Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 19th August 2019 - 12:32:37

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Spreads > Pics Peanut Butter - Original review

« Tootsy Baby Set reviewTootsy Baby SetPics Peanut Butter - Original No Salt reviewPics Peanut Butter - Original No Salt »

Score: 9.4/10  [9 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 3636 - Pics Peanut Butter - Original
Produced by Pics Really Good Peanut Butter

Pics Peanut Butter - Original
Price:
$7.99 / 380g jar
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Pic

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Pics Peanut Butter - Original product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsGood Aussie nuts, fresh roasted and masterfully squashed in Sunny Nelson, New Zealand. Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter - Original only contains peanuts and (a little) salt.

Check out Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter onlineClick here to see all the listings for Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
butter   nzmade   peanut   spread
Other listings you may be interested in:
Kebabs on BroadwayKebabs on Broadway
Rating: 9.4
Meyer Fenugreek GoudaMeyer Fenugreek Gouda
Rating: 9.7
Kids Chicken & Vegetable Mini Ravioli 225gmKids Chicken & Vegetable Mini Ravioli 225gm
Rating: 9.8
Pic's Almond ButterPic's Almond Butter
Rating: 9.0
Pics Peanut Butter - Original No SaltPics Peanut Butter - Original No Salt
Rating: 8.8
Pic's Cashew ButterPic's Cashew Butter
Rating: 9.6
Blueberry and Thyme VinegarBlueberry and Thyme Vinegar
Rating: 8.8
Pics Peanut Butter - Smooth No SaltPics Peanut Butter - Smooth No Salt
Rating: 8.7
Hellers Sweetcorn & Bacon ChowderHellers Sweetcorn & Bacon Chowder
Rating: 9.3
Kinder SurpriseKinder Surprise
Rating: 6.3
Pics Peanut Butter SlugsPics Peanut Butter Slugs
Rating: 9.5
Pics Peanut Butter - SmoothPics Peanut Butter - Smooth
Rating: 9.2
RJs Fruity TwistersRJs Fruity Twisters
Rating: 9.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 25th of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

WOW.....I am a huge peanut butter fan and I literally used peanut butter to get through the Marmite shortage!! I have always been a fan of ETA peanut butter until I tried Pic's peanut butter for the first time and now there is no going back it is amazing!! You know it is a good peanut butter when you take a mouthful and it instantly sticks to the roof of your mouth and you try licking it off with your tongue and it ain't budging!!

When I first opened the jar I wasn't aware that there was a layer of oil and I almost spilled this as I rotated the jar to twist the lid off....to me that was a foreign thing oil on top of the peanut butter but now I understand that is a the sign of a top quality pure peanut butter. I mixed the oil in and this was quite a work out because the peanut butter was fairy thick but oh my gosh the smell of the peanuts was amazing...my mouth started to water!!

I couldn't wait any longer and spread a thickish layer on top of my toast and yes I made more toast because the first two pieces were so yum...with what was left over in the jar I made peanut better cookies and while the cookie dough was in the mixer all I could smell was the Pic's peanut butter, and while in the oven the peanut butter smell was very evident.

After 15 minutes the cookies were ready and cooling down, they had flattened out and crisped up around the edges and with the peanut butter and brown sugar the cookies were a chewy delicious combination of goodness. I used the crunchy version of the peanut butter and the little bits of peanut added a different crunch as well. This is diffidently a winner and I have never made peanut butter cookies before but because I have used Pic's brand I am sure they are the best ones on earth.

The price is more expensive than other brands but I can rest assured this is not full of preservatives and sugar and I am only paying for quality peanuts and quality flavour so I will continue to buy to enjoy on toast and in baking! having a glass jar is good too as the jar can be recycled or reused!

Click here to read the profile of wingnutt39

Review by: wingnutt39 (Rosemary)
Dated: 20th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have been devoted to Pics since I discovered it, while sharing lunch with a then 3 year old. That is over a year ago now. At first I thought it could be only got at one of the fancy delis that charge an arm and a leg. But to my own amazement I was able to get it at my local Pak N Save. I had told my son about this amazing peanut butter & he thought I was mental until he uncovered my stash Grrrrrrrrrrrrr. Now it really is the only one he will eat, a few months ago I bought another brand, it is still stitting in the pantry half eaten, where as the Pics is half gone. Yes my son found it and has opened it.

Pics reminds me of the peanut butter I ate as a child, you always opened the lid to find a layer of oil on the top, part of the fun was stirring it in, this meant your peanut butter stayed fresh until the last bite, now you find it all dry & horrible. The smell was also part of the attraction, I just love it when you have fresh bread, newly toasted with butter & lashings of peanut butter on it. Pics met this demand. Ive not tried it in baking yet as it doesnt get that far with my son around, but I will soon. Im not sure what I love most about Pics, it is probably a combo of it being made in NZ from Australian peanuts, or the "real peanut butter" taste. But I know I just love it. I also love its in a glass jar so I can reuse it for jams and other things, the label is great as well, I have to admit I have become addicted to taking it off & reading the poem on the back. Some are brilliant and Ive kept them.

Overall for me Pics meets & exceeds my demands for a peanut butter & I cant wait to introduce it to many, many people.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 24th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My family has been a ETA Peanut Butter family for as long as I can remember, in fact my youngest thinks nothing of grabbing the jar (large jar that is) of Peanut Butter, a desert spoon and then sitting down to polish off at least half of the jar in one sitting.

So when this one came into the house I wasn't sure if it would be liked at all or whether it would left to linger on the shelf and never be touched again? Well I needn't have worried as both my kids took to this like a duck to water and I had to literaly grab the jar off of them just so I could try some of it myself.

It is a very good blend with lots of bits of peanut mixed in. It also reminded me of a good bag of salted and roasted peanuts, which to me is a very good thing. Now my next step will be trying to make sure enough is left behind for me to use it in a chicken satay stir fry......

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 12th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

OMG, this is quite possibly the most amazing peanut butter I have come across. All natural, with nothing artificial, and the only additives being salt, wisdom and experience... what more could one ask for? I used some of this in some biscuits, and as centers in some muffins, and also in icing for cupcakes. I also put it through it's paces on toast, in sandwiches, and of course as part of a healthy slice.

I asked a few friends and family to help me trial it. Surprisingly, a couple who don't like peanut butter found themselves quite impressed with the natural, well-roasted flavour. This really set it apart from the rest of the peanut butters they had come across... and the lack of extra sugar means that even the kids were able to enjoy it without flipping off the deep end and into Hyperactive City. LOL Icon

Overall, this was indeed the very best peanut butter I have eaten, and I am now a total convert. My whiteboard shopping list now has this on it, in permanent marker! Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 6th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

WOW I have only just discovered Pic's Peanut Butter thanks to being selected to review the products via KIWIreviews. We received four different types of the peanut butter, initially we thought though that we had received 4 jars of the same product as they all look exactly the same and the only difference between them is whether they have the small 'no salt' written on the label. But that aside the product looks really funky in the glass jars with the lovely natural looking labels.

When we received them we couldn't wait to get into these...we love peanut butter in my house. The original was the first one to be tried. Upon opening the jar it is wonderful to see at first glance that these really are full of peanuts, there is absolutely no holding back on the peanut content, and that is absolutely brilliant!

The peanut butter is not too oily or runny, it is a nice spreadable consistency meaning that it is easy even for littlies to spread and because of the good consistency and spread-ability and the glass jar means you get every last little drop! The other thing I noticed was that when you open the jar all you can smell is gorgeous peanuts! ....Pics peanut butter is really super yum, and now a firm favorite in our household and that was only one jar.

This first jar did not last very long at all...in fact it was gone within 3 days. That is really quite impressive LOL Icon

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 5th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This Original peanut butter comes in a glass jar. The jars all look the same except the original has a black lid with a red star. I don't like that the jars all look so similar as it makes it hard to distinguish in the pantry. The label's are pretty cool though and the kids like the lids. The jar is 380g so bigger than my normal organic peanut butter that I buy. This makes it okay value for me though these nuts don't profess to be organic. I do like that I know that the nuts are sourced from Australia and then fresh roasted and squashed in Nelson though.

The original contains nothing other then peanuts and "a little" salt. The sodium content is 200mg per 100g. The consistency on this is perfect. Not to oily and not to dry. It tastes pretty good. I love crunchy so this on toast was just perfect. It had to also go through the peanut butter and banana on toast test and passed with flying colours! I would happily eat this with my toast and banana anytime.

I used this in a beef stirfry that I made with a satay style sauce. I liked that this was oily enough that my stirfry didn't taste dry. It is such a natural tasting peanut butter that I don't think you would be disappointed eating this. Even though I prefer to eat organic peanut butter I would purchase this because of the taste factor as the organics that I have tried don't taste as good as this and I like that Pic's states where the nuts come from so I know they aren't from China and sprayed. This is definitely my favourite of the range.

Click here to read the profile of laugan

Review by: laugan (Selena)
Dated: 2nd of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I first discovered Pics a year or so ago in my little local supermarket, the packaging grabbed my attention so I bought it. It was everything I hoped it would be, I remember Mum making peanut butter when I was younger and this tasted just the same.

I love how the crunchy bits are all through the jar and not just through part of it, as per the instructions on the jar I store it upside down until I'm just a little over halfway through to allow the oil to keep the bottom of the jar moist. Peanut butter now days seems overly processed when in reality it needs very little done to it, certainly not to have sugar added.

I have recommended to my non peanut butter eating friends that they give it a go and created a couple of new converts for my troubles. This is now the only peanut butter I buy and I was pleased when my regular supermarket started stocking it so I didn't have to go out of my way any more. It was also lovely to meet Pic himself with his giant toaster giving away samples and selling Pic's on vogels a few weeks ago!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 31st of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

The original peanut butter was the first one I tried of the Pic's range. I have seen them in the supermarket, and have always thought the jars have a striking look. The label looks rustic and homemade. The red star on the top of the jar always draws my eye. But peanut butter is one of those very personal choices. Will I like it?

The orginal peanut butter is crunchy style with added salt. I thought of all the peanut butters, this would be a favourite. I grew up in a crunchy household but marrying a smooth-only eater, I have had to put my crunchy desires aside. I made up some homemade bread and toasted it. Then I cracked the jar open. A pool of oil sat on the top. This reminded me of opening a jar for the first time when I was a child. That oil is totally normal. I use to love looking at it as a kid and I felt a bit like a kid again.

I read the jar and followed the instructions to stir the oil back in. That was a bit messy, but fun! I then made my classic peanut butter and cheese toast for lunch. The taste of this peanut butter is really nice. It has that roasted/raw peanut taste to it. Its a really natural yummy flavour with a little salt. If I'm honest I would have preferred more salt, but I tend to like my peanut butter on the salty side. Obviously, its not as healthy to have loads of salt in it.

I have been using this jar in some baking as well. I made some peanut butter cookies the other day. Its best to use crunchy in these for the texture, and to that you add sugar and an egg. I also added chocolate chips. This made a really nice, American style cookie.

Cost-wise, this is roughly twice as much as other peanut butters on the shelves. But its in line with other natural or organic style peanut butters. If natural is important to you, and you are looking to reduce your salt and sugar intake I would recommend this brand.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 29th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am very fussy about my peanut butter. I am a smooth no added salt kind of girl so trying a crunchy peanut butter with added salt took me out of my comfort zone. This is the first of the four varieties of Pic's I have tried and I am converted. It is delicious.

My daughters are also creatures of habit when it comes to breakfast. My 2 year old wanted her usual cereal this morning but when she saw me eating peanut butter on toast she stole some bites of mine. She took so much that I had to go and make some more toast so that neither of us were left hungry. I offered my 4 year old, jam on toast girl, peanut butter on her toast today and she refused to try it. I did notice that when we were cooking she grabbed the empty jar and licked it clean.

The first thing that hit me when I opened the jar was the lovely roasted aroma. It didn't have a layer of oil like the label suggested it might have. The taste was great on my warm wholemeal toast. The salt was just enough. As someone that doesn't add salt to my food I find many peanut butters too salty but this was great. It tasted as good as it smelt.

The reason I don't usually have a crunchy variety is the amount you need to use to spread on your toast. The peanut butter wasn't too thick that I had to use half the jar on one piece of toast. I could see the chunks of peanuts but they weren't too big that I had to do extra chews.

As I have a toddler in my care that is on a wheat and dairy free diet I chose to make peanut butter cookies which only contained sugar, egg and chocolate chips. They were so quick and easy to make with the assistance of four preschoolers. The children all enjoyed them as did I and we were able to share these with the young girl's family who struggle to find something to bake.

I can't wait to try the other varieties of Pic's really good peanut butter. I suspect I may have a tough job deciding which to buy when my supply runs out.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.2
Product reviews for listing 6472: Pasta mia Roasted Capsicum & Macadamia Tortelli -  Produced by Pasta Mia

Product image for Pasta mia Roasted Capsicum & Macadamia TortelliGrowing up on the Adriatic coast of Italy, known for its obsession with great food, Angelo Tredicucci learned the time-honoured skill of artisan pasta making.

The result is Pasta mia, a taste sensation of bronze-extruded pasta made from his family recipes, bringing the best of Italy to your table since 1994. Buon ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"If corn oil is made from corn, and vegetable oil is made from vegetables, then what is baby oil made from?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream