Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 13th December 2019 - 07:23:44

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Proper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt review

« Proper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea Salt reviewProper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea SaltCecile's Boys & Gold Muesli reviewCecile's Boys & Gold Muesli »

Score: 9.6/10  [9 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 8347 - Proper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt -  Brand / Manufactured by: Proper Crisps

Proper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt
Price:
$4.20 / 150g bag
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Proper Crisps

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected supermarkets nationwide

Proper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsWe've dug deep to complement our traditional golden spuds, and found some purple heritage potatoes dating back to the earliest crops in New Zealand! These purple spuds have a sweet, nutty flavour with an added Proper touch of Sea Salt and a colourful blend of freshly cracked peppercorns.

Once the last morsel has been devoured, simply pop the packet in your garden compost and it will naturally decompose - how eco is that!

Check out Proper Crisps onlineClick here to see all the listings for Proper Crisps Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cold pressed   compostable   high oleic   marlborough   organic   pepper   potatoes   sea salt   sunflower   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Proper Crisps - Smoked PaprikaProper Crisps - Smoked Paprika
Rating: 8.6
Proper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea SaltProper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 9.0
Proper Crisps - Rosemary and ThymeProper Crisps - Rosemary and Thyme
Rating: 8.2
Proper Crisps - Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Proper Crisps - Parsnip CrispsProper Crisps - Parsnip Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Proper Crisps - Chipotle & Garlic Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Chipotle & Garlic Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.0
Proper Crunch Corn Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crunch Corn Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 8.4
Proper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea SaltProper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Onion with Green ChivesProper Crisps - Onion with Green Chives
Rating: 8.6
Proper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 9.3
Proper Crisps - Kumara Pepper with OnionProper Crisps - Kumara Pepper with Onion
Rating: 9.3
Proper Crisps - Cracked Pepper & Sea SaltProper Crisps - Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 29th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We loved the Proper Crsips Purple and Gold, although the packaging told us the chips were purple and gold it was seeing the actual chips that was a real surprise. I don't think I was expecting them to be so vibrant in colour it was hard to believe that there werent added colourings but being proper crisps these are all natural. My kids especially found the colour really exciting with my 7 year old wanting to eat all the purple ones.

The simplicity of the salt and pepper seasoning is spot on and I found that was all these chips needed as they were a great flavour and a perfect crispness. Unfortunately with the four of us the packet didn't last long but we have had to buy more when we spotted them at the supermarket as my son has declared them to be his favourite chips ever. The packet is a great size for a family and for entertaining.

In a bowl these chips are perfect for entertaing showing of those beautiful colours they look great. I served some of the crisps with a beetrot hummus style dip so the purple of the crisps was perfect to go with the colour of the dip. I have never seen a chip quite like this and I thought the were something pretty special though they didn't need any additional flavours I would love to see different flavours in this colour way as it would be great to try them in different flavours.

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 18th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I've got to admit I love a good New Zealand food producer; a company that sources it's ingredients from New Zealand, makes the product in New Zealand and of course employs New Zealanders. Proper Crisps based in little old Stoke, Nelson is the epitome of a company going places, they have looked at what customers are looking for and they keep on introducing new innovative products to meet those wants.

One of these new and innovative products is the Purple & Gold cracked pepper and sea salt chips that come in a fully compostable bag! Wow, now that is innovation. Initially I must admit I was skeptical of this claim, mainly because the bag is very thick, like super thick, but recently I had the pleasure of meeting the Proper Crisp team at the Auckland Food show and they showed me a bag that had been partially broken down in compost and I discussed the process also with a very helpful staff member. It was very informative and really increased my admiration of the work that must have gone into this bag to bring it to the market, well done.

The chips themselves are very attractive and interesting to look at, with their yellow and purple colourings, they are very well cooked (mine were made by "Daryl", cute) and very very crispy. The chips were salty but not too much and the chips had a slight peppery after taste, so very yum! I tried them with the Kiwi reduced cream onion dip and they were a fantastic match together and my family all agreed saying that we should buy these all the time.

They are slightly more expensive than the other kettle type chips at the supermarket but you are buying quality and innovation thats made and developed in New Zealand and can you really put a price on that?

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 18th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am 100% a savoury snack girl - and loved the sound of these purple and gold crisps, and really felt it was my duty to taste test and review these. Not to mention I love purchasing New Zealand made products and these crisps from Proper Crisps now have a compostable bag - absolutely top thinking from them, and I hope more companies will do this, as consumers are concerned about the environment we are leaving for our children.

Proper Crisps for me are more premium potato chip (ie not for the kids to devour, but instead for hubby and I to enjoy). Being that they are gluten-free, vegan-friendly, has no GMOs, no added MSG, and also now using organic potatoes, a really sustainable and thought out treat choice. I am interested to see/know how long it will take for the bag to compost, in the mean time I put the cold ash from our fire place into to to take out to the compost also!

Flavour, crispiness and price are all important factors for me, so hoped these would live up to my expectations and hopes. (Spoiler alert - they absolutely do !) I also do like to know what is in my food and its nutritional details. It was at this point that I noticed that the nutritional information seemed to be similar to the Marlborough Sea Salt variety - in fact - it is exactly the same. Whilst this is possible, is it correct? To be honest it does not really affect my good opinion of them!

These crisps quite different from others in that the contain gold and purple potatoes, making them visually appealling. The flavour is said to be salt and pepper, and upon testing them on my children, they said they did not like them due to the peppery taste. I, on the other hand thought the flavour was great! They are a good quality, crispy chip that can withstand dipping and scooping of toppings too, which eliminates one of my pet peeves - chips that snap as you load them up!!

I do not have many bad things to say about these - I really enjoyed them and will absolutely get them again, and will be hanging out to see other flavours - something with a bit of kick - chipotle, or harissa maybe?

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 14th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have to confess that chips (or 'crisps' in a native UK) are the favourite snack in our household. We love the salty crunch of a good crisp, and have tried many different brands across the world. We have tried most of the offerings from Proper Crisps before, and so knew that you basically can't go wrong with the sheer quality of snack which they produce. However, these really caught my attention. I have eaten many flavours over the years, but have never tried a purple potato before. I was also really intrigued to try the compostable packet in my home compost as I hate the waste which comes from having a snack.

I was really pleasantly surprised when I received the pack that the packaging felt pretty similar to normal. It wasn't flimsy or easily breakable, so it is still a really sturdy packaging solution. In fact, if it wasn't for the fact that 'home compostable' was advertised on the packet, I might not have known it was any different to normal. As usual with Proper Crisps, the branding and information is on point. From their philosophy as a company, to where the potatoes have been sourced from, through to the name of the person who fried the chips to perfection, the detail and thought put into each pack really stands them apart from other brands.

The look of having the purple alongside the traditional 'golden' potatoes is really unusual, and maybe a little alarming at first. However, they look inviting and are certainly a conversation starter. But, let's face it, what everyone really cares about is the taste. And, once again, Proper Crisps hasn't let their fans down. Both purple and golden varieties are cooked to perfection- super crispy, generously coated in salt and a little black pepper to give them a kick, and so moreish that you will keep them coming back for more. The purple potatoes are a little milder and a little nuttier than the traditional ones, both different enough to be noticed, but not so different to be in contrast to each other. Both pair deliciously with the range of dips that we tried them with, and were perfect for snacking at any time of the day.

The size of the bag was perfect for its purpose- providing a great quality snack with a touch of the unusual. We devoured them over 3 days in a number of sittings, so I would say, for the unusual nature of the product and the sustainability credentials, that the value is fantastic. Talking of sustainability, I have popped this packet into my home compost, and so I will await the result in 3 to 6 months (or whenever I next turn our compost pile).

Overall, another knock-out product. Delicious, unusual and forward-thinking, what is not to love. Another epic result from this company which is simply a class above the rest.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 13th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I like adding a photo with reviews but sadly, these crisps were demolished before I had time to whip the camera out! When the family saw these I had a mutiny on my hands and I had to open them instantly for everyone to try. My daughters were initially put off by the purple crisps, especially when I commented on how horrible they were (in a quest for them to leave me alone!) However, after watching hubby and I munching on them, they tried one and it was game over! These crisps are delicious, crisp, crunchy and just like 'proper' crisps should be. I found that you could taste the sea salt first and the pepper flavour, which wasn't too overpowering, came through towards the end of munching. I liked the difference in colours between the purple and gold crisps but couldn't detect a difference in flavour between the two.

The ingredients are refreshingly simple; potatoes, sunflower oil, mixed peppercorns, and sea salt and it's good to see that they're GMO-free with no MSG added. My pack was made by 'Proper Chef' Daryl which gives the crisps a nice individual touch and has a best before date of December 2019 which wasn't a problem for us!

The packet is stylishly designed and is compostable which is fantastic as we love our crisps and I get a bit sad every time I have to through another tin-foil lined bag in the bin. These are delicious, tasty crisps, that we'll definitely be buying again!

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 11th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I think about snacking chips have to be one of the first things that comes to mind as they are easily accessible, affordable and most of all tasty. As soon as I saw these crisps were cracked pepper and sea salt I knew I had to try them as pepper is one of my most used condiments and favorite flavors. The two different varieties of potatoes being purple and gold intrigued me as I am normally used to just having the standard potato chips of one single color. The packaging is simple, elegant, eye-catching and comes in a compostable bag which is great for the environment and can save room in your trash bag.

When I opened the bag I was greeted with a slight waft of pepperiness goodness and knew I was in for a treat which turned out to be so true as the flavor was slightly salty and had a bold pepper taste. The pepper is defiantly the main flavor but at the same time, it isn't too overpowering. The potato crisps had a lovely golden hue for one and a light purple color reminiscent of a dull beetroot. The chips themselves had a very crisp crunchiness to them and the thickness sits between the thin style chips and the normal style chips. I was surprised and glad to see that these chips didn't have the leftover oiliness that other similar style chips usually have which ruins the flavor. The fact that these are Gluten-free, Vegan and one hundred percent natural is great and all that these chips contain is potatoes, sunflower oil, pepper and salt which really is a testament to the saying sometimes less is more.

Overall I really like these chips and will defiantly be purchasing more in the near foreseeable future and the family also really enjoyed them and they have now become my youngest sons favorite chips. I recommend these to anyone who has a love of crisps and believes themselves to be a connoisseur of pepper. I will have to also keep my eye open for other similar crisps from the Proper crisps brand as they have proven to be a reliable source of great quality products time and time again.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 24th of July, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have always been pretty impressed with Proper Hand Cooked Crisps (both the process and the brand), and this new variety continues on with that high-quality standard that the company have set for themselves. They are consistently pushing themselves to be as consumer-conscious as possible, as can be seen by the clearly vegan, gluten-free branding on the pack, and the new compostable bag. The certainly feels different, but it still looks like a plastic/foil bag. To think this can be chucked in your compost heap as it is, is incredible. Unfortunately, I do not have a compost bin, so I hope the packet will still degrade in the landfill.

This variety is "purple and gold" and to be honest I didn't know purple potatoes were a thing, but I like the idea of using a variety of different potatoes. Not just because you get different flavours, but also because biodiversity is good (better food security if one crop is taken out by disease or something). The purple potatoes are a very rich colour, almost looking like thinly sliced beetroot. The flavour is not too much different to your average potato. It's harder to tell the flavour difference because of the seasoning (which makes up the bulk of the flavour profile), but eating a handful of the gold followed by a handful of the purple, there is a more earthy flavour to the purple.

The texture of the crisps (I prefer to call them chips, myself) is similar to the Copper Kettle chips that Bluebird do, but these are slightly thicker which means they are that much better at holding their shape (read: don't shatter and crumble in the bag) and they give off a much more satisfying crunch. The purple crisps on average appear to be just a little bit thicker than the gold, but this doesn't have much effect on the texture or crunchiness.

These are well-seasoned crisps, with ground mixed peppercorns and Marlborough sea salt. Unlike your salt and pepper shakers at the diners, this seasoning is coarser which really gives it a good burst of flavour from the pepper. The pepper actually manages to create a little bit of warmth on the tongue which I find highly enjoyable. Well-seasoned, good size, and great crunch, it's another winner!

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 11th of July, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Compostable bag - potatoes with salt, pepper and sunflower oil - and personally signed off by a real chef (ours was called Daryl). What more could anyone want from a bag of what is commonly regarded as junk food? Essentially, this product is anything but. The whole family loved the crisps; they were in danger of being finished up before I could get their feedback, so I had to remove the bag temporarily so we could discuss the experience.

Everyone loved the blue potatoes, although we could not really tell the difference. My daughter tried all three varieties while her eyes were closed, and said she honestly could not say which was which. She could taste the oil but only just; her view was that the balance was just right, and then individual chips were all light and crisp no matter which potato variety they were made of. Mr Nine said they were not too spicy for him, and there was not too much salt. This intrigued me as the flavour is cracked black pepper and sea salt, so I thought there might have been objections from him - I did not draw his attention to the wording on the packet in case he refused to try them because he does prefer his food very plain. At the same time, I could taste the pepper and found it pleasantly strong. Maybe his palate is maturing!

All of us thought the different colours, while not varying much in flavour, were very attractive and would look good on a plate at a party. We ate some plain before trying them with half a dozen different dips; Mr Nine and Miss Seven both preferred them plain whereas the adults liked them both ways. They were especially nice with a bean-and-tomato dip and garlic hummus, but because they are not strongly flavoured, they would go well with almost any other dip combination. There are plenty available to buy, but I often just make my own.

Because the ingredients are real food rather than processed items laced with preservatives, I took home the last few to have with some potato soup next day. Usually I would serve a bread roll or some toast with a bowl of soup, but this time I tried adding some potato crisps as a side dish. The soup was filling so the crisps were an ideal addition; besides, since they both had potato as their main ingredient, it was a good choice. This is one product we will be buying again.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 4th of July, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Chips! One of my absolute favourite snack foods, and after discovering Proper Crisps several years back now thanks to KIWIreviews they are a brand I purchase quite often as the quality of these is amazing. When I saw that Proper Crisps had realized a new variety of chips 'Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt' made from Purple and Gold potatoes I was both excited and intrigued, however, one thing was certain I needed to give them a try!

Gone are the days where chips are made purely from potatoes, these days they come in many shapes and forms, from fruits, and vegetables to many interesting flavors but up until now Purple and Gold potatoes were both things which I had never ever heard of. Before opening up the bag of chips I expected the purple chips to be more of a brownish color, and the same with the gold chips really but how wrong was I! The chips were the most beautiful chips I ever have seen, the purple chips were a beautifully vibrant, bright purple and the gold chips were a lovely deep yellow, the colors went perfectly together and would make a very welcomed addition to a platter or as a starter when entertaining guests. Miss 6 was in disbelief when she saw the chips and requested some for her lunchbox at school the next day so she could share her amazing discovery with her friends.

This particular bag of chips had an even mix of the different colored chips and was perfectly flavored with a mixture of cracked pepper and sea salt, without being too spicy or overpowering. They had a lovely crunch and texture to them and reminded me of something similar to a Kettle chip. The ammount of chips in the bag was generous, something that Proper Crisps seems to understand as many chips these days are close to empty!

I love how Proper Crisps have found a way to make their packaging Compostable, it's great to see them going out of there way to do good for the environment, our bag has gone to our compost bin and I look forward to seeing how long it takes for this to break down! Made from all natural ingredients that you can find in your home, and with New Zealand produce these chips are well worth buying! Well done Proper Crisps on yet again another amazing product, I can't wait to see what flavored chips you introduce next, and look forward to seeing your other chip varieties on shelves in your new packages soon.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.0
Product reviews for listing 6250: Taste of India Korma Sauce -  Produced by Taste of India

Product image for Taste of India Korma SauceA classic mild, smooth & creamy Hyderabadi recipe. Delicious Authentic Quality Cooking Sauces. Simply add your meat & simmer.

These Simmer Sauces provide a quick and convenient way to enjoy traditional authentic Indian recipes with 11 sauces now available.
    •  No preservatives, artificial colours or ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Forgive your enemies but never forget their names."
John F. Kennedy (1917-1963)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream