Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 18th November 2019 - 11:06:14

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Personal Hygiene > Primal Earth Sensitive Shave Creme review

« Primal Earth SPF15 Moisturiser reviewPrimal Earth SPF15 MoisturiserMels Makhani (Butter Chicken) Masala reviewMels Makhani (Butter Chicken) Masala »

Score: 9.3/10  [8 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 3541 - Primal Earth Sensitive Shave Creme
Brand: Primal Earth

Primal Earth Sensitive Shave Creme
Price:
$8.99 / 140ml
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Primal Earth

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
Selected supermarkets

Primal Earth Sensitive Shave Creme product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsFor naturally healthy skin, start with natural active ingredients powered by plants. This plant-based Primal Earth Shave Creme will lubricate, clean and protect sensitive skin for a close, soothing shave without harsh chemicals.

It won't cause razor burn, irritation or skin blotchiness. Great for his face or her legs. Dermatologically tested.

Check out Primal Earth onlineClick here to see all the listings for Primal Earth Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
aloe vera   green tea   jojoba   male   mamaku   mango   masculine   men   natural active   nzmade   razor   shave   vanilla
Other listings you may be interested in:
Primal Earth Refresh Shave GelPrimal Earth Refresh Shave Gel
Rating: 9.0
Primal Earth 24hr MoisturiserPrimal Earth 24hr Moisturiser
Rating: 9.5
Primal Earth Face WashPrimal Earth Face Wash
Rating: 9.2
Primal Earth SPF15 MoisturiserPrimal Earth SPF15 Moisturiser
Rating: 9.3
BodEze DownUnderBodEze DownUnder
Rating: 7.5
Bodeze Body Beautiful Sugaring GelBodeze Body Beautiful Sugaring GelMynx Soap - Organic Goats Milk and Manuka HoneyMynx Soap - Organic Goats Milk and Manuka Honey
Rating: 7.9
Soak and FloatSoak and Float
Rating: 8.5
Nivea Visage Young Wash Off Effective Cleansing GelNivea Visage Young Wash Off Effective Cleansing Gel
Rating: 10.0
Fructis Nutri-Repair 3 Miraculous OilFructis Nutri-Repair 3 Miraculous Oil
Rating: 10.0
Dynamo Front Loader Laundry LiquidDynamo Front Loader Laundry Liquid
Rating: 9.5
Water-to-Go Single BottleWater-to-Go Single Bottle
Rating: 10.0
Health Basics - Opito Bay Summer Body WashHealth Basics - Opito Bay Summer Body Wash
Rating: 9.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 2nd of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This stuff is absolutely awesome I do have sensitive skin and find some times even products that claim they are for skin still aggravate my skin but this did what it was supposed to. I received a couple of sample sachets of this from KIWIreviews and tried it straight away. The smell is amazing and completely unisex meaning we only need to buy one bottle not two (as the "man' will not use feminine products lol). I must admit when I looked at the packaging I straight away assumed it would be a very manly smell as the packaging is a dark army type green.

I think the packaging is great and would look great in a gift hamper for a male at Christmas. I always struggle to come up with presents for the males so gift hampers are always a way of hiding the fact that you just had no idea what to get. I think I will be buying some of these for my Father in Law and my Brother in Law along with some nice wine and choccies so they get a bit of the best of things.

I used this to shave my legs and as I only had a cheap bic disposable razor wasn't expecting the best of results but I was pleasantly surprised. For once using a cheap disposable razor didn't leave my legs feeling burnt and red. Not to mention the shave creme worked it's way into my skin so even before moisturising my legs they were noticeable soft and shiny. Better yet when I did put the moisturiser on I didn't get the sting that I have known to get from applying products to razor burnt legs. I would be really keen to try out the moisturiser from Primal Earth for the ultimate combo in shaving my legs.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 17th of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love that there is finally a product for "His and Hers" - awesome! Saves room in our shower, saves money and just seems so much more practical. In fact I have been using a few of the Primal Earth range and think more of their products could be labelled "Hers" as well! This tube is labelled as a solution to those bathroom moments, where she has used all his stuff and then there is nothing left... Finally a solution... New Primal Earth Sensitive Shave Gel for his face and her legs!

When I read the scent was mango and vanilla I was rather excited as they are both scents I really like - I was a little disappointed it was just a mellow nice blend which didnt smell very strongly - though this is probably a good thing as my fiancee probably wouldnt have touched the product if it smelt the way I wanted it to!

The directions are simple, so anyone can do it. The first time I used this product I was about to go out when I suddenly realised I REALLY needed to shave my legs... So I quickly grabbed this product to try as I sat on the edge of the bath and quickly shaved my legs. Having never used a shave cream, gel or any product before I didnt really have anything to go by - except for the fact that when I normally did this process with soap I would often get razor burn on my legs from not having enough water/soap when shaving - this time round I didnt which is AWESOME!

The lather is minimal, like I say I dont have another product to compare this to but for some reason I kind of expected it to lather a little, rather it was more like a moisturiser on my skin. It felt nice when shaving, it well coated the area and meant my razor could easily glide over my legs.

I will definately be using this product again and again! Totally recommend to others to try! Another fantastic product from Primal Earth.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 4th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I do love the packaging of these Primal products. Nice green and natural looking is great.

Now when I read shave creme I thought foam cream, but it wasn't, it was more like hand cream, which was good. I gave this a go on my legs and underarm, used a small amount about the size of a 10cent piece.

It was easy to use, it didnt foam up or leave a gross feeling on my hands. The cream made it easy for me to shave my leg, afterwards my leg was soft and smooth which I really liked.

The smell was pleasant and the feel of it was good, it was easy to use in the shower and didn't make a huge mess, this will last for a while with only using a small amount so i recommend this product.

Normally after a few hours of shaving I start getting itchy, this hasn't happened, my leg feels smooth still with no redness or marks.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 4th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

First and foremost I am loving the new look from Primal Earth...Very fitting and very funky...clean, green and fresh so well done there!

OKay so we were given an awesome pack of Primal Earth products to play with, 5 in total, in an awesome green box. Makes it all seem so natural and clean. The box contains 5 fantastic Primal Earth products and this Sensitive Shave Creme is one of them, and it is for his and her. Primal Earth states the product has been made as a solution to those bathroom moments, where she uses all his stuff and then there is nothing left for him when he needs it LOL Icon "Finally a solution! New Primal Earth Sensitive Shave Gel for his face and her legs."

So packaging as stated is awesome. Each bottle/tube is sealed under the lid, so this is nice to know, as it means no-one has been able to fiddle with the products before me and the foil seal is simple and easy to remove too.

The smell is that of mango and vanilla which I really loved. I am a huge fan of vanilla scented anything, so it was no surprise to me that I really liked the aroma of this creme, and further more neither the mango nor the vanilla was to over-bearing it was just a nice blend, which is possibly why hubby also liked it. Any stronger though and I do not think he would have been so keen.

The directions are simple, so any man (or woman can do it):
- Take a small amount between palms and lather.
- Apply to his or her damp skin.
- Shave with a sharp blade then rinse.
Easy!! What more could you ask for really? lol

Okay so the lather is only minimal, which is possibly a good thing, as like hubby said he likes to see what he is doing, and the creme aided him to do this. But at the same time he wasn't sure he was getting as close a shave as he does with his foams. I liked the feeling it gave when shaving, and felt like my razor was gliding easily and effortlessly over my legs. I also noted that my razor did not seem to clog up as much as it has done with past products.

I love the his and hers Primal Earth Sensitive Shave Creme and had no reactions to it, which is common for me as I have very sensitive skin. I liked that the smell lingered on hubby for a long while after his shave too. I finished shaving feeling clean, fresh and happy!

Two thumbs up from us.Thumbs UpThumbs Up

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 4th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Being, as I am, a rather hirsute chap when it comes to the neck-&-up area I like to make sure the products I use are suitable for mixed skin. Depending on whether I am shaving for a full beard, or shaving it down to a goatee, this can sometimes mean using two products in different areas on my face - one for the areas that are always exposed, and another to deal with the skin that often has hair, making up the full beard.

With Movember coming, and my putting my dignity, and facial hair, on the line to fundraise, and not knowing what areas I will have to shave off totally at the end of Movember, I wasn't able to really test the hard-to-deal-with areas using this range of products. But from what I did see from the test performed, this is going to be one of the products I use at the end of next month for sure!

It went on so smoothly, and allowed the blades to slide cleanly without clogging. I have no idea how it managed this feat, but it just seemed easier to clean the blades at the end of each pass. Also, being a creme, it didn't foam up into a blinding mess, but stayed low-froth so I could not only see where I had been, but also clearly see where I was going too. (It always amuses me when guys say "I need the foam so I can see where I have been..." - Dude, where you have been HAS NO HAIR! C'mon, really?! You haven't worked that out yet?!)

The smell... well, my sense of smell is a bit whacky at the best of times, but I didn't find this is any way unpleasant - a little unexpected and fruitier than I would normally go for, but heck, to me it smelled more like fruit salad with peppermint ice-cream on it. (I did say my sense of smell was a bit whacky, didn't I.) None the less it was a 'soft' smell that didn't sting or irritate my nose as I shaved, which is always a bonus.

Overall, this is a great product. It left my skin feeling smooth and refreshed, but not slippery and oily as some products can do. I will be keeping this handy for the end of Movember when I have to shave what could be significant portions of my fuzz-forest. I'll want a product I can trust, at that stage. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 1st of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

Well firstly I liked the packaging of these products. All very green and natural looking. These Primal Earth products are "100% vegetarian, no animal testing, artificial colors, parabens or phthalates. Just New Zealand naturally active ingredients that work."

Well I have to like that these products are natural so the first test is passed for me. The shave cream is labelled as a his/her product which probably explains the fruity smell. The smell reminded me very much of a mango Solero icecream... Hubby wasn't so keen on this smell and would have preferred more of a man smell! Hubby doesn't like his/hers products so doesn't rate this as highly as I do.

The consistency of this shave cream is about the consistency of my conditioner which I wasn't too sure about. I am a bit of a shaving foam girl so this was a little different. It lathered up ever so slightly and I got a good shave from it. Probably not as smooth as with my usual foam but this was satisfactory. I did like the smell and also my shaved areas felt moisturised and nice afterwards.

Hubby wasn't impressed with the lack of lather of this cream. He likes a lather and to be able to see where he has shaved which, because of the consistency of this, is hard to do.

I think this is probably a personal preference product and would depend a bit on hair coarseness etc also as not great for thick hair. It didn't cause razor burn or irritation in either of us. I would recommend trying this for a natural product but if you love a good foam this probably won't be for you.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 27th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Of the five Primal Earth products I have been given to review the sensitive shave creme is the only one that is labelled as for him and her. All the others have been for him. Interestingly it is the only one that my husband has given me feedback on although they are all in the bathroom in plain sight for him to try.

The mango fragrance was too fruity for him and he thought the consistency was strange for a shave creme. I have however noticed that the tube is a little emptier each time I go to use it so it shows he is continuing to use it too.

I also noticed the fragrance. It wasn't that I disliked it, I actually quite liked the mango vanilla scent. It was that it smelt so different from the other products in the range which all had the aloe vera aroma.

I have used the shave creme both with and without a shower puff. I found that with a shower puff I was able to use a lot less. It lathers up slightly. It did a great job of lubricating my skin so the razor didn't drag. There were no nicks while using it. It also was great at preventing razor burn and my skin felt very smooth afterwards.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 26th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I opened this tube yesterday to have a try of it under my arms. I can get a rash if I'm not careful under there so I figured that was the best place to test this product. Plus it's easily hidden if there is a reaction. Luckily for me, nothing did go wrong and the result was a nice smooth shave.

I really liked the packaging of this product. Its a real vibrant green. The wording is in a good font, and was easy to read. I do think some people may struggle with the white on green, but I personally didn't.

I liked that there was a foil I had to remove to get the product to flow as well. I'm not terribly worried about tampering, but it is nice that I know this wasn't tampered with. It was also really good that the foil came off easily and I didnt have to struggle to get it loose.

The smell of this product is a lovely mango fragrance. I found it refreshing, but easily unisex. I also liked that this is a creme. I've tried all sorts of different shave products but hadn't tried a creme before so it was novel. Aside from being different though, it was actually good.

It does lather a bit, however it is low suds. This means you could use it for beard-shaping too. It was easy to use and gave me a good shave considering my razor is a bit past its best before. You really do not need a lot in your hand to get good coverage so its going to last a fair while as well. Afterwards you have a light mangoy fragrance that lingers for a bit. It's not overpowering though.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 6.8
Product reviews for listing 1128: Bodeze Sportz
Brand: Bodeze

Product image for Bodeze Sportz A complete body sugaring pack with an invigorating Citrus fragrance. Natural All body, Water soluble, Luxuriously warm and spreadable.

Pack Contains:
    •  300g/10.5oz hair removal gel
    •  30 Large hair removal strips
    •  3 Disposable/reusable spatulas
    •  3 Eyebrow ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Biologically speaking, if something bites you it's more likely to be female"
Desmond Morris

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream