Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 21st August 2019 - 08:29:18

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Breads > Turkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic Bread review

« Zirka Circus - Out of This World 2013 reviewZirka Circus - Out of This World 2013Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread reviewTurkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread »

Score: 7.7/10  [8 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 4065 - Turkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic Bread
Brand / Source : Turkish Bread Ltd

Turkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic Bread
Price:
$4.40
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Turkish Bread (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at your local supermarket

Turkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic Bread product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsHot on the heels of our pizza bases is our delicious low fat Garlic Bread. With only 1.4g fat (0.2 g saturated) and 570mg sodium per 100g serving it tastes great and you won't feel guilt eating it. As with all our bread there's no preservatives either! Delicious.

Check out Turkish Bread (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Turkish Bread (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
bread   garlic   heat and eat   herbs   nzmade   turkish
Other listings you may be interested in:
The BathHousEThe BathHousE
Rating: 7.9
Turkish Pizza Bases - Thin and Crispy Pre-SaucedTurkish Pizza Bases - Thin and Crispy Pre-Sauced
Rating: 9.1
El Mexicano - Nacho cheese SauceEl Mexicano - Nacho cheese Sauce
Rating: 8.5
Turkish Calzone - Feta and SpinachTurkish Calzone - Feta and Spinach
Rating: 7.6
Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread with CheeseTurkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread with Cheese
Rating: 9.0
Chop Chop! Chicken - TeriyakiChop Chop! Chicken - Teriyaki
Rating: 8.4
Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic BreadTurkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread
Rating: 8.9
Cocavo - OriginalCocavo - Original
Rating: 8.3
Maketu Sausage Roll - Single ServeMaketu Sausage Roll - Single Serve
Rating: 9.0
Lefty's Gourmet Pizza BasesLefty's Gourmet Pizza Bases
Rating: 8.8
Turkish Calzone - Deli MeatsTurkish Calzone - Deli Meats
Rating: 8.4
The Turkish Kitchen Traditional FalafelThe Turkish Kitchen Traditional Falafel
Rating: 9.0
Tegel Cuisine Cordon BleuTegel Cuisine Cordon Bleu
Rating: 8.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 3rd of November, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

I really, really, really like garlic bread which is funny as i'm not the biggest bread eater, nor do I particularly like putting butter on anything! But there just so happens to be something about the taste of pipping hot bread, dripping with melted garlicky, buttery goodness that appeals to me!

I have tried many a garlic breads in my time and I must say they are always so different in many ways to each other and are all very unique so much so that it really is quite hard to make so many comparisons between them all as they all are so close to falling into there own little categories. I've had the classic sliced loaf of bread filled with lashings of hot garlicky butter, but the best garlic bread I ever tried was at a restaurant that used to be in Hamilton called 'The Crazy Farmer' they served you up a bowl of buffet bread rolls with a bowl of delicious melted garlic butter which you dipped the bread rolls into, these were amazing and an ingenious way of serving garlic bread, we loved it so much that we ended up doing this at home for quite some time.

I was interested in trying this low fat garlic bread to see how it compared with others on the market, and was very skeptical about this as the packaging states that it only contains 1.4g of fat (0.2g of saturated fat). 570mg sodium per 100g serving and that it still tastes great, hmmmm to me garlic bread should be dripping with butter, but upon opening up this package this certainly was not the case here. However I placed the bread on to a tray and popped it into the oven for 8 minutes, until it was golden and. The bread was beautifully crunchy and warm with a nice soft centre, however when I want garlic bread this really isn't what i'm looking for, it is more like a loaf style bread with a sprinkling of salt and garlic.

Though this tasted nice and was simple to prepare I don't think it's something i'd buy again, though perhaps it may go well as a bread to serve with soup?

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 3rd of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I found this in the freezer, and nobody in the flat could recall who had bought it so I called dibs. Quite a large loaf, I chopped off the end to test it out. Opening it out and grilling it, I gave it a taste; it did taste of garlic, but it wasn't overly strong. Very subtle in flavour, it had a firm crisp to it, but still remained soft inside. I ended up making two meals out of the remainder of the loaf.

The first half I just grilled, before adding a thick layer of butter, combined with garlic, to reduce the dryness, and increase the flavour. Finally adding a sprinkle of grated cheese over the top. With the second meal, I just sliced the piece in half, and grilled it to form the base and top of an open steak sandwich; with steak schnitzel, fancy lettuce, and an onion chutney.

While the bread was nice, the flavour was far too subtle for my liking, and a little dry. I'm pretty sure that I effectively added in the fat back into the bread by adding butter and cheese to it. But it proved to be a very versatile bread, that is a large enough size to provide multiple servings and uses.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 1st of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

This low-fat garlic bread was left until last in my freezer. It seemed to be the least appealing, for my family's normal garlic bread desires. We like our garlic bread swimming in buttery goodness and with bold garlic flavours. So the other two in the range appealed far more on sight.

This bread is packaged much like the other breads in the range. It's got the same easy rip plastic bag, which I love. The colour of the pack is nice and bright and really draws your eye. You can see the product through a clear window too, which is important to me again. Photos on packages can easily make something look better than it's going to be.

Tonight for dinner, I roasted some chicken drumsticks, and served this with rice, steamed vegetables. I then baked the low-fat garlic bread as well. As it cooked, I was waiting for that delicious mouth-watering garlic smell to hit. But it never did. Eventually I thought, I should check on it (I cooked from frozen) and the bread was brown on top. So I rescued it before it went too far past golden. I cut it up into fingers and it was nicely baked.

The taste of the bread was subtle garlic. It wasn't greasy, which was to be expected. The taste was nice, but the thing that got me smiling the most was the middle. That soft fluffy middle of hot bread. Wow! Though I would probably buy the cheesy or gourmet garlic bread again, over this one, it was still delicious and appealing in it's own way. If I was looking to cut back on fats in my diet I would definitely consider this product.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 26th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Many years ago, when I was but a lad, my father owned a garlic bread factory. After school and on weekends, I would often be there helping out - usually carrying minced garlic or chopped parsley to the chap running the mixer, or helping to load the piping bags, but sometimes I would be in the testing bay with Dad and the bakers, helping to tweak new product ideas. When it came to food, they said I had a natural nose for finding the bits that needed to be adjusted. I think it fair to say I know a thing or two about hand-made bread products, and garlic bread in particular. But this... this is new to me.

As a garlic bread in the traditional sense, this is a bit of a "WTH?!" inducer - no butter, no dripping garlic juice, no well-soaked crusts... but what you do get is an amazing light, fluffy bread with hints of garlic throughout. A nice 'tear it up and dip it' bread that would almost make me dig out and unpack the old fondue set, but instead prompted me to slice it in half horizontally, spread a bit of aioli, lay in a light salad, some sliced, marinated, grill-seared steak, a few strips of roasted capsicum and top it off with a light drizzle of a home-made honey-mustard dressing... #Yum!

By the time I remembered the camera - still sitting up on the bench next to the assembly area, it was too late... there was little but wreckage on all three plates... yes, this open steak sandwich happily fed three of us. If you got tricky with some long toothpicks, you could probably turn this same dish into 8-12 little finger-food morsels even.

The bread was amazing, and even on it's own it was quite nice... though to be honest it was a little mild for my tastes, being a passionate devotee of the pungent rose. As a base for another dish, this is simply superb, allowing the other flavours to come through without be drowned, yet not surrendering it's own contribution to the flavour spectrum.

Overall, this is one I do plan to keep handy in the freezer, especially coming up the colder months when it will also undoubtedly co-star with a lovely thick creamy chicken noodle soup or a hearty tomato and onion broth. Maybe even dance a duet with an Irish stew or two, too. Wink Icon But, as previously mentioned... watch the timings. The time printed on the packaging seems to be a lot shorter than ideal, and you may want to make your own call on when it's done. Just be careful to remember - these are PRE-COOKED. You're only reheating and finishing them off! If you forget that, you'll end up with carbonised wreckage instead of deliciousness.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 25th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Well firstly in big bold letters on the front is "no preservatives" so this immediately gets my tick of approval. 100% natural ingredients, 100% butter free as it is made with olive oil and 97% fat free. It is simply labelled as "Garlic bread". On the back however in very large letters this is proclaimed as 92% fat free. In the nutritional information box the total fat per 100grams is 2.6g with 1g of the total fat being saturated. With 600mg of sodium and 9g of protein.

So anyway a bit confusing and nowhere does it say on the packaging "low fat" so don't look out for that when you go to buy this! Anyway onto the inside and the product. I put this in the oven for about 7/8 minutes and it was beautifully brown and yummy when I took it out. I really liked how it had coloured and crisped in the oven without getting tough. The bread itself wasn't really a garlic bread as I like it and I would definitely, if I wanted a good garlic bread, go for the buttered version. However if I wanted a dairy free product then this is a great alternative.

Everyone at the table loved this bread and it was just as I would have expected from "Turkish Bread" in that the bread was moist, yummy and tasted homemade. I would buy this again and would definitely recommend it especially if you want a dairy free option or just a yummy bread to serve up with your meal.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 19th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 3.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 3 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 6 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 2 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 2 out of 10

I got this along with others to review. I wasn't too sure about it as I have a hard time finding store brought garlic bread that isn't too buttery or not enough garlic. From the looks of it I could see that it wasn't going to be buttery (packet states no butter), but I was concerned about the amount of garlic that would be there.

Popped it in the oven, a little hard to tell when it would be fully cooked (oven times do vary naturally), it was in for about 10 minutes. Getting it out there was a very faint aroma of garlic but not enough to have me drooling.

I decided to give some of this to the kids for their lunch, and so portion wise it was very good. Flavour however, for me was nothing nice. This is not something that I would buy and I didn't even manage to finish one small piece of bread. For me there was no taste of garlic at all, it tasted like a light dash of herbs was on it but nothing more.

This is not something that I would buy. Whilst the amount of food gives it good value for money, the taste was nothing and was basically just a plain loaf of bread.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 17th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 8 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Okay, this is the second bread I had, but it was a slight disappointment to see that it was not as good and the one preceding it. The texture of the bread was quite spongy, it was a bit difficult to cut off a piece because when I pressed down on the knife, the bread just sagged like a sponge does when you press on it. The flavour was alright, though it wasn't as rich and flavourful as the cheesy garlic bread, it was a bit dry and there wasn't a lot of garlic in there, so in a way it was kinda like eating a sponge as well as the bread acting like one.

I'm not saying that the bread was terrible, 'cause it isn't, it just wasn't the best. Part of the whole "lack of flavour" aspect might be my fault, I got the cooking time wrong. With the last bread I had to cook it for 14 minutes, with this one I did a bit of an experiment and put it in for a quarter of an hour. I found out that I had overcooked it just a little bit before the timer hit 0, my Dad was in the kitchen with me and told me that something was burning. The damage wasn't TOO big, only the underside was charred, so I cut that off and ate the rest.

For flavour, I'd give this thing an 8/10, so show that is isn't terrible but has, unfortunately, fallen short of getting a full score. The price is excellent, it matches the value well. In terms of being healthy, this thing isn't exactly a model of it. It tasted a bit fatty, so I'd say this thing is good for the odd meal. With all things put into consideration, not bad.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 17th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I am used to good old kiwi garlic bread which is dripping with so much butter that you are constantly wiping your chin. This garlic bread is very different. There is no big mess. It contains no butter at all so it is great for those with dairy allergies. The garlic flavour is mild so it compliments the food you serve it with rather than over-powering it.

I sliced the loaf into ten slices and thought I'd try some in the toaster. They were too thick for the toaster so were heated in the sandwich press. So much quicker and energy efficient than having to heat the oven. They crisped up beautifully and got me thinking if I had cut them into cubes they would have made great croutons without all the extra oil that croutons usually contain.

I chose to use most of this bread to make French toast for Sunday brunch. Since the bread was already seasoned I dipped it in a simple egg and milk mixture without any of the seasonings I would usually add. We enjoyed the mild flavour that the garlic bread infused but I think I would have preferred a bit more kick to it. No vampires would be scared away.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 3057: Roshen Nougat - vanilla -  Manufactured by Roshen

Product image for Roshen Nougat - vanillaA delicate parcel of soft, vanilla nougat wrapped in a light coat of Roshen chocolate. Individually wrapped for sharing... if you want to. Wink Icon

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Politics is not a bad profession. If you succeed there are many rewards, if you disgrace yourself you can always write a book."
Ronald Reagan (1911 - 2004)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream