Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 21st May 2019 - 14:37:29

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Kick Energy Bar review

« Prisoner B-3087 reviewPrisoner B-3087The Last Stand reviewThe Last Stand »

Score: 8.5/10  [14 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 4471 - Kick Energy Bar
Manufactured by South Pacific Brands

Kick Energy Bar
Price:
$3.00 +/-
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by South Pacific Brands

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Kick Energy Bar product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsKick Energy is a revolutionary new chocolate bar that combines the great taste of a caramel centre milk chocolate with world leading energy drink technology.

It is the first time a product like this has been developed, it is a revolutionary step creating functionality within the confectionery market.

Kick Energy uses a proprietary Guarana Energy Premix that is designed to give the same energy impact as a 250ml can of energy drink.

Not recommended for individuals who are sensitive to caffeine, or who wish to sleep within the next 3+/- hours.

Standard bar size: 45g

Check out South Pacific Brands onlineClick here to see all the listings for South Pacific Brands They do not have a public website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
caffeine   caramel   chocolate   green coffee   guarana   kick   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Crispo Nocciole - Chocolate Covered HazelnutsCrispo Nocciole - Chocolate Covered Hazelnuts
Rating: 9.1
Hellers Hot & Spicy Pork RibsHellers Hot & Spicy Pork Ribs
Rating: 7.7
John's Mince & Cheese pieJohn's Mince & Cheese pie
Rating: 9.4
San Remo Gluten Free PastaSan Remo Gluten Free Pasta
Rating: 9.3
Pods - SnickersPods - Snickers
Rating: 8.8
Scolpt Modelling Chocolate - RainbowScolpt Modelling Chocolate - Rainbow
Rating: 9.3
Hospital Fish ShopHospital Fish Shop
Rating: 9.0
Kapiti Spicy Blue CheeseKapiti Spicy Blue Cheese
Rating: 8.5
Whisk Fudge SaucesWhisk Fudge Sauces
Rating: 9.3
Mac Bar - MilkMac Bar - Milk
Rating: 7.8
Texas BBQ Pork BellyTexas BBQ Pork Belly
Rating: 9.0
Nando's - JohnsonvilleNando's - Johnsonville
Rating: 8.5
Meal for One - Beef Bourguinon and Creamy Delmonico PotatoesMeal for One - Beef Bourguinon and Creamy Delmonico Potatoes
Rating: 9.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 28th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I received a bar of energy chocolate in my latest package from KIWIreviews and was really keen to try it out. I am a big V lover, although I do not drink as much of it these days as I used to. I never found that V would give me any extra energy, or keep me buzzing for ages, it was just a drink that I liked the taste of.

I am also a very very very big coffee consumer. Possibly drinking far more in a day then I really need too, or should. And like the V, coffee does not keep me awake, no matter how much I consume.

BUT bring on this little bar of chocolate. A lovely mix of chocolate goodness, with a gorgeous flow of caramel, and hidden in there someone is a massive hit of energy! I don't know what, or how much, but boy oh boy, it lived up to its name lol The package states: do not consume within 3 hours of wanting to sleep. I did not! However, that fact did not matter. I had one, yes I repeat one, piece of this scrummy chocolate, and about 50mls of one of the 28 white cans of energy drink, and at 4am in the morning when I was still wide eyed and bushy tailed, I was lying in bed, wondering what the heck had happened, haha. Should I have not had any coffee that day? Was it the chocolate or the energy drink that was keeping me awake? Either way, even though consumed five hours before bed time, here I was several hours later, still unable to sleep no matter what I tried.

So if you need to be awake or require some extra energy, then these little chocolate bar seems to be able to provide you with that. After what I experienced though, I wont have more than one piece at a time, and I wont combine it with energy drinks or coffee either hehe.

Click here to read the profile of wingnutt39

Review by: wingnutt39 (Rosemary)
Dated: 21st of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I got to try the Kick Energy bar. I shared it with my son as he is a huge energy drink fan. We both enjoyed it but we had a problem with how runny the caramel was. To us it was also a bit flavourless, but I enjoyed the fact it wasn't to sweet.

With it being an energy bar we were not sure if we would get a quick rush or not. We found it was a slow release for the whole day, the only thing I found was the fact I had trouble sleeping that night. That I put down to not being a huge coffee drinker so if gave me close to two days drinking in a few bites.

I thought the instructions "Not recommended for those who wish to sleep within the next 3+ hours" but it would be better if this was stated in larger writing I am not sure if I would get this bar again, but my son loved it so he has said he will.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 1st of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I got my hands on some of this kick energy chocolate the other day and the first thing I thought was why has this not really been done before? I mean there is heaps of energy drinks out there, maybe there is a market for energy chocolate.

I checked out the packaging and it told me that it had about the same amount of impact as a 250ml can of energy drink, that sounded promising to me. I'm not a big energy drink type of person and only really ever drink it if I have some sort of massive drive ahead of me.

I liked the size of the chocolate bar it is easier then a can to travel with, easier to consume then drinking all the time and really seems like a good idea.

So I cracked into it the other evening, no real need of energy needed but I was craving some chocolate. I was very surprised at the taste of the chocolate and how damn good it was, I really do like the flavor of it. The inside had the runny caramel type center and I was surprised by the runnyness of it. Nothing bad at all, just thought it would be thicker for some reason.

So while it tasted amazing, and I would happily have it again, the only downside I could see is that the energy part of the whole package didn't seem to do too much for me. While a can of drink I can feel it affecting me, which I assume is due to the faster absorption into my blood stream, this chocolate didn't feel like it had done anything.

It might have worked better if I was totally exhausted at a guess, but I think I would get a kick from the sugar in the chocolate more.

So there we go, a great tasting chocolate with the added benefit of some extra energy.

Click here to read the profile of kyz83

Review by: kyz83 (Kylie)
Dated: 29th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I am a person who has a lot of energy naturally - I don't need caffeine for a boost (very often) so was interested to try this bar.

The bar is broken into 3 large pieces, I thought it could have easily gone into 4 but it wasn't a huge deal. The chocolate was yum, the caramel was smooth and delicious, however I didn't seem to get the boost of energy that was promised. I could however eat the chocolate bar as a normal bar as it was really tasty.

I would like to try this bar again perhaps when I am lacking in energy, however I don't think I would use it to replace an energy drink, I don't have a very sweet tooth and the energy drinks that I have tasted tend to have a tartness to them compared to the chocolate. Price was reasonable - I will recommend it to friends who I know use caffeine for a booster on regular occasion.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 21st of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I was lucky enough to be given a sample of this energy chocolate... just before I was to go board-gaming for 12 hours straight - perfect timing! I don't drink energy drinks every day, but it wouldn't be uncommon for me to have a 250ml V drink sometimes in the afternoon, so I was interested to compare as these were supposedly similar in the energy they would deliver.

I normally drink sugar-free V, so of course this is a much higher calorie energy kick - but hey, I eat plenty of chocolate too, so I'm not too worried about that as a treat!

So here I am after 9 hours of gaming and I'm starting to fade on it a bit ... so out comes the energy chocolate! (I have to admit here that I'd already drunk a V a couple of hours earlier, so theoretically this would be a double energy hit for me - but I did need it!). I was at the point where I had a definite headache coming on, and weariness was setting in.

Well the bar did it's job! I didn't notice an energy buzz as such (but I don't notice this with energy drinks either), however my headache faded quickly and I was clear-headed for the rest of the night... with all the energy I needed to get me through to 10pm... and quite a bit beyond - oops! I didn't read the warning until later about not eating it if you wanted to get to sleep within the next 3 hours or so!

As far as taste went - I think it compared pretty much to a standard well known brand caramello bar (yum!). The chocolate was tasty and smooth - melt in your mouth goodness. And the caramel was yum too. If I savoured the taste in my mouth I thought I could taste what was probably the guarana - but it was barely noticeable taste-wise. A shame in a way, as it was a pleasant hint of something setting it apart from other chocolate - I wouldn't have minded more guarana flavour.

I'd definitely eat one of these again - on one of those days when I just couldn't decide if I needed chocolate or an energy drink to see me through the day! But as they are not a low calorie option, it would be a treat for me, definitely not an every-day choice of energy kick. I'd certainly recommend these to others though.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 14th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have had two bars of this now, and I am really enjoying this product! I was a bit weary of the idea first mainly because I really enjoy "V" as my go to energy source when coffee isn't cutting it. Needless to say my intake of caffeine is rather high!

I'm a mum of two boys under 5, I work and study so life is BUSY! The first bar I had was mid-afternoon when I had 3.30-itis. After eating the bar I didn't have any immediate surge of energy but was able to continue my jobs and collect the children from day-care and continue to feel ok with enough energy into the evening. I didn't experience any comedowns from the bar at all.

These bars have 3 squares to them, the squares are larger than you would expect, and possible could be made smaller into 4 squares for the same sized block. The bigger sizes may have something to do with having to contain the liquid caramel. The caramel is more liquid than other caramel chocolate that I have had, but is still a really nice flavour. I expected the taste of the bar to taste more like a protein bar than a choc bar (although these are not protein bars!! - but this was the pre conceived idea in my head) But the reality is that these taste just like a chocolate bar - so a really nice pick-me up treat!

The second bar I was lucky to have at home at the time. I had come home at around 6.30 after spending the afternoon in town show shopping with the family - I was exhausted (coming down with a virus of some sort I presume - or end of term blues!!) I was thinking of an early night once the children were asleep and remembered I had to go and watch a team play basketball at 8pm - not ideal when feeling like that! I grabbed the "Kick" bar and gobbled it down and headed out the door again. This time the bar gave me that extra energy so I was able to be alert and awake. (turns out I was losing the plot and the game was cancelled - beside the point though!)

Overall this is a product I would buy again, it wouldn't be instead of my normal energy drink - but if I was feeling like chocolate and some energy, I would be certain to grab one of these bars. They are sold at our local New World which is great!

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 14th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

My days of youth are long behind me, and by the time you reach my age you realise that every little bit of help you can get should be taken to help you get through the day. So when I was offered a bar of energy chocolate, I thought it would be worth a try - nothing to loose really.

It arrived, along with a few of my mokopuna as usual, and so I was really pleased to see the bar only had three big squares to it. Good enough for me to say that this was one little treat I was keeping all to myself. Sorry kids. Grin Icon Now I should say that I am not a fan of caramel usually. With my dentures, the stuff soon develops a grip strong than my denture cement, and I lose my teeth, but the caramel in this bar was so fluid, it didn't cause any problems at all, much to me great relief.

The chocolate is a milk chocolate, so is quite sweet but not overly so, and the caramel is not very sweet either, so this bar is not one you get sick of eating after only one square. I was happily able to finish the entire bar in one sitting, though I would have liked to have had smaller squares, because I don't eat chocolate too fast and the filling was hard to keep under control. Maybe trying a fondant or fudge style filling may help instead of smaller squares?

I didn't feel any big energy rush, which is great news for my old ticker, but I did find that I was able to skip my afternoon nap and stayed alert far past my usual sleeping time. I think the statement about "3 hours" may be a little understated - this one bar kept me up and plodding along for at least 6 hours more than my usual if I skip the nap. On the positive side of that, I got time to catch up on some good reading! LOL Icon

I am not too sure if I would buy these regularly, mainly because the price is a bit tough to justify on my pensioner budget, but it is something I would consider if I knew in advance I would need a full day with no naps. I think having one of these squares with each meal would be enough to keep this old Koro going for the full stretch without nodding off.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 12th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I drink way too much caffeine, guarana and taurine. This is a fact I am well aware of... and it's even more pronounced when I realise that I can slug back 2-3 cans of something rather zoomie and still be tired. This is a matter of grave concern for me at times, such as when I am tired and I have an early start with a long drive ahead of me, such as a trip to Auckland at 7am, as a common example.

So, knowing my tolerance for stimulants is right up there with the best world-class athletes - although mine are legal at least and can be bought at any supermarket, dairy or gas station - I was a little dubious about the effectiveness of this choccy bar on my super-saturated system. I was fully expecting it to simply be a case of an over-priced snack, more than an energy boost. Still, anything is worth a try and any new delivery system could bring about a new reaction, I figured. So... time for a bar...

Feeling a bit energy-starved late yesterday afternoon, I peeled a bar and gave it a go. As mentioned previously, the bar is split into three hefty-dose chunks of milk chocolate and filled with a caramel center. The caramel wasn't sickly-sweet, which pleased me no end, because though I like the odd small-square of caramello now and then, even a snack-bar is too much for me to take in a single sitting, however eating the whole of this bar was easy. However, splitting the bar into more chunks would allow for a more distributed energy intake I think, and avoid having caramel dribbling down my chin and getting stuck in my beard.

This choc lacks the sudden 'punch' of energy that a V or Red Bull would give, due in part I think, to the delivery system relying on digestion rather than liquid diffusion through the stomach wall. This makes for a more gradual energy transfer, and an easier 'come down' afterwards too - no sudden 'crash' half an hour later. So, though I didn't find myself suddenly more alert, I did realise I was still chugging along with my day well after I expected to be craving an early night. I managed to make it through to my regular bed-time despite having been up and about 3 hours earlier than I normally would have that morning. This was great, as it meant I didn't mess up my sleeping pattern too badly.

Feeling experimental, I also grabbed a second bar and used it in making some chocolate muffins. I broke the bar up in the mixing bowl along with the completed muffin batter, and used the back of a spoon to break the choc into chips while mixing the caramel into the batter at the same time. The resulting muffins were brilliant - I can't say exactly how, but they tasted better (to me at least) than the same muffins made with and equivalent amount of just regular chocolate. So, yay for that too! I can't speak to any energy boost, because I got 6 muffins from one bar and I wasn't about to pull a Mr Creosote and eat all of them to test the idea. LOL Icon

Overall, for those who have a really high tolerance for energy drinks, this can be a good option to explore. You need to plan for these ahead of time - they aren't a quick-fix for droopy-driver syndrome by any means - but if you are smart about it, they can indeed be a great way to stay perky longer than your body would want... just be sure to plan for either an early night, or a sleep-in the next morning to let your body adjust and cope with the overtime.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 12th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Chocolate, it's almost said with reverence in our house, and to add chocolate with energy, something that every parent needs well it's a combination made in heaven! That said I was keen to try the chocolate and guarana energy mix that is a kick energy bar. As I was unwrapping the sparkling wrapping hubby came home from a day of driving and lay down on the couch and promptly fell asleep.

This was the perfect energy test, my husband is the walking dead when he's low on energy, I offered him the bar and was a little miffed when it seemed to be mainly gone in a couple of bites... the mystery was quickly solved when I realised the bar was divided into only 3 sections instead of the typical five.

I asked him what he thought of the taste and he replied the caramel filling was yummy but running, when I tried mine I had to concur, the taste was the same, but the bar had been in the fridge and the filling was still quite free flowing. The chocolate was good, so it passed all the taste tests! I didn't notice an energy change, but hubby was soon sitting up and chatting, so I can safely say if you need a pick me up, energy boost this does do the trick!

Would I buy this again? Probably not, but that says more about me than the bar, I tend to be a creature of habit and at the moment my chocolate has to be chocolate not multipurpose. I think that it would be great for people like my hubby; he's a truck driver so sometimes a large energy drink isn't practical with no toilet stops, and I think the kick energy bar would be great for someone like him!

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 9th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am seriously impressed with this energy bar, From the moment I started eating this thing I could feel a distinct energy "kick"! I had this on the same day I had a Forensics Science workshop that I had to get up early for, so I had this, and I felt awake for the whole day, so this stuff is very effective! The chocolate bar had a structure that was quite similar to that of a caramel-filled chocolate bar, which is something I love!

I am so impressed with the effectiveness of this energy bar, it is Guarana based, like the ever-popular energy drink "V"; but usually drinking V doesn't work for me, so I was blown away when this did give me a boost! I am also impressed at how they managed to turn something that usually goes in a can and find a way to put it into a candy bar, GENIUS!!!!

The price is perfect, it is roughly the price of a regular chocolate bar! I must warn people who give chocolate bars to their children, DO NOT GIVE THIS TO THEM! If you do, they will be bouncing off the walls. The taste is great, the contrasting textures between the gooey core and the hard shell makes thing even more delectable, as something I have learned from cooking is that in many cases, contrast is good. Overall, this is one "Kick" of a product LOL Icon

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 7th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

I was eager to give this a try as my husband is a big fan of energy drinks (though we have cut down a lot in the past year) and I like chocolate, not a huge fan, but thought that this would be worth a good try. It have three pieces to it, each one a little bigger than I would personally like, I would have done better with four pieces.

I didn't know what to expect for taste as I can get a bit fussy when it comes to caramel and I'm not someone who always goes for the chocolate when it is out, throw in the energy flavour (which can range widely) and I was cautious when I had my first bite. There wasn't a huge caramel flavour that I or my husband could pick out and so we found that it had a weaker taste than we expected. The chocolate was as good as any other brand.

The buzz... The extra energy... I found it, but only a slight buzz. It did give me that extra wind that I needed for about an hour and didn't give me any major drop at the end of the high which is a nice thing when it gets to the end of the day and one is already tired from all that running around. I did use this on a day that I did a large amount of work in the backyard, so perhaps with less strenuous work it may have given me a longer buzz.

Not too bad a bar, I would personally grab a can of drink over the bar of chocolate, but if I saw these on special then I may grab one to tuck away for a canless day.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 5th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I ate this bar over the course of two days. On the first day, I had one square of the chocolate. I did not drink any coffee at all during the trial. The chocolate is a milk chocolate style. The caramel filling flows quite freely. There is definitely a taste of Guarana in there. As a university student I use to pop Guarana capsules, so I know the taste of that powdery mixture quite well. I could taste it a little in the chocolate, but definitely in the caramel.

After one square at approximately 10am in the morning, I noticed feeling more alert after an hour. I didn't miss my coffees all day and I even managed to stay up fairly late that evening. When I went to bed, there was a period of time when I was lying awake and I wasn't sure if sleep would actually come along.

The next day I had a work do on directly after work, so I wanted to be alert and was in party mode from 5pm. I had two squares at 9:30am and then no coffee throughout the day again. We went out and did a quiz night, a dinner and then to a nightclub for a dance. At several points people asked me what I had been drinking because I was quite relaxed. I suspect it might have been the chocolate, because I hadn't drunk anything. When I went home, I had to work for an hour and had a few things to do after that so the extra awake time was very welcome.

Now I should mention that while I'm not especially sensitive to caffeine, I am when it comes to Guarana. It can give me a slight buzz, which is quite useful. This definitely came out on the day I had two squares, but luckily not until later. I would probably not eat a whole bar in one sitting though. The taste was okay but if I was after a chocolate bar, it wouldn't be this one. Still for the buzz and associated fun, I may buy this bar rather than drink a soft drink.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 4th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Omigosh this bar is delicious I ate it and wished I had more straight away. Well I did have to give one of the three pieces to my partner as he really wanted to try it too, so only having two chunks I could of easily gone for more. I have seen these bars at the supermarket before but thought they were a bit pricey but after trying one I would definitely buy one when I am in the chocolate mood.

I wasn't really sure what the chocolate would taste like being an energy bar but I thought it wouldn't taste as nice as a normal caramel chocolate bar but boy was I wrong. This is one of the nicest caramel style chocolate bars I have tried and the chocolate is very tasty and creamy like chocolate should be. The caramel inside is really rich and flowing and there is plenty of it too which I love.

The thing I noticed after only having two chunks of the bar was that I did get a bit more energy it wasn't like a huge kick although I drink a lot of V drinks and they don't give me that anymore either. I found in the afternoon I didn't get that 3 o clock crash that I would normally get.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 1st of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am not a person that drinks coffee or caffeinated drinks and it has been a few years since I had an energy drink but when I was offered a Kick Energy Bar to review I was curious as I love chocolate (my only regular source of caffeine). This bar is an energy drink in a chocolate bar.

I choose to slip my Kick Bar into my bag I had packed to spend the day with my husband and two preschoolers at Rainbows End. As any parent knows these days are very full on and you are constantly on the go watching your children like hawks and doing lots adrenalin filled rides that zap you of energy. Now the trick would be eating it without the kids wanting some of my chocolate bar.

I ate the bar as my morning tea at 11am. It was just like a chocolate bar with caramel in the centre. The bar could be broken easily into three bite sized squares. It had the same consistency but didn't taste as sweet or creamy as a caramello bar. It still was a very enjoyable chocolate treat.

I didn't feel a rush like I would with an energy drink but I am assuming that because it wasn't a liquid it would get into the blood stream slower. The wrapper warned not to consume if you wanted to sleep within three plus hours. This bar must have been keeping me going for the three hours because at the three hour mark I was struck with a wave of yawns and tiredness that lasted about 30 minutes. If I had another Kick Bar I would have eaten it than to kick start (pardon the pun) me again.

Thankfully the wave of tiredness disappeared and I was back to my usual self and lasted well for the next few hours at Rainbows End and the drive home to Hamilton. Personally I would prefer the Kick Energy Bar to an energy drink but then I am a chocolate lover.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.2
Product reviews for listing 7554: SP Herb Panang Curry Paste -  Brand / Manufacturer : Mae Supen

Product image for SP Herb Panang Curry PasteSP Herb Proudly present our Mae Supen Curry paste - All Curry paste: No Artificial Colour, No Preservative, No MSG Added, No Sugar and Gluten Free.

"Nam Prik Mae Supen" is originated from the flavour of the southern food recipe (Chumporn Province) which is a strong but delicious chilli paste. The secret behind the delicious taste of "Nam Prik Mae Suphen" is not only the natural raw material but the product also possesses the local ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"              ?         ,         !"
Marcel Marceau

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream