Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 16th July 2019 - 10:46:04

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Proper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt review

« Proper Crisps - Smoked Paprika reviewProper Crisps - Smoked PaprikaProper Crisps - Marlborough Sea Salt reviewProper Crisps - Marlborough Sea Salt »

Score: 8.9/10  [20 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 4608 - Proper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt
Brand / Manufactured by: Proper Crisps

Proper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt
Price:
from $4.50
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Proper Crisps

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Proper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsAre you tired of settling for over-processed, artificially-flavored potato chips, and believe that crisps can actually be "real food"? So do we.

Our crisps are made in the traditional way, using only natural ingredients... we're proud of that and want to keep it that way.

We've decided to add our own twist to a classic, combining sea salt with the subtle tang of cider vinegar. The perfect balance for tingling taste buds.

Ingredients:
    •  Potatoes
    •  Sunflower Oil
    •  Vinegar Flavouring *
    •  Salt

No artificial preservatives, colourings or flavourings.

* Comprised of: vinegar, apple cider vinegar, acacia gum, citric acid, raw sugar)

Check out Proper Crisps onlineClick here to see all the listings for Proper Crisps Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chips   cider   crisps   nzmade   potato   salt   snack   vinegar
Other listings you may be interested in:
My Main Course - Thai Chicken CurryMy Main Course - Thai Chicken Curry
Rating: 9.3
Proper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea SaltProper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt
Rating: 9.8
Proper Crisps - Smoked PaprikaProper Crisps - Smoked Paprika
Rating: 8.6
Pop Tarts - Frosted CherryPop Tarts - Frosted Cherry
Rating: 7.2
Proper Crisps - Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Proper Crisps - Rosemary and ThymeProper Crisps - Rosemary and Thyme
Rating: 8.2
Proper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Onion with Green ChivesProper Crisps - Onion with Green Chives
Rating: 8.6
Proper Crunch Corn Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crunch Corn Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 8.3
Proper Crisps - Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 9.0
Proper Crisps - Parsnip CrispsProper Crisps - Parsnip Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Proper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea SaltProper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Chipotle & Garlic Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Chipotle & Garlic Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 8th of November, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Last night we were heading to a barbecue and had been asked if we could bring some chips. After buying the smoked paprika proper crisps earlier in the week and seeing how delicious these were I knew exactly what brand of chips I wanted to take with me to the barbecue. When I got to our local Pak N Save I was rather dissapointed as I scanned the potato chip isle and was unable to lay my eyes on any Proper crisps. Saddened by this I continued on with the rest of my shop and when I got to the allergy friendly foods there were the Proper Crisps sitting waiting for me so I grabbed a pack of the smoked paprika and one of the Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt.

These chips were AMAZING and just as delicious as the smoked paprika, it's actually hard to say which one I prefer. I do love salt and vinegar chips in general, but when I first tasted these chips my initial thought was that they don't taste like your average salt and vinegar chips. They aren't overpowering and have the perfect taste of apple cider vinegar, just like they smelt. The amount of salt on the chips was good and not to salty. I was quite surprised that Miss 2 and all the other children at the barbecue actually really enjoyed these chips probably more so than the adults did, comments from the adults included that they just didn't taste right compared to normal salt and vinegar chips and that they were to sweet, however I disagree. The chips are of the best texture, crunchy and bubbly, more so than your average kettle chips.

The packaging is eye catching with a bright green border which I think complements the flavour well, and the fonts used go well for the graphics used, a simple pile of chips sitting on a chopping board beside some potatoes and a shaker of salt, simple but straight to the point of what these chips are all about, allergy friendly and 100% natural without artificial flavours, coloring and nasties. The best thing about these chips is that the bag is actually filled with chips, a rare find these days!

A salt and vinegar chip with a twist, very yummy and delicious I totally recommend you try them today!

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 28th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Oh my gawd!! Proppa Crisps are AMAZING!! I was sent this one bag to review, I sure hope one day I get to try some other flavours. I wish I had of been sent an entire truck load of these (not necessarily this flavour exactly lol). Seriously, they are fantastic.

Simple, to the point packaging. The bag gives a clean, natural feel, and you just know when you open that the crisps are going to be so fresh. Open the bag and you're straight away hit with the most flavoursome smells. You don't have to take a big whiff to smell what your crisps are coated with because the air is filled with the intoxicating aroma straight away AND the bags actually filled with crisps. Theres not quarter to half a bag or a few sprinkles along the bottom, it is an actual filled packet of crisps :)

Read the packet and it tells you these are called crisps for a reason. And the reason is true - these are the most crispiest, crunchiest, simply amazing chips ever. I wanted to eat them in sandwhiches, I wanted to add them to pizza, I promptly shared one with each child to relish in the amazing rispiness, then I scoffed the lot. So no photos :( just an empty packet of the most amazing crisps I have ever tried :) two thumbs up for flavour, taste, crispiness, perfection but sadly a thumb down for price. Yes they are worth but almost $5 is far to much to spend on one bag of chips :(

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 28th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was at a party about a month back, when I was offered some chips. I asked what flavour and they said it was apple cider vinegar and salt. I'm not at all a vinegar chip eater, so I declined pretty quickly. It was too quickly for my host who insisted I have one. When I bit into the chip I was surprised by the flavour. It is vinegary, but it's not too offensively tart. Plus as I was breathing in, I got a rush of apple cider flavour on my taste buds.

When a pack of these chips came up for review, I put my hand up as none of my family had tried them . I figured I would break them out when we had visitors last week, though that happened last night instead. I handed around the open packet to my guests. Of course, both of my kids had to quickly get in on the act. They loved the flavour and came back for more. They both love vinegar flavoured chips, so it was not too surprising that the chips went down so well.

Their father loves vinegar chips too, and the more tart or sour the better. For him, these apple cider vinegar chips were a bit too sweet and not as tart as he would have liked. He did comment that I was eating them and seeming to enjoy them, which is usually a good indicator that they wouldn't suit him. Our guests each had some too and they tended to agree about the sweetness of the chips.

These are a bit pricier than your average potato chips, but we like things a bit fancy like this for gatherings. They are a good kettle-style chip, and I love that crunch! While the flavour wasn't everyone's cup of tea, I thought it was a good all-round flavour. The packet was a fairly decent size too.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 20th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have always been a fan of chips and salt n vinegar has always been my favourite flavour so needless to say I was excited to see this product come up for review. I was interested to see what the apple cider vinegar would bring to the mix and excited to be trying a product made in New Zealand. I have never tried apple cider vinegar myself but have smelt it many times before and I have to say when I first opened the packet that was exactly what I could smell.

First taste and I was impressed - the chip was perfectly crunchy and tasted really yummy. Once I had eaten a good handful or so I came to the firm decision that I definitely liked these chips. I feel that I could taste the apple cider vinegar and that it tastes exactly as it smells. As a whole I think these are more mild than your average malt vinegar salt n vinegar chips - I don't think that this is either a good or a bad thing but simply is different and to be honest I liked that. My 19month old happily chomped down quite a few of these and kept saying "more" as she headed for the bag so these got a big tick from her to. My husband thought that these were a lot like kettle chips and again this product got another big tick.

The following day I put these through the official marmite Sammy test. I mean what salt and vinegar chip doesn't go well with marmite in a sandwich and yes its probably something that started when I was with a child but its stuck so I just had to try these chips out. I'm happy to report that they passed with flying colours Smile Icon I could still taste the flavour of the chip as well as the marmite and the great crunch of these stood out big time. I have to also say that I do love that these are not only made in New Zealand but that they are made using natural ingredients.

The only negative thing I could find about this product would be the price, $4.50 for a bag of chips seems pricey to me especially in comparison to the price I can pay for other brands. However in saying that I am certain they would drop to sale price at times and would then be much more affordable. I would also probably pay this for these every now and again simply because they are something different and they really do taste that good! Totally recommend these delicious chips to everyone to try! Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 18th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Most salt and vinegar crisps are made with malt vinegar so we haven't been eating them for quite some time. I was pretty excited to see that these Proper salt and vinegar crisps are made from cider vinegar making them naturally gluten free.

When I showed this packet to my girls they couldn't wait to try them. I had to insist on being allowed to try a few but they completely demolished the bag after I had taken my sample and in the end Miss Four took claim and was literally licking the bag!

The crisps them selves texture wise were absolutely perfect really crispy and bubbly and some curled over so texture wise they gave the perfect crunch. Taste wise I think this is now one of my favourite flavours. rather than the vinegar taste leaving my mouth numb and my tongue tender these were just incredibly Moorish and yummy with no unpleasant aftertaste at all. The fact that my kids were able to finish off a whole bag certainly says something.

Price wise I would only buy these on special as $4.50 is a bit much but they are very nice and I definitely prefer these over other brands of salt and vinegar crisps. A fantastic product that is worth trying.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 14th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

My family are HUGE fans of Salt and Vinegar crisps so they were all excited to try this version of Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt Proper crisps. As a Mum I loved that these seem like a healthier option! The fact they are made in Nelson, and 100% natural, gluten free and cooked in sunflower oil only made them seem a better and healthier choice for my family.

The packaging is eye catching and all the information that you require is well layed out and easy to read. I myself am not a huge fan of this flavour USUALLY but these were nice and the taste seemed just right and not to over powering. The kids loved them and hubby commented that they were different but asked me to grab him a packet in groceries so I will take that as a hit! To me they taste similar to the taste of the old Krispa Salt and Vinegar Corn Chips.

Mr 3 doesn't have gluten in his diet and they were a huge hit with him also. I love that we have found a snack that he can share with the whole family! I will definitley be buying these again!

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 14th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a huge chip fan, so on seeing these up for review, immediately put my hand up, so to speak!! I was very pleased to see them arrive, and even my husband was, and he is not usually a salt and vinegar fan! The packaging is eye catching, and I like the colours used. The information and important bits are well laid out and easy to read. The packet opened easily - and there was a good amount of the chips in there - always a good sign!!

What immediately hit me was the smell of the vinegar. It had a slightly tangy, and sweet smell - which drew me in, and in, and in!! The first taste was delicious - vinegary and tart, with the salt, but not too over powering. The same flavour was there from the first to the last chip. The chips themselves are well made, and gorgeous and crunchy - I am salivating just thinking about them!!

My children (nearly six, three and a half and nearly 2) were not big fans - or rather - wanted me to lick the flavour off and give them back the chip (I refused!!) so possibly a little too vinegary for them - but to me that is a plus - a snack they WON'T try and steal!

These chips, tick my boxes for a treat - natural, gluten free, sunflower oil, and no added flavour or colour enhancers. I found these were also great with dip and guacamole - did not crumble or break too easily - so a good entertaining chip! Definitely consider buying again - and want to try the other flavours now too!

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 12th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I'm always wanting to have a small snack before bed as we eat at around 5pm but don't go to bed till 10pm, so need a small something in my tummy, so I was very happy to discover that I had been sent a bag of this to review and I was simply itching to open it up and give it a try. I like the design of the bag and I like that it spells out nice and easily as to how it is healthy and good for you, better, I would assume, than other brands of chips.

The chips in my bag were a decent size, no piddly little pieces all broken up through the packet so grabbing a handful out of the bag was at the same time wonderful and awkward. Trying these I really, really liked them and as my wife didn't like them at all that meant that I got them all to myself l really did enjoy finishing off the bag. My only complaint about these was that they were a little oily but the overall flavor of the chips was enough to override the oily taste and I would more than happily buy this again in the future.

Click here to read the profile of gamerulz

Review by: gamerulz (Mike)
Dated: 4th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When your butt is settled into a comfy couch and the big screen TV is showing the opening scenes of your favourite new release bluray, you can go for popcorn or chips. Or both. I got sent a bag of these to review and that was pretty cool. I dig the salt and vinegar flavour but I usually find I can't manage more than half a bag before my mouth feels like its bleeding.

These chips were different. Full on flavour without all the bad mouth effects means they won me over with the first handful. My flatmate wanted to try some too. He got maybe a small handful before the bag was finished. Stuff it, he wasnt the one writing up the review anyway so why should he get my stash. Grin Icon

I was going to save some and try them with dip or in a marmite and chip buttie but they just didn't last long enough. Felt a bit stink about that but they were just too tasty. Using apple cider vinegar must be just a really quiet vinegar. Thinking I might have to get some of that to try when I poach eggs.

After trying these, I reckon I am going to have to try the rest of the range now because these guys make some excellent munchies.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 23rd of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These were, for me, the ultimate delight. I have always loved salt & vinegar chips but found, as I aged, that the tastier the chips, the less I could eat before my mouth puckered up and things got unpleasantly painful in my teeth. However, these have restored my love to full strength because they don't hurt me!

I have held off trying these ones because, frankly, I didn't think I could handle the disappointment of them not living up to the hype. But, with just this one pack left to go, it was time to bite the bullet... and a few crisps. And then I had to have a few more to be sure I was tasting right. Oh, alright then if you insist, but just one more... handful... or two...

Next thing I know, my hand was grasping at the bottom of an empty bag, my mouth wasn't stinging, my lips weren't all puckered and painful... and the next morning my lips and mouth weren't all burning and split... pure bliss! All the flavour, none of the side-effects! I didn't get a chance to really try other uses for the crisps, and that really disappointed me.

Overall, these are certainly my top favourites... and I plan to hunt down more of these so I can play with them. Hand-made, not oily, full of flavour without the pain... an all-round winner in my books!

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 4th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I think with the flavour of salt and vinegar on various products out there, you either fall into two different categories you will either like the flavour but can't stand it if it is too full on and makes your mouth hurt, or you like it if it is a subtle flavour. Of course there are people out there that aren't keen on this flavour at all, but they aren't important so lets not mention them.

As for the proper hand cooked crisps, the flavour is on the mild side salt and vinegar, and you know what I think they have it just right. Too many times the artificial type flavouring seriously seems to be destroying my mouth after a couple of mouth fulls.

Not so with these crisps, the flavour works really well with the taste of the potato you get, and it makes you actually realise these are made by hand from potato and are really good. There is no pleasing people who like the full on flavour and I recommend staying away from these if you fall into this camp.

As for alternative uses of this flavour I would crumb some fish in it and do a quick pan fry, adding crunch and a nice understated flavour to the fish while not over powering it. Check them out and see for yourself what makes a great crisp stand out from the bog standard chips.

Click here to read the profile of vixta_yt

Review by: vixta_yt (Vicki)
Dated: 4th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I loved these chips. These were my favourites out of the four flavours I was given to review. They were very flavourful but not overpowering. The vinegar flavour didn't take my breath away and the salty flavour didn't sting my lips or tongue which is the reason I don't like most other salt and vinegar chips I like how the chips were thin and but they don't crumble when putting my hands in the pack to eat. I Liked that the chips didn't leave an oily feeling on my fingers when eating them.

The packaging was nice and the picture on the packet made it easy when looking at all the packs together to know that that was the salt and vinegar packet.They were easy to open and plenty of chips in each pack. The wording on the package was easy to read and a readable size.

I like that when I was eat them and start to feel full I don't feel sick which a lot of other potato chips make me feel. they are made with no artificial colours of flavours so I was happy to give them to my son. I have already recommended these chips to family and close friends and would definitely recommend to others.

Click here to read the profile of 4possm

Review by: 4possm (Chris)
Dated: 2nd of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When you talk about standard flavoured chips / crisps, Salt & Vinegar by far is my favourite. However there are many I have tried that are just inedible due to too much flavouring. So I am always a bit hesitant in trying a new brand of S&V chips, however after trying a small taste (read handful) of these at the Food Show, I was really looking forward to getting my hands inside this bag.

In terms of flavour, unlike some brands, the Proper Crisps S&V flavour is not over powering. There is nothing worse then eating a bag of salt & vinegar chips and walking away needing to down copious glasses of water due to a dry mouth. Not the case with these ones, I quite easily downed nearly a whole bag in one sitting without having to reach for fluids.

I loved the crunch of these crisps. All the flavours of Proper Crisps I tried have such a great texture that gives you that satisfying crunch whilst not being ridiculously brittle. The best part, there were no tiny crumbs at the bottom of the bag!

In terms of pricing, they are pretty much on par with the other brands out there, but the big advantage with Proper Crisps is you are buying MSG and palm oil free, and the personalised label of who processed the bag does give you that added sense of small business quality. Reading the story behind the company on the back was also a good insight into the why's and how's of the company.

Overall these were my favourite flavour of the lot and unfortunately they were so good, the ideas I had for using these in a dish went out the window after I realised I'd eaten the whole bag.... Oops.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 29th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am actually quite surprised by these crisps. I first tried these at the Auckland Food Show, and back then they were my favourite, but after having a whole bag of these, I found out that the Smoked Paprika crisps were my real favourite. The chips were rather salty, which was also coupled with the acidity of the vinegar, so I would not recommend having these while you have dry lips.

The overall flavour was very nice, the potato made a nice base flavour, and I have always loved salt and vinegar chips from the supermarket, so I very much enjoyed eating these, even if they weren't my favourite. The portion size is good, although I keep wishing I had another bag of these and the paprika chips, as they were both the top-ranking flavours in my books. The bag design was well done, right on the front of the bag there was the information showing that these chips are Gluten-free (which is good news for all you people with gluten allergies), 100% natural, dairy-free, etc.

The picture of the chips on the bag is very eye-catching, and as my Dad says, "Food is first tasted with the eye"; and while my eyes may not be watering at the sight of them, my mouth is. I think that these crisps are amazing, just the fact that they've been hand-cooked, are NZ made, and still taste great without the artificial flavourings and preservatives that the crisps you find in the supermarket contain makes these chips top-ranking in all aspects!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 28th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I handed this bag of chips to my husband this evening as Salt and Vinegar are not a flavour I enjoy at all. The vinegar is just too sour for my taste buds usually. So they are always a safe purchase for him if he doesn't wish to share. The first thing he commented on was the bag itself. He thought the chip packet felt quite different to other bags of chips he had opened before. The texture is matt and he said it felt like it was almost double-bagged.

He had a chip or two from the packet and commented on the crisp crunchiness. He said the chips tasted oily, but not in a bad way. Then he said, as a chip went it was a good one. But as a salt and vinegar chip it failed. This made me curious, so I had one. I couldn't detect any vinegar on it whatsoever. I tried a second chip and that one did have the vaguest hint of vinegar to it. A couple more down in the packet started to taste more sour, but overall these were very tame salt and vinegar chips.

My eldest daughter loved them and from my point of view, the flavour was great. This is the sort of packet of chips that would go great at a party in a bowl. So guests would take a handful of chips and not get that unpleasant surprise of vinegar, because its there but it's not THERE. Your average chip consumer is going to be okay with getting this flavour in their hands. But as my husband sadly concluded, for someone who loves salt and vinegar, this chip is just not going to satisfy.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 28th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Of the three traditional potato chip flavours (ready salted, chicken, and salt and vinegar) salt and vinegar is my favourite. In the past I have had brands that were so strong that it stung cuts in my mouth I hadn't known existed. I was afraid that this would be the case. I need not have worried as these chips are very mild and with the cold I currently have these didn't hit the spot for me.

The Proper Crisps have a great crunch to them that tell me that they are cooked to perfection and fresh. The labelling tells me that the manufacturer takes quality and customers seriously. I like that it even tells me the worker's name that made these and the variety of potatoes used. The ingredients are all natural and proudly GMO-free.

The sea salt and vinegar was the least favourite of the four Proper Crisp varieties but I am sure that it will suit some people's tastes. I am pleased that I got the chance to try these thanks to Proper Crisps and KIWIreviews. I am sold on the Rosemary and Thyme ones.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 28th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 3.8/10
Price:
Score 4 out of 10
Portions:
Score 5 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

Both my husband and I LOVE Salt and Vinegar chips, so I saved these crisps till last hoping for good things.

I'm used to a lot more of a vinegar taste, but these chips to me had just a mild vinegar taste with a hint of sweetness to it. Whilst it was easy enough to eat a couple of handfuls of the chips I didn't think that it was anything great and if I was picking up a bag of Salt and Vinegar crisps I wouldn't buy these.

With what I have left I have put into a salad, every now and then I like a late night snack of salad so so I crunched up some of these crisps and added it to my coleslaw. A little bit of garlic mayo on top and off I went. These added a nice little flavour to the coleslaw but didn't scream out 'here I am' at all.

Whilst these weren't anything awful I just didn't get the buzz off them that I love to get from my Salt and Vinegar crisps, so I know I won't be buying these again. I will eat them, but I won't buy them.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 24th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Of all the flavours I received to review this was the one I left to last. I am not a fan of salt and vinegar potato chips so didn't think I could do it much justice in a review but I was pleasantly surprised. When I was little my mum used to drown things in vinegar we grew up in the UK so fish and chips came with the option of vinegar and my mum would ask for loads bleugh!! Even potato crisps didn't escape her heavy handed pourings of vinegar.

Enough to put anyone off I reckon, so since then I have purposely avoided any thing of the salt and vinegar variety. My daughter is a huge fan of salt and vinegar so she was nagging me for a bowl of these chips. I gave her a bowl and she tucked in, she told me they were the best chips she had ever tasted and soon was asking for a bowl refill.

She normally eats salt and vinegar chips until her lips turn white so even though she had ate a huge serving I was surprised when her lips retained their pink colour. I decided to try a small chip from her bowl and could see why, I didn't get any of that sting in the corners of my mouth that I usually get when eating a salt and vinegar chip. The taste too was actually quite nice, it had the salt and vinegar taste but it wasn't strong and sour like chips that have tons of artificial flavorings on them.

I decided the next day to crush some up and have them as croutons on my salad. I love vinaigrette (surprisingly) on my salad and these crisps were a great alternative to dressing. You got that vinegar taste but with lots of crunch which made the salad a lot more interesting. I also crushed some crisps up and coated some fresh hoki in a potato crisp crumb. It was very nice and suited the fish really well, the kids even had seconds of those.

Click here to read the profile of muffinmum

Review by: muffinmum (Emma)
Dated: 21st of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We opened this packet tonight with the intention of having a couple of handfuls so I could write this review. Well, that is what is left, a couple of handfuls, if that. The crisps live up to their name, Proper Crisps and the have proper flavour.

Salt and vinegar chippies of the New Zealand variety do not have enough oomph to be a true salt and vinegar crisp ( we are from UK). These Proper Crisps do and the best part of the flavour is actually tasting the vinegar along side a perfect salt taste. The crisp has a good crunch and a very natural, quality potato taste. There is no oil taste left on the palate after eating these, just a need for more. It is a good job the packet is a good size!

All up, as you have probably guessed, yes, we liked these. Let's say, loved. We have had the salt flavoured previous to taste testing and buy them regularly. We will now be buying these too. I would recommend you try them if you enjoy vinegar. For me they are like the perfect little crisp bits in the bottom of the chip paper, the best.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 19th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Hubby noticed we still had a bag of Proper Crisps left in the pantry so once we had agreed that he wasn't to let me eat the whole bag he broke it open. I had been saving this bag for a marmite and crisp on fresh white bread sandwich but as a testament to how good they are this time it was hubby scoffing the whole bag in one. He loved these!

Funnily enough if I ate these crisps with my eyes closed they tasted a little like prawn crackers. I wonder if that is the apple cider vinegar? What hubby and I both loved about these Crisps is that the vinegar taste isn't quite as tart and acidic as in other brands so your lips don't feel quite so stung. I really liked these and the combination of the sea salt and the vinegar is perfect. I will have to buy another bag of these to try in my favourite sarnie combination and I suspect they will be my go to when I want salt and vinegar crisps. Thanks Glen (each bag will tell you who made them) this was a decidedly nice bag of Crisps!

I can definitely recommend trying these if you want a natural salt and vinegar crisp though would recommend buying more than one bag as you probably won't want to share!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.5
Product reviews for listing 147: Smoked Chicken Foldover -  Produced by McDonalds

Product image for Smoked Chicken FoldoverOur delicious herb flatbread is toasted until golden and filled with flavoursome smoked chicken slices mixed with grilled onions, all on crisp lettuce mix.

This delectable combination is completed with tangy Eta Lite & Free Honey Mustard dressing.

Has less than 9 grams of fat per average 201 gram serve. (Less than 4.5%)

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"It ain't the parts of the Bible that I can't understand that bother me, it is the parts that I do understand."
Mark Twain

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream