Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 23rd September 2019 - 10:54:12

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Frozen Goods > Wattie's Toasties - Cheese and Onion review

« Cabaret reviewCabaretThe Brewer's Apprentice reviewThe Brewer »

Score: 8.8/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 1380 - Wattie's Toasties - Cheese and Onion
Produced by Heinz Wattie's Ltd

Wattie's Toasties - Cheese and Onion
Price:
$3.29
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Watties

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets

Wattie's Toasties - Cheese and Onion product reviews

We all love a good toasted sandwich. But sometimes we can't be bothered making them. Now Watties has solved that problem with their new range of pre-prepared Toasties.

These are a true heat and eat snack. Simply take one out of the freezer, drop it in the toaster and you're away laughing. Toasties come in a range of flavours including Baked Beans; Ham, Cheese & Onion; Cheese & Onion; Corn & Cheese; and Cheese Lovers.

Check out Watties onlineClick here to see all the listings for Watties Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cheese   onion   sandwich   toasted
Other listings you may be interested in:
Great Day Mallow - PassionfruitGreat Day Mallow - Passionfruit
Rating: 9.2
Sealord Tuna Pockets - Tahitian CoconutSealord Tuna Pockets - Tahitian Coconut
Rating: 9.4
Avalanche Coconut FlourAvalanche Coconut Flour
Rating: 9.3
Sids Hot Worcester SauceSids Hot Worcester Sauce
Rating: 8.8
Wok Creations: Pad ThaiWok Creations: Pad Thai
Rating: 9.0
Steak OutSteak Out
Rating: 9.5
Wonka Chocolate Block Milk Chocolate TalesWonka Chocolate Block Milk Chocolate Tales
Rating: 9.1
Ready-to-Eat Vermicelli - SeafoodReady-to-Eat Vermicelli - Seafood
Rating: 8.4
Fresh n Fruity YoghurtFresh n Fruity Yoghurt
Rating: 8.5
Wattie's Toasties - Corn and CheeseWattie's Toasties - Corn and Cheese
Rating: 9.0
Wattie's Toasties - Baked BeanWattie's Toasties - Baked Bean
Rating: 7.7
Wattie's Toasties - Ham, Cheese and OnionWattie's Toasties - Ham, Cheese and Onion
Rating: 8.8
Costa's Costa's 
Rating: 6.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 22nd of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

Omigosh does anyone now if these things are still available I used to love these to take to work. They are so easy to grab and just put in your back when you are in the rush in the morning. Then all you need to do is simply pop them in the toaster and wait until they are nice and golden brown. I used to stock up on them and have them in the freezer as they were such a convenient thing to take for lunches.

So cheap too you get a pack of two sandwiches in the pack for a couple of dollars. They taste pretty good nothing flash and probably not as nice as if you were going to make one with your own ingredients but just a nice tasty basic toasted sandwich. Be careful when you are eating them as the cheese hiding inside can be a lot hotter than it looks so it is best to let them start cooling down before you bite into them.

This would have to be my favourite flavour in the range as I love plain cheese and onion, although there are other flavours so you can have a bit of variety. If these aren't available any more they should bring them back as they are such a convenient lunch and would be great for teenagers to cook themselves for afternoon tea when they get home from school and that way there wouldn't be a huge mess for mum to clean up!

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 19th of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

I loved these toasties and wish they were still available in my supermarket as I found them perfect as a quick lunch option that I could whip out of the freezer and throw into my lunchbox to have at work....once it came to lunchtime the toastie had thawed out and I was able to pop them into my toaster to reheat the filling and crisp up the bread outer.

The filling was warmed through perfectly that it could be eaten straight away and wasn't hot...which was the perfect thing when I only have 30 minutes to enjoy my lunch. I didn't have to wait for the toastie to cool down at all a quick blast in the toaster and it was perfect! I am a huge fan of toasted sandwiches but to make one from scratch and taking into account the cooking time that basically let me five minutes to quickly scoff them down once they had cooled enough.

The range of flavours was great too because if I ended having to eat a couple of toasties in a week I could choose different flavours so I didn't get bored. One of my favourites was the classic onion and cheese, and I loved how the cheese was more of a creamy cheese sauce, it added that little bit of an extra special touch in my opinion.

The onion wasn't overpowering either so it didn't leave me with onion breathe, it flavoured the toastie just enough to give that yummy flavour of onion. I remember growing up and liking how the old toastie makers would stamp the two slices of bread together and somewhat cut the crusts of the toastie and if it didn't cut it fully off I would pull the crusts away because what kid likes crusts right....so when I first saw these toasties with no crusts I had good memories of my childhood...and thought yay no crusts could this get any better.

Then it did get better the taste was amazing and with two toasties to enjoy I would be fully satisfied and warmed through on a cold an miserable winters day as this is usually when I would take these as a lunch. I really wish they would make a comeback I do miss them and their convenience and great taste!

Click here to read the profile of mmuir

Review by: mmuir (Melissa)
Dated: 27th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 6 out of 10

I wasn't expecting much from the Watties Toasties, I thought really how good could
a frozen sandwich be. But when I tried one I was really surprised.
There was the perfect amount of filling. Not too little and not so much that it all oozes out when you bite into it.
The cheese inside was really tasty and there was just the right amount of onion.
They are so easy to cook, just pop into the toaster until its nice and brown. And leave to cool a little before eating otherwise you burn your mouth.
I regular buy these Toasties now and have some in the freezer. They are the perfect snack or even meal if you don't have the time to prepare a Toastie. And a great snack for the kids after school. They can even cook it themselves. And the best part is there is no mess to clean up.
I would recommend them to everyone to try. If you like a good toasted sandwich then you can go wrong with a Watties Toastie.
The price isn't too bad either. They are usually between $2 and $3 at our local supermarket. Which I think is a great price for the convenience of it already being ready to cook and eat.

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 1st of June, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

I love toasted sandwiches eh. Make my own every chance I can get and I really enjoy trying out different stuff in them. Cheese and mushroom is a really interesting flavour that I really like. I figured these would be rubbish since they are made by machines. But when I got them home and let a couple thaw out so I could cook them I was really surprised coz they looked pretty decent. I was wondering about the stuff painted on the outside and wondered what it was coz it sure didnt look like butter. Couldnt find an answer on the packet so just decided to give them a go. Into the toaster for a bit until I could see they were nice and brown without being burnt. After burning my mouth on then I figured I should have left them for a little bit to cool down and when I did they were really tasty. For a basic filling like cheese n onion you cant really expect a lot of flavour but taking that into account these were top notch eh. Easy and quick and they also came up well when I biffed them into the frypan to do them the 'traditional' way so pretty good all round. Toss a couple in ya freezer coz they will be handy when you or the kids are hungry in between mealtimes.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 24th of May, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

By far my favourite! A classic staple toasted sandwich, nothing flashy, nothing gourmet, nothing presumptuous... everybody has had the classic.

Easy to cook, I tried this one from thawed, and again from frozen, and personally I preferred the from-frozen method! Quicker, easier, food-safer, and it doesn't risk you scorching your delicate chops and burning away the tastebuds.

Overall, though it would be great to see this with some other ingredients (eg. with ham or bacon) this is also just fine on it's own, no changes required. The thing that makes this #1 for me is that you can serve this one hot, with the cheese dribbling out, or you can let it cool, slice it into 4 triangles, and serve it on a plate with some other foods to act as toppings, such as sliced baby tomatoes, hame, bacon, corned beef, pickled onions, etc, and use the toastie in place of crackers... for something different at the party or as entrees. Multifunctional, tasty, simple... classic greatness.

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 24th of May, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

A really good sandwich. By the time I got my ones home most had thawed out and since it is never a good idea to refreeze stuff I had a lot of eating to do. I managed to toast one in the normal way tho, but I thought it could use something to lift it up a bit like a pinch of pepper or maybe some herbs.
With most of them thawed out, it was time to call in the cavalry. Rang some mates and family to come on over for an afternoon feed. Last BBQ for the season. Steaks, tomato & parmisan sausages, and a stack of toasties cooked on the hotplate. Primo with some salad and some crusty french stick bread, with some flavoured oils as dips and toppers. I used some chili and avocado oil on the hotplate when I cooked these and it really lifted them right up. Good sign tho, means that these can take a flavour-change and still be primo munchies.
Excellent snackfood all round. Really open to flavour additives without losing its own identity.

Click here to read the profile of dnwhakar

Review by: dnwhakar (Danielle)
Dated: 7th of May, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

I had to choose something quick and easy for a snack. I was looking in the freezer department and noticed Wattie's new frozen toasties. I had seen these advertised in magazines and on TV so decided to give them a go. I did hesitate for a moment as they are a little on the expensive side, but thought well for two toasties in a pack it's not all that bad.

I must admit the sound of a frozen toastie did not really get my taste buds going! I took them out of the packet and popped them in the toaster. After about 4 minutes, my toasties were lightly browned, and ready to eat.

They were pretty hot inside, so watch that you don't burn yourself. What I loved most about these toasties was the cheese - it definitely tastes real, and there is more than enough in there. There was a distinct oniony flavour about them too, a perfect cheese and onion mix. The outside of the toastie was great - crisp and light.

I think the best thing about Watties toasties is the fact that you can cook them in the toaster! How easy is that - you don't even have to dirty a grill or pan to cook them. My thoughts about the toasties being too expensive are now overruled by the fact the toasties are a good size and are filling. They would make a fantastic breakfast on the run. (especially so for the baked bean toastie - it's like portable baked beans on toast!)

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 7820: Rice Sticks: Garlic
Brand / Manufactured by: me:real

Product image for Rice Sticks: GarlicReal Rice Sticks add a modern touch to rice made snacks. Made with brown rice and rice bran oil, and hot air baked, they are light, crunchy, and very tasty. Their unique mouthwatering flavours are hard to resist. They are perfect for light snacks, lunch boxes, and gatherings with family and friends. This crunchy premium rice snack will tantalise your taste buds.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"If corn oil is made from corn, and vegetable oil is made from vegetables, then what is baby oil made from?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream