Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 18th October 2019 - 22:41:00

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Cereal/Muesli products > Hubbards Berry Tricks Mix review

« Jake and the Neverland Pirates Giant Coloring Pages reviewJake and the Neverland Pirates Giant Coloring PagesHubbards Neapolitan Super Pops reviewHubbards Neapolitan Super Pops »

Score: 8.8/10  [10 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 5304 - Hubbards Berry Tricks Mix
Produced by Hubbards

Hubbards Berry Tricks Mix
Price:
$3.99 +/-
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Hubbards

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
At supermarkets

Hubbards Berry Tricks Mix product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsTricks are brilliant. Bike tricks. Skateboard tricks. Tricky tricks. Scooter tricks. Tricks that are so complicated you need to wear a jump suit with stars on to prove you've got what it takes. As every hot shot tricks masters knows, they take super skills and the right fuel.

A large bowl of Berry Tricks Mix is an awesome start. The berry whole grain goodness of blackcurrant and boysenberry flavoured wheat flakes, mixed with rice pops, puffed buckwheat, creamy loops and strawberry fruit sticks will get you hooning around in no time. Right. On your marks...

Check out Hubbards onlineClick here to see all the listings for Hubbards Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
berry   breakfast   buckwheat   cereal   hubbards   kids   loops   nzmade   rice   strawberry   wheat
Other listings you may be interested in:
Hubbards Cookies & Cream RumblesHubbards Cookies & Cream Rumbles
Rating: 9.0
FluffFluff
Rating: 9.2
Hubbards Neapolitan Super PopsHubbards Neapolitan Super Pops
Rating: 8.5
Brimstone PizzaBrimstone Pizza
Rating: 8.8
Del Sremska - HotDel Sremska - Hot
Rating: 8.1
Hubbards Banana Bugs'n'mud Hubbards Banana Bugs'n'mud 
Rating: 8.4
Pasta mia Roasted Capsicum & Macadamia TortelliPasta mia Roasted Capsicum & Macadamia Tortelli
Rating: 9.2
Freya's Sandwich ThinsFreya's Sandwich Thins
Rating: 8.4
Down to Earth Organic Chutney - GarlicDown to Earth Organic Chutney - Garlic
Rating: 8.8
Corn Nuts - OriginalCorn Nuts - Original
Rating: 7.4
Alexandra's Dukkah - AromaticAlexandra's Dukkah - Aromatic
Rating: 9.2
Chocolate Pineapple BallsChocolate Pineapple Balls
Rating: 9.5
Taste of India Vindaloo SauceTaste of India Vindaloo Sauce
Rating: 8.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of bamberla

Review by: bamberla (Amber)
Dated: 5th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

I loved the berry tricks mix. I decided to try this as it was originally intended for my daughter who is 3 and very fussy, I thought the mix of berry flavors would be appealing to her but even the delicious flavors were not enough to lure her away from her plain rice bubbles.

I enjoyed the mix of berry flavors and found it most delicious with a spoonful of yogurt on top to accompany it. The best part was the fruit sticks as they really emphasised the flavor of the whole thing, it would have been even better if there were more fruit sticks to be honest though. The sugars in this cereal were lower then the other cereal we tried which is always a bonus as well.

The price range for this cereal I found was very reasonable and find it very good value for money, if it was a cereal that my daughter would actually eat then I would happily pay the amount asked for this cereal. I also found the packaging very appealing and it was pleasing to the eye. It was entertaining for children and adults instead of just a boring plan box.

This would definitely be a cereal that I would try my daughter on again in a year or two when she moves away from the plain and boring stage.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 4th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

I have renamed my regular courier driver "The Pied Piper" because every time he visits my whare and drops off a parcel, suddenly the mokopuna who live a few doors down across the street come knocking on my door "just to see how old Koro is doing, eh." My tamariki must think I'm senile not to notice the pattern, but at least it prompts them to send some of the whanau around to check on me.

When the boxes of cereals turned up I was actually glad of the young ones coming around because my teeth are not what they used to be. They used to be actual teeth, for a start. Even though I can normally eat this kind of kai, the day or two prior were pretty rough thanks to a piece of pumpkin seed getting stuck under my denture plate and making the gums quite tender in one particular spot that takes most of the pressure when I eat. So putting the mokopuna to use was worth the leech visit.

The youngest will eat just about anything within her reach that even looks like it might be kai, while the older of my two visitors is a very picky eater. he is very particular about what he will trust when it comes to food. Unless it's from McDonald's. He will gladly gorge himself on that crap. I was actually surprised by how easy it was to convince him to try this, until I saw the jelly snake in his bowl. Sugar in its many forms is another weakness of his. He emptied his bowl in almost record time, even faster than his sister.

She on the other hand took her time, but she admitted later that it was more because she was confused by the flavours. To her, cereal that looks even a little bit healthy usually tastes very boring, and she was unsure if this food was actually healthy or not because it tasted so good. After reading the box carefully, I reassured her that it was healhty and it left her a bit off blance. I think she found it quite the shock to realise that good taste and good health were not mutually exclusive when it comes to food.

When it comes to my decision, I am sorry but I can't give one here. With my gums too sore to handle food solid enough to require real chewing at the present, I couldn't eat this. Even the next morning, a bowl of the Bug in Mud proved to be too much for me. But if my mokopunas' reactions are anything to go by, this is one that kids are quite likely to enjoy. A request from them both though: "More snakes, eh!"

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 30th of May, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

I was recently sent a box of Hubbards berry tricks mix to try and was intending on using it as a topping for a fruit crumble. Unfortunately the box arrived on the Tuesday, I planned making the cumble on the Saturday, but the berry tricks mix only lasted till the Friday :( I will however be buying some more in order to give the crumble a go.

I love berry cereals and my kids live any muesli like cereals that they can have with natural yoghurt. This one they really enjoyed with strawberry flavoured yoghurt, and with three children eating it for breakfast two days in a room, along with myself having it twice in one day (once for lunch and again for supper) it is easy to see why it did not last very long. I can not comment as to what it is like with milk, because my family very rarely have milk with cereals (except weetbix, rice-bubbles, cornflakes and the like).

This cereal is packed full of berry flavour and when dished up with strawberry yoghurt, it is super delicious. I especially loved the fruit sticks that are in the package but I did need to read the box as figured they would be full of sugar as they were so yummy. In fact yummy enough that I actually found myself picking the fruit sticks out of the box, until my kids told me off. I really do believe berry tricks mix could have benefited from many more fruit sticks lol

Like the other cereals in the Hubbards range, the boxes are very appealing to the eye, especially to children, and I truly believe this helps in the kids believing the cereal is the best in the whole world. My kids are very big fans of Hubbards cereals and we have only came across one that they did not like.

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 29th of May, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 6 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 6 out of 10

I was lucky enough to try this cereal. I love Hubbards cereal so was pleased to see that they have recently added to their range.

This cereal was quickly spotted on my bench from my 3 year old and he insisted on trying it, even though it was dinner time (who says cereal should only be saved for breakfast?). On opening the packet I realised that it looked very similar to another Hubbards product 'light & right' and other than the kid friendly packaging was finding it difficult to see the differences. My son pointed out that the little white hoops were different and a favourite of his (they were crunchy - but not enough of them).

I discovered that the fruit bits were also long rather than just little chunks. I did no like this s the long strips were hard to stay on a small kids spoon, would of preferred these to be a lot smaller - my son also thought they were lollies in his cereal - something I don't want him to think.

I also took the plunge and tried this cereal and although I did enjoy it I found that at times there were hard bits of cereal clumps in it. These clumps I had to removed as there was no way in biting them without breaking teeth.

So overall the taste was great however was not much different to what is already in the Hubbards range so will stick to 'light & right'.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 14th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

When I saw that I had gotten Berry Tricks Mix I wasn't too sure about it but was happy to dish it out to the kids.

Tipping this into the kids bowls I wasn't really sure what their reaction would be and wasn't at all surprised when the kids uttered 'what is this mum?', 'do I have to eat it?' to which I told them they'd just have to try it once. Well, imagine my surprise when my six year old (who is picky with his breakfast) and my four year (who can be a trial to get just to eat) both asked for a second helping! I happily obliged and my six year old wolfed it down and came asking for yet another helping!

I used this to make the rice bubble bar, along with some Bugs n' Mud, it added a really great flavour to the bar and it made the bar taste so darn good that my three year old was trying to grab a piece for herself, sneaky sneaky little girl. But it added a nice fruity touch to the bar and it's great how yummy this muesli is. I asked my children which of the two was their favourite and the kids both said the Tricks Mix. It's good to know that they loved this cereal so much and it's such a healthy alternative.

I would buy this again, especially on special.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 12th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

I was pleased to be given the chance to try some of the Hubbards cereal as I'm fussy when it comes to breakfast and often buy some try a little and throw the rest out. I wasn't sure if this flavour of cereal was going to be one I would enjoy but I'm happy to say I loved it!

Every spoonful gives you a blast of fruit flavours the mix of berries is perfect. With a mix of berry flakes, rice pops, puffed buckwheat, creamy loops and fruit sticks makes it more interesting than regular cereals. The only part I wasn't completely fussed on was the fruit sticks but as there isn't too many of them in each bowlful it made it easy to avoid.

I often make biscuits with cornflakes in it so decided to give them a go using berry tricks mix in it instead. The results yummy flavourful biscuits, they were a hit with everyone who tried them. I also whipped together rice bubble slice but made up too much mixture so I added in some berry trick mix, once again it was a yummy change to a favourite recipe.

The berry trick mix has already found its way into my shopping trolley and I think it will become a regular feature in there. It makes a nice change from boring cereal and gives a good treat while still being healthy!

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 6th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

We were offered some of this cereal to review and Miss 5 was super excited as it was the most interesting cereal she's got to try so far - and she's often eyed up the interesting ones that I sometimes eat, but I'm reluctant to get into anything that's too expensive!

But this one was definitely aimed at kids with heaps of kids pics and stories and things to do all over the box. To be honest my 5 year old wasn't all that interested in that, but I traditionally love reading cereal boxes so I enjoyed it all! Maybe once she is older, or if I pointed it out to her, the box would appeal more.

Upon tipping the cereal into her bowl for the first time, my daughter got super excited to see a long fruit stick and picked it out and ate it straight away! It turns out she didn't really like it, but luckily there were only a few in the box. There weren't many of the white doughnut shaped pieces in the box either, which was a shame as she really liked those.

I noticed the sugar content was nearly 20% but as I don't normally watch out for these things, I wasn't sure how it compared to other complex cereals, so I went by taste, and it definitely didn't have an overly sweet taste so I was pleased about this. It's designed with wholegrains and heaps of good stuff - giving the kids a good energy start to the day, so I was more than happy my daughter having this for breakfast. (We something use special treat cereals for pudding if I think they are too sweet for breakfast)

Both my daughter and I liked this cereal to eat in a bowl with milk. I also tried making it into a honey slice, thinking it might be a good lunchbox filler with the fibre and goodness of cereal, however my daughter wasn't so keen on this - I think I made it too sweet!

This is a well priced cereal which is something I look for when buying for kids. It's full of different and interesting things, but all things that appeal to kids and are easy to eat. I'd happily recommend this cereal to people with kids, and in fact quite enjoy eating it myself too.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 5th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

We are a family of cereal fans and have a wide variety to chose from in our pantry. When I was offered the chance to try Hubbards Berry Tricks Mix I knew my kids would be keen to help me review it. The packet was very appealing with a photograph of the cereal and drawings and lots of fun stuff about skateboarding to read about. Even the inside of the box has lots of information, joke and activities about growing plants. Most of this is lost on Miss 4 and Miss 5.5 since they can't read it but I can imagine older children would delight in reading the box as they consumed the contents.

There are at least 4 different elements to the berry tricks mix: the common cornflake; berry flavoured cornflakes; white loops and fruit sticks. As a parent I didn't like the fruit sticks as they were too much like lollies and didn't suit a breakfast cereal but you only got one or two in a bowl. Like most mixes some bowls have more of one thing than another. Miss 5.5 was very upset that she couldn't see any "O's" in her bowl. We dug around and found two hidden in there. Obviously the white loops appealed to her from the packet. She happily ate the bowl with yogurt and asked for more (and ate over half of the second bowl). Another hit with her.

I used the berry tricks mix instead of cornflakes in some honey and cornflake cookies. It was a very quick and easy recipe which only needed four ingredients and kept well. It is interesting to note that the fruit sticks maintain their shape when cooked. The biscuits were very tasty and were popular with the girls and I also found myself sneaking into the pantry to have one more often than I should. I even made a second batch for the school cake stall and had several people commenting on how good they looked (it was also a change from all the chocolate goodies).

Although this cereal is marked to children I enjoyed it myself with yogurt. It had a definite berry taste which I was pleased to see was all natural as was the colour. The last thing my kids need is to start the day with artificial colouring (the teachers would love me). I liked the mix of flavours and shapes in every mouthful. I will be buying this again as I know it is something at least two of us will really enjoy.

Click here to read the profile of slashman

Review by: slashman (Aaron)
Dated: 4th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

Hubbards Berry Tricks Mix is the new cereal on the block. This new Hubbard's Cereal is a product aimed at kids. This is evident in the multitude of activities and things to read on the outside of the box. Once opened and you venture inside there is even more to do. If you destroy the box by opening it and lay it out flat there is more than enough to keep kids happy in the mornings for a few days at least while they munch down their yummy berry flake cereal.
There are nice round fruit loop style white "O"'s mixed in with rich red berry pieces that make this cereal really tasty. The base of grains and goodness combined will hold you until after morning tea or even lunch. I tried a bowl for myself and seeing that the kids loved it I was going into this expecting a great tasting cereal.
I liked the neutral flavour of this cereal, it is not artificially sweet or overly dry when eaten with milk, You know how some cereals taste like the bottom of a birdcage? Not this one. Although the flavour does not smash you in the senses it is perfectly rounded off for a kids milder pallet. An adult might find the flavour a little lacking, but only a little, whereas my kids love the taste.
Price wise it is really in the good range. It is not top of the line but still delivers more than its equivalent competing cereals counterparts. You don't have to pay $9 for a good cereal the kids will love.
Energy wise the main goal of this cereal is to keep your kids fuelled so they can do all the kid stuff they do all day, riding bikes, skateboards, running around climbing trees, performing tricks, riding scooters. All that activity is going to need a solid start to the day and this cereal completely delivers that.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 29th of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

Thank you so much KIWIreviews and Hubbards for selecting us to try this great cereal for kids. When I got these boxes, I think my toddler was the most impressed. The older one was too busy watching TV to take much notice. The Berry Tricks Mix has a very engaging box and I found myself reading the whole of the outside. This cereal is not really made for eating dry, but my toddler tried it.

She ate the doughnut shapes and the strings of fruit leather, but the rest didn't seem to appeal as much. I could not convince my eldest to eat any of this one, but the other did get a look in. I have had a couple of bowlfuls and it is delicious. It has a decent amount of berry flavour, and it is crunchy as promised. I enjoyed it and I would buy it again for myself.

The other thing I did with this cereal was to bake a slice. I had a recipe that called for about 3 cups of cereal, some flour, butter, sugar and some eggs. I mixed that all together and then pressed it into a lined baking dish. I baked it until golden on top, cooled it off and then cut it up. I shared my slice with some friends when they came over the other night and they really enjoyed it. But my toddler was the most appreciative of the slice and she has eaten heaps of it. I made a few longer breakfast bars and that is what she has been having for breakfast lately.

I really liked this one, as did the toddler. It was versatile and delicious. Thanks again for letting us be a part of this trial.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.8
Product reviews for listing 6548: Howler Hotdogs - Gourmet Mini Original Dogs -  Produced by Golden Goose Foods Ltd

Product image for Howler Hotdogs - Gourmet Mini Original DogsA better breed of hot dog

It's one of the nation's everlasting on-the-go snack foods - and now the humble hot dog is getting a makeover.

Howler Hotdogs brings a new breed of Kiwi hot dog in to the home in a handy, re-sealable pack with plenty of mini hot dogs to satisfy the meanest hunger, 16 of them to be exact.

Forget sticky, fried batter and tasteless processed sausage meat. Howler ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Action may not always bring happiness, but there is no happiness without action."
Benjamin Disraeli

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream