Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 22nd March 2019 - 07:30:40

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Taste of India Korma Sauce review

« Pacific Crown Tuna - Mild Thai Curry reviewPacific Crown Tuna - Mild Thai CurryTaste of India Tikka Masala Sauce reviewTaste of India Tikka Masala Sauce »

Score: 9.0/10  [6 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 6250 - Taste of India Korma Sauce
Produced by Taste of India

Taste of India Korma Sauce
Price:
$4.49
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Taste of India

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Taste of India Korma Sauce product reviews

A classic mild, smooth & creamy Hyderabadi recipe. Delicious Authentic Quality Cooking Sauces. Simply add your meat & simmer.

These Simmer Sauces provide a quick and convenient way to enjoy traditional authentic Indian recipes with 11 sauces now available.
    •  No preservatives, artificial colours or flavours
    •  Includes sachets of whole & ground spices for seasoning
    •  Includes a recipe booklet with illustrated instructions
    •  Shelf stable 425g spout pouches
    •  Revolutionary 18 month shelf life
    •  11 sauce recipes available
    •  Suitable for Vegetarians
    •  4 generous servings per pouch
    •  No gum and no starch
    •  Cooked in Canola oil

Ingredients:
Water, onions (16%), coconut cream (11%), cream (7%), canola oil (6%), cashew nuts (4.5%), coconut (3.5%), tomatoes, ginger, salt, yoghurt, garlic, sugar, herbs & spices.

Allergy Advice:
    •  Contains cashew nuts, coconut & milk.
    •  Made on equipment that processes dairy, nuts, soy & sesame products.

Check out Taste of India onlineClick here to see all the listings for Taste of India Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
canola oil   cashew nuts   coconut   coconut cream   cream   garlic   ginger   gluten free   onions   salt   sugar   taste of india   tomatoes   yoghurt
Other listings you may be interested in:
Taste of India Tikka Masala SauceTaste of India Tikka Masala Sauce
Rating: 9.6
Taste of India Madras SauceTaste of India Madras Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Hospital Fish ShopHospital Fish Shop
Rating: 9.0
Taste of India Navrattan SauceTaste of India Navrattan Sauce
Rating: 7.8
Taste of India Goan Prawn Curry SauceTaste of India Goan Prawn Curry Sauce
Rating: 7.6
Taste of India Rogan Josh SauceTaste of India Rogan Josh Sauce
Rating: 9.0
Taste of India Butter Chicken Simmer SauceTaste of India Butter Chicken Simmer Sauce
Rating: 9.1
Taste of India Bengal Fish Curry SauceTaste of India Bengal Fish Curry Sauce
Rating: 6.8
Mini Baking BeansMini Baking Beans
Rating: 8.2
Congestion ReliefCongestion Relief
Rating: 9.3
Taste of India Mango Chicken SauceTaste of India Mango Chicken Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Taste of India Vindaloo SauceTaste of India Vindaloo Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Taste of India Jalfrezi Simmer SauceTaste of India Jalfrezi Simmer Sauce
Rating: 7.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 2nd of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

As an avid butter chicken lovin' gal, I was looking forward to branching out and trying a different Indian curry for a change. I have had Korma before and remember it be being a little spicier than the usual butter chicken.

The packaging that these sauces come in is fantastic, they sit nicely in the pantry and are brightly coloured so you cannot miss them in the supermarket. I like how there is a little sachet on the back with extra spices and the instructions. It shows that the company are more authentic than just the kind you mix with chicken.

The instructions are simple to follow and it allows you to add in as much or as little spice as you wish. I followed the instructions, and it smelled really good. I was starving and could wait. I cooked up some Jasmine rice to go along with it and heated some garlic buns.

We have two sons, aged 6 and 4 who are used to eating curries and they were eager to try this new one out. It was surprisingly mild (i used all the flavour sachets) and I was a bit disappointment that it lacked in flavour. It was still good and the whole family gobbled it up, however I'm not too sure I would get this one again. It was very creamy and the cashew nut flavour came through well.

I would recommend this for a person or family who is just getting into Indian curry as it is very subtle and gentle. Awesome for children who are not into spicy food also. Another option would be, you could take this one to a pot luck as I'm sure it would be popular with a range of people.

I believe that Taste of India produce a quality product and I will be looking for alternative flavours in the supermarket. Through KIWIreviews I have also tried the Butter Chicken and it is a favourite.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 28th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Recently I have had the opportunity to try and review a number of taste of india simmer sauces. I had been extremely pleased with the results of the first simmer sauce I cooked with, and as my husband really enjoys a good indian korma, I needed to wait until the weekend when he was not on nightshift so he could have his korma fresh off the stove, and not reheated 11hrs later lol

So the taste of india simmer sauces come in thess really classy looking satchets, and on the back on the packet is a little pouch. It is this pouch you discover the herbs and spices needed to accompany your dish, a long with the little instruction book telling you how to make the perfect dish. The pouch until you get the hang of it, may be a little tricky to open at first, but once you have opened ons, the rest will be easy.

This Korma was the second sauce I tried in the range. I love the strong, full of flavour smells that fill ya home when cooking. I love the easiness in the preparation. The quickness. And I love that my kids haven't had one they didn't like yet. Team with rice and naan (or whatever you want) and you have a simple yet filling meal. I often had some green beans or julienne carrots to the top just for some colour lol but I didn't thjs time.

So hubby really enjoyed this korma. He couldn't fault it at all, which is no surprise really. The kids scoffed it in seconds. They really love a good korma too though. I had a love/hate relationship with it: I loved the smell of it cooking, I loved the simplicity and easiness in preparation. I found the sauce once cooked seemed really really thin and looked kinda curdled which annoyed me. I felt this sauce didn't go as far as previous sauce used. I felt that now and again it had a kind of kidney flavour to it lol I loved that the rest of my family loved it :)

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 26th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Yummy! The reason I chose to review this as we are curry mad in our house (including the toddler). We normally stick to only buying butter chicken at the supermarket and don't venture to any other flavour. So when these came up to review I thought what perfect timing! We have a mixture of those who like hot and spicy food (myself and my partner) and the toddler who doesn't like too much spice at all.

I was lucky to be given the chance to review the Korma sauce by Taste of India and it was amazing. I love the easy pour spout that is on each of the sauces as it makes it easy to tip out and also easy to squeeze out the remainder of the packet. Another favourite of mine is that it has some extra "seasoning" pouches attached which give you the opportunity to decide whether you want to put them in our not. This makes it great for catering to those who like different spice/heat to their meals.

I was thoroughly impressed from the moment I poured it into my pan to the moment I ate it. It has such a nice creamy texture to it, the flavour isn't overpowering and even though it states coconut cream and coconut in it you actually don't get overowered by that one flavour.

The only downfall I could find of the Korma was that it was quite runny compared to other curries I have tried. Maybe it needs something to make it a wee bit thicker so then it is perfect for being able to dip naan bread etc into.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 25th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We haven't had curry for a while so I was excited to have this Taste of India Korma sauce to try. We usually buy this brand in preference of others because Taste of India is gluten free and because it is naturally free from preservatives, artificial colours and flavours and I always feel like I am cooking from scratch. I love the pouch style packaging of this product as it sits well in the pantry and pours really well so I don't feel there is wastage. I also like the sachets with the ground and whole spices so they can be cooked to taste but also fried with meat to get the correct taste when cooking.

We used chicken but this would lend itself well to being slow cooked with lamb or beef also. I cooked this according to packet directions and then served with rice, veges and papads. My girls liked the sauce but not so much the chicken. This did go really nicely with the veges and I would actually buy this again to use as a vege curry as I think it would be nice with pumpkin etc.

The Taste of India sauces are definitely my favourite and this is a very mild sauce that would go well with a variety of accompaniments. I can definitely recommend them and I will definitely try out others in the range.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 22nd of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I enjoy a good korma curry. While it is usually still considered a mild curry it is also spicier than a butter chicken curry. So for me, I see the korma as being an in-between mild and medium heat. This was the third curry sauce that we have trialled from Taste of India and this time I wanted to make sure I followed the instructions a bit more closely.

I diced some chicken and in a pan heated oil and the herb mix that I noticed had twice or three times as much bay leaves and other pieces in it, compared to the vegetable korma we previously had. The aroma of the herbs cooking was delicious. Then I browned the chicken pieces, added half the sauce and half the spice packet too.

Once the simmering was done, I also added some almonds, craisins (because we didn't have any sultanas) and cashews as well. When I served it up, it looked really pretty and it smelt so good. I served it on rice and my toddler and I also made some roti bread too. The meal was great. Though the kids didn't eat too much of the chicken this time around. I think it was just a bit too much heat for them.

The second half of the sauce and the spices I left until last night. After dinner and everyone was in bed, I cooked up more chicken and simmered it in the sauce. Then once it was cooled I put t in a container for re-heating today. When I was at work today, it was reheated and I added a poppadom I bought at the food court. It was great, even after being stored for a few days and re-heated. The sauce did a great job. I would definitely get this one again.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 18th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We made this meal up as part of a platter of Taste of India curries. We served it with rice and naan bread. My husband really enjoyed the Korma sauce. I was ok with it but I often find curries a bit too spicy for my liking.

My husband's opinion was that this sauce provided a delicious mix of spices and it was exactly what you would expect out of a Korma sauce. The rest of the family didn't find the sauce too hot, however, the kids and I did prefer the sweetness of the Mango Korma. Even Miss three ate some of it. Although it is meant to be used with chicken, the delicate flavours would work well with other light meat like pork or chunks of white fish. It would also go well with the addition of vegetables such as courgette, leeks, onions and perhaps a small amount of potato. I find that curry meals such as this often lack vegetables and therefore I would be most likely to simply add some to the meal as I prepared it.

I prepared the whole packet in one shot, even though we knew that we wouldn't eat it all in one sitting as we were also have two other curries in that sitting. We froze the remainder of the korma and took it out about a week later. This time I scooped out a par baked bread roll and filled it with the korma. I heated it in the oven. I found that I enjoyed the curry more this way than with rice.

I do love the fact that the ingredients are real - vegetables, nuts, coconut cream, cream etc. It is great that there isn't a hint of rubbish, colours or preservatives. I do note, however, that there must be around 52% water in the ingredients as I can only count 48% of ingredients and water is listed as the main ingredient.

As with the other sauces we tried from this range, we found that we totally missed the writing at the top right hand corner at the back of the pack which indicated that the sauce was designed to go with 500g of meat or vegetables. The colour of the writing didn't work very well for us and I think that the colour of the writing on the background colour could have been easier to read.

As mentioned above, this is exactly what one should expect from a korma sauce. The lack of artificial colours, flavours and other nasties is definitely something which stands out and makes this sauce worth considering.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.1
Product reviews for listing 7704: RJs Fruity Twisters
Manufactured by RJ's

Product image for RJs Fruity TwistersHungry for an exciting new treat? Try RJs Twisters. They come in a range of delicious flavours to tantalise your taste buds, but here's the real twist... they don't contain licorice.

Two twisted flavours per pack - Green Apple and Grape.

Ingredients:
Cane Sugar, Invert Sugar Syrup, Wheat Flour, Water, Rice Bran Oil, Acidity Regulators (E296, E330, E331 , E262), Flavours, Colours (E163, E100)

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I don't necessarily agree with everything I say."
Marshall McLuhan (1911 - 1980)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream