Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 22nd July 2019 - 15:33:25

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Yoghurts > Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Passionfruit review

« Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mango reviewPiako Gourmet Yoghurt - MangoPiako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mixed Berry reviewPiako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mixed Berry »

Score: 9.1/10  [13 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 2813 - Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Passionfruit
Brand / Manufacturer Piako Gourmet Yoghurt

Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Passionfruit
Price:
varies
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Piako Gourmet Yoghurt

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Passionfruit product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOur yoghurt is based on Grandma's recipe a thick creamy Australian Greek style yoghurt, originating from Queensland, but now full blown kiwi made using only the best local New Zealand ingredients. Free from preservatives and artificial ingredients the 100% natural yoghurt is rich in benefits and 95% fat free.

Health benefits include, a pro biotic containing acidophilus, bifidus and casei culture strains. All which assist in boosting the levels of good bacteria in the body more specifically the gut system.

Passionfruit - our best seller, using a dash of pure Passionfruit pulp. The bitterness of the passion complements the sweetness of the yoghurt perfectly.

Check out Piako Gourmet Yoghurt onlineClick here to see all the listings for Piako Gourmet Yoghurt Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
acidophilus   bifidus   casei   greek   honey   natural   nzmade   passionfruit   yoghurt
Other listings you may be interested in:
Howler Hotdogs - Original HowlerHowler Hotdogs - Original Howler
Rating: 9.4
Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - NaturalPiako Gourmet Yoghurt - Natural
Rating: 9.3
Maketu Pepper Steak pieMaketu Pepper Steak pie
Rating: 9.0
Light Muscovado Unrefined Cane SugarLight Muscovado Unrefined Cane Sugar
Rating: 9.4
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Indian Spice RubSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Indian Spice Rub
Rating: 9.3
Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - MangoPiako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mango
Rating: 8.9
Kiwi Party MixKiwi Party Mix
Rating: 10.0
House of Dumplings - Vegan TreatsHouse of Dumplings - Vegan Treats
Rating: 8.8
Mac Bar - MilkMac Bar - Milk
Rating: 7.8
Hellers Pumpkin & Smokey Bacon SoupHellers Pumpkin & Smokey Bacon Soup
Rating: 9.3
Cobb & Co. Family RestaurantCobb & Co. Family Restaurant
Rating: 9.1
Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mixed BerryPiako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mixed Berry
Rating: 9.2
Maketu Steak & Vegetable pieMaketu Steak & Vegetable pie
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 17th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The other day I was lucky enough to sample some Piako Yoghurt at the supermarket and I instantly fell in love with it, and claimed it to be the best yoghurt that I have probably ever tasted due to the thick creamy texture of it, so during the weekly grocery shop yesterday I couldn't walk down the yoghurt isle without selecting a tub of Piako yoghurt to buy, the flavours all sounded delicious and the colours and amount of sauce and toppings I could see through the clear packaging proved making it very difficult to decide which flavour to buy, but in the end passionfruit and the spiced apple varieties won me over.

Opening the lid of the yoghurt I was greeted by lashings of yummy passionfruit topping, it didn't look at all artificial but like it had been scooped straight out of a fresh passionfruit and placed on top of the yoghurt, this largely due to the amount of the black seeds which it contained. The texture of the yoghurt is so thick and creamy and reminds of a texture that is more similar to that of custard than a yoghurt, it is the perfect sweetness and the tart taste of the juicy passionfruit just goes so well with it, without a doubt this is the best yoghurt that I've ever tasted.

The yoghurt was also enjoyed by Miss 3 and my partner who also is a passionfruit fan. As well as being a great tasting yoghurt it also contains many health benefits such as being gluten free and being probiotic, something I tend to look for when buying yoghurt these days, its also made in New Zealand which is a bonus.. the packaging is really cute as it is done in a black and white theme to resemble that of a cow and has a tiny picture of a cow on the front, this makes it easy to spot on the supermarket shelves.

This is a product I will be buying again, especially since it goes on special a lot, can't wait to try others in the range.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 5th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I purchased a tub of this Piako Gourmet Yoghurt in my shopping this week. I got the passionfruit flavour to try. I do love passionfruit and it always makes me think of summer. So even on drizzly days, it will be a welcome flavour in my house. Also it comes with the black passionfruit seeds which means no one else in my household will want to eat it. Score!

The tub is a nice size for my fridge. I found that I could fit it in, on top of another container. Sometimes yoghurt tubs are a bit too tall to do that. I liked the cow motif. Its cute and friendly looking. The lid was a bit difficult to get open at first. It took approximately a minute to lever the security tab off with my thumb. However, once that opened the lid came off easily. It also resealed easily which is important to me. I have had some products where once the security tab is off the lid only sits on top of the tub and not very securely at all.

I loved the style of this yoghurt. Its greek style, so thick and creamy and not as sour as some. The passionfruit pulp was carefully folded into the yoghurt rather than sitting on top. That meant I didn't have to do the folding myself. I served it on my porridge for the morning. It was perfect on hot porridge as it cooled my breakfast down for eating and didn't get too runny. The passionfruit sour/yoghurt sweet is a great balance. I would definitely get this yoghurt again. Though I'm keen to see what the other flavours are like!

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 21st of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Passionfruit is the most yummiest bestest ever yoghurt I have ever tried...I am now so addicted!! I love the creaminess of the yoghurt and the sharp taste of the passionfruit pulp that offers up the perfect blend of heaven on a spoon!!

The price is a lot but I don't mind paying for top quality, and yummy food. It is on special at my supermarket a lot...guessing a lot of people can't justify spending that amount on a pot of yoghurt so it goes on clearance as the due date is expiring, so I always look out for it and stock up as I can easily eat one tub in a sitting!!!

I love the added benefits of the pro biotic containing acidophilus, bifidus which keeps my body healthy and I like knowing that I am putting natural ingredients into my body. I totally recommend this brand of yoghurt and especially this flavour as I think it is the best one out of the available flavours.

Keep an eye out for it at your supermarket because I can guarantee you, you will love this yoghurt, after one spoonful you will be in heaven and you will be hooked...it is yummo!!

Click here to read the profile of mello5

Review by: mello5 (Mel)
Dated: 12th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Texture:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

This is my favourite yoghurt! It is creamy and sweet with a nice tang to it also. I think it has a nice texture to it too, i like the thick smoothness of the yoghurt then the passionfruit put just tops it off perfectly. I have been known to put some whipped cream on top of it, so i get a super sweet taste and then the tang from the yoghurt.

I buy this as a treat when it is on special. I tried it the first time when it was reduced with a short date. I now buy it often.

Would i buy again? Yes i would. Only on special though, its quite expensive for the size of it. Would i buy as a gift? Yes i would, and i have. i have my mother on to it now too.

Click here to read the profile of christinedixon

Review by: christinedixon (Christine)
Dated: 12th of October, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I first came across this wonderful Piako Yoghurt while staying with friends in Hamilton last summer. We had a day out shopping and we stopped for grocery's on the way home, and I purchased Piako Passionfruit at my friends recommendation as it was her favorite yoghurt and now it has become mine too. I have always loved the taste of passionfruit, and the yoghurt was Greek styled thick and creamy with the added benefit of pro-biotics
You can also use Piako Yoghurt in baking cakes and muffins or as a cream filling or icing ideal for putting on a pavlova cake or a sponge cake or trifle. the ideas and uses are endless my personal favorite is passionfruit its thick and creamy fruity melt in the mouth heaven on a spoon for me, and I don't stop until the pot is empty its that good once you've had Piako no other yoghurt is quite the same.and with a added bonus 94% fat free,100% gluten free includes probiotic health benefits as it contains acidophilus, bifidus and casei live culture strains. All which assist in boosting higher levels of good bacteria flora in the stomach.
I would recommend this product to everyone and give it the thumbs up, but would like to see it stocked in retail stores in west Auckland eg: Pak n Save and Countdown.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 4th of May, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Texture:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Now i've never really been a fan of passionfruit by itself (yeah okay i'm picky when it comes to fruit okay....), but this one wasn't too bad, I actually found it rather edible. The texture was once again just like the other yoghurts, nice and creamy, and I really didn't notice the seeds much at all.

When this yoghurt really came into it's own for me however was when used as a topping for some sliced peaches (either fresh or canned), as I really think passionfruit is the perfect compliment for peach.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 2nd of May, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I believe this is the best Piako yoghurt EVER!!!!!!! It had a glorious texture, and just one little teaspoon of this stuff made my jaws clench and my mouth water. I could tell that this was passionfruit flavoured without needing to look at the lid or taste it, I could see a lot of seeds in the mix, about 40% of the yoghurt was passionfruit seeds, which I love by the way.

This is yoghurt that always needs to be stirred before eating, as some of the sauce was liquid, and it looked repulsive! However all that was settled once I gave it a good, hard stir. The taste was awesome; it was truly heaven for my taste buds.

This certainly beats the regular yoghurt put in little pots, so I think you will love this stuff.

Click here to read the profile of sezb72

Review by: sezb72 (Sarah)
Dated: 27th of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Texture:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I really enjoyed this flavour of the Piako yoghurts. I'm not a big fan of the passionfruit seeds, but the full flavour was great. Tastes just like passionfruit cheesecake every mouthful.

This yoghurt has a Weight Watchers Propoint value of 3 for 100gms (which is one serving and 1/5th of the large 500gm container). So its not too bad on the health front and the delicious taste makes it worth 'spending' 3 ProPoints on.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 3rd of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Texture:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Hmmm this one was probably my least favorite from the Piako range.

I am not a big fan of passionfruit, so was a little apprehensive about trying it. It is nice, but not to my liking personally. There did not seem to be too many seeds, I think it had the right amount in it, and the flavor was not overbearing. If I liked passionfruit though, the review might be a little different.

It is light and creamy, but doesn't seem to be as creamy as the others in the range, and the kids weren't too keen on this one either. Compared to the rest, we actually discarded just a little that was left uneaten, whereas the rest from the range were completely finished.

Not one we would personally buy.

Click here to read the profile of karee.bell

Review by: karee.bell (Karee)
Dated: 2nd of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This Piako yoghurt has a thick and creamy taste, very palatble with a yummy passionfruit sauce.

I found I had to give the yoghurt a really good stir in order to get the sauce to blend thru completely, would have been best if there was maybe more sauce in it.

There was just the right amount of seeds thru the sauce also, which was great!

This Piako yoghurt would be my second choice of the range of flavours.

Click here to read the profile of craftmadhermit

Review by: craftmadhermit (Tess)
Dated: 2nd of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Out of all the Piako yoghurts I tried, this has definitely been my favourite! Once the pulp was mixed thoroughly through the yoghurt, the passionfruit flavour was nice and strong, picking up a bit of the sour tang of the yoghurt while still keeping the sweetness of the passionfruit. This made for a very tasty, strong flavoured, thick, creamy yoghurt that I could easily have eaten the entire container load and still wanted more!

Great as a snack, a light meal if mixed with fruit or on cereal, or as dessert, Piako's "Passionfruit" is one I want to be getting on a regular basis. The containers are easily stackable and make for a good sized portion (although a little bit bigger wouldn't hurt.. hehe), but just keep an eye on the "best before" date, as these yoghurts don't have a very long life span. Definitely well worth spending the extra coin though to get a yoghurt of a quality higher than most. "Please Sir, can I have some... more?!"

Click here to read the profile of mrsoffensive

Review by: mrsoffensive (Natasha)
Dated: 21st of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This particular yoghurt had a very tart passionfruit flavour. However with a good stir it came out to be a very delightful and pleasant flavour.

The yoghurt itself was very light and creamy. The only gripe I would have about this yoghurt is that there were too many seeds throughout it, but after the good stir it was less of an issue.

This would have been my third pick of all the flavours in the range.

Click here to read the profile of fuzzy01mnas

Review by: fuzzy01mnas (Marie)
Dated: 14th of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Texture:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

This is a really yummy yoghurt. The flavor is well rounded and goes well, not at all bitter tasting like some passionfruit ones out there.

I tried this first without mixing it and it was ok but thought it tasted so much better once I stirred it all up. It had a much more creamy taste to it.

I did find it had quite a bit of passionfruit seeds which I am not a fan of but I really enjoyed the flavor that was right through it. It would have to be the best passionfruit yoghurt that is available on the market. Well done Piako, great job.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 1381: The Brewer's Apprentice -  Located: 334 Church Street, Palmerston North

Product image for The Brewer3 months have passed and this magnificent building has been treated to an unbelievable makeover with attention to detail oozing out of every corner, nook and cranny.

They are the latest member of the 'Monteiths Concept Bar' family and this one has been a vision of the owners for the last 6 years.

The Brewers Apprentice is a ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Apathy rules! Well, it would, if it could be bothered to try."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream