Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 16th July 2019 - 15:05:23

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Dairy Products > Sooshi Ice Cream review

« Keep Fresh Bags reviewKeep Fresh BagsMedusa reviewMedusa »

Score: 7.4/10  [8 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 2288 - Sooshi Ice Cream
Brand - New Zealand Natural

Sooshi Ice Cream
Price:
varies
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by NZ Natural

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at New Zealand Natural stores

Sooshi Ice Cream product reviews

Inspired by traditional Japanese sushi, Sooshi features New Zealand Natural's world famous ice cream, wrapped in a 100% natural fruit roll and filled with real fruit fillings in a variety of flavours to entice the taste buds. This fun, dairy-based take on the popular rice and seaweed dish combines a natural green apple 'nori' sheet, fruit or vanilla ice cream, and a variety of real fruit fillings - including lemon, apricot, raspberry and blackcurrant- all rolled, cut, and ready to eat.

Visually, Sooshi looks like traditional rice sushi, but the combination of real fruit and ice cream offers a unique flavour experience. The real fruit fillings use colours taken from traditional sushi, with lemon representing yellow peppers, raspberry representing crab, blackcurrant representing red peppers and apricot representing carrot. Customers can even request a squirt of chocolate 'soy' sauce on the side.

Sooshi can be bought as individual pieces or a tray of six small portions providing a snack-sized indulgence. Customers can even try frozen yoghurt Sooshi for a low fat treat. Sooshi will be available at New Zealand Natural ice cream parlours across New Zealand and Australia from the last week of September.

Check out NZ Natural onlineClick here to see all the listings for NZ Natural Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
dessert   frozen   fruit   ice cream   sushi   treat
Other listings you may be interested in:
Leaning Tower Pasta Uno : Delissimo LasagneLeaning Tower Pasta Uno : Delissimo Lasagne
Rating: 4.8
Just EssenceJust Essence
Rating: 10.0
Top of the Range Ruahine Venison SteaksTop of the Range Ruahine Venison Steaks
Rating: 9.9
Marvellous Creations: Clinkers, Raspberry Chips & MarshmallowsMarvellous Creations: Clinkers, Raspberry Chips & Marshmallows
Rating: 8.8
Aberdeen on BroadwayAberdeen on Broadway
Rating: 9.4
Forest Gourmet Kawakawa FlakesForest Gourmet Kawakawa FlakesMuffin Bakes - Choc FudgeMuffin Bakes - Choc Fudge
Rating: 6.1
Anathoth Farm Traditional Fruit MinceAnathoth Farm Traditional Fruit MinceChilli Lime ChutneyChilli Lime Chutney
Rating: 8.9
Klein's Smoked Freerange ChickenKlein's Smoked Freerange Chicken
Rating: 9.3
Edmonds Sweet Muffin MixEdmonds Sweet Muffin Mix
Rating: 10.0
Simple Spicy Beef StirfrySimple Spicy Beef Stirfry
Rating: 9.7
Kaweka - Butter ChickenKaweka - Butter Chicken
Rating: 8.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 8th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This is a product that I wish that they would bring back. There's not much I would have changed about these flavour-wise, other than to see if the jam in the centre could be less sweet.

The only issue that I ever had with these was that if you bought a single one, it was served on a napkin, and if you got more than one they melted far too fast. I also would have expected them to be slightly bigger.

But, they were delicious, and I really do miss having this occasional treat.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 15th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Texture:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love the New Zealand Natural Company. There is one not far from my office, so it's one of those occasional, "try not to go every day" treats. One day happened to walk past with my daughter and they were advertising Sooshi. It looked enticing in the advertising, and my daughter wanted what the cow was preparing (in the poster they use a cow). So we stopped and ordered one each.

The cost of the individual Sooshi was not too bad. The Sooshi themselves were probably a little smaller than I thought they would be, but that always happens with advertising. We sat down to a Sooshi treat.

I had hoped these would be easy to eat, but they aren't really. You get ice cream wrapped in fruit leather type stuff, with a fruit middle, but these were served to us on napkins. That didnt make it kid friendly.

However, taste-wise they were delicious. I love fruit leather anyway, so I guzzled that down pretty quickly and then dug into my ice cream. I then got to eat my daughter's fruit leather because she didnt like the taste or texture - strange child. But she yummed her ice cream down as well.

All in all, a cool treat, but could have been better packaged for less mess. Would be so neat to have a kids party with them as the party food as well. And I may have to go back soon and see if I can try the frozen yoghurt option. I cant help but be a little bit in love with New Zealand Natural Company's yoghurts.

Click here to read the profile of tinman

Review by: tinman (Iessa)
Dated: 30th of October, 2009

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Texture:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Hmmm, well I thought they looked pretty good! They were a bit smaller than ordinary sushi pieces. The ice cream was good - I rather liked cookies and cream, and the mint one wasn't too bad either...actually all the ice cream flavours were good. The green 'wrap' was like fruit strap with less flavour. The jam centre was kinda sweet.
Overall - nice for an occasional snack. A bit sweet.

Click here to read the profile of kiwifi

Review by: kiwifi (Fiona)
Dated: 28th of October, 2009

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Texture:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

Novel idea, visually appealing on the surface of it. Need to be served with a spoon or such for those who find them more than a single mouthful - otherwise eat really quick before they melt and go messy in your hand.
To be fair, I have to say I am NOT a sweet tooth. Even taking that into account, I suspect the 'sweetness' of the jam centre would be a bit extreme for many. I'm all for flavour (bring on the toenail curling sour...), but not so keen on sugary sweet. Jam aside, the ice-cream flavours were fine, mint was best in my opinion. The outer green fruity wrap was like a softer gelatine-like version of fruit strap, but with a bland nondescript sweetness.
Final score... too sweet for me. I still prefer NZ Natural's Fruit Flow ice-cream.

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 26th of October, 2009

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have a very sweet tooth so I was fine with the powerful sugar rush that kicks in after the first 'sooshi slice'. It was the rich rainbow of flavours that matched the delicious spectrum of colours that really drew me to these dessert treats.
Not quite as thickly sliced as I was hoping, they were still fairly decent portions, especially when served in a 6-pack for one glutton to guzzle. Wink Icon
I was fortunate enough to have been alone when I trialled these so I didn't have to share, and was doubly blessed to be seated next to a table with three others who were trying these out as well, so was able to overhear a few comments that were noteworthy.
One of the comments that most caught my attention was about the sweetness, and how they would really appeal to sugar-fiends and kids, but not so much to the blander Kiwi palate. This was something I reluctantly had to agree with.
The fruit syrup/pulp in the middle really is a rich burst and may overwhelm the more delicate flavours in the ice-cream for the average Kiwi consumer. Let's face it, we're not as bland as some cultures, but we don't really like taste-explosions in the same way the middle-eastern cultures do. A prime example is Indian foods... I have to laugh when I am asked "is that an Indian mild or a Kiwi mild you are wanting, sir?"
All in all, though I adored these enough to happily sit and consume a full dozen before my belt was reminding me that I was yet to visit the gym for the day. Boy, did I have to work hard to offload those calories, but it was worth every morsel.

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 20th of October, 2009

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Texture:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

i have a very sweet tooth at times and i am thankful this was one of them. the sooshi was very sweet because of the fruit pulp in the middle. the plainer ice cream was nice and smooth but the fruity ice cream was strangely smooth as well. i was expecting some texture in it and it felt wrong without that. this was a real treat for the eye but the mouth found it a little too bland on feel and a little too rich on sweet. i will probably want to try this again but this time i will take it straight home and let it siot in the freezer for an hour or so to firm up again. i think the warm eating area may have caused it to lose a bit of its body.i would like to see this in more shops as i had to drive for an hour and half to find a store that had some whioch put me off them more than the flavour of excessive sweetness.

Click here to read the profile of kiwikris

Review by: kiwikris (Kristina)
Dated: 19th of October, 2009

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Texture:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

The advertising is quite appealing and would get me to try this treat. However the actual product is much thinner than the picture gives the impression of, so I felt the value for money was not what was expected. The appearance is visually appealing and the flavors looked interesting. Taste was very sweet and little difference between each combination as you could not taste the centers over the sweetness. The texture was soft with very little bite to it. It felt like it needed some combination of textures or crunch to complete it. Cute but not a repeat buy for me.

Click here to read the profile of anistasya

Review by: anistasya (Beaulah)
Dated: 19th of October, 2009

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Texture:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Ice cream, jam and fruit roll up make up this interesting new treat from New Zzealand Natural. The mint was probably the nicest flavor inside, but cookies and cream, vanilla and berry were all quite palatable. While nice on the first bite, this treat quickly becomes a little too sweet for me. It is a pity, also, that the flavors sort of blend together. It was a fun change, but I think I'm going to stick with my fruit flows.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.0
Product reviews for listing 49: Apple Crumble Dessert Cake -  Created by unknown

Product image for Apple Crumble Dessert CakeCAKE
- 125g butter
- 1 cup sugar
- 2 eggs
- 3/4 cup low fat milk
- 2 cups plain flour
- 4 tsp baking powder
- 2 Granny Smith apples


TOPPING
- 1/2 cup plain flour
- 2 tbsp brown sugar
- 1 tsp baking powder
- 50g ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why does someone believe you when you say there are four billion stars, but check when you say the paint is wet?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream