Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 28th July 2017 - 12:33:49

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Proper Crisps - Parsnip Crisps review

« I Love my Dad reviewI Love my DadPic's Cashew Butter reviewPic's Cashew Butter »

Advertising...


Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.2/10  [23 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 7249 - Proper Crisps - Parsnip Crisps
Brand / Manufactured by: Proper Crisps

Proper Crisps - Parsnip Crisps
Price:
$3.99
Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Proper Crisps

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Proper Crisps - Parsnip Crisps product reviews

Proud to promote NZ products100% NZ Grown Parsnip - each batch is hand stirred and cooked in a High Oleic Sunflower oil with a sprinkle of Marlborough Sea Salt - that's all, Uniquely Proper!

Check out Proper Crisps onlineClick here to see all the listings for Proper Crisps Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
dairy free   gluten free   nz made   nzmade   parsnip   proper crisps   sea salt   snack
Other listings you may be interested in:
ShamianaShamiana
Rating: 8.4
Del Sujuka - MildDel Sujuka - Mild
Rating: 8.2
Proper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea SaltProper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Zeytin Cafe & Eaterie Zeytin Cafe & Eaterie 
Rating: 7.5
Proper Crisps - Smoked PaprikaProper Crisps - Smoked Paprika
Rating: 8.6
Crown Jewels Range - Hell Raiser Crown Jewels Range - Hell Raiser 
Rating: 8.8
Proper Crisps - Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Proper Crisps - Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 9.0
Leena Spices - Yoghurt DipLeena Spices - Yoghurt Dip
Rating: 10.0
Proper Crisps - Rosemary and ThymeProper Crisps - Rosemary and Thyme
Rating: 8.2
Proper Crisps - Chipotle & Garlic Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Chipotle & Garlic Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of fliss1

Review by: fliss1 (Felicity)
Dated: 16th of February, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am in the "didn't like parsnip as a kid" camp, so these crisps were a real test! Which they passed with flying colours.

I got these for an afternoon social occasion with family (knowing there was a fair few who didn't love "standard chippies"). I have tried the kumara ones previously for a similar occasion before but I wanted something a bit more unusual. I definitely got that! Again - people were intrigued.

The packet didn't appear full (which is pretty much the standard these days so that was absolutely fine). The packet felt nice and weighty and there was not a collection of crushed dust at the bottom which made me happy it gave me my money's worth. I allocated 4 small bowls and put them around the place next to crackers, nuts and other nibbly treats. I was immediately asked by my sister what they were and her face screwed up and she wandered off with no interest.

I tried them first (thankfully they did not smell strongly to me so I didn't get put off by that). I thought they were lovely and crunchy and tasted quite decadent rather than "healthy" which was great. They were not as strong as some snacks but when you have a range of people and kids they are perfect. Nothing was left of them very quickly and people definitely enjoyed them over the afternoon. My sister went back and tried them later on and said "you should find the french word for parsnip and confuse people by saying that - these are lovely".

All in all I will be getting them again! To be honest they are not the cheapest in the aisle but I felt they were great value for money and it helps that they avoid lots of nasties by being much more natural. I actually think the packaging doesn't do them any favours by looking a bit boring but in a dish they are quite a bit more attractive than the big brand ripple cut yellow chips. Going to keep an eye out for them on special!

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 23rd of December, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Being a big potato chip fan, but also being health conscious, I was really delighted to receive these to review. I have had Proper Crisps before, but not the parsnip ones, and was intrigued by what they might taste like, being that in general I find parsnip to be quite a bland vegetable. However, I was keen to try something new.

When I received the crisps - like with the other variety I reviewed - very pleased to see that by buying them you are supporting New Zealand made. The packet is eye catching and bright - and with the difference in colour with the other variety, it is easy to pick the right one up. These crisps are also Gluten Free, GMO Free, use Sunflower oil to cook them, Vegan and Paleo Friendly, Dairy free and no added MSG. These are HUGE pluses in my books - as I like to eat as close to "natural" as I can - but also love my treats!

When I opened the bag, I noticed the size and shape of the crisps - long and skinny - like a fresh parsnip. This made them easy to get out of the bag, and, as I did with some of the crisps - a great length for scooping dip or avocado! I found these a bit more bland than the other varieties I have tried, but still incredibly moreish, and with a great crunch!

The price of these is what I would consider to be on the high side, but for something out of the ordinary, I think they are worth spending the extra to get. They are a great accompaniment to avocado and dip - as I mentioned earlier, or even on their own. I think they could be really good crushed up on a salad too!

I will definitely keep these in mind when considering buying crisps for all the reasons above - and simply - because they taste damn good!!

Click here to read the profile of teacher691

Review by: teacher691 (Tania)
Dated: 15th of December, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have to admit I love products that are New Zealand made and when I saw these in the supermarket I could not pass them up, even if they were parsnip you have to try everything once right? These proper crisps Parsnip chips are Gluten free, GMO free Dairy free and 100% natural. I have to admit that these features made this product super appealing, my only concern was how they would taste.

Once I was home they did not stay in the pantry long my children and I both were eager to try these. I opened the packet and wow what a surprise I found a packet filled with chips not just air as in some brands. My children loved the taste of them only after they had eaten a few did I tell them that these were made from parsnip to which my oldest told me that I was tricking him as they tasted yummy and he did not like parsnip. I found that they had a nice crunch similar to kettle chips. They had great seasoning with just the right amount of salt and that sweet parsnip after-taste was delicious. These are a great healthy alternative to regular chips.

I think the price is good especially for a products that does not have all the extra additives that other brands have. I am a regular purchaser of the Proper crisps kumara crisps and see these as a great addition to the summer bbq or picnic snack especially as they are vegan and Paleo friendly so suit the different types of diets that many of my friends have.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 3rd of December, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My taste buds are literally in love with Proper Crisps Parsnip Crisps. I quite simply can't get enough of them and find that they keep "sneaking" into our supermarket trolley every single time I enter the supermarket. Initially I wanted to try these in the hope that my 3 year old would like them as I was keen to find another way to sneak another vegetable into her diet. I wasn't prepared for the fact that our whole family would love them and we'd be fighting over who gets the last crisp. They truly are just that good!

Reality is I think I loved them the minute I set eyes on them and then the taste of this product just sealed the deal. The packet stands out on the supermarket shelf, with yellow accents and clear easy to read writing. To me, its clear from the start or very first look that there is something special about this product. From what I have seen (and I've been looking) these are the only parsnip crisp available in our supermarkets which I believe makes it even more unique to those of us that love the product.

100% New Zealand grown parsnip, no nasty added ingredients or colours (or worse yet numbers of products that I don't even understand properly) means that I can truly trust the product I am not only feeding my own body but more importantly my children aged three and one. Wherever possible I prefer to give them food that is the best possible healthy choice and I feel that although these might still be deemed a treat food that these crisps definitely still fit into this category. My three year old will eat these chips but being new, at the moment she would probably choose others if given a choice. That's not to say she doesn't eat them and enjoy them when that's whats on offer though! My one year old will gobble these up with no hesitation and quickly hold out his hand for more! I love the fact that I'm sneakily getting vegetables into them with no battle at all, in fact they think they are getting a treat - a parenting win in my view.

From an adults taste-bud point of view, we have loved these crisps either on their own or added to other meals. For example I added these to the top of a chicken salad, which took the meal from being yummy to being outstandingly delicious. Comments from my family afterwards were that they felt it was something they could have been served in a restaurant. We also tried adding these crisps crunched up with breadcrumbs over a mac n cheese dish. Both times the addition of the parsnip crisp just added that extra something special to the meal and the taste of parsnip still clearly shone through. I also took a bag of these to work with me for a shared lunch, having staff members on my team who are gluten free I was excited to finally be able to bring something to share that they could enjoy. Feedback from these people was that they loved the taste and would be buying the product again now that they know about it.

Overall a wonderful product that is quite simply delicious and I am so glad to have found it. I dislike how expensive they are, but as always, good and healthy products always cost a bit more and hey, I don't mind paying a bit more for such a yummy product! I totally recommend that you go out and try this product today, you wont regret it. Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of k_waterbaby

Review by: k_waterbaby (Kylie)
Dated: 15th of November, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I have always been a Proper Crisps lover, their Kumara Proper Crisps are my favorite and a real go to for me on the run wanting something on the healthier side. I hoped that these would be the same with great flavor from both the parsnip and the seasoning.

While overall I was relatively satisfied I felt that they were certainly on the blander side of the taste spectrum than other products from within the Proper Range, in saying that they still have a lot to give such as convenience, freshness, "a healthier" option, and are relatively well priced for the size that you get.

Would I race out to buy them as my first "crisp snack" choice, probably not. I like something with more sweetness/saltiness to it which the Proper Kumara Crisps offer. But if this was the option available vs. other traditional crisps / chips then absolutely I would be grabbing a pack off the shelf and trying to control myself NOT to eat them all in once sitting - lets be honest sometimes these things just magically get away on us and I have been known on more than one occasion to polish off a full bag all on my own - OOPS.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 2nd of November, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We all really enjoy eating the Proper kumara crisps though they are a bit of a treat for the price. I was pleased to be able to try a packet of the new Parsnip crisps as we have seen them in the supermarket but I wasn't sure if the kids would actually like them.

I love that these Proper crisps have nothing artificial in them. Parsnip, oil and not a lot of salt. They are also gluten free so can be enjoyed by everyone in the family. I love that these are a New Zealand owned and operated company so can feel proud that we are supporting local industry by eating these.

The packaging looks great but I must say I really struggled to open the bag and in the end had to find scissors as I couldn't otherwise get the bag open. Fine as we were at home but if we were out would have been very frustrating. The bag however had definitely sealed in enough air to protect the parsnip crisps so they were all in a decent shape as I tried to evenly distribute into even sized bowls for the girls. I put the bag into four portions and then gave to the girls to see what they thought.

Miss five literally inhaled them and we had a bit of drama when she realised that was all we had. So for her serving size wise she probably needs a whole bag to herself. The rest of us ate our bowl and very much enjoyed it. The parsnip is very sweet and even with only a fourth of the bag I felt quite satisfied with my serving size. The taste sits in your mouth for a long time after which I think helps with the satiety levels. I liked these a lot more than I thought I would and actually think I like them more than the Kumara Crisps. They are so rich that one bag is definitely enough for me so the serving size is spot on even if you have to share.

I can definitely recommend trying these to see if they suit your taste buds as they will pleasantly surprise you.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 8th of October, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love parsnips they are one of my favourite veges, over the years I have discovered many different ways to enjoy them. I have made them into crisps myself a number of times. Mine never turn out as crunchy as I would like though so when I saw proper crisps had released parsnip crisps I had to give them a try. If their other crisps were anything to go by I knew they would deliver the crunch I was after.

As soon as my review bag arrived I ripped straight into it, the smell of roasted parsnips and salt hit me as soon as it was opened. I couldn't wait to taste, from first bite I was sold, they had the perfect parsnip flavour and a wonderful crunch! Some how I managed to stop munching on them to save enough for my husband to try and to add into dinner that night. I made a nice fresh salad and through a few parsnip crisps on the top as an added crunch, it was the perfect finishing touch. My husband was in agreement with me the crisps are perfect and so much better than my homemade attempts.

Since trying them the first time I have already been out and brought some more. I have found them a wonderful addition to my lunchbox for a mid afternoon snack. I love the fact they have very few ingredients. Proper crisps have used quality parsnips and chosen to let them to shine through rather than add lots of artificial flavouring. If you haven't tried them I recommend changing that as soon as possible because you won't be disappointed.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 8th of October, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Look out potato chips you have officially been replaced in my pantry by parsnip crisps so amazing! Now, lets be honest I am not a huge parsnip fan and I wouldn't go out of my way to buy parsnips at the supermarket to cook for tea. So I was really excited to get these to review as I knew it would push me out of my comfort zone, and boy am I glad I requested these. These have to be, hands down, the BEST crisps I have ever tried.

What got me excited about these was that there were hardly any ingredients. Parsnips, sunflower oil and sea salt which is great in my books as means it is a much healthier alternative to your every day potato chips. I found these had the perfect amount of salt on them which made them very easy to eat. They were super crunchy and I really enjoyed them. Some chips are really greasy and leave your fingers oily and gross, but I didn't find that with these crisps which is perfect as you can avoid sticky, greasy children finger prints on everything.

I also liked that these are gluten free. I have a daughter who has coeliacs disease so it's hard to find nice easy snacks to take with us to birthday parties or when we travel so I am pleased to have found these as now I can buy these as a snack to take away, and I know that it is a healthier alternative for her to eat. She really enjoyed them and even asked when we went supermarket shopping a few days later if we could buy more - so we did.

I thought the portion size was great. it was a great size bag for sharing and small enough to throw in your handbag. I think price wise they are definitely worth it and I look forward to trying other flavours in the range. The packaging was very simple yet effective, the yellow colouring at the top and the bottom of the bag really made it stick out and I love that the packing isn't crammed with unnecessary pictures and or writing.

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 2nd of October, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have been lucky enough to review the Proper Kumara chips in the past which led me to regularly buy them, so it was an easy request to review Proper Parsnip Crisps.

Firstly, I really love the rustic and farm-like packaging of the Proper range of crisps, makes me think of good quality New Zealand vegetables grown with care and attention. We are so lucky in New Zealand with our soils and climate which allows us to grow great produce, and wow what a concept to make Parsnip crisps? I love the fact that a New Zealand company is thinking outside the box, and exploring past the potato to create such cool ideas and tastes for our market.

I was impressed that the packet was a big 100g and I was equally impressed by the smell when I opened the packet, just like roasted parsnips! Yum! And I can confidently say the crisps tasted like roasted parsnips....omg to die for! The crisps were lightly salted which is great idea as too much salt would hide the delicious sweet taste of the parsnip.

I think the cost of $4 a packet is a really good price, you are getting a quality New Zealand made product, trial blazing the chip/crisp market. I urge people to try these parsnip crisps, you won't regret that you did .

Click here to read the profile of fayth

Review by: fayth (Fay)
Dated: 26th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I'll start off by saying that I don't like parsnips but I am in the minority in my family and let's face it, most things taste better as crisps right?? So I was interested to give this product a try.

The proper crisps brand is one that I can happily get behind, simple ingredients and no nasties. Chips are a treat in our family and boy do these taste like a treat and yet I can be sure of exactly what's in them. The packaging is crisp and clean (much like their brand) which I find really appealing as I always think that less is more.

Upon opening I got a strong whiff of parsnip. The crisps themselves are irregularly shaped with a good mix of smaller and larger pieces. As to the taste... I was pleasantly surprised to say the least. To put it plainly, they were delicious! Perfectly crispy and delicately balanced between sweet (since parsnips are naturally sweet) and salty. They are very moreish and the whole family enjoyed them and kept on coming back for more.

I'm not sure wether these would work with a dip as they have quite a strong flavour, but they are simply delicious on their own and my go to for whenever I'm looking to purchase a healthy snack or something a little bit different. I still don't like parsnips but I love these parsnip crisps.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 25th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

As a child I hated parsnips but since discovering roasted parsnip I really enjoy them. I am the only one in my family however so didn't have high hopes for them liking Proper Crisps' Parsnip Crisps. I gave both my girls one to try just telling them it was a chip. They both ate it but didn't want more. The fact they didn't spit it out or complain was a pleasant surprise.

I loved the parsnip crisps. They had a good crunch were nice and thick so they didn't break in a dip. They had the lovely roasted parsnip flavour. There was just the right amount of salt. Although there was 100g in the packet it was very satisfying and I was able to eat them over several days which is unheard of with potato chips.

As an experiment I crumbled some crisps on the top of some cauliflower and broccoli cheese and topped with grated cheese. I baked it in the oven. The crisps gave the dish a crunchy golden topping and hint of the parsnip flavour. I would be keen to do this again. It would be a great way to use any stale crisps or crumbs.

The price is surprising low given the cost of parsnip is five times that of potatoes. It is also a quality product like all the rest of the Proper Crisp range. My sister has an intolerance to potatoes so is always on the outlook for alternatives to the potato chip she can eat, I will be introducing her to these by adding them to a Christmas hamper.

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 19th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was very intrigued with this flavour. I love potato chips (who doesn't) and kumera chips are growing on me but parsnip is a whole other level of interesting. My mum has always liked parsnips and my dad has always hated them so I wanted to take these crisps around to their house to see what they thought. Conveniently we had a family dinner planned for Sunday so I bought them along.

I poured all the crisps into a bowl and hid the packet so their opinion wouldn't be influenced. As I suspected my mum thought they were great but it was my dad who I was really interested in. I saw him approach the bowl and try a few and then a few more and he kept going so I asked him what he thought. "Very good" he said. So I told him they were Parsnip Crisps and his face screwed up for about half a second and then he went back for more crisps.

They were also a big hit with the rest of the family, with my brothers liking them just as much as my parents. My husband wasn't a fan but he already knew they were parsnip so his opinion might have been tainted. I found these crisps to be really nice but not as moreish as other chips. I ate a good handful and then was content, I didn't feel I needed to finish the whole bowl right there and then. As a woman trying to watch what she eats most of the time I found this a great thing.

Overall, aside from my husband's opinion, I think, taste wise, these crisps were a big winner with my family. At $3.99 a packet the price is a bit higher than normal crisps but that's what I'd expect for something of this quality and I would consider them more of a gourmet product than anything else so the price seems about right to me. I would definitely buy these again, and would like to introduce them to other friends who wouldn't go out and buy something like this on their own.

Click here to read the profile of hoollypoolly

Review by: hoollypoolly (Holly)
Dated: 19th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Proper Crisps have always been the top of my list when it came to buying Potato Chips so I was really interested to see if their Parsnip Crisps measured up. I can't say i've been the biggest fan of parsnip. Let's just say if there was a big plate of roast vegetables I wouldn't be picking the parsnip first. However these crisps may have changed my mind.

When you first see the packet it may seem a bit small but if you compare the size of a potato to a parsnip it's quite different so you really to get a lot of parsnip crisps in a packet. The smell: well there's no denying it's parsnip when you open the packet (still undecided on whether that's a good thing or not). The taste: this is where they're a real winner, they have so much flavour and the great thing is because they pack such a flavour punch I found I wasn't eating huge amounts and suddenly realising the packet was empty.

So sure they're not the cheapest crisps on the market but they're different and impressive. So next time you're invited to a BBQ take some of these along , it's always great to be the person bringing something new!

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 18th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Parsnip is a vegetable I haven't cooked as an adult because I didn't like it as a child. When I saw these parsnip chips up for review I was a little hesitant to request them, but then decided this is a great way to try things I wouldn't necessarily buy in the grocery shopping. When my latest review parcel arrived I was excited to see them.

When I opened the bag the aroma wafted out. It was certainly strong and I was a little worried I really wouldn't enjoy the crisps. Looking in the bag I was quite surprised how many crisps were in there. The bag isn't huge, and as is normal with crisps the bag wasn't full. But it appeared that there were a lot of little crisps all sitting together in the bottom. They seem to have travelled well too, considering they had made their way to KIWIreviews then down to me in Dunedin in a box. From what I could see there weren't very many broken crisps. There is nothing worse than getting a bag and finding most of them broken!

I sucked it up and picked a chip out of the packet. It certainly looked just like parsnip. It had a darker circle in the middle and the edges had curled up a little during the cooking process. It looked pleasant to the eye, but I just couldn't quite get past the smell. I took a bit - the crisp had a lovely crunchy texture, much like eating a potato chip. It certainly met the expectation of a crispy chip and fulfills the chip crunch craving. The taste - it was pleasantly surprising! After thinking I wasn't going to like them I found myself reaching back into the bag for another, and another, and another. Not having had a parsnip for many years I couldn't tell you if they tasted like a mashed or roasted parsnip, but I can tell you that they are very yummy. I managed to stop after a few - which is something I can't do with a normal potato chip. The amount of salt was pleasant - I'm not much of a fan of salt so was pleased they didn't drown them in salt. The size of the bag means you could have a few decent serves if you wanted however if you did make it through the whole packet it would be the right amount to fill you up quite nicely!

Looking at the price I thought it was a little over priced, but then comparing it to potato chips and the price you pay I think they are worth it. I would be inclined to eat less of these than I would potato chips, so one packet would last longer. I didn't have a pack of potato chips on hand to compare nutritional value but the fact that I would eat less in one sitting would certainly help. I do like the fact that the ingredient list only had three things on it - parsnips, oil and salt. And being gluten free means they are a snack that can be enjoyed by anyone.

I definitely won't walk straight past these in the supermarket when looking for a yummy snack now. I look forward to trying more in the Proper Crisps range too.

Click here to read the profile of kime82

Review by: kime82 (Kim)
Dated: 16th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love Parsnips so was interested in them being turned into a chip so was excited to see I got some in my review pack. When my hubby opened them there was such a massive parsnip aroma I was actually abit worried if they would be too strong but these are so GOOD that once I started I struggled to stop.

The packaging of this product is great brightly coloured but looks like really good quality compared to normal cheap potato chips we usually get. I love that they are 100% natural all they have on the ingredients list is parsnip, oil and salt but when I look at the normal potato chips we get it rattles off 7 or more ingredients including a lot of flavourings and additives. These are also gluten free, GMO free, dairy free, and MSG free, what a great guilt free treat for myself and to give to my kids.

One of my kids loved these and one didn't but I would imagine their market is more adults anyway since most kids don't like parsnips. They are on the more expensive side but considering how healthy they are they are a great after kids are in bed treat.

I would like to think I would buy these again but not sure I would spend this amount on chips I see they do other flavours as well which I would be keen to try as well.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 15th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These Parsnip crisps are dangerous, they are so delicious I could not stop eating them once I opened the bag. I love parsnip and have grown up on having roast parsnip and adding parsnip to soup and mash. But now to try parsnip as a crispy chip, wow! When I opened the bag I was not too sure what to expect but after eating the first parsnip crisps I was sold. The crunch is amazing and it has a light salt flavour to them. The crisps are a good thin texture and not oily either. The crisps are a lovely golden brown colour and are very appealing to the eye.

The flavour is amazing, while biting into the crisps you get a lovely salty taste. As soon as you finish eating the crisps you get a powerful but yummy parsnip taste left in your mouth. The flavour is rich and strong but not overpowering enough that you would get over it. As soon as I opened I bag I pretty much kept eating them till they were gone. I could not get enough of that yummy parsnip aftertaste blended in with the salt flavour. The right amount of crunch and texture per crisps is amazing and makes you want to keep putting your hand bag into the bag reaching for more. I am glad I ate these while the house was empty and did not have to share with anyone else.

These would definitely be a bag of yummy goodness that I would buy again from the supermarket and they are not overpriced as well. I love the colourful bag and easy to read information provided to view. These are 100% New Zealand grown and from Nelson which is great to know that you are supporting your own when buying them. When reading the ingredients I was amazed that only 3 products were used, parsnip, high oleic sunflower oil and sea salt. This is a product you know is a better choice for you rather than any other potato chip. If you like parsnip you would not be disappointed with these parsnip crisps.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 15th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I have always been impressed by the 'Proper Crisps' brand as they have always provided a more solid chip. This is great for me, as they are generally larger (haven't broken yet), I get a much more satisfying crunch when I bite into it, and it also will have a much higher survival rate when pitted against dips and salsa. My first impression when I felt the packet left me feeling uncertain; were they crushed in the mail during delivery?. But no, the product had been well wrapped, and the bag was unharmed. The simple difference is that the crisps are much smaller.

I have always heard that the best produce in New Zealand generally get exported overseas, so we only get the runtier sized products, so I had held out hope that perhaps there were large, mutant parsnips available that make some good sized crisps. The sad truth is that parsnips are just much smaller than potatoes, so parsnip crisps end up much smaller than potato or kumara crisps.

When you open the bag, there isn't a huge hit to the senses; you can smell the salt, and a slight subtle whiff of parsnip. The parsnips vary greatly in size and shape, the largest of which was a 3cm by 6cm "almost rectangle". From the looks of the packet, the parsnips are sliced tranversely along the thick end, providing some circle shaped crisps, whereas the remaining portion looks to have been sliced longitudinally creating rectangular strips. In the crispifying process (just making up words here...), the vascular tissue (that rod that runs down the centre of parsnips and carrots) is darkened and easy to spot, giving the crisps a variety of "designs".

The crisps do have the characteristic solidity that I enjoy from 'Proper Crisps' but not to the same extent as their other products, I assume mainly because these crisps are much thinner. The thickness of the chip does give it a larger surface to volume ratio, so "lightly" salted, still provides a nice hit of flavour. The crisps appear slightly darker than most crisp varieties, almost looking overcooked, but there is no evidence of them being burnt, and looks to just be another difference between the parsnip and the potato.

Roasted potato being compared with potato chips, there is little change in flavour (both are honestly quite bland). But Roasted parsnips are very sweet and full of flavour, so it it strange to have such a subtle flavouring in the crisp. The taste of the parsnip is a bit inconsistent through the pack. Ignoring the salt, some have no flavour, some have a little, and the rest have a lot of flavour, but you don't really get a consistent flavour unless you grab a handful and put it all in your mouth at once, so this certainly seems more of a "gorging" food than a "picking at" food.

As a novelty, I've enjoyed them. Something new, something different, and definitely something worth trying, but the size is an inconvenience to me. I would market these more as parsnip "shavings" than as crisps, and use them as a fancy topping on a moist, thickly sauced, roasted joint of meat.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 27th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I had never liked parsnips much. Carrot and parsnips, overcooked and taking over the whole dinner plate, were never on the top of my list of vegetables. That is, until I realised you don't have to boil parsnips. When you bake or roast them, the natural sugar oozes out and coats them with a delicious burnt caramel taste, and that is when they come into their own. I will never boil a parsnip again. EVER!

So the idea of a parsnip crisp intrigued me. Would they taste of the overcooked disgusting vegetable that I remembered from my childhood? Or would they have that wonderful caramel aftertaste of a correctly cooked parsnip? It was on the first bite that I realised the brand name was not "Proper" without cause. There is that definite slightly caramel aftertaste, a sweetness that makes the snack so moreish that you can't stop eating them. I started eating and was half way through the packet before I realised I needed to slow down and write the review!

The crisps themselves are not overly crunchy. They have a slight chewiness to them which reminds me of the texture of good quality kettle chips. They are light but satisfying, and look quite pretty as they have the stripy pattern of the parsnip running down their length or in the middle (where the chips have been chopped from the thinner end of the vegetable). There are no artificial colours; the only ingredients apart from the parsnips themselves are salt and sunflower oil so the brown colouring is completely natural.

I tried some of the crisps with a green onion dip; I did not want to try anything with a stronger flavour in case it masked the parsnip taste. This was a good combination as this dip has a very mild flavour so it does not compete. I was also going to sprinkle some on top of a macaroni cheese before I put it in to brown, but that idea has had to be put on hold till I buy some more - because, oops, they were so nice I had not left enough in the packet!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 24th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Growing up my mother use to make this buttery carrot and parsnip mash, which I loved. When I had my first handful of these new parsnip chips my mind took me right back to that yummy mash. The taste of parsnip is very distinctive and comes through well with these chips. So I really think you'd need to be a parsnip fan to like these.

I shared these chips with my husband, who agreed that they tasted of parsnip. He was not a fan. Friends who were at my house at the time agreed largely with us that you could definitely taste the parsnip. Though one thought that they also had a slightly nutty flavour to them. They were slightly sweet, but they have a light salty flavour too and a good balance of flavours there.

I thought they were amazing, and quietly moved the bowl off the table into my lap. I then ate and ate, until someone noticed me. I couldn't help it, they were so delicious. My kids tried them, and only Miss 4 was keen to have more than one. So we shared the rest of the packet.

I liked these so much, that I have since gone out and bought more packets. I have taken packs to other gatherings and shared them with even more people in our group. Some of them are big parsnip fans, so they were very well received. I will definitely keep buying these. I don't have to share them with my husband when I'm at home. They'll be great for BBQ season and for taking a snack plate to parties.

Although the price at $3.99 seems bit steep, I had no issue buying these for me. My husband has Pringles all the time and they are about the same price. I personally feel that Proper Crisps are a better quality chip and are worth the extra for something totally different and completely yummy.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 17th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Parsnip chips are something that I would NEVER have imagined existed! If they did exist, I wouldn't have even considered buying them. That was before I saw that Proper Hand Cooked Crisps had a new offering in their selection. I had previously tried the kumara crisps and loved them, so I thought I should give the parsnip version a try. I only eat parsnips if I feel that I have to when I have been cooked for, so I would not be considered a fan of them at all! I think it is something to do with the texture when they are boiled or roasted - they are a bit too mushy for my liking.

The packaging of the Parsnip Crisps is similar to the Kumara Crisps that I was familiar with. When I opened the bag, I saw that they looked like crisps. The smell was not overwhelmingly that of parsnip. I could see that some that each individual crisp had the markings of a cut slither of parsnip, some were long slithers and others were circular pieces cut from the end of the parsnip.

The crisps were really crunchy and nice and thin. The taste was just like parsnip with a bit of added salt and oil. No surprises there. The surprise was that I LOVED them!!! I had to stop myself from eating the whole packet in one sitting. I wasn't that keen on sharing them either. I was kind enough to give some to the kids and my husband so that they could give their opinion. I hate to say it, but they loved them too. What a shame, I will have to hide them from the family when I grab them at the supermarket.

The 100g bag seemed to go a long way and I enjoyed snacking on them over several sittings and I used a Magic Lock Sliding Bag Sealer to seal the bag and keep the crisps at the same standard they were when I first opened the bag.

The crisps didn't have a chance to make their way to a platter of snacks as we enjoyed them too much. I think that they would work really well in a mixed platter or with dips. They look and taste much more sophisticated than a bowl of potato chips. I have already found where these crisps are shelved at my local supermarket and I will be sure to grab some when I am looking for snack food.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 16th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Who doesn't love chips... they are an easy go-to snack option for at home, serving guests, taking on picnics and so on. But variety is always good, and having tasted (and loved) other Proper Chips, I was keen to try these parsnip ones. I haven't always loved parsnip, but I have come to really appreciate them on occasion and most recently used them to make my own parsnip chips. Unfortunately I over-oiled and over-salted them and they were a floppy disaster! Now that I've discovered this product, I might never bother fiddling around making my own again!

Upon opening the bag, I was very impressed with the amount of chips in there - it wasn't just a bag full of air, and at less than $4 I thought this was good value for what I'd consider a gourmet product. I decided to try some out on the chicken pies I was making for dinner tonight so crushed them up and baked them atop the mini pies in the oven. They browned slightly, but retained their crispiness and it was a great way to add another vegetable into my dish.

Unfortunately Miss 7 didn't like the chips at all, but I won't hold this against the product as she hasn't ever liked parsnips served any other way either! But both my husband and I loved them and we've still got heaps left just for snacking on a bit later - bonus! I compared nutritional content with some potato chips I had on hand and they weren't any healthier, but it is just nice to have something that little bit different sometimes. As far as taste goes, you can definitely tell they are made from parsnip and whilst there was some saltiness, it was just enough to enhance the flavour rather than overpower it. I could feel and taste the oil in my mouth, but it wasn't unpleasant - just noticeable. I love that these are gluten free as there aren't many chip brands I can confidently serve when it is important to ensure no traces of gluten are present.

I loved these so much, that I've already added them to my shopping list to have on hand for visitors coming over... or maybe just for when I get the munchies! I can't really fault these, so 10 out of 10 from me!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 12th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love parsnips, have done since I was a toddler but it wasn't until I spent a few years living in the Ruapheu District - where they grow a fair chunk of the root crops - that I really came to appreciate this sweet beauty. When they are affordable, I love to slice up a few of these and add them to my signature side-dish - sauteed garlic carrots. They add colour, texture and a really nice sweetness to the dish that complements any meaty main dish.

Knowing how pricey they are, because of the huge extra effort required to bring a good crop to market, the fact that a 100g bag of these is the same price as a 150g bag of potato Proper Crisps still surprised me... I would have picked them to be much dearer! These are extremely good value for money, and are well worth the effort to try. These are naturally flavoursome, so don't need anything more than some sea salt to make them a great snack.

I tried these with a dip I made from some sour cream and a wonderful hot sauce made down in Queenstown, and they were a wonderful partner for it. Their flavour managed to sneak around the hot sauce and still come through, unaffected by the sour cream as well. When I get some more, and I surely will, I plan to try them with a dip that is a little more Thai inspired, because I think they will impress!

Overall, a great snack on their own, and also a wonderful addition to any dip or snack platter. If you get to the bottom of the bag and find you have crumbs and small fragments left, or if you have only a few in the bag and don't want to risk them going stale, then I can recommend using them in the topping of a fish pie, pasta base, or any cheese-topped baked dish. They could also be a great way to sneak some of your 5+ a Day into the kids if you use them in a lasagne!

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 8th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am a huge fan of the Proper Crisps range and quite often will pick up a bag or 2 of the chips in the range every fortnight or so when I do groceries. I absolutely love parsnips and use them a lot in meals I make so when I saw that Proper Crisps had released a new product 'Parsnip Crisps' I was pretty excited and was really looking forward to trying them, luckily I was selected to review them!

The Parsnip Crisps come in a 100g bag, and the colours of the packaging are really well done to portray the colours you would think of if being asked to describe a parsnip! The packaging is well designed and I love how natural it all looks, especially as these crisps really are as natural as you can get made with ingredients that you would have heard of and more than likely have in your pantry, parsnips, sunflower oil, and sea salt that's it, 100% natural! With so many people being health conscious these days and others suffering from numerous allergies, my daughter being one, it is great to see that these are gluten free, dairy free and also suitable for vegetarians which makes them a healthy, tasty snack food that can be enjoyed by most!

Of course the bag of crips was ripped open as soon as I arrived home, with Miss 3 begging me for chips and my partner and of course myself being very curious about how these would taste and compare to other products in the Proper Crisps range. I was most impressed by the taste as was the rest of my family who loved the slight sweetness that the parsnip added to these crisps, to be honest they tasted just like a roast parsnip tastes only crunchy, they were such a hit in my house that they didn't last very long at all, although I was lucky enough to sneak out a few of the crisps for reviewing purposes which I added to our roast vegetable salad for dinner. The crisps went amazingly with the roast veges, potatoes, kumara and pumpkin and my partner said he really enjoyed having a different texture in amongst the rest of the ingredients. Miss 3 ate all her roast potatoes as per usual but went onto eat the parsnip chips, asking for more however these were long gone! My partner declared he wanted me to pick up some more next grocery shop.

Sunday night we were having some visitors so I decided to pop down the road to pick up another bag of these to get there opinions on these. I made up a tray of different dips, sour cream and onion, basil pesto and tomato relish and placed it next to the bowl of the kumara crisps. Everyone was wondering what these were to start with, but all were keen to give them a try. There were lots of comments being made in regards to the size of the crisps being longer than most potato chips, and also about how you could see the inner layer of the parsnip. Everyone agreed these were delicious and a nice change from normal chips and they just went so well with all the dips that had been served up, however the sour cream and garlic seemed the most popular.

All in all another amazing product from Proper Crisps which I have (and will) be buying again. It is so nice to have healthy snack options available these days such as these, I really look forward to seeing if there are any other vegetables crisps released by Proper Crisps in the future as i'm sure they will be just as amazing as these! Even though these are chips, they do have so many uses which I am keen to try out such as as a topping to pizzas, and garden salad as I just love the whole crunch factor that they would bring. The price is good for being more of a gourmet product as apposed to most other chips, totally recommend!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 7269: Sealord Tuna Express - Italian Tomato -  Brand : Sealord

Product image for Sealord Tuna Express - Italian TomatoSimple and easy Italian Tomato. A classic mix of diced tomato, garlic, green olives, traditional herbs and flaky tuna. It's real food, fast.

Ingredients:
Tuna (25%), Tomato (25%), Water, Green Olives (5%), Onion (5%), Tomato Paste, Soybean Oil, Sugar, Garlic (1.5%), Vinegar, Vegetable Broth, Thickener (1442), Salt, Herbs, Pepper.

NOTE: These pouches can now be ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Whose idea was it to put an 'S' in the word 'lisp'?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream