Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 23rd October 2017 - 17:27:14

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Taste of India Rogan Josh Sauce review

« ANZAC Girls reviewANZAC GirlsTaste of India Vindaloo Sauce reviewTaste of India Vindaloo Sauce »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.0/10  [6 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 6253 - Taste of India Rogan Josh Sauce
Produced by Taste of India

Taste of India Rogan Josh Sauce
Price:
$4.49
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Taste of India

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Taste of India Rogan Josh Sauce product reviews

A richly spiced aromatic sauce recipe originally from Kashmir. Delicious Authentic Quality Cooking Sauces. Simply add your meat & simmer.

These Simmer Sauces provide a quick and convenient way to enjoy traditional authentic Indian recipes with 11 sauces now available.
    •  No preservatives, artificial colours or flavours
    •  Includes sachets of whole & ground spices for seasoning
    •  Includes a recipe booklet with illustrated instructions
    •  Shelf stable 425g spout pouches
    •  Revolutionary 18 month shelf life
    •  11 sauce recipes available
    •  Suitable for Vegetarians
    •  4 generous servings per pouch
    •  No gum and no starch
    •  Cooked in Canola oil

Ingredients:
Water, tomatoes (18%), onions (17%), canola oil (4.5%), yoghurt (4.5%), garlic, ginger, salt, sugar, herbs & spices.

Allergy Advice:
    •  Contains milk.
    •  Made on equipment that processes dairy, nuts, soy & sesame products.

Check out Taste of India onlineClick here to see all the listings for Taste of India Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
canola oil   garlic   ginger   gluten free   onions   salt   sugar   taste of india   tomatoes   water   yoghurt
Other listings you may be interested in:
Taste of India Madras SauceTaste of India Madras Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Taste of India Mango Chicken SauceTaste of India Mango Chicken Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Smugglers - NZ BeefSmugglers - NZ Beef
Rating: 8.9
Taste of India Navrattan SauceTaste of India Navrattan Sauce
Rating: 7.8
The Edge CrustThe Edge Crust
Rating: 8.8
Taste of India Korma SauceTaste of India Korma Sauce
Rating: 9.0
Taste of India Vindaloo SauceTaste of India Vindaloo Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Lime ChutneyLime Chutney
Rating: 6.4
Taste of India Butter Chicken Simmer SauceTaste of India Butter Chicken Simmer Sauce
Rating: 9.1
Taste of India Tikka Masala SauceTaste of India Tikka Masala Sauce
Rating: 9.6
Taste of India Goan Prawn Curry SauceTaste of India Goan Prawn Curry Sauce
Rating: 7.6
Taste of India Jalfrezi Simmer SauceTaste of India Jalfrezi Simmer Sauce
Rating: 7.3
Taste of India Bengal Fish Curry SauceTaste of India Bengal Fish Curry Sauce
Rating: 6.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 16th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Having a huge week and an extremely busy emotional day we just wanted something fast and easy to cook for dinner. Nothing springs to mind like Taste of Inda. Fantastic on a cold day.

Having experienced a few of these curries I have become somewhat of a pro so let my husband take over tonight while I had some time out. He got the girls to help out so was a family affair in away. He measured the rice while the girls got to clean it under the water before it was put into the rice cooker. He followed the instructions and said it was so basic, although he did forget to add the curry to it. Personally we all didn't mind as it tasted fantasic without that added heat.

The procedure is extremely easy heat the spices. Add the meat - in this instance we used lamb. Add the simmer sauce and then you are suppose to add the curry but it is a personal choice. We always add extra cream as it helps remove that heat for the girls. I didn't use the cream this time and I found it very tolerable.

Everyone really enjoyed this meal and we will definitely have in the pantry from now on. Love how fast and easy these meals are. After trying once the original way there are different versions you could use like in a pie or in a naan bread. Great for the coming winter.

(pls note forgot to take the picture and so this was the leftovers.....)

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 11th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My favourite curry to order is Rogan Josh. It's got a good heat to it, even as a mild. This sauce is a medium heat sauce and so I was a little hesitant to try it for my children, but hubby was keen and we hooked our dinner guests in for another curry night. All I asked of them was to supply us with some nice naan bread and they did a great job there.

Into a frying pan, I added oil and then the full spices into the mix. Now, when I go and have a take-away Rogan Josh it always comes with these bits of wood. Like really a bit of branch or something in it. I always comment to my husband about it, because it's unexpected. But as I was cooking with the whole spices - there they were! the whole bits of what looked like tree. That was quite cool, to see it go in and understand it's part of the flavour for the Rogan Josh. It also made it feel so much more authentic than any other sauce you buy on the market.

I browned diced lamb into the whole spice and my kitchen filled with that smell. My guests were hooked, "wow, is that really lamb?" It sure was. I cooked some of the smaller pieces right through, and removed them from the pan before adding the sauce to the rest of the lamb. Then I added all of the powdered spice. I served the curry on Basmati rice with the naan bread as well. For my kids, they had rice and lamb with naan and then I gave each of them a little ramekin of the sauce too.

All the adults enjoyed this one. The comment was a good level of spice and heat - about what they expected it to be so it did not disappoint. We could all taste the ginger which was good, it gave it a more complex taste. Both children did try the sauce, but neither enjoyed it. Still, that was to be expected as they aren't too keen on heat and spice and this was a medium.

This one I could definitely see myself buying again. It was delicious, and would be brilliant for our dinner parties. It was fun to cook, as well as being easy - the meal seem really complex in flavour. It made me look good! And who doesn't want to look good when they are cooking up a meal for family or friends.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 23rd of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love anything indian it's one of my favourite meals and my main takeaway of choice. I enjoy making it at home as we but it's never quite the same, When the taste of india range came up for review I was really keen to give them a go.

When my package arrived I was excited to see some sauces in it. First thing I noticed was how inviting the packaging was. I had to give it a go straight away so there was no question what was for dinner in our house that night. I have to admit I had a little trouble getting the extra spices out to start with but only because I didn't realise it was in a wee ziplock bag. Once I realised it was super easy and I think it's an awesome idea.

The added spices are great and adding the whole spices to the hot oil had my hubby coming to check on what I was cooking as it smet delish! It was all so easy too, the instructions were so easy to follow I love the fact not did it only have step by step written instructions but it also had picture ones as well.

Once it was all done I dished it up with some plain rice and tucked in. Not only did it smell wonderful it tasted it as well. It was very true to Rogan Josh I have had at indiana places rather than being wishy washy like some of the packet sauces I have tried.
The packet said it was a medium spice and it was prefect amount of spice for me. I will be buying the sauce again for sure and have already started recommending it to others.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 14th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was super excited when my package of Indian sauces arrived from KIWIreviews. I had never seen these sauces until the day of arrival, and was immediately impressed with the packaging. I could not believe that asimple simmer sauce could be made to look so elegant, just from its packaging. But these really do present an air of elegance and as such I coukd not wait to try them out.

Attached to the back of the sauces is a little clear package, this package contains the instructions for use aseell as two packets of spices. I do admit that it did take me a wee minute to figure out how to open this little package without removing it from the main packet. Once figured out tthough, it is surprising just how easy it was and is to open. This package is attached tight to the main product so no chance of falling off on the supermarket shelf, and as its initially difficult to open there is also no concern of anyone stealing the spices lol.

The instructions are well presented and easy to read which is also great. Even though I read them twice before cooking, and again ehilst cooking, I admit I still missed the part where it said to add the first packet ofspices to the pan, so needless to say our meal did not include the first lot of spice :/ I do not know if this had a huge impact because the meal was delicious anyway. It is a really easy meal to prepare and dors not take long at all, which is a bonus for busy families :)

We used lamb to make ours but I believe you could use any meat you wish and it will still be just as awesome. We also just served it with ricewhich was the perfect accompaniment. Its a really full of flavour meal, filling and really yum. My kids scoffed it fast and noone could agree on the level of spiciness either. We would absolutely most definitely be purchasing this a lot in the future too :)

Click here to read the profile of dominika1980

Review by: dominika1980 (Dominika)
Dated: 13th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 1 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I find most prepacked curry sauces rather bland so always up for trying new brands. Wow! This was soooo yummy. It's prepared differently to usual "straight out of the jar" method but boy is it worth it! Frying the spices releases incredible flavour that Indian food is famous for. It reminded me of our favourite take away down the road. But buying this sauce is substantially cheaper.
We had it with diced thicken thighs and I also boosted it with some frozen spinach for greens and plated on a bed of basmati rice. I was surprised this was enough to stretch it over 2 dinners. In consequence, this meal went a long way as far as tight family budgets go.
The sauce is full of flavour and beautiful Indian spice aroma fills the house. Everyone cleared their plates in record time. To my surprise, my 4 year old inhaled it too despite the spice. I'll be using this product again and again! I am now looking to go through all their remaining sauces and select our favourites. What an easy and tasty meal! Perfect for those winter evenings.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 10th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was lucky enough to be given this Rogan Josh to review. It says on the packet to use 500g of meat or vegetables but it didn't specify what meat so I figured lamb was the traditional way to go and it turned out the enclosed instructions refer only to lamb so I guessed right. But of course you could substitute for whatever you wanted.

To get at the instructions, you need to open a little sealed pack that is attached to the outside of the main packet with a couple of spice sachets. This pack is stuck on tight and needs scissors or a knife to open, but I didn't mind that, and it means that I know that people can't sneakily separate the 2 and leave me with part of the meal missing.

The instructions are super clear and easy to follow with pictures at every step, but it's just a matter of making sure you add the right spice pack at the right time. The first spice pack contains whole spices and the aroma when I added this to the pan was awesome - I started really looking forward to my authentic Indian meal. The last spice gives you open range as to how much to use, but I found adding all of it was fine.

Then I noticed that it was labelled as being medium spice - great for me, but I started to wonder if my hubby and Miss 6 would cope.... as it turned out, Miss 6 did not enjoy it at all - lucky for padding it out with rice and naan. My husband ate it and really enjoyed the flavour, but it was too spicy for him. He did come across a couple of the whole spices and looked at me strange! The recipe didn't tell me to remove them, so he ended up just removing them as they appeared in his mouth! I personally liked the level of spice and felt it was suitably labelled as medium. And the meal was delicious.

It's been a while since I've eaten Rogan Josh, so I didn't have anything to compare it to flavour wise, but it was certainly delicious and it didn't have that packet feel to it - the spices possibly made all the difference. Although I'd probably stick to the mild meals in the future for the sake of my family, I'll be definitely buying from this range again - I'm sold!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.7
Product reviews for listing 688: Simple Spicy Beef Stirfry -  Created by The Phantom Gerbil

Product image for Simple Spicy Beef StirfryIngredients:
    •  400g beef stirfry, or steak cut into 1cm x 3cm strips
    •  6-8 Tbsp Watties tomato sauce
    •  2-3 Tbsp Whitlocks picalilli (or Mustard Pickle)
    •  1 onion, peeled, ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Are there specially reserved parking spaces for 'fully-abled' people at the Special Olympics?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream