Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 25th April 2019 - 18:56:48

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Taste of India Bengal Fish Curry Sauce review

« Taste of India Navrattan Sauce reviewTaste of India Navrattan SauceTaste of India Goan Prawn Curry Sauce reviewTaste of India Goan Prawn Curry Sauce »

Score: 6.8/10  [6 reviews]
2 out of 5
ProdID: 6258 - Taste of India Bengal Fish Curry Sauce
Produced by Taste of India

Taste of India Bengal Fish Curry Sauce
Price:
$4.49
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Taste of India

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Taste of India Bengal Fish Curry Sauce product reviews

A east Indian combination with yoghurt & eggplant cooked in mustard oil. Delicious Authentic Quality Cooking Sauces. Simply add your meat & simmer.

These Simmer Sauces provide a quick and convenient way to enjoy traditional authentic Indian recipes with 11 sauces now available.
    •  No preservatives, artificial colours or flavours
    •  Includes sachets of whole & ground spices for seasoning
    •  Includes a recipe booklet with illustrated instructions
    •  Shelf stable 425g spout pouches
    •  Revolutionary 18 month shelf life
    •  11 sauce recipes available
    •  Suitable for Vegetarians
    •  4 generous servings per pouch
    •  No gum and no starch
    •  Cooked in Canola oil

Ingredients:
Water, coconut cream (14%), onions (14%), eggplant (10 %), cashew nuts (8%), mustard oil (7%), yoghurt (7%), garlic (3%), ginger (2%), tomatoes (2%), salt, herbs & spices.

Allergy Advice:
    •  Contains cashew nuts, coconut, mustard & milk.
    •  Made on equipment that processes dairy, nuts, soy & sesame products.

Check out Taste of India onlineClick here to see all the listings for Taste of India Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cashew   coconut cream   eggplant   garlic   ginger   gluten free   mustard oil   onions   salt   taste of india   tomatoes   water   yoghurt
Other listings you may be interested in:
Taste of India Rogan Josh SauceTaste of India Rogan Josh Sauce
Rating: 9.0
Taste of India Madras SauceTaste of India Madras Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Taste of India Korma SauceTaste of India Korma Sauce
Rating: 9.0
Taste of India Butter Chicken Simmer SauceTaste of India Butter Chicken Simmer Sauce
Rating: 9.1
Taste of India Jalfrezi Simmer SauceTaste of India Jalfrezi Simmer Sauce
Rating: 7.3
Taste of India Mango Chicken SauceTaste of India Mango Chicken Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Taste of India Tikka Masala SauceTaste of India Tikka Masala Sauce
Rating: 9.6
Taste of India Goan Prawn Curry SauceTaste of India Goan Prawn Curry Sauce
Rating: 7.6
Yatai Japanese IzakayaYatai Japanese Izakaya
Rating: 9.0
Taste of India Vindaloo SauceTaste of India Vindaloo Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Taste of India Navrattan SauceTaste of India Navrattan Sauce
Rating: 7.8
McDonalds Mighty Angus BurgerMcDonalds Mighty Angus Burger
Rating: 9.4
Fresh n Fruity YoghurtFresh n Fruity Yoghurt
Rating: 8.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 7th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

This is my first review of Taste of India Sauces, so I was quite keen to try this sauce, especially something I could have with fish as I love all types of fish. I chose Red Cod fish to have with the sauce, which has a really nice taste but was probably a bit too soft a fish to have with the curry as it broke apart a bit, so best to use a firmer fish if you aren't keen on crumbled fish! It didn't worry us though.

The instruction booklet that comes on the back of the curry sauce bag was brilliant, very easy to follow and a nice touch. The bag itself was very pleasing to the eye and it had an easy pour spout, which made it super easy to pour the curry sauce into the pan, with no mess! However, the sauce was quite a different colour from the one shown in the picture on the bag. As you are cooking fish, the meal is ready very quickly so I make sure you cook the rice first as the rice will take a lot longer to be ready.

I served mine over long grain white rice and while the curry had a lovely smell, I must admit the first taste was not very nice. My husband described it as soapy, but I couldn't describe it. Strange initial taste, but if you persevere it does taste better and become easier to eat, especially with the rice as an accompaniment. My husband finished his meal, but unfortunately the kids and I could not.

I would not buy the particular curry sauce again, but I certainly would try the rest of their range as some of the other flavours sound very tempting. I also think the price of $4.49 is very reasonable, but I have not seen these products on our supermarket shelves in Dunedin as yet, so hopefully they will be the same price or similar.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 3rd of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I have been an enthusiastic reviewer of other Taste of India sauces so was looking forward to trying this Bengal Fish Curry Sauce. The packet like the others is a pouch with the little pocket on the back with the recipe and extra spices. I purchased some Terakihi so decided to cook this up. I hadn't really thought my menu through so we ended up having coleslaw and rice as accompaniments but I decided to just use a sparing amount of mayonnaise so I could drench my coleslaw in sauce from the curry.

I cooked the sauce exactly according to the directions and then served up. My sauce looked a little darker than the sauce on the packet. Everyone tasted some of the fish and the sauce but the kids didn't like the taste at all which is a first as they usually love the Taste of India Sauces. I couldn't quite pinpoint why but I wasn't that keen on the sauce either. Hubby and I ate our servings which is a positive as he usually won't eta fish at all but neither of us wanted seconds and I very uncharacteristically didn't keep the leftovers for the next day.

Overall I wouldn't buy this again but it wasn't awful and I am keeping in mind that maybe another fish or using vegetables in the sauce would change the taste.

Click here to read the profile of beanie

Review by: beanie (Serena)
Dated: 23rd of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

First things first, this product has the best packaging I have seen and used for a ready made sauce to add to a meal! It has very bright and colourful packaging and an easy pour spout which is also the perfect size for when you are trying to rinse out the packet at the tap. It is easy to read and has a 'spiciness' rating that is easy to see and read. There is a small pouch on the back of the packet which has very easy to follow instructions on how to cook a meal using this product and there are pictures that go with each step. I love the fact that there are separate spice packets which mean that you are using some nice whole spices to fry up at the start of cooking this meal and it also means that you can add as much or as little of these spices that you want depending on how you like your flavor.
We tried out this product with some fish that my husband had caught and I also added lots of fresh veges. I like that you are supposed to add a little bit of water to this sauce as we like to have lots of sauce with our currys and rice and it is also a great way to rinse out the packet to get the last of the sauce out of it.
Overall we thought that this curry was nice but definitely wasn't as good as a lot of the other products in the Taste of India range.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 20th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

We don't eat much fish in our house but we do like to use sauces for other meals other than what the packet says ie. we buy a fish pasta bake sauce but we've never used it with fish, we've used it with things such as mince, bacon and chicken. Afterall, we judge a sauce by it's taste, not what meat 'should' go with it. So I was happy to try this and see what else it could go with. I decided to use it with some chicken, diced up into very small pieces and fried for a little bit before adding the sauce and spices.

As with the previous sauces this has a handy little packet at the back with the little booklet of instructions, and some spices. The instructions are really easy to follow, nice and simple which is a big plus when juggling cooking and entertaining children. The sauce was very creamy for me and very yogurty in flavor, a bit unusual and not what I was expecting from the ingredients listed on the back. I actually found this to be too watery to begin with and so left it for a while longer to try and get it to solidify a bit, but no luck.

I didn't really like this sauce, though out of all the sauces, the kids liked this one the most.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 15th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

This is our third Taste of India experience. Like the other two absolutely love the pouch that the recipe, spices and curry come in. Just would like an easier way to open the curry and the spice packets instead of having to use scissors.

Like the previous two meals this is an absolute dream to cook with. Life is a little hectic at the moment and having very long days so it is a godsend to be able to make a very fast meal before the girls go to bed. I brought some Monkfish (first time cooking with it) was way bigger than I expected. Cut up in to small pieces and had enough to feed the cats and our turtle which was a bonus. Before cutting the fish up I put some rice in the rice cooker. Started to fry the fish curry whole spices then added the cut up fish. At this point my husband commented about the smell. Added the Curry Spice Mix and let it mix together. Then added the Bengal Fish Curry Simmer Sauce stirred a bit then let simmer. Says to add water but I actually skip this stage as find it is watery enough. I do however add some coconut cream just before serving.

Plating is so simple - rice then the Bengal Fish Curry. Tonight I also added Naan bread probably a good thing as this is the first curry no one has really liked. My youngest refused to eat it - where as my eldest, husband and myself finished but we all agreed that it was not as good as the previous experiences we have had. First night had some left over that nobody wanted. It wasn't hot or spicy like the Goan Prawn Curry Sauce or rich and creamy as the Jalfrezi. Unfortunately it just did not really appeal.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 14th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

We love curry in this house - and so upon seeing the Taste of India ready made sauces come up for review, asked to review a couple of the flavours. My husband was delighted to see three turn up - and asked which I wanted to try first. I asked for the fish one, having not had a fish curry in a while. My husband does most of the cooking in our house, and so upon talking to him, we have really written this review together.

Looking first at the packet - it is great that each of the flavours is in a distinct colour packet - no mistakenly getting the wrong one! There is a lot of information on the packet too - gluten free, food stabilisers, MSG and more - a lot of the things we are encouraged to stay away from. It clearly tells you the " hotness " rating (medium) and tells you how many servings is in the packet. The packet is easy to open - twist and it is ready, with the spices and recipe leaflet attached easily to the back.

My husband said that the sauce came out of the packet very easily and left little behind as wastage - always good when feeding a family! My husband said he felt that the spices were lacking, and was not sure that they actually added much to the taste - as there was not much there. However, the recipe booklet had many great ideas for how to use this sauce - we chose to be simple, adding monkfish to it, and serving it on rice.

The taste and flavour was great - not too spicy, not too mild - and very flavoursome. It is a nice thickish sauce, with a lightness too it that I really enjoyed. We will absolutely be purchasing this one again - and with more flavours to try, cannot wait for another curry night!!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.4
Product reviews for listing 8022: Ready-to-Eat Vermicelli - Seafood -  Produced by Cho Chang

Product image for Ready-to-Eat Vermicelli - SeafoodEasy to prepare, suitable for microwave or stove. Made from natural ingredients, a healthy and fast meal.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Before you criticise someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes... That way, when you criticise them, you're a mile away, and you have their shoes."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream