Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 21st August 2019 - 17:03:13

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Taste of India Vindaloo Sauce review

« Taste of India Rogan Josh Sauce reviewTaste of India Rogan Josh SauceTaste of India Mango Chicken Sauce reviewTaste of India Mango Chicken Sauce »

Score: 8.3/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 6254 - Taste of India Vindaloo Sauce
Produced by Taste of India

Taste of India Vindaloo Sauce
Price:
$4.49
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Taste of India

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Taste of India Vindaloo Sauce product reviews

A classic rich & firery Goan recipe, perfect with beef or lamb. Delicious Authentic Quality Cooking Sauces. Simply add your meat & simmer.

These Simmer Sauces provide a quick and convenient way to enjoy traditional authentic Indian recipes with 11 sauces now available.
    •  No preservatives, artificial colours or flavours
    •  Includes sachets of whole & ground spices for seasoning
    •  Includes a recipe booklet with illustrated instructions
    •  Shelf stable 425g spout pouches
    •  Revolutionary 18 month shelf life
    •  11 sauce recipes available
    •  Suitable for Vegetarians
    •  4 generous servings per pouch
    •  No gum and no starch
    •  Cooked in Canola oil

Ingredients:
Water, tomatoes (8.6 %), Coconut (6.4 %), onions (6.4 %), canola oil (4.3 %), garlic (4%), salt (1.8 %), tamarind, red chilli powder, sugar, ginger, herbs & spices.

Allergy Advice:
    •  Contains coconut.
    •  Made on equipment that processes dairy, nuts, soy & sesame products.

Check out Taste of India onlineClick here to see all the listings for Taste of India Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
canola oil   coconut   garlic   ginger   gluten free   onions   red chilli powder   salt   sugar   tamarind   taste of india   tomatoes   water
Other listings you may be interested in:
Taste of India Madras SauceTaste of India Madras Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Taste of India Korma SauceTaste of India Korma Sauce
Rating: 9.0
Cobb & Co. Family RestaurantCobb & Co. Family Restaurant
Rating: 9.1
Taste of India Rogan Josh SauceTaste of India Rogan Josh Sauce
Rating: 9.0
Taste of India Navrattan SauceTaste of India Navrattan Sauce
Rating: 7.8
Taste of India Goan Prawn Curry SauceTaste of India Goan Prawn Curry Sauce
Rating: 7.6
Taste of India Butter Chicken Simmer SauceTaste of India Butter Chicken Simmer Sauce
Rating: 9.1
Taste of India Mango Chicken SauceTaste of India Mango Chicken Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Taste of India Tikka Masala SauceTaste of India Tikka Masala Sauce
Rating: 9.6
Maketu Curry Mince PieMaketu Curry Mince Pie
Rating: 8.5
Taste of India Bengal Fish Curry SauceTaste of India Bengal Fish Curry Sauce
Rating: 6.8
Taste of India Jalfrezi Simmer SauceTaste of India Jalfrezi Simmer Sauce
Rating: 7.3
Pam's Cheese Sausage RollsPam's Cheese Sausage Rolls
Rating: 8.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of slashman

Review by: slashman (Aaron)
Dated: 2nd of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was really looking forward to this cook in sauce because of the Vindaloo name. I understand that Indian cuisine is more about flavour than outright heat and because of this I can accept that the heat isn't actually that hot. Purists will want to add a chilli or two extra. Packaging gets a 10 from me, we have got some lemon juice and egg white in the same packet and the way the top is resealable and directional for pouring is great plus it is really easy to open or break the seal with the built in perforator in the lid.

Consistency wise it has a very low viscosity and therefore will really splash and make a mess if you treat it like a pasta cook in sauce. When cooking it has an oily appearance but this is just part of the Vindaloo and we were not worried at all. The sachets are a great idea and like the instant noodles you can buy this allows you to control the trimming flavour to exactly how you might like your taste. Some products miss this crucial step and force you to just straight out like what they have made.

Price wise it is really good. I am happy with the under $5 mark which in my opinion provides a scalable flavour mixing option, easy opening and disposal vs a glass jar with no added sachets. Great product.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 27th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

When I got this I was rather concerned that it says it is a hot sauce, something I don't usually use due to my kids and myself not liking anything too hot but, it's still good to try now and again to see if ones taste buds have changed. This, like the others comes with some spices in a couple of sachets, which are not easy to open and thus require a sharp knife or scissors to open them, a little frustrating. Pouring it into the frying pan I did notice that it was rather runny so had to adjust my pouring so as not spill any out.

Leaving it to simmer away, I went vegetarian and added in some 'fake' chicken to the dish along with a cup full of vegetables to bulk it out. I did find that there was a film of oil on the top of the sauce, which was rather off putting and I did my best to get rid of some of the excess. Giving it a taste it wasn't as hot as I was expecting it to be but I still added some coconut milk to the dish. Serving it up with rice my husband gobbled it down, my mother complimented the sauce and my children slowly ate it whilst I enjoyed it but I didn't love it.

I might see us getting this again for the family but only if on special.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 25th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

When it comes to food I love anything Indian it's one of my go to takeaways so I have really enjoyed being able to review lots of the taste of India range. I really like how easy the packets are to use and that they have a long shelf life great to keep in the pantry for those last minute dinners when you arrive home from work late.

I usually go for a medium curry so I when the vindaloo indicated it was hot I made sure I had extra coconut cream on hand to add to the sauce if I needed to tone it down a little. Once again it was super simple to use chop up some meat or in my case cheat and buy it already diced. I chose beef strips to make mine with. Add some oil to the pan, throw in the spices and meat and brown before adding the sauce and simmering. Adding the spice mix near the end, it couldn't be any easier if you tried and it takes half the time than the local Indian shop usually takes!

When it came to the end I prepared myself for a smack of heat when I tasted it so I started off with just a little spice mix. I was surprised though on tasting it to find it very mild so I soon threw in the rest of the mix. While it did up the heat it didn't up it to the point I couldn't eat it, in fact it was the perfect heat for me.

While I did enjoy it and the flavour was true to a mild vindaloo I did find this sauce a little watery and oily not as thick and creamy as I'm used to. I would have the vindaloo flavour again but it wouldn't be my first pick out of all the flavours I have tried in the range.

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 10th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Been away from here for a few years while I was overseas doing my mission work for the LDS. Got back and found I had missed out on so much and wanted to get back into it. Was given this to review because I got a taste for curries where I was serving. Almost any animal can be eaten if you cook it in curry, garlic or chilli sauce long enough. Smile Icon This sauce really impressed me with how easy it was to make and eat.

Following the directions on a recipe has never been one of my strongest skills, so in my usual style I just jumped right in and made it how I felt it should work. Fry onions, brown the chicken, tip in the sauce, add a little bit of water, turn the heat, cover and leave it alone for half an hour. When I checked on it again, it wasn't fully cooked so I covered it up again and left alone for another 20 minutes and that was perfect.

Serving this on some rice that was steamed with coconut water made two generous portions so my flatmate and I could share a meal and our opinions. We both agreed it had a nice kick to it without leaving you gagging for something to take the burn away. My flatmate is more into Indian food than I am and he felt it was as close to authentic as a mass-produced product is ever going to get, and he commented on how clever it was to have the spices stored in the pouch so the user could add as much or as little fire as they wanted.

I think it was a good move to serve it with coconut rice as that quieter flavour took some of the sharpness off the sauce, which made it tolerable for me. I have found myself drawn more to the softer curries than the hot ones, but this was still in the safe zone for me.

We will be buying this again, thanks to KIWIreviews.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 4th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I was lucky enough to be chosen to review this product. I was looking forward to trying a nice hot curry as the "chilli indicator" on the packet indicated 3 chilli's being hot. I was pretty disappointed after cooking it to find it didn't have the spice and/or heat that I imagined it to. A vindaloo to me, is a hot and spicy dish that makes your eyes water. This didn't do it for me. I added in the extra spice packets but even then it didn't make a world of difference.

Again, I love the pour spout that these curries are in. It makes it easy to pour and also easy to squeeze out the remaining curry that maybe lurking behind in the packet. This curry in my eyes was very watery, it didn't look creamy like a curry and it also had a bit of "oil" residue that came to the top of my pan while cooking. I did make sure I had drained my meat etc before adding in the curry so I am not 100% sure if it came from the packet or potentially from the meat I had cooked to go with it.

All in all I found this to be an average flavored curry. The heat thing was a bit killer for me as I love hot curries and the three chilli indicator on the packet drew me to this flavour as I love spice and heat.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 8th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I followed the recipe attached and used lamb for my meat. The packets of spices aren't easy to rip open, but a quick chop with the knife it was accessible. Be sure not to just tip the whole spices packet into the pan. take them out carefully, as the leaves may stick together otherwise.

Labelled as a "hot" vindaloo I was looking forward to finding a brand that provides an actual hot product. The directions specify to add "as much or as little as desired" which also hot my hopes up that it would be spicy. Unfortunately, the spice was not what I would consider hot, barely even medium. There is a slight tingle of warmth, that lingers with the aftertaste.

The flavour is consistent with vindaloo, and is full with no overly strong or offensive tones.

Be cautious when you pour the sauce into the pan, as it is very runny, and oily; so be careful for splashback, and be sure to mix it frequently. This has probably been my favourite of the four that I have tried so far (followed closely by the Madras), and just required two birds eye chilis added, to bring the flavour to full strength.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.0
Product reviews for listing 5659: Edmonds Red Velvet Cupcakes -  Brand: Edmonds

Product image for Edmonds Red Velvet CupcakesPreparation Time: 10minutes
Cooking Time: 20-25minutes
Serves: 12

Requires:
60g Margarine Spread or Soft Butter
2 size 6 Eggs
125ml Milk

Frosting:
60g Margarine Spread or Soft Butter
20ml Milk

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Does pushing the elevator button more than once make it arrive faster?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream