Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 22nd August 2019 - 03:44:34

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Spreads > Pics Peanut Butter - Smooth No Salt review

« Pics Peanut Butter - Smooth reviewPics Peanut Butter - SmoothThe Tombs reviewThe Tombs »

Score: 8.7/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3639 - Pics Peanut Butter - Smooth No Salt
Produced by Pics Really Good Peanut Butter

Pics Peanut Butter - Smooth No Salt
Price:
$7.99 / 380g jar
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Pic

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Pics Peanut Butter - Smooth No Salt product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsArgentina's finest peanuts freshly roasted & ground in Sunny Nelson. Argentina's shorter growing season produces a younger harvested nut with a naturally sweet, mellow flavour ideal for Asian dishes, desserts and baking!

Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter - Smooth No Salt contains only peanuts.

Check out Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter onlineClick here to see all the listings for Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
butter   nzmade   peanut   spread
Other listings you may be interested in:
Meyer Vintage GoudaMeyer Vintage Gouda
Rating: 9.4
Proper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea SaltProper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Taste of India Mango Chicken SauceTaste of India Mango Chicken Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Pics Peanut Butter - SmoothPics Peanut Butter - Smooth
Rating: 9.2
Pics Peanut Butter - OriginalPics Peanut Butter - Original
Rating: 9.4
Pics Peanut Butter SlugsPics Peanut Butter Slugs
Rating: 9.5
Pic's Cashew ButterPic's Cashew Butter
Rating: 9.6
Pic's Almond ButterPic's Almond Butter
Rating: 9.0
Down to Earth Organic Soup - French LentilDown to Earth Organic Soup - French Lentil
Rating: 9.0
Oxford Butter Chicken pieOxford Butter Chicken pie
Rating: 9.2
Pics Peanut Butter - Original No SaltPics Peanut Butter - Original No Salt
Rating: 8.8
Bennetto Coconut Dark Chocolate Mini BarsBennetto Coconut Dark Chocolate Mini Bars
Rating: 9.2
Luscious Nectarine, from Central OtagoLuscious Nectarine, from Central Otago
Rating: 8.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 30th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Like the original salt-free version this one just didn't do it for me in the standalone (or even on toast) taste side of things, but alternatively, this is great it your wanting to whip up a batch of peanut butter cookies (or even chocolate chip/peanut butter cookies).

Being of the smooth variety this particular blend does lend itself towards the making of cookies, or even peanut butter muesli bars, in fact this is a great option, you can even add in some chocolate chips and you have all the makings of a great healthy snack, that also tastes good too.

I actually found the recipie for this online and I thought i'd give it a go, and boy am i glad I did as these are highly delicious and easy to make. Link to Recipe

In fact this was such a good effort that the kids have asked me to make some more of them so that they can take them to school.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 12th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Running in a close second place, this was another highly commended peanut butter. The lack of added salt means this peanut butter is, contrary to common wisdom, slightly less sweet on the tongue. When applied to toast, this was a wonderful, if very slightly oily, spread, and it went very well with a sprinkle of a reasonably fine parmesan cheese on it too.

Using this as a binding agent in a healthy muesli slice didn't pan out as well as hoped - this butter was a little oilier than ideal for a slice - it needs to be a little thicker to make a good binder. However, mixing it with some really thick honey solved the problem in the next batch, and helped add a little extra sweetness. Wink Icon

I tried this one as part of a satay-like marinade before BBQing some meat, but it didn't handle the raw flames too well on the grill side, but turned out OK on the flat plate side of the BBQ. Keeping in mind that though this is more likely a factor of cooking method than this product, the "Original No Salt" version of Pic's did seem to handle the grill side better, so there must be some factor that creates a difference.

Overall, this was another variety I really enjoyed, and so did many of our guests. If I happen to discover, at grocery time, that my new all-time favourite isn't available, I can at least be reassured that no matter what variant I grab, as long as it's Pic's, it's going to be a great eat!

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 8th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

As with the Pic's Original Peanut Butter this is also made from Argentinian Peanuts that are roasted in Nelson. The jar is glass and comes with a cool label that I can't get yet get off to see if it has the promised poem. May have ruined the label on this jar trying to get it off before it was empty!

These nuts are really tasty and oily so the peanut butter doesn't taste dry and leaves a nice aftertaste.

This is incredibly smooth and lovely but not quite as nice as the original if you like salt. If you are watching your salt intake though this is a great option and the lack of salt is only a subtle difference in taste (I could notice when eaten side by side off a spoon) that I couldn't detect when using this on toast. This is a good peanut butter for kids or people with high blood pressure or just looking to have a low salt intake. The tastiness of the peanuts mean that the lack of salt isn't noticeable.

Although this isn't organic the tastiness does make this an appealing buy. The jar size is slightly larger than the jars I normally buy so the price increase isn't as apparent.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 6th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Hmmm no salt smooth peanut butter, funnily enough this is the variety I tend to buy all the time (in other brands before I discovered Pics). I do this because I have children and I do not want them to have to much salt in their diets but also because I find that smooth peanut butter tends to go further than our favorite crunchier variety. I feel you get more uses from a jar of smooth, you probably don't but I just think my kids use less of it on their sandwiches and toast and spoons haha

We love Pics peanut butter, like the other three we have had the chance to review, this is yummy. It is not overly oily, it is a nice consistency and it is packed full of peanuts, possibly to many peanuts for some haha But its just the perfect balance and Pics truly have outdone themselves. I am also glad I found their website, I loved ready the history page and cant wait to try more of the recipes that they have on there. That is a good sign that their product has done what they hoped, its made me investigate further and I am super impressed by it.

The price is a little higher than I would normally want to pay for peanut butter, and as such this would not be a weekly addition to my grocery list but more of a monthly addition or treat spend. The jars are made from eco friendly glass and the labels are really cool, I really like the labels LOL Icon Pics peanut butter definitely gets two thumbs up from everyone in my household, adults and children alike.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 1st of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

As a teenager, a quarter of a century ago, I remember going to the local Woolworths supermarket and being able to grind peanuts to make your own jar of peanut butter. Until then I always thought salt was an essential ingredient in peanut butter. For most manufacturers it is. About 80% of the peanut butters on the supermarket shelf contain the doctor's enemy, salt. Since I have left home and had the power to chose what goes into my pantry I have opted for smooth peanut butter that contain just one ingredient, peanuts.

Until I tried Pic's peanut butter I thought that the cheapest unsalted peanut butter would do. Now I have been converted. I will never have the cheap stuff on my toast again. Pic's has a much nicer taste and smell. I also like that it is a thinner consistency so I don't need as much on my toast and the jar does a few extra slices for me. This helps to balance out the fact that it costs over twice as much as the cheap and nasty one.

I chose to utilise it's smooth consistency in a peanut butter fudge. I had never sampled it before but I was keen to make it. The recipe was so easy and with the help of a stick blender it made a lovely creamy fudge. My team of preschool chefs loved it and begged for more. My mother in law and I also thought it was delicious but dangerous for our waistlines. She graciously took most of it to share with her colleagues and I'm sure they will be grateful.

I will be recommending Pic's products to others. I am hoping that they widen their range to include other nut butters. Given the great taste of their peanut butter I'm sure an almond or cashew butter would be divine.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 31st of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Given my delight in salty savoury foods, I was pretty sure that this peanut butter would not hit the mark with me flavour-wise. I was right. I opened the jar and had a cheeky spoonful. It had a good smooth consistency. Slightly runny on the spoon, with the oil. The taste was pure peanut meat. No salt, but I mistakenly thought "this has sugar in it!" It doesn't have sugar, its just that sweetness of the nut itself.

Because of that sweetness, I immediately thought of baking. I decided to try something new. I had heard of these things called peanut butter chips. Friends overseas rave about them, so I looked up a recipe and gave it a go. After some challenges (none of which was the products fault - I should follow instructions!) I ended up with cute piped stars of peanut butter. I froze them for half a day. Then I made a batch of chocolate chip and peanut butter chip cookies. The result was little melty pockets of this peanut butter inside an American style chocolate chip cookie.

I also used this peanut butter in an icing recipe I found. It came out lovely and sweet. This spread was very versatile. For cooking and baking I would purchase it. However, for general toast consumption, it wasn't the style for me. That is simply due to the lack of salt.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.0
Product reviews for listing 7757: Howler Hotdogs - Peri Peri Chicken -  Produced by Golden Goose Foods Ltd

Product image for Howler Hotdogs - Peri Peri ChickenIf you've got a gap to fill, here's something to really get your laughing gear around...

Chicken and Peri Peri in hotdog form - a new classic in the making.

Box contains 5x hotdogs.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Apathy rules! Well, it would, if it could be bothered to try."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream