Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 22nd August 2017 - 09:36:54

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Cleaning Products > Earthwise Multi-Surface Cleaning Spray - Tea Tree & Thyme review

« Earthwise Laundry Liquid - Black Wash reviewEarthwise Laundry Liquid - Black WashEarthwise Dish Wash Liquid Concentrate - Elderberry reviewEarthwise Dish Wash Liquid Concentrate - Elderberry »

Advertising...

See your advert here!
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.3/10  [12 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 7473 - Earthwise Multi-Surface Cleaning Spray - Tea Tree & Thyme -  Brand / Manufactured by: Earthwise

Earthwise Multi-Surface Cleaning Spray - Tea Tree & Thyme
Price:
$4.99
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Earthwise

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
March 2017

Earthwise Multi-Surface Cleaning Spray - Tea Tree & Thyme product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsAt Earthwise, we see the world as you do. It's about your health, your family, and a partnership with nature. It's why we creatively blend nature's genius with our experience and innovative spirit to meet the needs of today while protecting the environment for tomorrow. By choosing Earthwise, you're helping to reduce the levels of toxic chemicals in our waterways and oceans.

Earthwise Multi-surface Cleaning Spray - Tea Tree & Thyme incorporates the antibacterial qualities of both tea tree and thyme whilst offering a clean, pleasant aroma that lingers long after the cleaning task is complete.

Check out Earthwise onlineClick here to see all the listings for Earthwise Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
ammonia free   chlorine free   cleaning spray   earthwise   environmentally friendly   natural product   nz made   nzmade   phosphate free   plant powered   tea tree   thyme
Other listings you may be interested in:
Cyber Clean AutomotiveCyber Clean Automotive
Rating: 8.2
Dirty Man Skincare ScrubDirty Man Skincare Scrub
Rating: 9.1
Ajax Spray n' Wipe Stone SafeAjax Spray n' Wipe Stone Safe
Rating: 7.5
Primal Earth SPF15 MoisturiserPrimal Earth SPF15 Moisturiser
Rating: 9.3
Expra Multifit Synthetic Refill 305gExpra Multifit Synthetic Refill 305g
Rating: 9.8
Shower Power Shower Cleaner Shower Power Shower Cleaner 
Rating: 9.6
Reach Total Care ToothbrushReach Total Care Toothbrush
Rating: 10.0
Earthwise Dishwash Gel Concentrate - Baking SodaEarthwise Dishwash Gel Concentrate - Baking Soda
Rating: 9.2
Earthwise Laundry Powder - Lemon & GardeniaEarthwise Laundry Powder - Lemon & Gardenia
Rating: 9.4
Dirty Man Skincare Shaving GelDirty Man Skincare Shaving Gel
Rating: 9.4
Water-to-Go Single BottleWater-to-Go Single Bottle
Rating: 10.0
Lip BalmLip Balm
Rating: 10.0
Twistick Clean Me - Travel SoapTwistick Clean Me - Travel Soap
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 29th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Unfortunately I never inherited my mothers cleaning gene and while I do like to keep my house clean and tidy, I have never been hugely concerned about what products I buy and use to do my cleaning. Now that my husband does most of the cleaning around our house (lucky me!) I pay even less attention to it. However, recently making a change to my diet and the foods I put in my body I have decided that I also need to look into other facets of my life and how I can make them cleaner. One of these areas would be the cleaning products that we use.

I have never had a huge range of products that I can use, as many of the chemical smelling products set off my hayfever symptoms and I get sore, itchy eyes and sneeze like there's no tomorrow. However I have never considered figuring out which natural products I can use to see if it makes a difference. I simply put this low down on my priority list, throwing it in the 'too hard' basket! Thanks to KIWIreviews though this has now become a priority as they have introduced me to the amazing Earthwise range of products.

Cleaning my house this past weekend in anticipation of family visiting I searched through all of the cleaners in the cupboard trying to decide which to use. It was then that I remembered I had this multi-purpose spray to try. Being multi-purpose I decided to really put it to the test! Into the toilet room I went, deciding to try it on one of the hardest places to clean. This spray certainly made it much easier! As I sprayed you could see just about anything that was there running off. It required very little scrubbing to get my toilet sparkly clean - a huge success in my book!

I then moved onto the bathroom. Here the shower needed a little bit of a wipe down, and the basin also needed a little attention. The spray made these jobs easy too. A simple spray, leave it to sit for a few seconds before wiping everything away. I would be interested to see how it copes once the shower has a bit more grime on it.

Our cat just loves to sit up on the window sill in our lounge, but with the wet weather we have had lately he has left a little bit of mud around the place. But this wasn't a match for the Earthwise Multi-purpose cleaning spray with tea tree and thyme. I sprayed the wall and the dirt began to run off. I sprayed the window sill and was able to wipe it off in one sweep. I then decided to try it on the glass. Glass isn't specifically mentioned as a surface type that can be cleaned, but as we had no glass cleaner I thought there was nothing to loose in trying! I sprayed it on and used a glass cloth to wipe it off. I was amazed at the streak free finish I got, and all of the dirt from the cat was gone too!

This spray is certainly going to replace a lot of cleaners in the cupboard. The smell certainly didn't cause me any reactions either, which is a huge relief. If you asked me how to explain the smell, I honestly couldn't except that it smells natural. It isn't horrible, but it isn't hugely pleasant either. Something nicely in the middle, that certainly smells as it should being a natural product.

My only criticism of the product is that the writing on the back of the bottle is very small. I was able to read the black writing easily enough, although others would struggle, but the green writing is almost impossible to read. I do like that for each ingredient that is mentioned they have in brackets the plain english words to explain what it is. There is nothing worse than reading a label and not understanding any of the ingredients at all!

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 28th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I hate cleaning with a passion, I found that a lot of the sprays made me cough and gave me a headache so I thought being plant based should make the product easier to use and leave me with a few less side effects.

I thought that since the bathroom needed cleaning I would give it a go. First impressions were good, I sprayed the vanity and had not started coughing but then I thought to give it a good strong sniff and that made me cough a little. I was amazed at how easily the grime was coming off the vanity so then I had the idea of cleaning the toilet which is my least favourite thing to clean in the bathroom being a mum of two boys. I sprayed the toilet and to my amazement I could see the toilet going from a light yellow colour (since the other sprays didn't clean all the by products of boys using the toilet off properly) to a nice clean looking white and that was before I had used elbow grease and cleaned it off again. I had a look around the bathroom and thought that another thing that is not that easy to clean is the shower glass, no matter how much I had scrubbed the glass is always left looking a bit cloudy and not clean at all. I sprayed the glass and then with my trusty sponge I cleaned it and washed it off and left it for a few minutes and then came back and compaired it to the other pane of glass in my shower and the difference was fantastic, I could see through my glass again.

I struggled to read the information on the bottle as the print was so small so I had a look at the website to try and get some information but it doesn't list this product on the site at all. I will be buying this when the bottle is empty as it cleaned really easy and I didn't get really bad side effects.

Click here to read the profile of raz_1984

Review by: raz_1984 (Sarah)
Dated: 28th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have always been a fan of the Earthwise Multi-surface spray, but I also get very tired of the same scent every day. So to be able to try a spray that I use, I trust and I recommend but in a different smell, I couldn't see how it would be a fail. And on first application onto our old and tired kitchen benches, I wasn't disappointed. Everything that I have come to love about the citrus and mint spray was in the Tea Tree and Thyme surface cleaning spray.

It's gentle on our benches which has seen better days and over 30 years old, but cuts through everything that is thrown at it! With 2 young girls, our benches get quite a beating with food and drinks. It also helped cut through grease and grime on our oven tops, stainless steel sink and appliances which don't get enough attention as it's often too hard and too long to consider. But a couple of sprays and a minute or two of waiting and all traces of food and drink were easily wiped away with minimal effort and minimal scrubbing.

Being a multi-surface spray, I felt confident in using it around the house. First was the bathroom which is another room in the house which gets messy easily, and with lots of water spots everywhere, always needs some elbow grease to get out the stubborn marks. This spray made that job easier and quicker. And left a yummy lingering smell that smelt clean and fresh. Next up was bedrooms and the lounge and being a gentle eco-style sprayer, I could use it on old and new furniture and it didn't damage any of it. Our 5 year old daughter also helped and I didn't mind her using it and spraying it herself due to the natural blend.

Click here to read the profile of kylene

Review by: kylene (Kylene)
Dated: 28th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I don't enjoy using cleaning products due to a job in the past using strong chemical cleaning products. I've found ever since I am really sensitive to the smell of any and they often give me headaches and intense hayfever so I thought being a product from Earthwise and hearing good things about their other products available this product could possibly be something I could use without having a reaction to it. The scent to this spray and wipe is tea tree and thyme so as it is plant based I was most happy to find it didn't set off my reactions like I usually experience with other cleaning products so already a big tick on that aspect from me!

The plastic bottle is clear / white like in colour so you can see through it and the liquid inside, I found that trying to read the lable on the back of the bottle for directions of use extremely hard to see. The writing is rather small but I eventually managed to work out what the writing in black said but the writing in green was really hard to make out. I asked other members in the household what they thought incase it was just my bad eyesight but they also agreed that it is very small and hard to read what is written.

Using the product I first started on the bench top and used the spray nozzle option, you can also choose stream before turning it back to off. The bench came up nicely and I found I probably sprayed more than I actually needed to use as it spreads quiet well. As per instructions I opted for paper towels to use when wiping up the spray, you can also use a damp cloth depending on your preference. Next was a glass cutting board this came up really crystal clear with minimal effort needed to wipe away dried tomato. So far so good! Onto the microwave which was in desperate need of a clean after a tomato exploded from a casserole dish the other day, I was expecting to have to use a bit more effort to clean this up as often microwaves can be a bit of a job cleaning. I sprayed it on waited a few seconds then used the paper towels and just like that it wiped off! I was a little taken back as usually I have to almost scrub the contents off the walls of this microwave! The microwave cleaned up amazing and has a near new look to the inside, very impressed! Lastly I thought I would try the stainless bench top just to see if it would also put a nice shine back to them. I was not disappointed they came up so clean and shiny so I decided to also do the stainless steel handles to the drawers, perfect they look like new again!

Overall I am very satisfied with this spray, not only did it not set off my allergies that I usually have with any cleaning products but I didn't have to put in much effort once I sprayed the product. Things were coming up clean with minimal effort and really put the shine back into things. Without a doubt I will be buying this again, at $4.99 for a bottle I feel it would last awhile as you don't need to use much to get things cleaned. I also love the aspect that the company has made it with the intention to reduce the levels of toxic chemicals in our waterways and oceans anything that helps out our environment has my vote! My only issue is the label on the back with difficulty to read but this doesn't effect the product itself with its performance!

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 28th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

With a busy household of three children, a fitness and gym loving husband, and two cats, things to clean are never in short supply. I already use Earthwise products and like them for many reasons, so jumped at the chance to trial this multi purpose spray, especially as it has tea tree and thyme - great for cleaning and antibacterial purposes.

The packaging is really nice, simple and eye catching - and the fragance is easy to distinguish between each of them - lowering the chance, once you find the one you prefer, of getting the wrong one. The spray bottle is great for dispersing the cleaner, with an easy to lock/unlock on the top. This is fairly standard - but always good to know you can limit the chance of one of the kids trying to be "helpful" and spray it everyone for you.

Before even using it to clean anything I sprayed this a few times onto our kitchen bench and left it for a few minutes to see what the scent was like. When first sprayed, the scent is nice, but I did not really get much of a smell of the tea tree. There was a much stronger smell of the thyme, reminding me of my herb garden! It is not necessarily a bad thing, however, if you are like me and like tea tree, would have liked more of a scent. After coming back a few minutes later, there was a slight scent, and the kitchen smelled fresh and clean - which I really like.

The first thing I used the spray on was a cleaned out cats litter tray, as we have just moved house and had the cats inside for a few days. Cat pee smell can be hard to eliminate, so I wanted to see how this stood up to the tough test. I am very pleased to say that it worked very well, and definitely took away the odour.
Next thing to try it on was the shower doors - always hard to get clean and streak free! The spray nozzle made it easy to apply and wipe over the doors. I wiped the doors down and found it great-clear glass and not many streaks, and that nice clean smell again. My husband noticed as soon as he got home too!

Since then, have used the spray on a multitude of things - sticky residue (thanks kids for chocolate fingers on the table top), on the oven top, the fridge front, bench tops, and it handled everything brilliantly. I am definitely getting this again, but will try a different scent next time to see which is my favourite!

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 27th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I have my own small cleaning business so am always on the lookout for 'eco' products that are effective and don't cost the earth! I was excited to try Earthwise Multi-surface Cleaning Spray in Tea Tree & Thyme as I use a lot of their products and am really impressed. It comes in a handy spray bottle that is easy to use and I put it to work straight away. I found it was effective in removing grease on oven tops and work surfaces and was also good to spray and spot clean floors. It was great for cleaning around the bathroom and as it states, was definitely a 'multi-surface' spray and the added bonus was that it has antibacterial properties

However, the one thing that I couldn't really get past was the smell. I love the smell of Tea Tree but I found the smell of Thyme just too overpowering and the smell started to become too off putting for me. I tried to water the spray down (cleaning hack - I do this with all my other sprays to make them last longer and they are still as effective!) but the smell was just as strong. To me, this was the sprays biggest downfall. I appreciate that a lot of people will really love the smell but for me it was not to be which was a shame as I love Earthwise sprays and the smell of tea tree! A great spray that is really effective at cleaning surfaces but not if you don't like the smell of Tea Tree and Thyme!

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 26th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Being a mother to three young children I am very conscious about what products and chemicals I use around the house. The amount of dirt and grime that is left by my children some days is shocking. When I saw that the Earthwise Multi-Surface Cleaning Spray was available to request for review I instantly jumped at the chance. Most cleaners I have tried in the past have caused my skin to react in some way, whether it is a burning feeling or causing my hands to dry out. However this was not the case after using this spray. I currently use the Earthwise Laundry Liquid as I believe it is the best option for their sensitive skin, so would love a household cleaner that is safe too.

I like the appearance of the bottle, it looks very simple but the colours really drew my attention towards it. I like how the label clearly says that it is natural and effective. On the back of the bottle there is a brief history about Earthwise which says it is septic tank safe, and the bottle is recyclable which is fantastic for the environment. After my partner decided to cook Nachos for dinner one night, I saw all the grease and splatter from the tomato and mince mix and decided this would be a good time to try it. The first thing I noticed when I made the first spray was the smell. It was so fragrant and didn't have the harshness that most of my other cleaners have. The trigger was easy to squeeze and a decent amount of liquid came out. I was pleasantly surprised at how effective the spray was at removing the splatter with very little effort. A quick wipe got the majority of grime away. The bottle is a reasonable size at 500ml and will last quite a while.

I now use the Earthwise cleaning spray as my main household cleaner and highly recommend it, especially to families. I will be looking at my local supermarket to see if it is possible to purchase a refill version.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 24th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I really don't like cleaning, and it's not just the fact that it's cleaning but it's also the fact that every damn cleaning spray that I use makes my asthma flare up like there's no tomorrow (and in some cases causes a major coughing fit that lasts far too long) so I was dubious about this but I really would like to find something that I can use without literally loosing my breath and what better way than via KIWIreviews?

My first use started off small, a quick clean up of a spilled drink, curtesy of Miss Six. I immediately was struck by lack of reaction from my lungs, but given that I only used a small amount on a small job, I was not yet sold on the product. Another drink spill, this time on a much bigger scale, proved opportune to bring this spray out again, and still no reaction from my lungs and better yet, the residual liquid from the spray dried up far quicker than other brands I've used, another tick in the right box for this.

Now, yes, I am one of those people who cooks, spills, cooks, spills, cooks, spills etc. without cleaning in between when one really should, so as you can imagine my oven gets into a bit of a messy, grimy, greasy, saucy mess! Given my faulty lungs you would think I would be more on top of this, especially using spray, but no... so my oven top was a perfect state of mess to give this a real, solid try out on. I sprayed liberally and let it sit for a couple of minutes before setting to it. What would usually require a second, if not a third spraying down was clean in one good wipe!!! The mess has never been wiped away so fast, my breathing so unaffected nor the use of product so little.

I can use this with gloveless hands, I can stick my nose right up to the bottle and sniff away without a single breath affected and a faint but pleasant aroma chases away the smell of anything grotty left behind. I've used this everywhere, my room, those tight spaces (like the toilet floor) and everywhere in between and I am loving this! I am well and truely converted.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 23rd of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Earthwise products are winning me over one by one! I spend around $15-$20 per week on cleaning products so to be chosen to review this Earthwise Multi Surface Spray was quite exciting for me. I am trying to get my family to be more environmentally aware so products that support this stance are great, Especially ones made right here in NEW Zealand!

First lets talk about the scent, it doesn't smell like anything I have ever used for cleaning before, the scent was strong but not awful. It smells fresh and clean! I loved it and used it in every room I could, the scent lingers long after the cleaning is done and gave my home a pleasant herbal fresh smell!

Earthwise products contain no harsh chemicals, have fully recyclable packaging and are cruelty free what a great product to represent our clean green attitudes! The packaging is simple, eye catching and provides all the necessary information. I also like their motto on the packaging, "Effective. Naturally ' It feels great doing your little bit for the planet!

I used the Multi Surface spray on many different surfaces including porcelain, stainless steel and granite. The spray did a great job every time, I would recommend this to anybody it works as described and smells great!

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 23rd of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Ever since I joined the KIWIreviews site, I have had the pleasure of trying so many great products with my favourite choices always being New Zealand made products. Earthwise is one of these great NZ companies who create awesome eco-friendly products and I love the fact that they are always expanding their range creating everything from baby products, ash fresheners and cleaning products.

The Earthwise Tea Tree and Thyme Surface cleaning spray was a easy choice to request to review because I probably buy at least one of these spray and wipe surface type cleaners every two weeks. That may seem a lot and but I do like a clean bench and surfaces, especially when there are children's sticky fingers about! When I looked at the spray bottle I noted it was a good size and similar to competing products on the market, but the big plus was that the bottle was opaque and I could actually see how much was in the bottle, a big plus in my books!

Once I worked out there was two ways to spray the liquid (spray/stream - I chose spray), I sprayed liberally across my bench top after tea was eaten (well maybe a couple hours later let's be honest) and a couple of things struck me; the nozzle needs work, it's a bit loose and flimsy and doesn't seem to stay in position, and the scent was very strong. The smell was definitely intense tea tree and while it did lessen once wiped down I wasn't a huge fan of it, but the result was very good. My benchtop was easily wiped down and it seemed to cut through the stuck on food scraps with ease.

I will certainly buy again, as the end result was very good, however I will check my local supermarket to see if there is another fragrance to try when I buy again.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 21st of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Do excuse my mirror selfie. I really had trouble trying to find something that photographed well, as most surfaces in my household are too bright or reflective to really be able to show a before or after comparison, but I just cleaned the mirror in the photo, so you can at least see how clean the mirror is by how well you can see me in the reflection shown.

As far as cleaning products go it does the job well. My flatmate has a tendency to make a mess when he cooks and then leave the house for several hours without cleaning it up, so I end up with baked on food scum all over the counters and stovetop. A quick spray of the surface with the product and the counter comes up clean with a simple wipe of a paper towel. No scrubbing was needed, and in most cases a single wipe removed any mess.

Tea Tree and Thyme is an interesting smell in my opinion. It isn't a horrible smell, but it also isn't an overly pleasant smell. It reminds me of the weeding in the garden, which speaks of the natural aroma of the product. But you can definitely tell where you have cleaned from the scent.

The one drawback of the product is the actual dispenser. When spraying it onto a surface, if I required more than a couple sprays, the contents of the bottle started to leak down the trigger dripping all over my hand and all over the floor. I can't tell whether it was just the one bottle or whether this happens on all of them, but it was less than enjoyable having my hands smell of tea tree and thyme afterwards (and of course a bit of a waste of product).

I've always enjoyed Earthwise products, as they try to be as natural as possible, while still having a product that does the intended job. While I'm not a huge fan of the scent, the product works well on a variety of surfaces, and isn't overly expensive, so it will probably be my new choice in cleaning product now (at least until they come up with a nicer smell).

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 29th of March, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I like the idea of using environmentally friendly products where possible. With all the publicity around keeping our waterways clean and leaving tiny footprints, it is up to everyone to play their part. I recycle when I can, and am extremely pleased with myself when I find a new use for something that has fallen apart or lost its gloss.

So I really went to town trying out this cleaner on every possible surface in order to give it the maximum test drive. I like the smell of thyme that comes through strongly and lingers after the cleaning is done. It is not a conventional disinfectant smell but rather a fresh herbal aroma that makes you feel you have zapped all the germs and left the surfaces squeaky clean.

It did a great job on the bathroom surfaces. We used it on the bath and shower surround and also on the plastic toilet seat. I was going to use it on the varnished windowsill as well but decided not to in case it caused some damage. There is a warning on the packet about using it on certain surfaces; it recommends trying it on a small area first. This I have yet to do.

As we were going out to visit friends, I packed the bottle so I could try it on their kitchen. I knew they had been busy all week so it was quite likely their kitchen surfaces would be in need of a clean, and after all, what are mates for? They were more than happy for me to try it on their stove and sink so after we had caught up with the gossip over some drinks I got busy.

The stove responded well to the cleaner. I needed to apply a little elbow-grease to get the job done but it was not too challenging. The sink area, however, was another matter. It is stainless steel; I did not want to use a tool that might scratch it, so I applied a liberal helping of the mixture and used a damp disposable cloth as the instructions suggested. There was no sign of it making any difference. Next I tried a fine steel wool cloth. Still no difference. Finally I attacked it with a soft nylon scrubbing brush and it started to come clean, but it took a lot of rubbing for any improvement to appear.

It may be that I was using the wrong product for the sink as I don't think it should have needed that much effort. It was not especially grubby to start with so it is not as though I were trying to clean away ingrained dirt. I did not want to use stronger scrubbers in case I caused surface damage. However, apart from this one reservation, I was satisfied with the overall performance of the product.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 8.9
Product reviews for listing 3858: Hydro Silk
Brand: Schick

Product image for Hydro SilkSchick Hydro Silk hydrates skin like no other razor can. This uniquely designed razor goes beyond an incredibly close shave to actually care for your skin.

With Water-Activated Moisturizing Serum & 5 Curve-Sensing blades with skin guards to help protect skin from irritation, the Hydro Silk razor leaves skin feeling silky smooth! And it's preferred over the leading 5 blade razor.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I really have a secret satisfaction in being considered rather mad."
W. Heath Robinson (1872 - 1944)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream