Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 16th July 2019 - 10:33:45

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Proper Crisps - Smoked Paprika review

« Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam reviewMaybelline Dream Nude AirfoamProper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt reviewProper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt »

Score: 8.6/10  [13 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 4607 - Proper Crisps - Smoked Paprika
Brand / Manufactured by: Proper Crisps

Proper Crisps - Smoked Paprika
Price:
from $4.50
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Proper Crisps

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Proper Crisps - Smoked Paprika product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsAre you tired of settling for over-processed, artificially-flavored potato chips, and believe that crisps can actually be "real food"? So do we.

Our crisps are made in the traditional way, using only natural ingredients... we're proud of that and want to keep it that way.

We searched everywhere for a flavour that will leave your taste buds tingling, and we think our blend of Spanish smoked paprika ticks all the boxes.

Ingredients:
    •  Potatoes
    •  Sunflower Oil
    •  Spanish smoked paprika
    •  Salt

No artificial preservatives, colourings or flavourings.

Check out Proper Crisps onlineClick here to see all the listings for Proper Crisps Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chips   crisps   nzmade   paprika   potato   salt   snack
Other listings you may be interested in:
Proper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea SaltProper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Onion with Green ChivesProper Crisps - Onion with Green Chives
Rating: 8.6
Proper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea SaltProper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Parsnip CrispsProper Crisps - Parsnip Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Station Grill Rubs - AztecStation Grill Rubs - Aztec
Rating: 8.5
Proper Crisps - Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Proper Crunch Corn Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crunch Corn Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 8.3
Proper Crisps - Rosemary and ThymeProper Crisps - Rosemary and Thyme
Rating: 8.2
The Brewer's ApprenticeThe Brewer's Apprentice
Rating: 8.5
Proper Crisps - Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 9.0
Proper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea SaltProper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt
Rating: 9.8
Proper Crisps - Chipotle & Garlic Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Chipotle & Garlic Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 11th of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This was an interesting flavour to see. I've used paprika before, but never really as a major ingredient on it's own. It's always been accompanied by something else. But these were recommended to me, so I thought I'd give it a go. The crisps themselves are what I would consider very high quality; very thin, but also fairly solid. So you get a great crunch when you bite, the crisps don't disintegrate when you try to grab them, and there is a good surface are to volume ratio (which means you don't have to saturate the crisp in flavouring to get a great taste).

The paprika has a delightfully smokey flavour, which reminds me of a lighter BBQ flavoured kettle chips (my favourite flavour of crisps ever). The solid nature of the crisps means I can chow down and I end up with far less stuck in my teeth (a common issue with the softer crisps). I do however question their serving size, as I ate the entire packet in one go. Not too sure if I could really get multiple servings out of the one bag.

While I don't think this will take the top spot in my preferred chip choice, but it will certainly be in the top 3 choices, and I'll be keeping an eye out of it in my local supermarket.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 4th of November, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

During my weekly grocery shopping last week I spotted the Proper Crisps sitting on the top shelf amongst all of the other brands of potato chips. I remembered reading about these amazing, crunching chips on the KIWIreviews site and decided to grab a packet to try for myself, there were about 5 different flavours in the Proper Crisps range from memory, but I finally decided to grab the Smoked Paprika flavour for something a little different than the usual ready salted or salt and vinegar chips that i'm used to.

When I think of paprika I think of a flavour that has a bit of a kick to it so I was interested to see what these would be like, they were either going to be a hit or miss as I'm not to big a fan of overpoweringly hot foods. I tore open the bag, which I might add was easy to do, some bags have me pulling and tugging on them for some time and in the end I find myself reaching for the nearest pair of scissors, however this was not the case here. As I peered into the bag for the very first time I was captivated by the bright orange colour of the chips which stared up at me, to me this was a good first impression - flavour I could see!

I tried a chip and was straight away impressed by the incredibly crunchy texture that they had, it was similar to that of a kettle chip, but even crunchier. The paprika flavour certainly wasn't very strong which I was quite shocked about due to the colour of the chips which suggested to me otherwise, however at the same time I was happy they weren't incredibly spicy. The paprika definitely had a smokey taste to it and was really nice and mild, my 2 year old happily sat and ate them.

The bag is 150g in weight , which holds about 4 servings of chips. What I really liked about these chips aside from the flavour and crunchiness is that they are made in New Zealand, and that all of the ingredients are those which you are familiar with potatoes, sunflower oil, sea salt and smoked paprika so there are no added nasties or preservatives in sight. They're also suitable gluten free and dairy free which is an added bonus in our household as we try to limit Miss 2's dairy intake. Will definitely buy these again and I look forward to trying out some of the other flavours in the range.

Click here to read the profile of 4possm

Review by: 4possm (Chris)
Dated: 22nd of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I love paprika and use it in a lot of different meals, the first thing you notice when opening the bag is the intense colour of orange which lets you know these are indeed paprika flavour.

I was slightly disappointed with the delicate flavour compared to what you get with the rosemary flavour. However it is still a pleasant flavour and goes great in a chip sandwich by itself. The paprika flavour gave me the idea to use it to add some crunchy texture to a lasagne, I normally pile on paprika to the top of my lasagne's so it was a natural thought to crush the chips and sprinkle over the top. This was an ingenious idea and would recommend it to anyone. The crunchy texture adds such a great level of difference over a normal lasagne going well with the soft pasta.

As a chip these are my second favourite flavour of the 4 available and will definitely be a pantry staple for adding to meals. I can not wait to pick up another bag to try something different with them. As previously mentioned the fact these are hand made in NZ as well as being made in the freshest way possible make these a cut above the rest even for the slightly added cost.

Click here to read the profile of vixta_yt

Review by: vixta_yt (Vicki)
Dated: 4th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Price:
Score 4 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was presently surprised, these were really nice, I am not a huge paprika fan but these were really nice. They were very flavourful but not overpowering. I love how the chips were thin and unlike other thin chips they don't crumble when putting my hands in the pack or when holding them in my hand, which I really loved about these chips. I Liked that the chips didn't leave an oily feeling on my fingers when eating them.

The packaging was nice and the red on the packet made it easy when looking at all the packs together to know that that was the paprika packet.They were easy to open and plenty of chips in each pack. The wording on the package was easy to read and a reasonable size.

I was glad that when I was eating them that once I had eaten a couple of handfuls and started to feel full I didn't feel sick which a lot of other potato chips make me feel. The colour of the chips was a lovely orange colour the same as real paprika and was glad that they are made with no artificial colours of flavours and was happy to give them to my son. I have already recommended these chips to family and close friends and would definitely recommend to others.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 4th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

As I have said in the other previous flavours of the proper hand cooked crisps range is that they have the flavour spot on, and I can't say this enough. They have used spanish smoked paprika on these crisps, with some salt and obviously the oil needed to cook them and that's it. I love how they are 100% natural.

I quite liked the smokeyness of the flavour and I think it works well, this would be my pick for a crisp to serve at a BBQ, great flavour and a good crunch, I know people will be wanting to come back for more.

I decided to use these crisps as an alternative for corn chips in some nachos, my flatmate gave me a funny look when I announced this, but soon agreed it was a tasty alternative that seemed to taste like a lighter option then the standard corn chip. A good decision by me,

I have mentioned in one of the other reviews the cost of the crisps, which is on the high side compared to other chips, but this is a handmade product and it s worth the price. You can even buy them from their website which I think is great, they come in two different sized bags, I only wished they did a mixed box of all 4 flavours, that would really make it for me.

Click here to read the profile of muffinmum

Review by: muffinmum (Emma)
Dated: 3rd of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love these Paprika Proper Crisps. I had already tried them before being sent this packet and was excited to get more. One of the reasons for my enthusiasm is because this flavour was one of my child hood favourites. I would buy Paprkia crisps with my holiday money in France and these sounded and tasted just like those. They even have that special orange glow. Oh they make me happy.

I decided I had to do something with these crisps to stop me eating all of the packet in one or two goes. Often when we have chili con carne I do half the plate with rice and the other half with tortilla chips so I replaced these chips with the paprika crisps. The taste was good and the crisps made good scoops, many could hold a bit of meat and some cheese, yum. In all of the Proper Crisp packets I have noticed that there are good size crisps and not many of those silly little bits.

All up, I loved these, just in case you hadn't guessed. They will be part of a treaty tea every so often, can't have them too much as that may spoil how special they are.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 25th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Of all the flavours that I was selected to try, this is the flavour that got my creative juices flowing. The first thing you notice about these chips straight from the pack is the lovely orange colour of the paprika. The flavour of the paprika is there but quite subtle. You can definitely taste the smokiness though.

The first thing I did with these chips was to melt some chocolate buttons. I then dipped one end of the chip into the chocolate and allowed each chip to set overnight. I put them in an air-tight container to make sure they retained their crunch.

The next day, I put together a chocolate cake batter and mixed in 1/2 a cup of these chips crumbed. I baked the cupcakes and then iced them with a chocolate and Greek yoghurt icing. Then I topped each cupcake with the chocolate dipped chips. The chips went a bit mushy in the cake mix, like cornflakes. The smokey paprika cut the sugar from the cake though. The chocolate dipping on the chips was an interesting combo.

My eldest daughter asked me for more chips, but without that yucky stuff. When I asked what yucky stuff she meant, she said the chocolate dip was not nice. She happily demolished a handful of chips without the chocolate on. These went great in a nacho dinner as well and were probably the most versatile flavour-wise though they were definitely 3rd in line for my affections.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 24th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Of all the flavours this was the one that I liked the least which was very surprising for me as I had thought it would be the salt and vinegar flavour. In saying that I disliked them my partner however thought they were the best and liked the smoked spice taste. I thought it had an almost burnt aftertaste so couldn't eat many of these myself.

The thing that struck me when I opened the packet was the colour, they have certainly taken on that brilliant red orange colour of the paprika and the best thing was knowing that none of it was artificial. My daughter has this really disgusting habit of licking potato chips to get the flavour before eating the chips themselves. With these you don't get that horrible powdery flavouring and the flavour is still right through the chip.

I had also used some of these when I made the chicken bites which my daughter named pop crisp chicken. I enjoyed them a lot better used this way rather than eating them straight from the packet as they added a nice hint of paprika to the chicken.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 24th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

I was perhaps looking forward to the Smoked Paprika crisps the least as I'm not a big paprika person and it's not something that I usually buy or use in my cooking unless a recipe calls for it.

The first thing that I noticed was the lovely orange colour that these crisps have, such a wonderful vibrant colour it instantly caught our eyes. Upon first taste I was bit disappointed, I wasn't sure what I was expecting but I was expecting a bit more of a taste to them. My husband and I both found it to have a very mild smokey taste with a hint of salt, nothing that we would buy again.

With half a bag left I decided to experiment so I made a mixture using coca powder, cinnamon and icing sugar, combined the three of them and then poured the remaining crisps into the bowl and mixed gently (so as not to break up all the chips) until the chips were all coated. I don't think the cocoa was the best choice, and if I were to do it again would use brown sugar instead.

Good amount of crisps, lovely colour but a taste that did nothing for us so I don't think that I would be buying this in the future.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 24th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I tried the full set of "Proper" crisps at the Auckland Food Show, I thought that the Sea Salt and Vinegar crisps were my favourite; but as it turns out, it took me eating half a bag of the Smoked Paprika crisps to find out that these were actually my REAL favourite! These crisps were slightly more tasty than the factory-made stuff, and the added bonus is that I can eat these and know that I'm having the real deal, not just some factory-made stuff where even the flavour is artificial.

At the food show, I asked my Dad how they managed to get the chips so thin, and his reply was that the potatoes used to make the chips were laser-cut, but as far as I know, that is the only thing that was not done by hand. I Had originally thought that Paprika, which, as I researched, is pretty much ground chilli, would be rather hot and spicy, but there was no spicy, or at least, none that I could detect. The taste was slightly smokey, and that added some very pleasant flavour to the already delicious potato.

The portion size per bag is good, it is great for snacking, but even now my mouth is watering at the memory of the taste, so I wish that I had another bag! LOL Icon To sum everything up, this flavour of crisp has an excellent price, a taste that I quickly became addicted to, and the size is good for during a movie or while you work. I highly recommend trying these crisps, they are worth every cent!

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 19th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Having already eaten the bulk of a packet of Rosemary and Thyme Proper Crisps earlier in the day I wasn't planning on eating more than a couple when Hubby sat down next to me with this bag of Smoked Paprika Proper Crisps.

Well the reason you shouldn't eat whilst watching TV is that it's very easy to shovel a whole bag of chips in when you're not paying attention! I was tasting each Crisp one by one analysing texture and taste when I suddenly realised I had eaten almost the whole bag! I must say I did enjoy each crisp...

Hubby didn't find these more'ish at all and thought they tasted like smokey bacon and were too salty. I have to agree even though I ate the whole bag they certainly didn't agree with me though that may be because it was my second bag of the day! For a girl not used to eating too much fat I probably ate more in one day than I would normally in a week! I did like that at least the flavour is natural with the ingredients list stating that these chips contain only potatoes, sunflower oil, salt and Spanish smoked paprika. The texture of them I really liked and I like how some of the chips were a bit puffed up and rolled over. Those type of crisps are my favourite.

Although I overdid it on this bag I would definitely recommend this flavour if you like paprika or even if you want a vegetarian substitute for smokey bacon. The fact that these are natural is a real plus and I would have no problems serving these up to visitors. I would buy these but probably only on special.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 19th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When my husband saw me arrive home with the four flavours of Proper Crisps he stared at them waiting for me to open a packet. I gave in and let him choose which packet and Smoked Paprika won. I divided the pack into four bowls as we along with Miss 5 and Miss 3.5 could have some too.

The first thing that hit me about the crisps was the bright orange colour. It was definitely paprika. I think this made them appeal to my girls more than chips normally would as they were the same hue as burger rings. The taste was very mild which meant the girls didn't complain about it being too hot. My husband described it as subtle. I suppose this is what I expected as paprika is used in cooking for its colour just as much as its flavour.

We all finished off our chips without leaving any crumbs but my eldest decided to try and steal some of Mummy's. Although I love her dearly I wasn't going to part with the few remaining chips. After such a positive reaction from the paprika crisps I am now keen to try the other varieties but will try not to be too greedy.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 16th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was actually quite taken back when I tried these at the Auckland Food Show earlier this month. If someone had told me I would actually really enjoy a smoked paprika flavoured, hand-made crisp... I think I would have told them they either didn't me at all well, or should see the doc about tweaking their meds again. More the fool me...

Tonight was Nacho Night at the request of my family, and while I was happy to have the Marlborough Sea Salt for mine, I thought my eldest lad might enjoy the paprika... totally wrong about that, so I ended up having his crisps as well as my own. SO glad I did, because they were actually really quite delightful!

A rich, smokey flavour that, while clear and strong on the tongue, it wasn't in any way overpowering at all! It made itself known politely, and then stayed discretely in the flavour spectrum, enhancing the meal, without trying to step in front and take over. So polite! LOL Icon

Overall, quite a surprisingly tasty treat from out of left-field. I tried some of these later that night with a basic cheese and onion dip - a classic Kiwi snack food - and they were and astoundingly good match! I plan to have more of these in the pantry soon, but the price does make them more of a treat than a regular snack... still, I feel they are worth the price-tag, especially as they really ARE hand-made!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 4573: Gluten Free Cupcake Mix -  Brand: Macro

Product image for Gluten Free Cupcake MixGluten Free

Ingredients: Cupcake Mix: Sugar, Rice Flour ,Potato Flour, Modified Tapioca Starch, Vegetable Emulsifiers (471 from Soy, 475), Raising Agents (450, 500), Salt, Natural Vanilla Flavour, Thickener (466), Vegetable Gum (415), Natural Colour (100). Icing Mix: Icing Sugar, Modified Tapioca Starch, Natural Vanilla Flavour

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"A torn jacket is soon mended; but hard words bruise the heart of a child."
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (1807 - 1882)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream