Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 21st October 2019 - 08:08:21

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Personal Hygiene > Azor S Sensitive Razor review

« Azor 5 Sensitive System Razor reviewAzor 5 Sensitive System RazorWhen She Woke reviewWhen She Woke »

Score: 8.6/10  [12 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3180 - Azor S Sensitive Razor
Brand: King of Shaves

Azor S Sensitive Razor
Price:
$11.95
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by King of Shaves

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers, and via the online store

Azor S Sensitive Razor product reviews

The Azor S is no ordinary razor. As easy on the eye as it is on your face, thanks in no small part to great design and its unique flexible head innovation that ensures constant contact between blade and skin. Call it the 'Technology of Bendology'. Or simply better.

With 2 Endurium cartridges included. The Azor "shaves better because it bends" razor is brought to you by King of Shaves, the UK's second biggest shaving software brand. Combining shaving comfort and performance with design and style, the Azor delivers the King of Shaves, without the expense of many of its competitors. The Azor combines shaving comfort and performance. The unique flexible hinge incorporates our "Bendology Technology" which allows the Endurium coated super long-lasting blades to shave at optimum pressure against the skin whilst the large soft rubber 'bumper' helps reduce risk of unwanted nicks and lifts stubble for a smoother more comfortable shave.

The Azor's uniquely patented wishbone-shaped head design provides greater visibility when shaving and the ergonomically designed, lightweight handle allows for a superbly comfortable shave which effortlessly follows every contour and curve of your face.

www.shave.co.nzClick out to an external site

Check out King of Shaves onlineClick here to see all the listings for King of Shaves Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
azor   blade   razor   shave
Other listings you may be interested in:
SuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh CitrusSuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh Citrus
Rating: 9.2
AlphaGel Shave Gel - SensitiveAlphaGel Shave Gel - Sensitive
Rating: 8.9
Quattro Energy razorQuattro Energy razor
Rating: 7.0
SuperBalm Ultimate Face BalmSuperBalm Ultimate Face Balm
Rating: 8.8
Azor 5 Sensitive System RazorAzor 5 Sensitive System Razor
Rating: 8.3
AlphaGel Shave Gel - Cooling MentholAlphaGel Shave Gel - Cooling Menthol
Rating: 8.4
SuperSkin Ultimate MoisturiserSuperSkin Ultimate Moisturiser
Rating: 9.2
Air Freshener Sweet TangerineAir Freshener Sweet Tangerine
Rating: 9.4
M3Power razorM3Power razor
Rating: 9.1
Kinexium Shaving OilKinexium Shaving Oil
Rating: 5.5
SuperScrub Ultimate Face ScrubSuperScrub Ultimate Face Scrub
Rating: 8.8
Fusion Power RazorFusion Power Razor
Rating: 9.5
Roto DusterRoto Duster
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 3rd of February, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Very good value for money, this will be on my to-buy list from now on. Despite it's unusual shape and almost "backwards" feeling design, I found the razor to provide an excellent shave and a really smooth finish, though I did find I needed to apply more pressure than I would with other shavers. This wasn't a problem, it turned out, because the blades are so well designed that I still ended up without any razor-rash which I certainly would have had from other blades if I applied as much pressure. On the downside, I do think the extra pressure for the same result takes a little of the WOW away from this.

I don't have overly sensitive skin so using a "sensitive" blade didn't make as much sense to me, but I felt it was worth trying and I am glad I did. Even though it only has 4 blades, they just did so much better than my current 5-bladed shaver that I paid almost half again as much for.

All in All I was pretty impressed, and that's not easy to do over personal grooming equipment. Products that are used in such a personal manner, quality and effectiveness are everything, and King of Shaves certainly carries more than enough products that fit those two critical criteria. My only critique would have to be the "backwards" design. Because of patents snapped up by the big brands, covering even the tiniest details of design, a radical shift was required, but it still takes a lot of getting used to. The results and price make it worthwhile to put in that small effort though.

Click here to read the profile of diogenes

Review by: diogenes (Rob)
Dated: 23rd of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I've been a wet shaver for a number of years now and have been deliberately been avoiding the multi-bladed systems after a razor by a rival brand gave a particularly bad shave (where I felt I hadn't shaved). And so I abandoned the multiblades in favour of a vintage single bladed razor with real shaving creams and a damned good badger brush.

The razor, to be is counter-intuitive. Press and scrape rather than glide over the skin with a feather-weight pressure. However, I did give it a go and it did provide a decent shave with minimal fuss (compared with my usual shaving routine) and a baby-bum smoothness. I did find the flatter panels (!) of my face much easier than under the nose, the angle of the jaw and chin because of the width of the head. The width of the shaving head is quite wide when one combines the rubber skin stretcher and the lubricating strip but I reckon it is the flatness of the shaving head rather than the wide, curved, heads that I'm used to. However on a recent business trip to China, I took this razor with me, along with some of the shaving gels and used them for a whole week and got that smooth enough results to look professional.

I used the razor both with KoS shaving creams with good results; but also used with some of my vintage shaving creams. Although the razor perfomed well with other shaving creams in terms of smooth shaves; the head rolled the shaving cream into blobs that dripped off my chin without providing the slip needed. It definitely works best with KoS shaving gels.

Although for me it is great travel razor or secondary razor, it will never be my first choice. There is nothing wrong with the razor, it just isn't for me. However, my young brother-in-law loved it when he tried it.

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 22nd of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

While this razor was good to use I didn't find it as effective as the other razor, I didn't get as close a shave and my skin didn't feel as smooth afterwards. It was also very lightweight and my personal preference is for a heavier razor.

The feature I did like was again the "Y" shape giving somewhere to rest the tip of my finger and help give more control and pressure while shaving, made it much less likely for me to be a total fumble fingers and drop it.

One problem I did discover however with both this razor and since my review of the other one, was that they do break more easily than I would expect. I managed to knock BOTH of my husbands razors out from our shower caddy by accident and BOTH broke at a point where the head clips onto the razor, a tiny little bit of plastic but it rendered both razors then useless. I've never had this problem with any other razors before and goodness knows I've dropped enough of them. Granted these are men's razors but given I know that my husband isn't the only one who shaves in the shower, this is something that would effect our choice to buy them or not.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 22nd of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I'm not normally a person for manual shaves, that's not to say i've never shaved manually before, I just normally don't. This is mainly because I have sensitive skin when it comes to manually shaving. However having now found some shaving gels that work wonders with my skin, I was ready to give the Azor S Sensitive Razor a whirl.

First off as with any new razor I started gently, after I had done a complete shave I ran my hand over and thought to myself, well that was a rubbish shave, but being the fair and respectable reviewer that I am, I went to a second round, this time putting a bit of pressure on (and having the wash cloth at the ready for any nicks and cuts that might occur), well what a difference a bit of pressure makes. My skin went from still a bit rough and ready, to better than my electric razor does. I won't say it was a smooth as a baby's posterior as that is rather cliche and a bit overselling the product, but it was still quite smooth.

On the quality side, it felt a little bit light and flimsy to me, but was still certainly far more rigid than those nasty el cheapo disposable razors you get from the supermarket in bulk bags of 100,000 (or at least it seems to be that many).

The only real gripe I have is the small amount of extra heads, however if the heads on this razor lasts twice as long as the other brands, then it won't really matter in the long run.

All up a good razor and not badly priced either.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 1st of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Ok to be honest this razor does not really work for hubby, nor myself. We both felt that it did a less than close shave and left, we felt, a fair amount of stubble. perhaps we needed to apply more pressure, but when ya have a fear of blood and cuts LOL Icon one tends to not over do the pressure... however that said, even after using 3 times we still felt that it did not really do as good a job as other razors.

The bendy head also takes a lot of getting used to and the design is somewhat backwards also causing confusion. Perhaps with further 'practise' one might find it does work better than it has so far, but at this point in time we both prefer the Azor 5 for overall performance, in terms of use, style, and close shave. Maybe the razor would be best suited for those with fine hair?

I have noticed though that nicks and cuts are a thing of the past with the Azor style of razors, and so are rashes, so big ups there Smile Icon

So unfortunately this razor is not one of personal choice, and not really one we would recommend all to often. That said however, my brother in law uses these razors and he swears by them saying he gets a great shave every time.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiwests

Review by: kiwiwests (Susan)
Dated: 31st of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 6 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 2 out of 10

Thanks for letting us review this razor. We both used this razor and although it seems a good product we were not keen on it. The bendy head took some getting used to and made the razor feel a little flimsy. Once you get over the bendy head though, it does a great job of leaving smooth unirritated skin, when we used it with the King of Shaves Gel. But personally we were not sold on it. Probably a personal choice though, as I am sure that a lot of people will love it.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 30th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Having sorted out which gel works best for me, it was time to test blades. Again, lathing up one side of my face with my regular product, and the other half with the blue-goo gel, I prepared to give my face the once-over with this blade. To be honest, it felt like I was holding it backwards, because I am so used to the blade leaning forward of the handle, not back from it.

In line with every first shave with a new blade, I was careful to apply only gentle pressure... usually this results in a fair shave but hardly smooth, but firm pressure results in irritation rash... or blood. The soft pressure in this case did the expected passable job, but applying a firmer pressure did not give me grief, it gave me baby-bum smoothness - I was overjoyed!

The results between using my regular foamed product and the KoS gel were a little harder to distinguish - they both felt really good - however my wife informed me that one side of my face did in fact feel better to her... not surprisingly, the side of my face that used the King's finest blue goo. Double-strike win for the King!

Overall, this is a pretty good innovation indeed. Priced either a few dollars higher, or lower, than competing products - depending on where you buy and their current discount specials and loyalty-reward options - this sits fairly well on the fence when it comes to cost... but value for money is something only time will tell. While many competing brands sell you a handle and 4-8 heads, this kit came with only 1 spare head... so it's going to have to give me twice as many shaves to meet the others head on. But, does it go a good job... the burning question. Answer - Heck yes! Better than any other I have tried thus far. In fairness though, every other major brand has released a new "latest hot thing" in the last couple of months - I would be keen to put them up against this for a better comparison.

Click here to read the profile of jewellnz

Review by: jewellnz (Carole)
Dated: 28th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

On first appearances this razor did not look as striking or nicely packaged as the other razor.

However it does seem to be good value for money, with the extra cartridges included in the price, so that in itself could be an attraction to buying this product.

In general a nice little razor, that is light and easy to use.

The design reminds me a little of a special type potato peeler i used to have,so does not exactly conjure up an image of glamour to me,but then it is practical and simple to use and designed with the mere male in mind.

I did not feel this one gave me such a good shave as the Razor with the five blade system,still my skin was left feeling smooth and supple and i would not hesitate to recommend either razor , a good quality product that delivers . (Husbands review)

we found nicks and cuts a thing of the past with both King of Shaves Razors.

Click here to read the profile of christinedixon

Review by: christinedixon (Christine)
Dated: 27th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Came well packed so it was tamper proof, took some time getting the razor out of the package. Good shaped razor totally different to the "T" shaped ones I have all used for years. I loved the colorful Blue white & black design, looked like a"Y" sling shot with a pivoting bending head. comes with an additional 2 cartridges, and a plastic display stand to store the razor after use. So I prepped my face with warm water and applied the gel to my face and started to shave the gel off, I could see quite clearly where to shave with the low foam gel, It left my face feeling nice and cool and the razor did a good close shave ,skin was smooth well moisturized and no sign of any missed facial hair stubble I had no trouble steering the razor as it glided effortlessly over and around my moustache or around the jaw or chin area,and up the neck area I felt quite confident using the razor and it was very comfortable to hold and felt quite light. I was impressed with the shaving results no nicks or cuts or even razor burn like some razors and blades from other company's give you. so quite impressed with the Azor S Sensitive Razor and would definitely continue using it as part of my daily routine so i give this product 10/10 and its a Thumbs Upthumbs up from me.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 24th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

The Azor S Sensitive Razor comes in striking white packaging with blue and black lettering. This gives the product a clean, professional look. The package itself offered some difficulty to get into. This was reassuring though, as with many other products it's important to have tamper-proof packaging for safety. Also helps prevents any of the items included from coming loose.

Seeing the product was endorsed via the FHM Essential Awards for 2010 definitely piqued my interest as to how the razor would perform compared to my old Gillette. It was great to see that the pack also included 2 cartridges, so there would be no need to purchase a refill following the first blunting.

This razor has 4 blades, and it definitely seems that the more blades included the smoother the shave. The handle is quite different from anything else I have tried. It almost seemed the complete opposite of old razors. That said, the handling was really good and was a bit easier especially on difficult to reach parts, such as around the chin.

The shave was smooth, with only a very slight prickly when the skin was rubbed against the grain and that was only on my cheek bones. The rest of my face was smooth all over.

I found this product easy to use, effective and even storage was easy, with the razor slotting back into the cartridge holder. I would definitely consider purchasing more cartridges for this razor when I have blunted the ones I have.

Click here to read the profile of archway77

Review by: archway77 (Brendan)
Dated: 24th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I've been using this razor for a couple of weeks now after switching from a Gillette Fusion 5 blade razor which is "meant" to be the dogs bollocks of all wet razors, and not being overly satisfied, I have to say that this is a vast improvement.

The shape of the razor is not what you expect after spending years of shaving with razors of the same generic T shape that most people identify with, this has a number of nifty features. A particular favourite of mine is the rubber bumper that precedes the leading edge. This has dramatically reduced the number of nicks and cuts I've given myself over the past few weeks down to 0. I have a mole on my neck in an awkward position that has been cut to shreds over the years as I've tried different razors and this is the first razor ever not to cause it to bleed.

I've been using this razor in conjunction with the KOS AlphaGel Sensitive which again has been a new experience (for reasons I will tell you in my review of that product) and it has been producing superb results. In fact the combination of products lead me to wonder if I was actually cutting anything the first time I used it as the shave was so smooth (and yes I was). I have tried switching to using the Azor S with a more traditional shaving foam (Nivea Sensitive), however I found that the results were not as spectacular and soon switched back. If someone is looking at switching to the King Of Shaves then I would certainly recommend that they also switch their lubrication as well and go for one of the KOS gels too.

Really happy with this product and can't believe what it does for a fraction of the cost of it's more widely known counterparts produced by Gillette or Schick. I can't see me changing back anytime soon.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 21st of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

The Azor S razor is very similar to the very good Azor 5 sensitive system razor, but there is a few differences to know about.

Firstly this shaver has 4 blades, to me anything more then 1 blade is good, and to be honest I can't really feel much difference between a 4 blade and 5 blade razor, maybe my face isn't that sensitive, makes me wonder if I should just use sandpaper instead.

Back to the serious review of this product. It is a good shaver with many features that are common for a King of Shaves shaver, the blades are coated with endurium allowing for a a sharper blade longer. It has the softer flex bendology head allowing for a closer shave by constant contact to the face.

The whole razor is a nice light package and allows for easy control over where you want it to go, pairing it up with King of Shaves shaving gel, really does give you a great result.

And with this pack, you get two cartridges included, I think this represents great value for money for a razor that can give a really close shave, with the reduced chance of cutting oneself while shaving, and the blades do stay sharp longer then other comparable razors.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 5798: Twistick Clean Me - Travel Soap -  Brand: Twistick

Product image for Twistick Clean Me - Travel SoapThe Original Twistick travel soap is a natural antibacterial soap you can use anywhere. It's gentle and safe for all skin types, and it has no chemicals so it's safe for our environment too.

    •  All Natural
    •  ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"In all affairs it's a healthy thing now and then to hang a question mark on the things you have long taken for granted."
Bertrand Russell (1872 - 1970)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream