Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 1st May 2017 - 00:44:53

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Frozen Goods > Turkish Pizza Bases - Thin and Crispy Pre-Sauced review

« Turkish Calzone - Feta and Spinach reviewTurkish Calzone - Feta and SpinachDead Romantic reviewDead Romantic »

Advertising...

See your advert here!
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.1/10  [8 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 4069 - Turkish Pizza Bases - Thin and Crispy Pre-Sauced
Produced by Turkish Bread Ltd

Turkish Pizza Bases - Thin and Crispy Pre-Sauced
Price:
$5.49
Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Turkish Bread (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at your local supermarket

Turkish Pizza Bases - Thin and Crispy Pre-Sauced product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsDid you know pizza is a traditional Turkish food? Half of Europe claim the pizza as their own - but who knows where they were served first! It doesn't matter really as long as you make them with your favourite toppings and start with a great pizza base.

Versatile and great tasting, these Turkish Pizza bases come in a pre-sauced 'thin & crispy 2 pack' for when you're in a real hurry. Keep a pack in the freezer so you can make a quick pizza any time of the day... or night.

Check out Turkish Bread (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Turkish Bread (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board



Tags:
frozen   herbs   nzmade   pizza   sauce   tomato
Other listings you may be interested in:
Sids Plum SauceSids Plum Sauce
Rating: 8.5
Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic BreadTurkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread
Rating: 8.9
Oxford Nacho Beef & Cheese pieOxford Nacho Beef & Cheese pie
Rating: 9.2
Lavosh Crispy Snacks: Sea Salt & Olive OilLavosh Crispy Snacks: Sea Salt & Olive Oil
Rating: 8.8
Turkish Calzone - Deli MeatsTurkish Calzone - Deli Meats
Rating: 8.4
Turkish Calzone - Feta and SpinachTurkish Calzone - Feta and Spinach
Rating: 7.6
Black Doris Plum PreserveBlack Doris Plum Preserve
Rating: 9.6
Le Snack of the World: ItalianoLe Snack of the World: Italiano
Rating: 3.0
Pretzel Crisps - Buffalo WingPretzel Crisps - Buffalo Wing
Rating: 9.9
Stad's CafeStad's Cafe
Rating: 9.0
Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread with CheeseTurkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread with Cheese
Rating: 9.0
Turkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic BreadTurkish Bread - Low-Fat Garlic Bread
Rating: 7.7
Maketu Steak & Vegetable pieMaketu Steak & Vegetable pie
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 9th of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

These thin and crispy pre-sauced Turkish pizza bases used to be our go to pizza bases, we absolutely loved them (and still do) as they are just so convenient to use and we have found them to be one of the best thin and crispy pizza bases out there, unfortunately having a daughter who has allergies to tomatoes we now tend to avoid buying these as she is unable to eat them, however we do still buy the plain variety in this range of bases.

The Turkish pizza bases come in a handy 2 pack which are pre sauced, and ready to be topped with all of your favourite toppings, so quick and easy with no need to add sauce. When using these pizza bases we always used 1 and would put the other in the freezer, these freeze really well and we either froze them by wither wrapping up in a couple of layers of glad wrap or we would pop the base into a snaplock bag.

There are so many yummy combinations that these bases can be used with, however my favourite combination with this tomato base in the classic Hawaiian with lots of tasty cheese, pineapple and ham, although they also go well with chicken, capsicum, pineapple, bacon and cheese. Most ingredients seem to go with tomatoes so the flavours really are only limited by your imagination! These are always so quick to cook making a perfect Friday night or weekend meal, preheat the oven and then pop the pizzas onto a baking tray lined with baking paper for a easy clean up and in 15 minutes you have a hot delicious pizza ready to eat. The bases always come out so lovely and crisp, and the cooking of these always appears to be nice and even which is a bonus!

If you are a fan of thin and crispy pizza's and like the idea of having a tomato base sauce then these are the bases you should use, I've never had a pizza fail when these have been used. Great as a main meal but also as a snack that's quick to whip up when you have visitors or for a child's birthday party, loved by adults and children alike.

Click here to read the profile of nicnacnz

Review by: nicnacnz (Nicola)
Dated: 6th of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

My family really enjoyed these pizza bases. I have a very fussy 3 year old who finds certain textures hard to deal with. We tried these pizza bases and I was amazed when our toddler gobbled them up as quick as a flash!. The bases are already sauced so all we needed to do was add the toppings. We added smoked chicken, grated cheese, chopped capsicum and red onion. We also added plum sauce. On a different day we just added grated cheese and pineapple to the top and our toddler especially loved this combination!

Because these bases are thin and crispy they were very quick to cook so was a really good meal option for one of our more busy days, where we all come home tired and hungry! These are really easy for children to create their own pizza's as only toppings are needed. The bases were lovely and crispy. They did not fall apart like other bases we have tried. The bases already have a sauce on them which is generous and there was no need to add any further sauce or tomato puree.

This was a very cheap dinner option for us and one that suited the whole family.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 1st of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

Although the disappointment over the spinach and feta Calzone was a stumbling block in the enjoyment of TURKISH BREAD products, this has brought them back up way beyond the top! I loved these so much, I used both of them in 2 days, one each day. Because this stuff is only thin and crispy, it is not suitable for making deep-dish pizzas, but you will be surprised how far you can go with the toppings.

The first one I made was good, I didn't have to put that many toppings on to make it taste good. I added: ham, capsicum, spring onion, and then topped it off with some grated Colby cheese. The second one I made on the day I wrote this review, it had all off the things in the last one, but I also added some chopped sausage, it was a big hit in my family. I can not take credit for the making of the base and sauce, but just them on their own wouldn't be all that tasty, so it takes some effort to make these pizzas delicious.

The instructions were well made, except that there was a small blunder. Here were the exact instructions, I have marked the mistake with *.

1. Preheat oven to 200*C
*2. Spread pizza sauce over the base*
3.Simply sprinkle with your favourite pizza toppings and finish with delicious Mozzarella
4.Bake for 6-8 minutes or until golden and crispy!

Step 2 was not needed, because the pizza sauce is already there! I loved how all you need are some toppings, but you don't need to worry about the base or sauce, brilliant!! It actually took me 15 minutes to fully cook the pizza, but this may vary for different people. The taste was excellent, my parents had some of both pizzas, and the end result was a "yes" from both of them, both times!

The appeal of the product was good, although it did look a bit weird while still in the packet, for the pizzas had a piece of baking paper on top so that the two pizzas wouldn't stick while frozen, and to keep the sauce of the bottom of the top pizza. Overall, this is a perfect product; I fully recommend it, it's even reasonably cheap, so you can buy it with a $5.00 note and some loose change, and that's your dinner sorted (provided you have some toppings at home). Well done TURKISH BREAD, I'll never forget you!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 29th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

My husband has worked in a couple of pizza places in his lifetime. He is also the king of making pizza at home (strangely!) and has a very strong opinion about pizzas and quality in that area. So I was interested to see what he would make of these pizza bases. He has a love of thin and crispy bases in particular and none of the ones I have bought home frozen have really cut it before.

When I got these I was warned not to overload the base with toppings, as they would collapse under the weight. I took that message to heart and so I only added some Italian Salami and some grated cheese to the top before baking them in a hot oven.

The pizza took about 10 minutes to bake, and for the cheese to get all melted. The pizza was incredibly easy to cut up into pieces. This was an automatic win for the bases because I hate cutting up home made pizzas. I hate the mess, the tough base that takes forever to crack, and the mess too (yes, it was such an important point I made it twice).

I served this pizza to my whole family and they all loved it. My eldest daughter ate everything including the "crust", my husband downed his and said they were the best "supermarket" bases he has had. My baby ate up one whole piece to herself and I enjoyed mine too. These are great bases. You get two in the pack and you can even re-seal the pack if you just want to do one.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 26th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

Thin and crispy bases are not my preferred style, when it comes to pizza... but then I tend to have pizza as a 1-course meal so expect there to be plenty of toppings. These, however, could convince me to give thinner bases more of a go in future.

The base is thin alright - I though it was going to snap even with the very light topping I gave it - some grated cheddar cheese, thinly-sliced tomato, capsicum, a little shaved ham and some thinly sliced salami, a little more cheese and some fresh basil leaves... a few minutes in the oven - a hot oven and a short cook time is the secret to crispy bases, but remember to have a well oiled tray or a non-stick pizza stone - and it was ready to chow down on.

This was a solo treat for my lunch, as the family were all out that day, so I didn't have to share this heavenly dish with anyone. The sauce that came on the base was full of flavour and had a rich tomato taste, yet was spread on so thinly that it didn't interfere with the toppings' flavours in the least, instead it enhanced the overall taste and tied it all together.

Overall, I am glad these packs come with two bases, because you may have to share, so having a spare base is always good. It would also serve you well if you had a wood-fired pizza oven out back and had friends or family over for a gathering. Maybe turn it into a DIY Pizza night where you need only lay out a stack of bases, a selection of toppings, and spend a few minutes by the oven with a beverage of your choice in hand while you impress everyone with your stunning pizza-ninja skills. ;)

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 20th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

Having spent the afternoon trying my hand at making jam I needed a low fuss (and low preparation space required) dinner option so these bases were perfect.

These bases are incredibly thin and come pre-sauced which is brilliant. Interestingly however although they are all natural which is another plus the dough is made with bicarbonate of soda not with yeast. This means I think that the base is a lot crispier and more crunchy biscuit like than doughy yeasty.

We put cheese and a smattering of ham, cherry tomatoes, basil, spinach, and salami on the pizza's then in the oven until the cheese was bubbly and melted.

The consensus from the family was that my bases are nicer but I did like how easy these were to prepare and cook and that they are so thin and crispy so you don't have a carbo overload. I didn't like how the edges were so tough but little miss two is teething and she ate everyone's crusts! The sauce doesn't go right to the edge but this means that there is a good edge to hold the pizza slice by without having filling all over your fingers.

I would definitely buy these to have in the freezer for nights when I don't want to make my own dough. Because they are pre-sauced it definitely takes the two messy steps out of pizza making (especially when the kids are helping) so these are a winner for me. Definitely a good freezer staple.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 17th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

I was told when I picked these up, that the key was to make sure that I didn't put too much in the way of ingredients on top of these bases since they are thin bases (think thin and crispy from Pizza Hut). I prefer thin and crispy bases as for me they don't overfill my tummy, and I can taste the ingredients much better overall.

This pack comes with two thin pizza bases, that have already been cooked back in the company's kitchen, and comes with a thin layer of sauce on the bases. One thing that I liked about it, was the paper in between, thus ensuring the sauce wasn't lost on the packaging or the other base.

For my pizzas I spread a small amount of crushed garlic over the base, then a small amount of basil, pesto & parmesan dip as well. I cut up Nutolene in nice small chunks, spread them over the pizza and then a nice amount of cheese on top. These really don't need long at all in the over, you just want to cook it long enough that the cheese melts fully. I did have mine on for just a minute too much, resulting a couple of centimetres being a little tough, but overall the base cooked wonderfully.

The base was great, not too tough, not too floppy. I didn't any of my toppings, nor did I feel like there was a potential threat of a topping armageddon. There is a perfect amount of sauce on it, which is great as it means I can buy this in the future and there's no need to add any extra sauce to it. This is great for convenience and I'm pretty sure that I will pick up a pack in the future to have sitting in a freezer for one of those "Mum just doesn't want to cook" nights.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 17th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

We often make our own pizzas and have tried several different pizza bases but these have to be my favourite. Firstly I like how these is a layer of baking paper between the two pizza bases so regardless of whether they are frozen or from the fridge I don't have to pry them apart. Secondly the pack is resealable which is very handy if you are wanted to only use one base at a time or you could prepare both and put one back in the pack for your own customised frozen pizza.

It is a thin and crispy pizza base so I was careful not to overload it with toppings. This also meant that it was very quick to cook. Once the cheese was melted it was done. The other bonus is that we weren't eating loads of dough. It definitely was crispy. I could hold my slice with one hand and the toppings didn't flop off.

The tomato sauce was a base flavour and allowed for us to add our own herbs and spices. For the purpose of the review we topped ours with meat, pineapple, onion and olives. Next time I will add some garlic or fresh herbs too. The sauce also served the purpose of helping the toppings stick to the base.

My husband who usually cooks the meals was very impressed with how little time I spent preparing dinner and loved the taste too. He also commented on how little space it took up in the freezer. I think he is convinced these are the best bases too which is a good thing since he is the one that does the groceries.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.0
Product reviews for listing 4708: Cecile's Creative Kitchen Seeds & Nuts with Honey & Quinoa -  Produced by Cecile's Creative Kitchen

Product image for Cecile's Creative Kitchen Seeds & Nuts with Honey & QuinoaCecile's Creative Kitchen Seeds and Nuts with Honey and Quinoa

Cecile's Creative Kitchen Seeds and Nuts with Honey and Quinoa is the perfect blend of sweet and savory, and packed full of nutritious benefits for your body. This combination of Pumpkin Seeds, Sunflower Seeds, and Sesame Seeds, as well as a ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do banks charge a fee on 'insufficient funds' when they know there is not enough?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream