Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 27th June 2019 - 04:46:29

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Yoghurts > Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mixed Berry review

« Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Passionfruit reviewPiako Gourmet Yoghurt - PassionfruitATH-M50 Professional Studio Monitor Headphones reviewATH-M50 Professional Studio Monitor Headphones »

Score: 9.2/10  [10 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 2814 - Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mixed Berry
Brand / Manufacturer Piako Gourmet Yoghurt

Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mixed Berry
Price:
varies
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Piako Gourmet Yoghurt

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mixed Berry product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOur yoghurt is based on Grandma's recipe a thick creamy Australian Greek style yoghurt, originating from Queensland, but now full blown kiwi made using only the best local New Zealand ingredients. Free from preservatives and artificial ingredients the 100% natural yoghurt is rich in benefits and 95% fat free.

Health benefits include, a pro biotic containing acidophilus, bifidus and casei culture strains. All which assist in boosting the levels of good bacteria in the body more specifically the gut system.

Mixed Berry - a vibrant mixed berry topping with blueberries, raspberries and blackberries.

Check out Piako Gourmet Yoghurt onlineClick here to see all the listings for Piako Gourmet Yoghurt Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
acidophilus   bifidus   blackberry   blueberry   casei   greek   honey   natural   nzmade   raspberry   yoghurt
Other listings you may be interested in:
Taste of India Butter Chicken Simmer SauceTaste of India Butter Chicken Simmer Sauce
Rating: 9.1
Americana pizzaAmericana pizza
Rating: 8.5
Organic Sicilian PestoOrganic Sicilian Pesto
Rating: 8.3
Moxies Cafe Moxies Cafe 
Rating: 9.5
Cuisine Scene Smokey Stout ChutneyCuisine Scene Smokey Stout Chutney
Rating: 8.9
Jewel of India : Lamb Korma WrapJewel of India : Lamb Korma Wrap
Rating: 8.0
Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - NaturalPiako Gourmet Yoghurt - Natural
Rating: 9.3
Huka Honey HiveHuka Honey Hive
Rating: 9.0
Cursed PizzaCursed Pizza
Rating: 8.8
Howler Hotdogs - Mitee Dogs with CheeseHowler Hotdogs - Mitee Dogs with Cheese
Rating: 9.1
Costa's Costa's 
Rating: 6.8
Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - MangoPiako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mango
Rating: 8.9
Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - PassionfruitPiako Gourmet Yoghurt - Passionfruit
Rating: 9.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 14th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I picked up a tub of this Piako Mixed Berry yoghurt the other day. I had been waiting for a good day to do some baking with it. Today was that day. I had a bunch of bananas going black on the bench and a recipe for banana and yoghurt muffins calling out to me to make them. So I got the baby down for a sleep and cleared some space for my baking creations.

Into a bowl I put mashed banana, flour, egg, oil, and a hearty cup full of this deliciously creamy looking yoghurt. I was excited to use this because banana and mixed berry sounded like an awesome combo. The batter smelt so yummy and the muffins baked really well. Unfortunately, the recipe has the ingredients for mayo inside of it basically, so the muffins tasted like banana and mayo! It wasn't the flavour I was hoping for. I got my baby up from her nap though and gave her a couple for her lunch and she monstered them. So now I have a batch of 36 mini muffins for her lunches.

Thankfully the recipe didn't waste all of the yoghurt and so I washed my mouth out with the remaining yoghurt in the packet. Same delicious creamy flavour of Greek Style yoghurt that we know and love from Piako. The mixed berry flavour has a good balance of berry and sweetness. It doesn't taste artificial and you have all the berry bits in there. It's not a sharp tart berry taste, but then that would not have matched well with the greek style. Just a great yoghurt, which is a shame the recipe I used with the muffins didn't work out.

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 22nd of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Piako Gourmet Yoghurt is the only brand of yoghurt I eat these days as I can't go back to eating other brands of thinner, runnier yoghurts that taste as they they are artificially flavoured...I love the thick, creamy and almost cheese like flavour that Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mixed Berry flavour offers. It literally sticks to the spoon and the punch of the fruit that cuts through the sweetness of the yoghurt is perfect. It is real chunks of berry that you can actually see and since it isn't thoroughly mixed through the consumer of the yoghurt can choose the amount of yoghurt to berry ratio....less yoghurt and more berry equals more of a tart flavour, more yoghurt and less berry equals more of a sweet flavour.

The price is expensive but I don't mind paying for quality and Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mixed Berry is 100% quality!! Most of the time it is on special at my supermarket as they try and clear it off the shelves before the expiry date so I always make sure I keep an eye out for it, as I am totally addicted it is that good.

When it isn't on special I still buy it, it is a treat that is healthy and with the added benefits of a pro biotic containing acidophilus, bifidus it is an all round great product. I attend the occasional desert party and this is always my first choice to take along with me, my friends thought I was weird bringing yoghurt instead of a fancy creation of pudding madness but once they tried it they were converted!! Now I get requests to bring along my yoghurt haha.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 29th of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Like others this has to be my favourite of all the Piako yoghurt's. It's was like a nice thick and creamy berry smoothie. I like nice healthy smoothies, but I also love horribly unhealthy thick-shakes, and with this one it was almost like a perfect blending of the two. It had the flavours and textures of the berries combined at the perfect ratio to the creamy yoghurt base.

I actually had trouble believing that this was a full on 95% fat free yoghurt as it just tasted so wonderfully unhealthy, I can now happily sit back and consume this with a slightly less guilty conscience.

Click here to read the profile of sezb72

Review by: sezb72 (Sarah)
Dated: 27th of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This was my favourite of the Piako range. It had a really full berry flavour, nice and fruity which worked in nicely with the creamy yoghurt. My 5 year old son equally chose this as his favourite (ahead of even Chocolate Diary Food which is usually his top choice for dessert type yoghurts).

The berry is surprisingly well mixed in, though I did give it an extra stir just in case.

It has a Weight Watchers ProPoint value of 3 which is not too bad. Doesn't compare to healthier yoghurts, but this is really a delicious treat, so rates up there in my book.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 27th of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This is probably the best yoghurt I've ever tasted, it has a bit of a sour taste that adds a bit of a "Zing" which makes my mouth water! It has a nice, creamy texture that gives me an unusual sensation as it runs down my throat, I call it "The Piako Sensation". I find it really delicious in a smoothy, it is easily recognisable among the other ingredients, but it also tastes okay plain and unmixed.

Compared to the ordinary yoghurt found in little pots, I think that Piako is much, much better and has great taste value, despite the slight sourness that makes my jaw tendons tingle when I haven't had any yoghurt for a while. I think that it would be better if the yoghurt had some fresh strawberries mixed in, but it's not a major thing, it's still okay without anything else added to it.

I hope that the other Piako yoghurts are as good or better than this flavour, and I'm sure you'll love it too, so get ready to give your taste buds a trip to heaven with a side-trip to paradise, try some of Piako Organic Yoghurt today!

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 3rd of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I had never heard of Piako Yoghurts until recently, but I have to say these have got to be some of the nicest, creamiest, full of flavor yoghurts I have ever tried.

The mixed berry is a personal favorite now. If you enjoy 'ambrosia' - the desert with yoghurt, marshmallows etc in it - then you will adore this particular yoghurt. It tastes exactly like ambrosia minus the soggy marshmallow. Absolutely divine, and I had to txt everybody I knew within minutes to tell them so.

The other great thing about these, is the size of the pottle. A decent 500 grams of yoghurt. The little pottles just never seem like enough, but these are generous enough that you can have just a little more than normal.

Definitely worth trying if you have not yet done so.

Click here to read the profile of karee.bell

Review by: karee.bell (Karee)
Dated: 2nd of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am not a great fan of Berry flavoured yoghurts, so my hubby has done the review of this one.

This Piako yoghurt was again one of thick and creamy texture. The berry sauce was that of a thick sauce that needed a good stir thru in order to get the flavours flowing.

The taste of the berrys was as one would expect not tart and not too sweet.

The best thing was the fact that it was also full of the goodness of probiotics.

Click here to read the profile of craftmadhermit

Review by: craftmadhermit (Tess)
Dated: 2nd of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

After being so used to yoghurt brands like Yoplait, Fresh n Fruity, Meadowfresh, etc, I was not expecting just how different these Piako yoghurts would be. There was a slight hint of a sour, cheesy type flavour that took a fair bit of getting used to, quite different from the sweetness you usually find in most other yoghurts. After the first few tastes, I found myself quite enjoying the stronger, heavier flavour of the yoghurt, and it was even better once I mixed in the fruit pulp (in this case, berry pulp, which means there are a few berry seeds as well). The fruit pulp was rather subtle in taste, but still strong enough to break through the actual yoghurt flavour.

Thick and creamy, this yoghurt kind of reminded me of cream cheese, both in flavour and texture, and hardly had any after taste, until you got within a day or two of its "best before" date. Making it up into a smoothie (mixed with bananas and pears this time), made for a yummy, if slightly stronger tasting smoothie than you'd get if you used Yoplait yoghurt, and the portion size of the container is enough to enjoy a couple of smoothies or light meals meals, when mixed with fruit.

I thoroughly enjoyed my first taste of Piako yoghurt, and my first experience of any kind of "gourmet" type yoghurt, so would happily spend the extra $$ to get this again as a treat.

Click here to read the profile of mrsoffensive

Review by: mrsoffensive (Natasha)
Dated: 21st of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This flavour made it into second place out of the entire range in my opinion. As with the majority of the Piako Yoghurt range, I found that this needed to have a good stir to have the full effect of flavour throughout the entire tub.

It was yet another thick and creamy yoghurt base, with subtle fruit flavours along with lumps of tangy fruit throughout, making it a very pleasant explosion of flavour in your mouth.

I would also like to purchase more of this and try it as a frozen yoghurt in the future.

Click here to read the profile of fuzzy01mnas

Review by: fuzzy01mnas (Marie)
Dated: 11th of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

This is a really great thick and creamy yoghurt however the mixed berry flavor was not to my liking because it was a bit too tart. I am a big berry eater however I found the mix of blueberries, raspberries and blackberries to be not such a good mix in this case. Maybe if there was a sweeter berry mixed into it, it may have tasted better for me.

I did really enjoy the flavor of the yoghurt it's self - it almost tasted like a cheesecake filling that I once made.

I was the only one who did not like this flavor out of my husband and children. Maybe I am just fussy when it comes to things that are berry flavored.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.0
Product reviews for listing 485: Bellas Cafe
Located: No. 2 The Square, Palmerston North

Product image for Bellas CafeServing a menu of Italian, Thai and Pacific Rim dishes, with a sumptuous array of deserts made on the premises and perfect 'illy espresso.

Our extensive menu allows us to cater for any occasion, be it a quiet afternoon tea or a full evening meal.

Phone/Fax 06 3578616
www.bellas.co.nz

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I wonder if other dogs think poodles are members of a weird religious cult."
Rita Rudner

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream