Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 12th December 2018 - 20:23:20

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Personal Hygiene > Red Seal Natural Herbal and Mineral Toothpaste review

« Piggy Pasta and More Food with Attitude reviewPiggy Pasta and More Food with AttitudeRed Seal Natural Kids SLS-Free Toothpaste reviewRed Seal Natural Kids SLS-Free Toothpaste »

Advertising...


Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.1/10  [10 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 5723 - Red Seal Natural Herbal and Mineral Toothpaste
Brand: Red Seal

Red Seal Natural Herbal and Mineral Toothpaste
Price:
$3.50
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Red Seal

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Red Seal Natural Herbal and Mineral Toothpaste product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsReal Seal Natural is a mild, minty toothpaste with a liquorice sweetness for the whole family. A natural and refreshing way to clean your teeth, Natural Herbal & Mineral Toothpaste combines 12 herbs and minerals to provide an effective and unique toothpaste which is especially popular with children because of its mild, fresh taste.

    •  No added fluoride. There is conflicting evidence on the benefits of fluoride. Excess fluoride may cause chalky white patches on the teeth giving a mottled appearance. This condition is irreversible. Red Seal provides you with a range of non-fluoridated toothpastes to meet your specific needs.
    •  Natural colours.
    •  Contains natural herb extracts and oils.
    •  Fights plaque and decay.
    •  Helps protect gums.
    •  Natural anti-bacterial action.
    •  Mild minty taste.
    •  Paraben free.
    •  Colour free.
    •  No tricoslan, peroxide, potassium nitrates, or strontium chloride.

Check out Red Seal onlineClick here to see all the listings for Red Seal Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
antibacterial   colourfree   herbal   natural   nzmade   paraben-free   toothpaste
Other listings you may be interested in:
Soused Soapery - SplendiferousSoused Soapery - Splendiferous
Rating: 9.5
The Scented Soap Deli - Green Tea and Hemp Seed OilThe Scented Soap Deli - Green Tea and Hemp Seed Oil
Rating: 10.0
Red Seal Baking Soda ToothpasteRed Seal Baking Soda Toothpaste
Rating: 9.5
PestXit DuoPestXit Duo
Rating: 8.0
Mould PowerMould Power
Rating: 10.0
Red Seal Natural Kids SLS-Free ToothpasteRed Seal Natural Kids SLS-Free Toothpaste
Rating: 9.6
Shaving SoapShaving Soap
Rating: 9.5
The Scented Soap Deli - Mango ButterThe Scented Soap Deli - Mango Butter
Rating: 10.0
Red Seal Propolis ToothpasteRed Seal Propolis Toothpaste
Rating: 9.9
Air Freshener - Pacific FrangipaniAir Freshener - Pacific Frangipani
Rating: 9.4
Primal Earth Face WashPrimal Earth Face Wash
Rating: 9.2
Soused Soapery - Full MontySoused Soapery - Full Monty
Rating: 9.3
Dirty Man Skincare ScrubDirty Man Skincare Scrub
Rating: 9.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 23rd of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was selected to give this toothpaste a try and I was actually looking forward to it. I have tried several other different brands that I haven't been able to use. I have a funny palette and overly minty toothpaste makes me gag which is not nice when trying to brush your teeth, it's something you can't avoid! So When I read the packet on this one saying mildy minty taste I was quite excited.

When I opened the box I was hit with a very VERY strong aroma of mint, which made me cringe a little bit and I thought "oh dear I won't be able to stomach this". I popped open the tube and grabbed my toothbrush to put some on. I gave the tube what I would call a small squeeze and it squirted out loads! It was a lot runnier than I thought so be warned, don't squeeze the tube too hard. Surprisingly once the toothpaste was on my toothbrush (not on the floor lol) it didn't smell as strong as it had in the box.

I begun to brush my teeth and for the first time in years I didn't gag on the mint taste. It was quite subtle and it wasn't over powering. All in all, a great new toothpaste and I will definately be adding this to the must haves on the grocery list.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 22nd of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

When it comes to toothpaste, especially when it says it is nice and natural, I'm always keen to give it a try.

I didn't even need to open the box up to be able to smell the minty aroma of the toothpaste, it's that strong, but actually popping some on my toothbrush and it didn't smell as strong then as I expected it to. Had a funny moment though, as my friend who is currently staying with us, was brushing her teeth, as I walked down the hallway I got about a metre away from the bathroom and I could smell the toothpaste, it was amusing as I tried to work out just how far away I could smell it. LOL Icon

In the description above it says "a mild, minty toothpaste with a liquorice sweetness" but, being a liquorice lover myself, I didn't even get a hint of liquorice but the overall taste of the toothpaste wasn't bad in any way and whilst it doesn't have me leaping up and down to use it, it doesn't have me turning my nose up at it either, so it will all get used for sure. I love the natural element to this, something that I am always looking at and it's a decent price.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 22nd of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I had the joy of opening the tube of toothpaste and I could smell it through the closed tube and with badly blocked sinus so I mistakenly thought that a nice pleasant strong smell would mean a good strong taste but boy was I mistaken. I found that the taste was missing somewhat but it did clean my teeth.

I had also tried the baking soda tooth paste and I found that with that one I didn't feel the need to use a mouthwash as it cleaned my teeth and mouth that well but this time although my teeth were clean my breath didn't feel like it would hold up for the entire day so I had to follow up with a mouth wash.

I had read how other reviewers found the paste to be a bit liquid and too easy to squeeze out the tube so I was a bit more careful.

To be honest although the paste cleaned my teeth I would rather use and buy the baking soda tooth paste. I did try this one a few times, the first day I had to go out about lunch time and I felt the need to freshen up as my breath and teeth didn't feel as clean as I would have liked and although the smell of the liquorice could be smelt in the other rooms of the house I found that the taste was lacking.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 19th of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

There has never been so much excitement at bed time as when I told my girls there were two new toothpastes for them to choose from. I had been given both the Red Seal kids and the Red Seal mild minty toothpastes to review. Miss 6 loves the kids' one. The minty one was a huge hit with Miss 4.5. Although she tried and loved the kids one once she tried the minty one she requested it every night. I think what sold her on it to start with was me calling it the adults' toothpaste but if she hadn't have liked it she wouldn't have wanted it a second time.

Since trying this toothpaste over a week ago I haven't wanted to go back to my old toothpaste. I love the mild minty flavour. As I am brushing my teeth there is a slight bubbling sensation on my teeth which makes me feel like my teeth are getting a real good clean. I have found that the taste remains in my mouth so I am not wanting eat again for at least a couple of hours which is great for the waistline.

I was surprised to find out how affordable this toothpaste was as it is all natural. I was expecting to pay twice as much for this. I haven't convinced my husband to try it as he is a strong advocate for fluoride in toothpaste. I'm sure if I hadn't told him it was fluoride free he would have loved it as much as my daughter and I do.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 19th of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Since my girls had mixed reviews about there Red Seal Kids Toothpaste I was rather hesitant to try this so instead waited till my husband was home that night to trial together. The first thing I noticed was the smell, my girls both unwell with the flu currently and so putting Vicks on there feet and chest and that is exactly what this toothpaste smells like Vicks with a little Licorice added in or Aniseed.

I was worried then thinking yuck I am going to have a Vicks breath but surprisingly it was rather pleasant. It reminds me of Macleans Mild Mint and I really enjoyed it. I also find I am not putting as much toothpaste on my brush because it feels like a little goes a long way. It goes on really nice to the teeth and afterwards not left with a chalky mouth, like some other toothpastes do.

I love the fact that it has no added fluoride to it and appears to have a lot of health benefits. Both my husband and myself do not mind this at all and the price is also a added plus. I feel my mouth will thank me for it in the long run.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 19th of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I was given some of this toothpaste to try and was intrigued to find it was fluoride free. For a toothpaste which claims to be developed through scientific research, the omission of fluoride was certainly not by accident. I come from a city where fluoride in the water has been a hot topic recently, however I don't really have a strong opinion either way... but it's certainly opened by eyes to a possible large market of people who are looking to avoid fluoride, so this toothpaste certainly fits that market.

As the fluoride issue isn't major for me, I looked more at taste and texture when reviewing this. Firstly taste - this toothpaste claims to be of a mild mint flavour and I certainly would put it on the very mild end of the scale. I first gave it to my 6 year old to try... and she definitely didn't like it! She's been on adult toothpastes her whole life, so is quite used to strong minty flavours so probably found it way too different. There is a kids toothpaste in the range, but we haven't tried this one.

I personally quite liked the flavour, but it did take some getting used to. However after a week of using it, it feels normal to me now. I have to point out here that I usually buy whatever toothpaste is on sale or catches my eye, so we don't stick to one particular flavour in our house.

On that note, my husband was fairly meh about the new toothpaste - he doesn't do the shopping anyway so is quite used to having to use whatever I buy! He did mention that it didn't seem too gritty in his mouth. I didn't particularly notice much of a difference in texture to other toothpastes which was a positive for me.

Lastly the kiss test... I gave my teeth a good clean and puckered up for a goodnight kiss with hubby... and he recoiled in horror! Yes, it does take a bit of adaptation to the new taste... but if you are looking to make changes for your health, and specifically wanting something more natural... this toothpaste is comparable in price to other toothpastes (I expected it to cost way more), and worth trying.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 16th of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I am always hesitant to try new things when it comes to toothpaste as I have quite bad teeth and am pretty set on buying the highest flouride toothpaste I can find to try and prevent any further tooth decay I also generally buy a whitening toothpaste for myself as I like the freshness it brings my mouth. However when this came up for review I was curious as you do wonder about what is actually in your toothpaste so a natural option is always food for thought.

My 12 year old hates the taste of toothpaste so this was a nice option being a mild formula too. She actually commented that it is "not too bad" which means in tween speak she actually quite likes it and would use it quite happily lol. I wasn't quite sure on the flavour it was sort of chalky and definitely a very mild mint flavour as I am used to quite an intense mint that leaves your mouth tingling, for me there was just not enough of mint.

In saying that getting past the taste the toothpaste did an amazing job. I could feel the cleanness in my mouth and running my tongue over my teeth I could feel the squeaky clean of the teeth. I did feel as though my breathe was freshened and could taste the toothpaste in my mouth after cleaning. It worked up in your mouth great so you had lots of foamy toothpaste to scrub around your mouth so you didn't need to use a whole lot although it does come out of the tube rather fast so I ended up with quite a lot on my brush.

My daughter has decided to start using this toothpaste over her normal toothpaste but I wasn't completely sold so have been using my regular colgate whitening. I would use it again and would love to commit to a more natural toothpaste I just would prefer an intense mint flavour so my mouth feels a bit more like I have brushed my teeth.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 15th of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

This was an interesting product to try. As a more natural product, I was eager to see the differences between this Red Seal product, and my usual Colgate branded toothpaste.

The first thing I noticed, was the difference in texture. A very lightweight, and loose mixture, the paste comes quite freely out of the tube without need for much force. That in itself took a little while to get used to (I nearly emptied the tube into the mirror the first time I squeezed it.

The taste was also rather unique, for an advertised minty fresh flavour. While it had a slight, minty bite to it, the two strongest flavours were of aniseed and liquorice. I am not a big fan of liquorice, so this wasn't the nicest of surprises, but ignoring that initial distaste, the aftertaste was reasonably enjoyable, and the fresh breath seemed to last longer.

The texture was also intriguing, with a rather chalky, gritty texture. While odd, it wasn't unpleasant, and in reality just ensured that I fully washed out my mouth afterwards.

While the texture, and flavour were disconcerting, I enjoyed the fact that it left my mouth smelling fresh for longer, and that it also didn't destroy the flavour of any food that I ate afterwards. If there was another flavour that I enjoyed, I would definitely consider switching to this fulltime.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 21st of August, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

My usual toothpaste has quite a mild flavour to it, and I thought that the Red Seal mild paste would be the closest to it flavour-wise. I was not wrong about that, though the paste itself had a slight chalky taste to it as well. Not as chalky as the baking soda paste in the range. The flavour in this one was also not energizing like the baking soda. As a result, I used this as a bedtime tooth paste. I found that it was easier to relax into sleep this way because I wasn't refreshed with a powerful minty flavour going on.

I could not get anyone else in the house to try this one. Miss 2 is too devoted to the kid's paste to even look at the natural. Funnily, we are a family who generally have four tubes on the go. We all have the paste that is ours. With this natural paste, I enjoyed the flavour and I felt it did a good job with foam and helping my teeth to feel clean for bed.

I could easily purchase a tube of this and a tube of the baking soda for a 2 tube day/night cleaning system, and for cheaper than my current paste. But while I have not had too many sensitivity issues this week, I'm not sure what it would be like long term yet. I'm also not 100% sold on the no fluoride, though I do like the idea of cutting back on chemicals in products.

The natural paste was probably my second favourite of the two I have tried. Overall, I really liked the fact it foams well and it had a good taste. But it wasn't as bold as the baking soda, which certainly for daytime I desire. It was, however, very effective and easy to use.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 20th of August, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

We went away for a night and I thought it was a great opportunity to take away a new toothpaste to try for the family. This meant there was no option of going back to an old favourite that we already had opened (funny thing is that both kids have different "old favourites"!). The fact that the pack is medium sized and it fitted into our toilet bag easily. I am finding that with kids it is also much easier to have a smaller tube as the kids can handle it much easier than a big one. I am also not keen on having separate toothpastes for children, hence the reason I decided to try this version of the red seal toothpaste.

Mr Four tried it and screwed up his face. Getting him to brush his teeth used to be a mission and as a result I won't be pushing a toothpaste on him that he doesn't like as his is now generally pretty good with the routine. Miss Two also screwed up her face when she tried it. She is usually a bit more accepting of new flavours than Mr Four.

My husband and I found the texture different to our usual minty toothpaste. It was a bit gritty in comparison. It tasted less sweet than other brands. For my husband and I, these are not necessarily negatives as we are happy to try new things which may be better for us. We certainly didn't find the flavour unacceptable. In fact, the lack of all the 'nasties' has got to be a huge benefit to us.

The jury is still out for me about the whole fluoride debate. I would generally go for a toothpaste which contains fluoride as I want the best chance for my teeth to stay healthy for as long as possible. The same goes for my family's teeth. I think I need to do a bit more research and thinking about this before I start choosing toothpaste without fluoride as a regular option. I do note the comment about fluoride causing chalky white patches on teeth if it is used in excess. I will be considering this further as I continue my growth in knowledge.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 5724: Red Seal Natural Kids SLS-Free Toothpaste -  Brand: Red Seal

Product image for Red Seal Natural Kids SLS-Free ToothpasteRed Seal Natural Kids toothpaste is a natural toothpaste that's safer for young children to swallow when they brush. Free from sodium lauryl sulphate, fluoride, parabens, and other harsh chemicals, it is naturally flavoured and sweetened with a fresh, peach and banana 'bubblegum' flavour.

Caution: always supervise ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Consider the postage stamp: its usefulness consists in the ability to stick to one thing till it gets there."
Josh Billings (1818 - 1885)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream