Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 17th July 2019 - 02:19:33

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Wonka Laffy Taffy Minis review

« Wonka Spree Original reviewWonka Spree OriginalAdobe Creative Suite 6 - Master Collection reviewAdobe Creative Suite 6 - Master Collection »

Score: 8.0/10  [15 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3485 - Wonka Laffy Taffy Minis
Manufactured by Nestle

Wonka Laffy Taffy Minis
Price:
$1.99 / 4pk
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by United Sweets

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and Retail Outlet

Wonka Laffy Taffy Minis product reviews

Your favourite Laffy Taffy in a new bite sized mini.

Assorted flavours include: sour apple, banana, strawberry or cherry.

Check out United Sweets onlineClick here to see all the listings for United Sweets Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
apple   banana   candy   cherry   strawberry   wonka
Other listings you may be interested in:
Cec's Traditional MuesliCec's Traditional Muesli
Rating: 8.9
Oxford Mince & Cheese pieOxford Mince & Cheese pie
Rating: 9.1
Heinz Little Kids Tomato Mini Corn CakesHeinz Little Kids Tomato Mini Corn Cakes
Rating: 9.4
Epicurean Mulling SpicesEpicurean Mulling Spices
Rating: 9.3
SpiceCraft Cajun Seasoning/RubSpiceCraft Cajun Seasoning/Rub
Rating: 9.5
Tasty Pot Meal - Chicken KormaTasty Pot Meal - Chicken Korma
Rating: 8.1
Greed PizzaGreed Pizza
Rating: 8.1
Pretzel Crisps - Buffalo WingPretzel Crisps - Buffalo Wing
Rating: 9.9
Nuttz - Chai AlmondNuttz - Chai Almond
Rating: 9.0
Vogel's All Good : Almond, Cashew and LinseedVogel's All Good : Almond, Cashew and Linseed
Rating: 9.4
Hubbards Banana Bugs'n'mud Hubbards Banana Bugs'n'mud 
Rating: 8.4
Chocolate Raspberry BallsChocolate Raspberry Balls
Rating: 9.3
Gluten Free Weet-BixGluten Free Weet-Bix
Rating: 8.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 11th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have never tried wonka laffy taffy before, so when i was given the opportunity to review some laffy taffy i was really excited and couldnt wait.

Ok first and foremost, the packaging is the usual bright wonka catch your attention packaging...easy to open and easy to read.

I tried the banana one first, wow so much bananery (if that is even a word lol) flavour in one little lolly. It reminds me of the 'banana bike' lollies i loved as a kid. So chewy, so full of flavour, so so yummy! And so definitely going to get more.

Next was the strawberry one...like the banana it had a long lasting burst of strawberryness... i love how wonka candy is good to the very last bite.

These easy to eat lollies leave you wanting more, they are not gone in seconds like most lollies these days. Chewing might be an issue for some people who have dentures or plates, but they really are worth it :)

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 8th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was actually talking to my husband about these a couple of weeks ago so when I got to review them was over the moon.

The wrapper is a breeze to take off and they are exactly how I remember them. Nice and smooth in appearance but looks kinda like a blob of goo.

The first one I ate was banana flavour. It reminds me of a Banana milkshake - no real hint of banana itself more the concept of it. I was planning on saving the Strawberry flavour for tomorrow night but could not wait - smells like Hubba Bubba bubblegum and tastes like it as well.

Banana was definitely my favourite and could quite happily eat a couple of these in one seating. I love the fact it looks like a messy lolly but in reality it is not. My daughter ate a little bit of the banana and pulled it out of her mouth and was so happy when the furniture and hair didn't stick to her hands.

Would definitely buy again.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 6th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

The banana taffy was a lovely yellow colour. It tasted a little like the banana lollies, not like real bananas but the associated banana lolly taste, and you could smell the 'banana' aroma. The Wonka Strawberry taffy was a lovely bubble gum pink! This of course appealed straight away to miss six. They didn't have the strong smell like the banana ones but they definitely had more flavour.

The lollies were long lasting, but to my mind that didn't justify the cost, it's definitely not value for money. But my children told me they would spend their money on them as they appeal more to kids. Eating them took a while, they really did have the taffy texture, and one of my girls has braces so she was happy to suck on her banana taffy lolly.

The wrappers themselves are really targeted to the kids, in lovely bright colours and with jokes, what more could you ask for? So to surmise, I don't think these would appeal to many adults, but they appealed to children far more than I thought they would, that's the great thing about trying something new, you learn something.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 5th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Even with my false teeth trying to detach from my gums with every bite, I could sit and eat handfuls of these. They remind me so much of sweets I used to eat as a young man. They tasted like grapes, sort of. The texture is just the same, as well as the "not really anything like what it says it is" flavours that are extremely addictive.

4 for $2 is a little steep for my pocket, but if there are better prices for bigger purchases I think I could get the family to band together to buy up a boxload at a time. This is one time my opportunistic Mokopuna's impromptu visits had them arrive too late to get the really good stuff, because as soon as I had the box open I managed to palm these so they didn't get spotted, swiped and gobbled before I got my taste.

Of these two flavours, I would have to say the strawberry was my favourite. The banana was delightful, but the strawberry beat it out by just a narrow margin. If these were cheaper, I would have a bowl of them on the table for the visitors to enjoy. For now though it will remain filled with other sweets and treats. These are amazing, but the price really does give me pause for thought.

Click here to read the profile of madvix

Review by: madvix (Vicki)
Dated: 5th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 3 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I actually found the wrapper quite hard to remove, it kind of came off in bits and I thought, oh oh! My teeth are next!
But, no! The lolly's texture was lovely and soft and was easily chewable straight away. It didn't stick to your teeth like some harder lollies do.
I tried the banana flavour first as that is generally not one of my favourite flavours, but it was very pleasant, the strawberry was also nice but I felt that could be a little more fruit flavoured; I'm left with a bubblegummy taste in my mouth.
The jokes would be suitable for kids to have a wee giggle at (if you can get the wrapper off in one piece!).
All in all the lollies were nice, but not nice enough to buy more of. I much prefer the similar style lollies put out by the Natural Confectionery Company and their price is much better than these Wonka lollies.
But if anyone wanted to buy me some, I would not say no!

Click here to read the profile of vettechic

Review by: vettechic (Tash)
Dated: 1st of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 3 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

The easily opening wrappers of these taffys gave you a hint of what was inside, a lovely pink delicious strawberry flavoured taffy and a delicious yellow banana flavoured taffy.

The taffys were just the right amount of chewy, enough to enjoy the artificial but decent tasting non sickly sweetness, without sticking uncomfortably to your teeth.

The two jokes on each wrapper, that I'm guessing were sent in by American children, got a laugh from the household.

I really enjoyed these but wouldn't buy them as I would like to get more for my buck than a four pack at $1.99.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 28th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.8/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

Well these were like a trip down memory lane! I remember walking to school and getting these square lollies wrapped up - and these Laffy taffy tasted the same! Getting the wrapper off wasn't as simple as it could of been, it kind of stuck to the lollie, but was easy enough to peel the lollie from the wrapper.

I loved the strawberry one, but wasn't soo fussed on the banana - although there wasn't any thing wrong with it, i guess banana is not my flavour of choice.

i think that these are really expensive at 4 for 1.99 .. but if i was on my own i would possibly buy these as i love the taste and texture. It wouldn't be something i would by for the family.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 27th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

These reminded me a bit like good old fruit bursts, except alot softer, however the chewiness factor was right up there,so much so in fact, that I felt that if I had too many of these I could very well end up with a sore jaw from all the chewing.

I initially felt that the price was just a smidge too much for a 4-pack, but then I did remember that alot of these sweets are not readily available in NZ and so are most likely actually imported, so there is the import duty and all that on top of the regular price, so I then felt I really couldn't complain about the cost after all.

Next on to the taste, and what can I say, they tasted exactly like I expected them to, which is a good thing, as there have been a few of times I have been surprised by the taste of sweets. But in this case the banana tasted like regular faux banana, and of course the strawberry was just like regular faux strawberry. The tastes were exactly like if I had just had a banana or strawberry milkshake and I still had the delicious aftertaste in my mouth.

So whilst I would love it if these came in a larger pack than just 4, I think it's proabably a good thing they didn't as I would still sit there and eat the lot in one sitting.... Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 26th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I had the pleasure of having a strawberry piece and a banana flavoured piece of laffy taffy for my reviewing pleasure.

Now I'm not sure if it is just me and my big manly hands, but I had trouble getting the wrapper off, it sorta ripped half off, and then the rest was stuck to the taffy, and I had to get that off before consuming. Nothing major, just what happened to me.

Down to the flavours, they are exactly what you are expecting in a confectionery product, tasting nothing like what they are supposed to, but are the usual standard flavour when you encounter banana and strawberry. And they are are done very well indeed, nice flavours, no crazy after taste.

I think for myself, I would have preferred it slightly harder and more chewy, now I'm not sure if my teeth would agree with that.

I marked it down on the price front, I can understand it being at that price point, but maybe I am stuck in the old days where things were cheaper, and I would expect to get more than 4 for the $1.99

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 25th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These laffy taffy minis were pretty darn good, they were not the regular type of toffee sweets that I have had in the past, but I admit that the two flavours I tried were AWESOME! I liked the little jokes that were on the wrappers, they made having this product an even more pleasant experience. The chewy texture was great, for reasons I cannot find, the whole chewy texture is just something I find enjoyable.

The laffy taffies were an excellent size for consumption, they are small enough to just pop in your mouth and eat on the go, you wouldn't have to worry about holding them while you ate away at them mouthful by mouthful, and also they would make a great snack for the odd occasion, as I am guessing that they have a lot of sugar in them, so if they were regular snacks for kids, well, they would have no need for pogo sticks any more, that's for sure.

The price is perfect, they are something you can just buy with your spare change, and as they are small sweets they deserve small prices. With every last thing taken into my consideration, I give this product a 10/10, so well done wonka, you've done it again! Enjoy.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 25th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Thanks KIWIreviews and United Sweets for selecting me to try Laffy Taffy. I have previously purchased the sour apple myself. Today I was also able to try the banana and the strawberry flavour.

What I loved about this candy was that at 50 cents a packet, its easy to break up and share. Its chewy, without sticking to your teeth. Its also not too sticky on your hands even after handling it.

The wrappers are nice and bright. But the hidden gem about these are the jokes. They are pretty much childhood groaners, so my 5 year old loved them. The wrapper has two jokes each. These would be fabulous in a home-made Christmas cracker.

Now onto the flavours. Sour Apple was the first one we tried. It tasted like crisp apple juice to me. My daughter said it didn't taste like fresh apple but was more that artificial apple taste. She said it was very good and she liked artificial apple taste the best.

Second was the strawberry. This one we both agreed tasted like a strawberry milk or milkshake. The last one was banana and this tasted like banana milk. That one was my favourite of the three. United Sweets also have bigger packs of this stuff you can get. I will be buying more for sure.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 23rd of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

These were possibly the most confusing sweet for me... on the one hand, I LOVED the flavour and texture... on the other hand I wasn't happy about the Strawberry flavour pulling out one of my fillings. I note clearly, this is no fault of the product - the risk is there with all chewy toffee-type sweets. Now, the flavours themselves...

The banana was wonderful. Nothing at ALL like a real banana, but then who eats "banana lollies" and actually expects it to taste like a banana?! This was a nice sized portion for one little snack, and I could easily imagine chewing down a 4-pack of these during a movie, in between the popcorn and cup of coke.

The strawberry was the usual erzatz strawberry... which is exactly what was to be expected for this kind of sweet. For those who love that flavour, this will be a nice piece of chewy delight.

Would I go out and buy them? Possibly... especially as there are at least two other flavours I have yet to try. I might look at a bulk order of stuff like these closer to Halloween or as part of party giftbags perhaps. Would they be an everyday snack? Not likely... my kids are hyper enough as it is. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 17th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I got one banana and one strawberry to try. The first thing I noticed was that they're nice and brightly packaged, and you have no doubt as to what flavour it will be. In small writing it also tells you that there is a joke somewhere on the wrapper, which can be found on the back of the wrapper, just above the barcode, and a second joke next to that one.

The one thing I loved was how easy it was to open them up, the wrapping ripped so easily. The amount in the pack is perfect, and it's nice and chewy, but not too chewy if that makes sense.

The really good thing, though, is that it isn't a sugar overload. These are the perfect amount of sweet, where you can eat one, and your sweet tooth is happy for a short time, so I didn't feel like chowing down both all in one go. (I ate half of each flavour). Also, the flavour itself was just right for me. Not too strong, so the flavour isn't overpowering, but at the same time, enough flavour that 10 minutes later I still have a lingering taste of strawberry and banana in my mouth.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 17th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These Laffy Taffy Minis reminded me of the deck chews that were around when I was a child. Deck chews were one of my favourite treats. They are chewy (but not filling pulling) and then suddenly seem to disappear. They have a lovely sweet flavour but not too sweet. I was given the banana and strawberry Laffy Taffy to try. They tasted as I expected for artificially flavoured confectionery. I was grateful for this as I love banana sweets but not real banana.

The serving was a nice small treat and at 50 cents each something that wouldn't mind getting for my pre-schoolers. I gave them a piece of each sweet to try and they enjoyed it. These would be great to keep in the handbag or glove box for when you need a bit of bribery or just a sugar hit.

The wrappers contained a couple of corny jokes like you would get in a Christmas cracker. Both wrappers had the same pair of jokes but I don't know whether just coincidental. It would be fun if you could sit around with your friends and exchange jokes.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 17th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I got a strawberry and a banana flavoured taffy to try. I really liked the banana flavour. I had to share the two Laffy Taffy pieces with Miss Four and Miss Five so we all had a very small piece to try. The Little Misses liked the Strawberry flavour the best and have been asking all week when they can have some more of "that yummy stuff that's not bubblegum"!

The Taffy had a nice flavour that, even though it tasted artificial, didn't leave a bad taste in my mouth. Thankfully I have no idea what the ingredients are so it was a guilt free treat. The packet was torn open pretty easily by Miss Five so they are easy to access but I wasn't able to read the wrapper. The texture of the Taffy is very "taffy" like but not so taffy that it will pull out your fillings. I thought the texture was pretty good actually. So if you like taffy then I would recommend giving this a try. However at $1.99 a four pack this is probably not great value compared to other products out there to get your sweet hit.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 6439: Pretzel Crisps - Honey Mustard and Onion -  Brand: Snack Factory

Product image for Pretzel Crisps - Honey Mustard and OnionComplementing other bold flavours available in the popular deli-style line-up, Honey Mustard and Onion Pretzel Crisps marry a tangy mustard and onion flavour with the irresistible sweetness of honey.

Enjoy the 'just right' baked flavour as a healthy snack by itself, or with your favourite dip or topping!

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do people point to their wrist when asking for the time, but don't point to their bum when they ask where the bathroom is?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream