all over your fingers. The first one or two slices on each end of the loaf lacked flavour and I used a knife to spread some of the topping onto these slices.

The flavour had a good kick to it which is what I expect from a quality garlic bread. There were some green herbs visible in the topping but the ingredient list just states "herbs and spices" so I am unsure what they were but they definitely added to the flavour.

My husband and I both really enjoyed this product. We ate it alongside our meal and found it very filling so still have half the loaf to reheat for lunch tomorrow. It is great to know it can be warmed in the sandwich press as that will be much quicker and energy efficient than using the oven for one thing. We will be buying a loaf for the freezer to use on nights where we want to stretch the meal out a bit more or for a simple soup and bread lunch.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 19th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 8 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Now I see why they call this "gourmet" garlic bread, it is 10 times better that the plain garlic bread This stuff didn't have the garlic flavours mixed in with the dough, in fact, this stuff was just like the cheesy garlic bread, but without the cheese. What I mean to say in this is that this stuff had the garlic on top of the bread, along with some herbs and spices. The bread was very flavourful, so this stuff gets a 10/10 on that aspect.

Once again, I GOT THE COOKING TIME WRONG!! I had left the bread in the oven for a couple of minutes before I remembered to set the timer, so I tried to figure out how much time there was left, and I fell short by 1 minute. There was a small frozen core in the bread, but thankfully it was only the size of a small stone. It threw a small wrench in the workings for when I was trying to enjoy the meal, but hey, the stuff was yummy, and that's what matters.

Taste gets a full 10, of course, but health is a different matter. I found that this stuff was a bit fatty, and it just doesn't SEEM to be a "top-of-the-range health food. The price is wonderful, it is the same as the cheesy garlic bread, and is still rather affordable. One thing is for sure, and that is that this stuff rocks, and I now I wish I had another one of these, but unfortunately I only got the one to review. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 17th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was serving up lasagne for dinner and as it was cooking in the oven and I was berating myself for not making bread to go with it I remembered I had this in the freezer. I took it out and let it defrost then placed it in the oven for about 8 minutes on the bottom shelf under my lasagne.

I sliced this up and served it warm though it had no chance of going cold in my family. This was demolished so quickly I had to quickly grab a bite of my husbands piece before I missed out! The verdict from the whole family was Yum! and why hadn't I cooked more. This bread is so light and fluffy its absolutely heaven. The butter garlic topping is really nice and not at all overpowering. What I loved most is that this is all natural. No preservatives etc. I would definitely buy this to have in my freezer as it is so incredibly nice and perfect to whip out at a dinner party or for an extra accompaniment for dinner or with soup.

This gets a 10/10 in our house and I would definitely recommend trying this divine bread.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 1312: Sauce for Fruit - Maple & Walnut -  Produced by Gourmet Guru

Product image for Sauce for Fruit - Maple & WalnutTake something that tastes great - fresh fruit, add a little inspiration - our sauces, and very quickly you can create an irresistible snack or dessert.

We've taken the time to discover the right sauce for the right fruit, so that you can ensure every mouthful is a memorable one.

Great for pouring or dipping.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Making duplicate copies and computer printouts of things no one wanted even one of in the first place is giving America a new sense of purpose."
Andy Rooney (1919 - )

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream