Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 20th November 2018 - 03:16:14

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Spreads > Pics Peanut Butter - Original No Salt review

« Pics Peanut Butter - Original reviewPics Peanut Butter - OriginalPics Peanut Butter - Smooth reviewPics Peanut Butter - Smooth »

Advertising...


Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.8/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3637 - Pics Peanut Butter - Original No Salt
Produced by Pics Really Good Peanut Butter

Pics Peanut Butter - Original No Salt
Price:
$7.99 / 380g jar
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Pic

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Pics Peanut Butter - Original No Salt product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsGood Aussie nuts, fresh roasted and masterfully squashed in Sunny Nelson, New Zealand. Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter - Original No Salt only contains peanuts.

Check out Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter onlineClick here to see all the listings for Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
butter   nzmade   peanut   spread
Other listings you may be interested in:
Bennetto Coffee Dark Chocolate Mini BarsBennetto Coffee Dark Chocolate Mini BarsLime and Lemongrass DrizzleLime and Lemongrass Drizzle
Rating: 9.4
Pics Peanut Butter - SmoothPics Peanut Butter - Smooth
Rating: 9.2
Raspberry Fudge BrowniesRaspberry Fudge Brownies
Rating: 7.5
Domino's PizzaDomino's Pizza
Rating: 8.3
Pics Peanut Butter SlugsPics Peanut Butter Slugs
Rating: 9.5
Pic's Cashew ButterPic's Cashew Butter
Rating: 9.6
Pic's Almond ButterPic's Almond Butter
Rating: 9.0
Oven Baked Sandwich: Sweet Chilli ChickenOven Baked Sandwich: Sweet Chilli Chicken
Rating: 8.4
Pics Peanut Butter - OriginalPics Peanut Butter - Original
Rating: 9.4
Pics Peanut Butter - Smooth No SaltPics Peanut Butter - Smooth No Salt
Rating: 8.7
BAKED Pizza - Pineapple ExpressBAKED Pizza - Pineapple Express
Rating: 9.0
Kumara RostiKumara Rosti
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 30th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I like my Peanut butter I really do, but this salt-free version just didn't taste right to me. However using this in cooking such as a satay dish or in cookies is certainly the better option as with using it as an ingredient I didn't notice the different taste and so this was a better option for me.

On the other hand the two kids loved this just as much as the others and this time I wasn't so concerned with them consuming this jar like it was going out of fashion. I asked them if they noticed any difference in taste between the jars, to which they replied 'no, is there a difference?', ahhh if only I had tastebuds like that once more.....

So whilst I wasn't overly fond of this one i'm not going to mark it down too much as it's seemed to be just me that found it odd tasting.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 12th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have always loved peanut butter, but with the rubbish that has been on the market for so long, it's hard to understand why a "real" peanut butter is not getting the love it deserves. Though it wasn't my top favourite of the samples, this peanut butter is one I think deserves a lot of love!

Having no added salt, I thought this one might be the best for making a Satay sauce to go with chicken, beef and vegetable mini-kebab skewers. So, after hunting for a good recipe to base my experiment on, I started making dinner. Now, in order to give a fair test, I made two sauces - one with Pic's and one with an inexpensive but common brand from the supermarket. I figured that way I could see which one gave the best taste.

Being my first time doing these, I completely forgot to soak the skewers in water for a couple of hours, so after cooking the sticks were, shall we say, somewhat less than ideal to present. A bit of sneaky skewer swapping and I was ready to serve up.

Served on a plate of basmati rice, I had two of each mini-kebab on each diner's plate - one set made with Pic's, one made with the "regular" brand. I didn't tell the diners this was a comparative test, I just tagged each skewer with a dot of food colouring - red for Pic's, blue for "regular". Then left them to it and watched.

Sure enough, everyone was able to notice a difference. Everyone commented that half the kebabs tasted "funny" compared to the others, which all agreed tasted much better. "Some of these taste sickly sweet, like you've mixed in some caramel or sweetened milk or something!" was one comment made. After everyone had finished, I asked them to tell me which coloured sticks were the "good" ones. After a moment of stunned revelation, they all thought about it and agreed the red sticks tasted far nicer than the blue sticks.

Overall, a telling victory for Pic's! Oh, and this stuff tastes amazing on toasts, too... but I think that much should be pretty obvious. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 6th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

OK i have to be honest in saying that I can never taste the difference between a no salt and a salted variety of peanut butter. So it came as no surprise to me when I truly couldn't tell the difference between the original and the original no salt varieties. My kids however claimed that the original variety had a stronger peanut taste than the no salt variety. So I decided to check out the website to see if there is much salt added. So a quick google search brought up the Pic's really good peanut butter website, and according the the What's in it? page the addition of salt to the peanut butter actually brings out the flavour of the peanuts...so that is why my kids could taste the stronger flavour in the first jar. Very impressed and glad i learnt something from it too.

The jars are a decent 380g in size and packed full to the top with peanuts, there is no skimping on products here, you really are paying for a full jar of delicious peanut butter. Spreads easily, smells divine and looks absolutely peanuttily (yes i know that is not a word) good when you open the jar. At almost $8.00 a jar though sadly it would not be a regular on my shopping list, but would definitely be a treat or once a month addition though.

Like the other products, the jars and labels look fantastic and natural. According the website the jars are eco friendly glass and if you buy online they are packed in pure corrugated cardboard. So not only is the peanut butter as natural as they can get it, so is the packaging etc. This gets two thumbs up from me. Thumbs UpThumbs Up

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 5th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

The "no salt" Original peanut butter doesn't taste as salty (funny that) as the Original peanut butter but is just as good if slightly blander. I would be just as happy with either of these peanut butters but if I was watching my salt intake would be completely happy having this and am not sure I would even miss the salt. I could only really notice the difference when tasting off a spoon at the same time otherwise the taste difference wasn't noticeable. I did my taste test off the spoon and then with my staple peanut butter and banana on toast. This is a great natural option and the taste is such that if you want to go no salt you can have this and not even notice.

Hubby tasted this and said he really liked it too. He has been having PB sandwiches every night since!

I like the quirks of this packaging in that I think there is a poem on the back of the label? If I have read the ingredients list correctly then I should be correct. I look forward to finishing my jar and very carefully peeling off the label to find out! I have tried peeling it off carefully without finishing the jar but that was unsuccessful so will have to retry. A bit of an incentive to eat it quick! As with all these peanut butters the jars are reusable or recyclable so it's all good!

Definitely a peanut butter to try and if you are after a salt and sugar free Peanut butter option then this is your jar!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 1st of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I thought the difference in flavour between the orginal and the orginal no salt would be obvious to me. Instead the difference the salt made was minimal. I'm not sure if that's because the texture of the nut chunks confused my palate. But I doubt I would be able to tell the difference in a blind taste test.

I decided to stop making sweet and delicious peanut butter baking with this review and instead went savoury. I made a satay sauce, using Pic's Orginal No Salt peanut butter. Into the mixture I added honey, soy sauce, ginger and sweet chilli sauce. I mixed this up with some water and bought it to the boil. The sauce came out really thick with little peanut chunks all the way through.

The colour of the sauce was amazing. It took on a really dark caramel colour. I'm used to my satay sauces being quite pale, but this sauce really showed the quality of the product used. Even if I put this jar of goodness next to the cheaper stuff we tend to buy, you can see the difference all those extra additives make. Clearly using less peanuts cuts the cost. With this product, you are paying more per jar, but you are getting pure peanut meat in the jar. That's important to me.

The taste of the satay sauce was amazing. I could taste each individual flavour, but the peanuts definitely stood out. This was way better than store-bought satay and it was so easy to make. I couldn't believe how easy it was to throw together. I served it with some chicken nuggets, but it would have been great on a stirfry as well. Another fabulous peanut butter from Pic's.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 30th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Having tried Pic's crunchy peanut butter yesterday today it was time to try the crunchy without salt. The first thing I noticed was the aroma wasn't as strong as the salted variety but to still gave a wholesome scent that told me it was good quality and fresh. My two year old daughter once again stole my peanut butter on toast and demanded more. I have never known her to want peanut butter until Pic's arrived in our home. As with yesterday my four year old licked the jar clean but nothing will stop her from her morning ritual of jam on toast.

Today for my baking I attempted a peanut butter slice. It was a very quick simple recipe to do with my four preschool assistants. They loved it both warm and cold and continually asked for more. I admit to eating much more than I should have too. When I was doing my baking I needed more peanut butter than was in the jar so decided to use some cheap stuff I had in the pantry as well. Seeing the two jars next to each other it was easy to notice the differences:
1. The smell: the cheap brand lacked an alluring scent.
2. Pic's was a much darker colour.
3. The ingredients. Pic's contained only peanuts whereas the other one had vegetable oil, sugar and salt. I know that Pic's will be much healthier for me.
4, The country of origin. Pic's an Australian nut roasted in Nelson. The other was made with peanuts from who knows where in China.
5. The glass jar and freshness sealed lid of Pic's peanut butter tells me it is quality compared to the plastic jar and lid of the cheap one.

I am usually an unsalted peanut butter girl as are my girls so this was closer to what we are used to but so much nicer than what we normally have. I can't see myself ever buying poor quality peanut butter again. We are a Pic's household now.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.9
Product reviews for listing 7563: Awesome Naturals - Milk Bottles -  Manufactured by Rainbow Confectionery

Product image for Awesome Naturals - Milk BottlesAn updated version of the classic sweet that Kiwis have loved for decades, now made with 50% real NZ Milk Solids.

    •  No artificial flavours or colours
    •  Gluten free
    •  Nut free
    •  Made in Oamaru NZ from local and imported ingredients

Allergen ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"The man with a new idea is a crank until the idea succeeds."
Mark Twain (1835-1910)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream