Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 18th September 2019 - 17:15:01

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Spreads > Pics Peanut Butter Slugs review

« Crayola Marker Maker reviewCrayola Marker MakerJupiter Ascending reviewJupiter Ascending »

Score: 9.5/10  [7 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 6525 - Pics Peanut Butter Slugs
Produced by Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter

Pics Peanut Butter Slugs
Price:
$5.49 / box of 6 sachets
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Pic

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Pics Peanut Butter Slugs product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsPic's Peanut Butter Slugs (shots of the world's finest smooth peanut butter) are perfect for bikers, hikers and lunchers - a hearty slug of protein anywhere, anytime you need it.

Ideal for bikers, balloonists, backpackers, mountaineers, mothers, miners, military personnel, dogs, divers, diabetics, gamers, gardeners, golfers, naturalists, naturists, nutritionists, truckers, trampers, tunnellers, travellers of every description, vegetarians, ventriloquists and vegans. All those times when you wish you had Pic's but hadn't packed a jar.

Each box also comes with it's own starred clip. It means you can fold the open end of the slug over a couple of times, clip and fold down to save for later. No waste, no mess!

Check out Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter onlineClick here to see all the listings for Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
dairy free   food   gluten free   nzmade   peanut butter   pics   portable   travel   treat
Other listings you may be interested in:
Pics Peanut Butter - Original No SaltPics Peanut Butter - Original No Salt
Rating: 8.8
Natures Fresh Smooth Hot Cross BunsNatures Fresh Smooth Hot Cross Buns
Rating: 9.3
GoNatural Macadamia DivineGoNatural Macadamia Divine
Rating: 8.9
Pic's Almond ButterPic's Almond Butter
Rating: 9.0
Pics Peanut Butter - SmoothPics Peanut Butter - Smooth
Rating: 9.2
Tegel Cuisine Cordon BleuTegel Cuisine Cordon Bleu
Rating: 8.9
Vertigo RestaurantVertigo Restaurant
Rating: 7.8
Pics Peanut Butter - Smooth No SaltPics Peanut Butter - Smooth No Salt
Rating: 8.7
Chin Wags Restaurant and BarChin Wags Restaurant and Bar
Rating: 9.0
Pic's Cashew ButterPic's Cashew Butter
Rating: 9.6
Pics Peanut Butter - OriginalPics Peanut Butter - Original
Rating: 9.4
Pork and Cabbage DumplingsPork and Cabbage Dumplings
Rating: 6.0
Jelly Sweets Lolly DisguisesJelly Sweets Lolly Disguises
Rating: 9.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 24th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We are peanut butter fans in our household so I was extremely excited to see Pics peanut butter slugs come up for review. To start with I was a bit weary about why it was called "slugs" but was also interested in seeing what they were.

When I first saw the box, I looked at the bull dog clip and wondered what on earth it was there for. After reading the box and finding out what it was for I thought what a great idea. Knowing that the slugs were only small I thought it was strange to need a bull dog clip. However, I pulled out the slugs and soon realised they were a lot bigger than I thought.

The ease of opening them was great. It tore quite easily when I ripped it open. The peanut butter glided out of the packet easily and it tasted amazing! Not oily or dry it was the perfect mix and it wasn't salty like other brands of peanut butter. The size of the slugs is perfect as there is enough to cover a sandwich and some crackers, which is the perfect size to chuck in a picnic basket or throw in your back pack if you are off on a long hike or tramp.

I was really impressed with the peanut butter slugs and it is definately something I would purchase again. We do lots of travelling as our extended family are out of town so these are perfect to take in the car with a box of crackers!

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 24th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Pic's peanut butter has changed my entire view of peanut butter and I can't go back to the generic brands so when I saw these slugs up for review I had to request some to trial. For some reason I had in my mind that these Peanut Butter Slugs would be hard bars of peanut butter. I have no idea where that thought came from but I was a little surprised when these Pic's Peanut Butter Slugs arrived all soft and squidgy.

Lately we've been having a lot of picnic type lunches out at our section where our new house is being built and these slugs are the perfect thing to add to the picnic bag for when one of the kids want a quick snack, it's so much easier than bringing a whole jar of peanut butter and the kids love being able to have their favourite sandwich while we are out.

I read on the packet that these would be good for motorbike riders so I offered to give one to my dad to take on a motorbike ride but he wasn't keen on just eating it out of the packet without bread or anything and I have to admit I don't blame him. I did try it on it's own but found it was really quite thick and tasted so much better with bread or on a stick of celery.

I love how the box includes a funky looking clip for you to use if you don't want to finish the slug in one sitting, although I haven't encountered this problem yet because my two children have picked up my slack and devour anything remaining.

These Peanut Butter Slugs are so versatile and handy to grab that they are going to be a must have on our trip overseas next month. Thank you Pic's for another amazingly handy and tasty product!

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 21st of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love peanut butter and when I saw slugs up for review I was intrigued and really wanted to give them a try. I loved the idea of having little packs of peanut butter to take with me on the go!
First thing that struck me when I opened the package was how attractive the box was and the little clip. The clip confused me to start with until I read it was so you could save some for later. It's such a wonderful idea and the clip will come in useful after the box is empty as well. I also really like all the information on the box as well it's very clear just what the slug contains, the fact Pic's is all nuts has always been a winner to me. I also had to giggle when I dropped the box upside down and discovered the little message on the base.

The slugs arrived just as I was trying to decide what to have for afternoon tea so I just had to have a slice of peanut butter toast. After doing my toast there was enough left in the packet for a second slice so already the clip came in handy. As always the pic's peanut butter was delish and really hit the spot.
Since then I have tried it straight from the packet and while it was tasty I think I enjoyed it more on toast, I found it a little too thick just to eat straight from the pack. I did however discover it was a perfect dip for chocolate fingers, when I opened the cupboard and found them side by side it just had to be tried.

This is perfect for on the go and I have taken to keeping it in my bag for times I have breakfast at work. We do a lot of travelling and often stay in motels and holiday homes and the slugs are going to be so handy to throw in the bag to take with us. I will be buying again for sure!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 15th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love Pic's peanut butter so it was a no brainer to take these home and give them a go. I could not convince Miss 8 to even try this. When I told her it was a peanut butter slug, she couldn't get the thought of slugs out of her mind. I wish I had stopped myself from saying the slug word. But I couldn't take it back once said.

Miss 3 was a bit more adventurous and was keen to try it. She had recently been unwell and was on a limited diet as part of her recovery. I gave her a packet of this and a spoon and she ate a few mouthfuls. She didn't finish it, but I didn't expect she would due to her not being well. However, it did give her a burst of new energy and it lasted a nice long while. Peanut butter is also free of dairy so it's less likely to irritate a tummy.

It's good that Miss 8 didn't want any, as we couldn't take them to school anyway. They have a nut free policy due to allergies in a number of kids. But I did take some to work. I had these for a morning tea one day and an afternoon tea another day. Both times I found these satisfying and filling. I was able to get through more of my day without taking lunch early or heading to the vending machine for chocolate.

I will buy these again, as they are tasty and convenient. Plus, you can take them away with you camping or to motels so you can have yummy Pic's on toast for breakfast on the go. We go away over summer and I can see these being so handy on those trips. They would also be excellent for baking, if I had left any to experiment with. These would be perfect for adding to buttercream icing for a peanut butter frosting.

Click here to read the profile of axiath

Review by: axiath (Diana)
Dated: 15th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

PEANUT BUTTER in a form that you don't feel bad about eating without being in a sandwich, or on toast, crackers etc... I have loved peanut butter since I was a kid and used to get the spoon out while mum wasn't looking. Started with crunchy and moved my way to smooth - smooth is definitely best for spoon antics.

I saw these slugs for review and HAD to have them - I hadn't tried Pic's peanut butter before and this was a great first impression. The packaging is smart and interesting, the clip provided is very handy and has many re-use possiblities - this clip is for you to save some of your slug for later, IF there is any left to save... The pouches are a great serving size and easy to open.

If you need protein on the go, and like peanut butter - this product is amazing. I highly recommend it for lunch boxes, the gym bag, your purse, in the car, anywhere you could need a peanut butter hit! Why not?! Value for money is unfortunately not that great. However - in this instance I must say you get what you pay for - a great, top notch peanut butter that is legendary in nature.

Pic's Peanut Butter Slugs will definitely be on my shopping list from time to time!

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 2nd of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I must say that I was a little intrigued and confused as to why someone would want to have peanut butter in little sachets. My initial understanding was that they were to suck straight out of the pack and I questioned why someone might want to do that. I then realised that it was simply peanut butter in the sachets and that could have many uses in our house. It was only then that they sparked an interest for me. From reading the box, it is obvious that the intention is mainly to 'slug' (or suck) the contents out when doing activities such as tramping, cycling etc.

My husband and kids are peanut butter nutters! They usually get a crunchy version as they all seem to like the texture of the bits in it as they eat it. As a family, we go through a lot of peanut butter on toast and for sandwiches, so this would not be an economical way of buying it for such purposes.

We found it easy to suck out the peanut butter but it seemed to dry out our mouths and it was a little 'gluey' in the mouth. I think that that it would be advisable to have water available to have after having a 'slug'. The kids thought it was very novel and enjoyed the chance to have a 'slug'. They also thought that it was a funny way of describing the fact that they were sucking the contents out.

My husband, who has tried many different variations of peanut butter, found that it wasn't oily like many other smooth peanut butters. We liked the fact that the ingredients are simply peanuts and salt. Although my husband and kids prefer the crunchy peanut butter, this version of fitted a different purpose and they were happy with the smooth version in this case.

I think that because they are sealed, they would also provide some safety for people with allergies as it would mean that the consumer would only open the pack when ready to consume (unless they only 'slug' part of it in one shot). The handy clip which comes with the box, is a great idea as it means that you can preserve the remainder of a partly eaten sachet for later use.

I think that it is very useful to know about this product for a number of reasons. They would be great for our family to use for traveling and picnics to use on bread or toast. I could also see them being useful for when we go out in the bush in the summer. They are light weight and would fit in the kids packs easily. They would be one of the options we would consider for such a purpose.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 1st of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love Pic's peanut butter. The slugs are the latest product in their range. It is certainly not the most economical way to buy Pic's but it is certainly very convenient. I think naming the product slugs is fun but it did repel my five year old until I explained to her that it was just peanut butter in the tube and contained no slugs at all.

My daughters (7 and 5 years) both had a slug for afternoon tea. Although they found it hard to open I was able to open it without the use of scissors. By tearing off a corner the girls were able to happily suck on their slugs. They found the portion size was a bit big for them but I happily finished them off. I have also used the slugs to make sandwiches. I found one slug does two slices of bread thinly.

The addition of a clip to the box means that the slugs can be resealed for use later. Pic's really have thought of everything. Why weren't products like this around when I was tramping. What would you rather have a glass jar that is bulky and could break or a tube. This is even more important when you are travelling between countries and can't take opened food across the boarder. More importantly it isn't just and peanut butter but the best I have tasted.

I will be keeping my jars of Pic's for everyday use but slugs will be so handy when I'm away from home. I could throw one in the bottom of my handbag for a healthy snack with a good shelf life. It could be an occasional lunchbox treat for the my husband or the kids and next trip I go on I will be taking some for sure.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 7664: Swiss Deli Venison Salami -  Brand: Swiss Deli

Product image for Swiss Deli Venison SalamiSwiss Deli Venison Salami is a fine-grained and mild-flavoured salami. It is prepared using traditional methods with a unique blend of Italian spices including garlic, pepper and juniper berries. Cooked, smoked and aged to perfection - Swiss Deli Venison Salami makes a sophisticated addition to any ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Whose idea was it to put an 'S' in the word 'lisp'?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream