Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 26th June 2019 - 11:52:16

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > M&Ms - Peanut Butter review

« M&Ms - Coconut reviewM&Ms - CoconutChuggington - All Buckled Up reviewChuggington - All Buckled Up »

Score: 7.6/10  [27 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3298 - M&Ms - Peanut Butter
Manufactured by Mars

M&Ms - Peanut Butter
Price:
$2.49 per 46.2g bag
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by United Sweets

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and selected retail outlets

M&Ms - Peanut Butter product reviews

Peanut Butter covered in Milk Chocolate, and wrapped in a crisp candy shell.

Melts in your mouth, not your hand.

Check out United Sweets onlineClick here to see all the listings for United Sweets Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
american   candy   chocolate   peanut butter
Other listings you may be interested in:
Kids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil BurstletsKids Smart - Omega-3 Fish Oil Burstlets
Rating: 8.3
NZ Squeezed Lemon CurdNZ Squeezed Lemon Curd
Rating: 9.8
Top of the Range Ruahine Venison MinceTop of the Range Ruahine Venison Mince
Rating: 9.8
M&Ms - CoconutM&Ms - Coconut
Rating: 7.0
Tegel Chicken Parmigiana SchnitzelTegel Chicken Parmigiana Schnitzel
Rating: 10.0
Sauce for Fruit - Maple & WalnutSauce for Fruit - Maple & Walnut
Rating: 8.5
Whisk Fudge BarsWhisk Fudge Bars
Rating: 9.1
Cobb & Co. Family RestaurantCobb & Co. Family Restaurant
Rating: 9.1
Olive Leaf PlusOlive Leaf Plus
Rating: 10.0
Aristocrat Mustard PicklesAristocrat Mustard Pickles
Rating: 8.9
Squiggles Hokey PokeySquiggles Hokey Pokey
Rating: 9.3
Uncle Toby's Oats Quick SachetsUncle Toby's Oats Quick Sachets
Rating: 9.5
El Sabrosa Taco-litos - Chile n LimeEl Sabrosa Taco-litos - Chile n Lime
Rating: 9.7

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of yebrudder

Review by: yebrudder (Raine)
Dated: 16th of May, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have always loved peanut butter, as a spread and as an add on for confectionary, if I have to be honest, I prefer reeses peanut butter products, it's kind of what they are known for, but m&ms attempt to include this flavour into their selection was NOT a bad decision, I quite enjoyed the treat, my father and I decided to watch a film together, and having just bought a packet of these, I had pulled them out for a sweet treat for the movie, my father has never been a massive fan of peanut butter in general ( must have gotten it from my mother ) but I had offered him a piece, and about five minutes later he asked for more, I think in total I got 3 pieces and he scoffed own the rest, which is a good sign, when the person who was interested in the treats the most isn't even a huge fan of peanut butter in the first place.

I do find these packets to be quite small though, I would like a party/family bag, I'm not certain if that's already available but if not it would be an excellent addition to the supermarket confectionary aisle.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 1st of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

After spending 5 weeks over in the USA in 2012, I soon became addicted to all of the yummy peanut butter filled treats that they sold, in particular the peanut butter flavored M&M's. Just days before my return trip back to New Zealand we made a visit to M&M's world in New York city where I was lucky enough to come across a huge packet of these yummy morsels to bring back to New Zealand with me. Luckily for me nobody else in my household is a fan of these M&Ms preferring the original milk chocolate flavour, but in saying that they are also not fans of nuts or peanut butter as they are, where as I would put peanut butter on most things.

Following on from here, the bag soon ran out and I was unable to purchase these in New Zealand and so had to resort to purchasing online, which did work out rather expensive though it was worth it for the yummy smooth peanut butter covered in delicious milk chocolate and wrapped in a crispy candy shell.

Just recently I have come across the peanut butter M&Ms at some local supermarkets and also at United Sweets a cute little American food kiosk which seems to be popping up at more and more shopping malls around the country. They come in several different size packs, small packs which are perfect for enjoying on your own, and also in share packs great for sharing with friends and family.

Though they taste great on there own, I have also added them to baking, my favorite being to chocolate chip cookies, ice cream and as decorations to cup cakes, and can also be used to replace Reeses Pieces in American recipes that you may come across on the internet, I've even been known to use these to create peanut butter and chocolate milkshakes which I'm sure a lot of people may find odd, but they blend so much nicer than a blob of peanut butter ever seems to do when put into a blender!

These are close up there in my list of favourite M&M flavours, but are slightly behind the delicious triple chocolate variety I was lucky enough to source while in USA. The peanut butter filling used is definitely the best peanut butter I've tasted in my life, if this filling was to be made into a jar of peanut butter it would be a sure winner!

Click here to read the profile of preciouslives

Review by: preciouslives (Nicole)
Dated: 26th of December, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

These m&ms are to die for I will never forget ordering them online as we couldn't purchase them here in new Zealand until the last few years. The name peanut butter m&ms may sound stage but this is seriously the best candy. The only issue I have is because it is an American product it is still quite expensive for what it is. The peanut butter in the m&ms is a smooth peanut butter wit a crispy outer chocolate shell.

Peanut butter m&ms are available now in some supermarkets as well as on trade me and some American candy supplies. Peanut butter m&ms come in a good variety of bag sizes from small as in for an individual to sharing with a friend then a family bag and also a giant bag so why not surprise a friend and take along thus yummy treat. Oh and I can't forget that these are great for baking such as in cookies or you could spread some on top of your ice cream. There are many different types of m&m flavors out now however these are my favourite followed by the crispy m&ms. Just don't let them melt in the sun other wise you will not be able to enjoy the good smooth flavour.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 15th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.8/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

I shared a bag of these with my husband, and I'm glad I did as there was no way I would have eaten a whole bag on my own. This wasn't due to the amount in the bag, but rather the taste.

Love the candy shell, as always, it's a great little taste. However, I didn't really like the peanut butter as to me it just tasted slightly salty and very oily. Sadly, this meant that the chocolate was kind of ruined. I would take a bite, taste the yummy candy and chocolate, and then get an oily taste.

My son had one M&M and decided that that was enough for him. My husband and I both agreed that this is a product that we won't get again. And if ever given it, then we will pass it on to someone who may enjoy it more.

Click here to read the profile of tigerlilynz

Review by: tigerlilynz (Mellissa)
Dated: 27th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Taste:
Score 3 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

We were so delighted to be picked as a reviewer of this product, hubby and i both tried it and we were lost to words at how to describe it. We love the colour of the packet and that it was easy to open, didnt feel like i needed a degree to open it!

Even though we are big fans of peanut butter, these didn't impress us too much. I found the taste to be wonderful, but they left an oily feeling in my mouth after eating them. Hubby said he wasnt too sure if he would buy them as it wasnt a normal taste.

All in all, crispy, crunchy, sweet, but not my thing really. I think there is a huge potential market in NZ for these as a novelty treat, but I don't think I will be one of them unless I am planning to use them in some baking, where I think they would be amazing, maybe in muffins or a slice.

Click here to read the profile of vettechic

Review by: vettechic (Tash)
Dated: 27th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

The easy open package meant I could just tear off a corner and not lose all my M&Ms over the floor, and possibly save some for later.

I put one of these in my mouth and it was so deliciously creamy and smooth. The M&Ms had a slightly salty taste and bit of an oily after feel but nowhere enough to put me off because before I knew it the packet was empty.

The slightly larger size of the M&Ms was also enjoyable, as I think you would miss the flavour in a smaller size. The packet was the perfect size for me as it was an enjoyable treat. I would most certainly buy these again and the price would not discourage me at all.

Thanks KIWIreviews for selecting me to review these and thanks United Sweets of New Zealand for importing these.

Go buy some of these beauties today, you have to try Peanut Butter M&Ms for yourself.

Click here to read the profile of shar

Review by: shar (Sharlene)
Dated: 26th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a big fan of M&M's and the chance to try the product was exciting.

Packaging was clearly M&M's but the fact they were Peanut Butter wasn't that clear, being marked as such by just the words in the corner, they could quite easily have been mistaken for plain M&M's had we been in a rush.

I am not a big fan of Peanut butter, so was sceptical that I would enjoy them, originally turning my nose up at the thought of them. But upon opening the packet and the sweet scent hitting me as I put the first one in my mouth, I was sold on Peanut Butter M&M's.

When they say "they melt in your mouth and not in your hand" they mean it, the peanut butter was so creamy it literally melted but they are also just the right size not to be overpowering in taste. The candy shell is the perfect sweetener for what could have been a very nutty experience.

After eating a whole packet on my own, I did have a slight oily taste in my mouth, but they were so good I am not complaining. I probably should have shared some, but I happily sat and ate the whole packet.

I personally feel that the packet had the perfect amount in it, anymore and the experience would have been to sickly.

Overall the peanut butter M&M's rate the highest out of the four sorts I have tried, I would definitely buy these ones as a first choice.

Price wise it is a fair amount to pay, I am happy to pay the $2.49 for a 46.2g packet of Peanut Butter M&M's. Especially when compared to the enjoyment levels and price of other confectionery.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 20th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I was so excited to be chosen to review both peanut butter M&Ms and coconut M&Ms from United Sweets of NZ and KIWIreviews, so when they arrived I could not wait to open the packets.

The peanut butter M&Ms come in a red packet, nothing majorly exciting about the packet, its just a packet, and the indication that these are peanut butter does not jump out at you from the packet, in fact if not looking you would miss it. The packets are easy to open and more paper like than plastic which was also great. You don't get a peanut butter smell coming out from the packet, like you did with the coconut M&Ms.

Unlike our M&Ms here in NZ, the peanut butter M&Ms are larger in size, which was really very exciting. And as they were something new you did not know what to expect. Would there be peanut butter in the centre? would it be a mix of peanut butter and chocolate? Or would it be peanuts, peanut butter and chocolate? Would the centre be hard or soft? So there was no waiting to find out.

I like peanut butter, and when I first tried these M&Ms I felt that the initial taste was very similar to the peanut M&Ms we have here. The centre is a soft mix of a peanut butter flavored substance and chocolate. (Upon checking the package, these do contain peanut butter.) Which is a nice combination, however I found the after taste not very nice and felt they left a kind of oily (?) taste/feel in the mouth.

I let all the family (6 people) try both the peanut butter M&Ms and the coconut M&Ms...all but 2 liked the peanut butter and all but 1 liked the coconut. So the odds are good.

All in all these are ok, but for me personally I would not buy them myself.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 19th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was so excited to be trying both these and the coconut ones and giving feedback - new chocolate, and peanut butter, none the less!!

I was not disappointed! These are very yummy, and very more-ish! Poor husband barely got a look in, as i proceeded over 3 nights to devour these (willpower, i know - counted out a few each night to have with my coffee!

The packet was easy to open, and nice and brightly coloured - bit easy to miss the peanut butter announcement at the top though, but when you know something is yummy, i guess you would double check you have the right ones!

I was not quite sure what to expect - a gooey centre, mildly peanut butter taste?? Found these to be delicious, and a little like the Reese's Peanut Butter cups - with a nicer candy shell....,mmmmmmmmm

Overall - I really enjoyed these and would definitely buy them again if I saw them. Nice little treat, very more-ish and not too sweet - PERFECT!

Click here to read the profile of mello5

Review by: mello5 (Mel)
Dated: 19th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When the packet arrived I thought it looked very nice, loved the bright red. It made me think is the M&M on the front always a girl? Either way I was looking forward to trying them. When I ripped open the packet I noticed it is made from more like paper than plastic packaging, I quite liked that for a novelty factor. I also thought it seemed more environmentally friendly as it felt like paper rather than plastic, but I may be wrong about that.

My 1st bite into the M&M was so good, I was not sure what to expect, I wondered if it would have small chunks of nuts in it like crunchy peanut butter. But it felt so smooth and silky. I liked it because its soft in the middle and it makes the hard shell feel crispier. The centre tastes sweet and salty at the same time. I couldn't stop myself I found my hand going back for more, there was just something about it, I needed more. So yes I would buy again. Price wise I think they are a good price, they are well worth it, they are good value for money. The bag is just the right size for a good snack,

I honestly think if you have not tried these you don't know what you are missing... GO BUY SOME TODAY!

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 19th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.0/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 2 out of 10

Unfortunately when I received the envelope the Peanut Butter M&M's had popped open and a majority were smashed.

We did still get to taste some of the Peanut Butter flavour and again I am really impressed with how much flavour there is in one little M&M.

We had 3 people reviewing this product, my husband, myself and our daughter who is 3.
My husband loved it - I did not inform him what the flavour was and he guessed straight away. He would buy these again as huge Peanut Butter fan. He said they taste like Reece's Peanut Butter Cups.
My 3 year old daughter also loves them and wants to eat more.
I personally hate them. I am not a fan of peanut butter and found it to be too overpowering. Was not expecting it to have such a strong taste.

Overall the small candy delivers quite a kick with lots of flavour but as a family if we had the choice we would still go for the original M&M's - either the peanut flavour or in my case the Chocolate flavour.

Click here to read the profile of wingnutt39

Review by: wingnutt39 (Rosemary)
Dated: 17th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When I tried the Peanut M&M's for this review, I decided to be scientific about it. I took half the packet and dissected them as I ate them, the other half was left whole. In my opinion they can be eaten either way, but whole is best, and I found them even better after being in the fridge.

I am a huge peanut butter fan & I would rather pay slightly more for a gourmet brand than plain normal. So for me it was going to be interesting. I loved the sweet/salty taste I got from these. I wanted to keep eating them and not stop, the only thing I missed was the crunch of nuts, but this was more than made up for by the crunch of the M&M shell. Until now I had not really been a fan or chocolate and peanut butter, but these have changed my mind.

I loved the easy open packet, and the slightly larger than normal size and I can honestly say, I will be buying these. My only problem will be to keep them from my son, as he loves them as well (he nicked some of my test subjects). So these get a big thumbs up. Thumbs Up

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 17th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Even though I am a great fan of peanut butter, these didn't impress me much. I found the taste to be wonderful, but they left an oily feeling in my mouth after eating them. The young whanau I had visiting also grabbed some to test, and many agreed these tasted good but felt funny.

I happily left these ones to the kids to try, since I was far more interested in the Coconut ones. I did try a few later in the day, after a hot coffee finally took the oily feeling out of my mouth, just in case it was a side-effect of something I had eaten earlier, but the same oily feeling on the roof of my mouth came right back.

All in all, crispy, crunchy, sweet, but not my thing really. I think there is a huge potential market in NZ for these as a novelty treat, but I don't think I will be one of them unless I am planning to use them in some baking, where I think they would be amazing, maybe in muffins or something like that.

Click here to read the profile of mickysue

Review by: mickysue (Heather)
Dated: 15th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

A few months back my niece tempted me to try Reese's Peanut Butter Cups as she absolutely adored them, but to be fair I wasn't fussed.

I really like Peanut Butter and I like chocolate but couldn't understand the excitement of mixing the two together into one. That was, until I sampled M&M's Peanut Butter flavour!

My goodness, these are lovely. Not being a sweet tooth, I think the slight salty taste of this candy appeals to me. There is a distinctive peanut butter flavour that leaves your tongue tingling with anticipation of what's to come. The candy melts in your mouth leaving a slightly salty after taste. The combination of the sweet outer coating and the savoury inside are a sensation that is not expected in a candy. Very unusual but pleasurable all at the same time.

If you are a Reese's Peanut Butter Cups fan, try these as a cheaper alternative....you may be pleasantly surprised.

Note: this packet has the full range of colours that you expect in a M&M's packet so you can still fight over your favourite colours. Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of kyz83

Review by: kyz83 (Kylie)
Dated: 15th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I admit, I have tried these before - I actually smuggled 3 large bags in my suitcase when travelling home from the US last year (these didn't last long), so I knew what to expect and BOY was I excited.

The packaging doesn't really do much for me - just an M&Ms packet, red would catch the eye of the customer I guess but it is what is inside that counts.

They are very large, more than twice the size of your normal M&M and my bag contained 28 of these. Sharing this size bag with 3 others is NOT easy I may add.

These tasty morsels leave you wanting more and more. They are very addictive and the chocolate is velvety sweet and a little salty, just scrummy in general.

All of us love them, we haven't found them easy to purchase in NZ so thank United Sweets of NZ for letting us be able to do so.

We've told everyone we know about these and will DEFINITELY be purchasing more.

Click here to read the profile of karee.bell

Review by: karee.bell (Karee)
Dated: 12th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Have you ever tried and enjoyed the taste of Reese's Peanut butter Cups? Well then Peanut Butter M&Ms are your next best treat. As we bit into these you got the chocolate taste with the subtle flavor of peanut butter clearly coming thru as you chewed it.

The packaging was plain and simple with the main colouring being orange... hence the name peanut butter and having an easy to open packaging is the best for little hands as our 3yr old son found.

Our family could quite easily eaten a packet or 4 each but we only had the one packet to review. Overall these were VERY VERY Yummy. The fact they were in a small pack means they are a nice treat-size for kids too. We all had to taste this product and the consensus was that they were not too sweet and not salty either. The perfect amount of peanut butter in them too.

I have yet to find these in any stores as of date, but will be sure to buy lots more when they come in.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 11th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Not to be confused with the yellow packets of peanut M&Ms, these are peanut BUTTER ones. Is there anything they cant put into an M&M?

They come in a nice bright orange packet, my favourite colour, and are sure to stand out amongst all the other packets of confectionery out there.

The flavour is really nice, well in my opinion and I think it is way easier to plow through a packet of these than any of the other flavours.

The filling has a nice texture on your tongue, which is to expected from a great product like this, my flatmate and her friend both liked them also, so a big thumbs up from all of us here.

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 9th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Ok, so I am a HUGE nut fan. I LOVE peanut M&Ms so when I saw these were up for review I was so excited. I prayed and prayed I would be excepted and I was YAY!!!

The package was great, easy to open and the packet was a nice colour. I had to resist the urge to hide in my room and be completely selfish, to get a fair review I had to share with my family.

Mr 3 is not at all fussy when it comes to sweets and like his mum he loves peanut butter. He seemed slightly confused to begin with asking why it tasted like peanut butter Smile Icon he of course wanted "more more more please muma"

Miss 14 was not so fussed but is at that age of disagreeing with anything we like, she still wanted a couple more though Wink Icon

Hubby LOVED them saying the texture was silky and the combo of sweet and salty was just right.

Me.... I WANT MORE!! I knew I shouldn't have shared them. Once I started I couldn't stop. They are so very moreish. The sizing was a little small but in saying that I would have eaten far too many if the bag was bigger (I don't have an off button) a true taste sensation!!

This will be a treat as I find the price a little high but they will be all the more sweeter when we do buy them Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 6th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Well when these arrived today we open up the parcel and my 3 year old and partner couldn't wait to try these. Both avid peanut butter fans the loved these.

My 3 year old said 'These are so yum mum can we buy some more another day?" and Partner said that they were perfect and he really liked the size of them as they are bigger than normal m&ms. Our 1 year old wanted to get in on the action and his face lit up at the taste - so he ended up consuming 2 or 3 which resulted in a blue mouth for him!!

Personally i was not a fan, but my family's taste out vote me on this. I found them to be sickly and overpowering with an oily leftover feel in your mouth. I did like the size as they were bigger - and a bonus for little hands so that i felt one at a time was enough for my 3 year old and none melted in his hands.

For American candy i feel the price is fine - I'm not sure of the price of this size of confectionery in shops (the normal m&ms/skittles etc) but i know the bigger bags are around 4 to 5 dollars so this seems ok. This would be something i would buy again purely because all the males in the house loved it! Not for me though Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of gorilla

Review by: gorilla (Indira)
Dated: 5th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have been looking for Peanut M&Ms for a long time. When i found out that i could buy them here i was delighted.

The packet was easy to find by the coloring. The taste was like smooth peanut butter with a pinch of something i can not place. I liked these more than the peanut m and m's

I found that the packet was easy to open and you can pick up and go also the sizing of the packets are good (just hand size)
The amount of M and Ms were for enough for me as a treat.

Pricing little bit on the dear side. But would still buy them but no so many

Click here to read the profile of johnrambo

Review by: johnrambo (John)
Dated: 3rd of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

The peanut butter flavoured M&M candies are a treat. Usually peanut-butter candy can only be found in the USA or in higher priced chocolates, so it's nice to see M&Ms in the New Zealand market finally bringing out this flavour.

Packaging is a nice orange colour so you can pick it out whenever you're in a rush.

The taste of peanut-butter is well balanced with the chocolate. It takes a bit of getting used to if you haven't peanut-butter flavoured candy before. For peanut-butter fans it's not hard at all to adopt these M&Ms as a new favourite.

This was tried by a range of those in our household. From a young 4 year old up to a young mother who said she didn't like peanut-butter in large amounts, but liked these.

I recommend these peanut-butter flavoured M&Ms to anyone that likes chocolate and wants to try something different.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 1st of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I first tried Peanut Butter M&Ms in High School when we had an American exchange student join our class. I remember them being huge compared to the original flavour and utterly delicious. So when I got a chance to review these I was very happy.

I opened them today, and offered my daughter some. She bounced very high off the ground with excitement. Though chocolate anything has that effect. She immediately started crunching them two at a time, so I had to get her to slow down. I asked what she though. "Oh mummy these are yummy. They taste just like peanut butter". When I explained they were peanut butter with chocolate and candy, she got even more excited.

I had some myself, and while they were smaller than I remembered, they were still so delicious. I'm trying not to expose myself to too much peanut butter at the moment with a baby on board, but I could easily eat this whole packet. So salty and sweet. Perfect combo. Mind you, I'm a big Reese's Peanut Butter Cups fiend as well.

I would definitely purchase this again in future. A bigger bag would be awesome. Thanks KIWIreviews and United Sweets of New Zealand for picking us for this review.

Click here to read the profile of jewellnz

Review by: jewellnz (Carole)
Dated: 31st of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Ok well i knew it was going to be difficult to get a taste of these ones with three other people in the house who love peanut butter anything.

My daughter was the first to try them the look on her face was enough to tell me they were very good, she described them as to die for crunchy, crisp, melt in your mouth with just enough of the salty flavour to complement the other flavours going on within this little treat.

Now it was my turn, i found them also very nice and preferred them to the coconut ones by far,they do melt in your mouth and i like the sweet and salty flavour explosion going on in my mouth.

I would find these hard to resist and not be able to put them down if i had been given the chance that packet would have been empty in minutes.

Again the packaging nice and bright and easy to open, top points for that.

Conclusion, these are indeed a decadent delicious treat that all peanut butter lovers would find most enjoyable

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 30th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I had opened this packet before I had even left KIWIreviews HQ. My daughters (aged 2 years and 3 1/2 years) loved them. Their reaction was "Yum. I want more." Needless to say I didn't get much. My husband enjoyed them and certainly didn't complain when I offered him more. I surprised myself by coming back for more too. I like peanut butter but only on hot toast so didn't expect to enjoy them.

The peanut butter M&Ms are larger than regular M&Ms but the packet still contained 28 pieces. The colours weren't evenly distributed as a third of the packet were green.

They were not too sweet as peanut butter was the dominant taste. They were not as salty as I expected but definitely saltier than most sweet treats.

Peanut Butter M&Ms are not an everyday treat because of the price but still cheap enough to buy for special times. it would be great to have a larger packet to share at a party.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 29th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

Although I really like these and am rating them highly for taste unfortunately these contain Palm Kernel Oil which I am trying to avoid in our house. We are focusing on "The Lorax" at the moment and if I eat anything with Palm Oil in it I feel like I am chopping down a Truffella tree (ie rainforest in Malaysia) and thus personally endangering Sumatran tigers and Orangutans Sad Icon

So even though the flavour of these is fantastic, I won't be purchasing any and can't recommend them until Mars substitute the Palm Oil for something else a little more environmentally friendly. In fact having just done a quick Google search looking at Wikipedia has meant I am unable to even finish the packet.

These do contain 10 artificial colours also though our packet of 27 was predominately brown.

If you don't care about the environment then do rush out and buy these because they are very, very yummy.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 29th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

These are such a decadent and delightful treat... oh wow! Like crispy Reese's Pieces, the peanut butter flavour in these comes through quite clearly, with a distinctive texture that gives a good mouth-feel - much like those choc-nut butter spreads at supermarkets, with candy sprinkles thrown in.

I could quite easily have snarfed back 2 or 3 packs in a single sitting, but I was a good lad and just nibbled them slowly to prolong the pleasure. OK, that maybe sounds a little 'wrong', but honestly, I didn't want to waste these and find myself at the bottom of the pack too soon.

Overall, very yummy. Not at all good for the waistline in large amounts, the small packs are a nice treat-size without bringing the full force of the wrath of Jenny Craig down upon you. All bad things can be acceptable in small doses. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 28th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Okay, I haven't had M&Ms in a while, but this flavour of M&Ms was great! It did taste rather weird at first, but after a few pieces I was loving it! At first the taste actually reminded me of Smarties, and I love smarties, so this factor made the product more enjoyable. When I tried these, I was at the movies with my parents, and I was still able to focus on the movie while eating, making this an awesome movie snack, better than Popcorn!

The price is good, the amount of candy was small. I found that this flavour was better than the coconut ones, it had a much better taste and texture.

I would say that this candy is good for people over 9 years old, for I think that if anyone younger had a packet of these, they would be bouncing around the room like Kangaroos on pogo sticks. Overall, this is a good product, and I hope it doesn't become a failed idea, for I am hoping that they remain a success. Enjoy!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 3636: Pics Peanut Butter - Original -  Produced by Pics Really Good Peanut Butter

Product image for Pics Peanut Butter - OriginalGood Aussie nuts, fresh roasted and masterfully squashed in Sunny Nelson, New Zealand. Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter - Original only contains peanuts and (a little) salt.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Character - the willingness to accept responsibility for one's own life - is the source from which self respect springs."
Joan Didion (1934 - ), 'Slouching Towards Bethlehem'

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream