Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 19th September 2019 - 14:22:39

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Pasta and Noodles > Just Noodles - Japanese Teriyaki review

« Just Noodles - Indian Butter Chicken reviewJust Noodles - Indian Butter ChickenI Survived: The Shark Attacks of 1916 reviewI Survived:  The Shark Attacks of 1916 »

Score: 9.0/10  [8 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 6950 - Just Noodles - Japanese Teriyaki
Produced by Just Foods

Just Noodles - Japanese Teriyaki
Price:
$1.30
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Just Noodles

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Just Noodles - Japanese Teriyaki product reviews

Just Noodles are different
Created by a real chef to bring to you the best authentic flavours from around the world, right to your plate.

Simple to prepare
Just remove the lid, add boiling water, wait for 2 minutes, drain, add flavour and eat.

For the budding chef out there
Simply add any pre-cooked meat to suit, or spice it up with Just Foods Crushed Chilli, Chopped Coriander or Crushed Garlic. Make your noodles your own.

    •  100% MSG Free
    •  Reduced Salt
    •  Sustainable Palm Oil

Fork and Drainage Lid included.

Check out Just Noodles onlineClick here to see all the listings for Just Noodles Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
instant   japanese   msgfree   noodles   sauce   teriyaki
Other listings you may be interested in:
Howler Hotdogs - Mitee Dogs with CheeseHowler Hotdogs - Mitee Dogs with Cheese
Rating: 9.1
Freya's Sandwich ThinsFreya's Sandwich Thins
Rating: 8.4
M's Bear BiscuitsM's Bear Biscuits
Rating: 8.8
Mexican Creations: Chilli Con CarneMexican Creations: Chilli Con Carne
Rating: 8.9
Birds Eye Vegetable FingersBirds Eye Vegetable Fingers
Rating: 9.1
Jelly Belly Smoothie BlendJelly Belly Smoothie Blend
Rating: 8.2
Just Noodles - Chinese BBQ BeefJust Noodles - Chinese BBQ Beef
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Onion with Green ChivesProper Crisps - Onion with Green Chives
Rating: 8.6
Abe's Baby BagelsAbe's Baby Bagels
Rating: 8.7
Alexandra's Rice Pudding - Chocolate and BlueberryAlexandra's Rice Pudding - Chocolate and Blueberry
Rating: 9.5
AbrakebabraAbrakebabra
Rating: 10.0
Just Noodles - Indian Butter ChickenJust Noodles - Indian Butter Chicken
Rating: 9.0
Just Noodles - Mexican SalsaJust Noodles - Mexican Salsa
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 7th of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

After reviewing the salsa version of these noodles a while back, I've been buying them up large at the supermarket because my eyes were opened to an easy lunch option that was infinitely more times tastier than the 2 minute noodles I remember from my student days. But I'd been afraid to venture into other flavours. The teriyaki one in particular made me nervous as I had teriyaki flavour in something else once and it put me off... but I do enjoy genuine teriyaki Japanese food... so I just wasn't sure if I'd like this...

Although I've only ever had these noodles as a quick lunch meal, this time I tried it for dinner, with some cooked chicken and mushrooms that I had available. These additions made it a lovely light meal, and I am pleased to report that I absolutely loved the flavour... probably more than the salsa so I guess I'll be venturing away from my usual in my next shop!

I'm not sure exactly how to describe the flavour, but I'd go with what it says on the packet - that it's a pretty authentic flavour and that it's a nice thick sauce (in fact I tend to add back some hot water after draining to help it mix and to thin it out a bit).

I love the fact that these can be taken to work and prepared with only the addition of hot water - it even comes with a fork... although it's not the strongest fork and I find myself preferring to use one from the drawer. But I do love that in the event of a fork emergency (camping maybe!), then it's all supplied. I find the flavour sachet not easy to open, but it can be done with just fingers if needed. But again if scissors are available then I make life much easier for myself by using them instead.

It goes without saying that I'd buy these again for sure - definitely yum!

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 4th of May, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10

Just made these for my son's after school snack to see how easy they were to make and how the taste was. I boiled the jug and added the water and waited the 2 minutes. I took the lid of and gave it a stir to make sure noodles were ready, not cooked as much as I liked them to be, but I put the lid back on and poured the water out.

This was a bit harder than I thought as you have to awkwardly hold onto the side of the cup to not burn yourself and in which the heat of the cup does heat up the finger tips a bit. I managed to pour the water out without getting any hot water on me thou or the lid falling off.

I added the falvour and it smelled great, I tried the little bit left over on my tongue that I didn't squeeze out and it was yum. I noticed straight away it didn't stain the cup like the butter chicken one did, and it didn't stain the fork, which I liked. It doesnt seem as oily or heavy which I liked about it.

I had a couple of spoon fulls before my son grabbed it off me, and I thought the flavour was great. It had a nice combination to it, without being over powering or spicey. A flavour I would buy myself for lunch in the future. As for my son he thought it tasted sweet and he liked it, he liked the texture of the noodles and how well they were cooked. He liked the cup and being able to hold it while eating the noodles out it and said it was just the right size.

Overall a yummy flavour and I think it would be something that I would buy again for my son and I. Thanks for the opportunity to review the noodles.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 12th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 8 out of 10

I was excited to get to try another flavour in the Just noodles range. So far I have been impressed by the other flavours so was looking forward to trying the Japanese Teriyaki ones.

Again, the cup is not thick enough for my liking. In my opinion when you need to add hot/boiling water to something you need to make sure there is decent amount of insulation, especially when you need to handle it to pour out the boiling hot water. Once I had added the hot water, let it sit for 5-6 minutes (I like my noodles softer) and managed to pour out the hot water I tackled the flavouring sachet. I had to wrestle with it for a few minutes to manage to tear it open without pouring it all over the floor.

I squeezed in the sachet onto the noodles and the smell was amazing! It actually made my mouth water and I couldn't wait to dive into the noodles. I begun to stir with my amazing folding fork - great idea by using a folding fork to save space. But, I found it really annoying to use. It would keep folding in half when I was stirring and after it did this three times I threw it aside and got a proper fork out of my kitchen draw to mix the flavouring in.

I was really disappointed with the flavour - especially after my mouth was watering when I smelt it! It was really strong and overpowering, I didn't find it nice on my palette at all. I tried adding a small amount of water in a hope I could tone the flavour down but this didn't work. In my opinion I think this flavour of noodles needs mixed with something else. Maybe if the flavouring was used to cook and coat chicken which you then added vegetables to and the noodles to it might be better. I just think the flavouring is to strong to just be served with noodles. However, I know this is a 2 minute noodle dish and meant to be an easy meal but it definately needs something else.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 29th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

This product is one of the unique choices of flavours from the Just Noodles range. I have always enjoyed a good chicken teriyaki, so I was interested in seeing how this product would work without any meat. Interestingly, the product works well without any additional ingredients due to the rather thick sauce. The flavour wasn't too strong or too sweet, which was my main concern due to the lack of meat to combine the flavours with.

The noodles themselves are rather thin, and need longer than the expected 2 minutes to get nice and plump. But with the thick sauce and the brilliant draining lid, you end up with a delicious portion of food. I had to hold back a bit there and refrain from saying "meal" because the portion size is rather small. Even once cooked the noodles barely fill half of the packaging, so it is nowhere near enough to fill a large stomach like my own. However, as the products only cost around $1 each, it's still great value for money.

A rather enjoy the flavour, though I could see it getting a bit much if I were to combine two together into the one meal. But with a variety of flavours in the range to choose from, I can easily mix and match to fill my gut.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 25th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

After a very busy day, late lunch, no one was really hungry when it came time for dinner. So over a little over an hour we trialled the three 'Just Noodles' flavours I was lucky to receive. Leaving a large break between each new flavour just to make sure our taste buds where on neutral ground.

First of all I have to say the concept is brilliant and easy. Not having much experience with 2 minute noodles I found it very fast to organise. Just remove lid, fill with water, put in microwave and then add flavour - simple. Well, yes and no. I was not sure how much water to add and as there was an indent on the cup I assumed that was where I had to fill too. The instructions just stated to cover the noodles so there was some discussion between my husband and myself - but the level I used seemed to work. I was a little surprised when first picking up the cup to drain the water at how warm the cup was, I kinda assumed it would be cool to touch but it was still manageable. The sachet is very simple to use and the liquid poured out nicely.

The smell was very yummy and smelt so good. However, I found the sauce was way too strong and rather sickening. I think it would of been nice with vegetables and chicken but on its own it was just too powerful for me. My husband thinks this has the best options for variety out of the three we tried and we agreed just adding another ingredient would of made all the difference. This is also the only one that my husband thought needed a little bit of water to mix with the sauce as it was quite clunky in places.

This definitely has the best options for variety with it and one we would probably trial again just to play around with for a quick lunch.

Click here to read the profile of raz_1984

Review by: raz_1984 (Sarah)
Dated: 21st of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10

I found the taste to be the best out of the 4 flavours I reviewed. I also added them to a chicken stir fry and the taste was a very yummy compliment to the chicken and vegetables that were added. The fork just does not work very effectively though, and kept trying to fold back onto itself while stirring the flavour into the noodles.

The packaging was very appealing, it looked affordable and easy to see what the flavour was and looked easy to use. The directions were clear, and the nutritional information was easy to read. The black background makes all the words pop!

The cup is great as the water can be poured directly in, boiling, and you can still hold it without burning yourself. The cup had a line where to fill with water to and once done, you leave! Once the water has been in long enough, the lid comes into play...awesome design!! No more lost noodles down the drain from coming around the edge of a fork when trying to drain the water. And no burnt hands! And once all the water was drained out, they were easily poured straight into the wok with the rest of the chicken and vegetables and mixed in with the flavour sachet to create a yummy, one dish meal. These will be bought again!

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 12th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10

After seeing these noodles on the shelves at my local supermarket recently, I was happy to see them come up for review recently, giving me the chance to try before I buy. I love Teriyaki chicken flavoured products, and if I'm out for dinner or lunch somewhere and I see a Teriyaki flavoured item available I will more than likely buy it.

Shopping day had been and gone for the week and so the cupboards were looking rather bare, as I searched for something to take to work for lunch I remembered I had these noodles to review. With having only a 30minute lunch break allocated I was hoping that these noodles really would be ready in just 2minutes as the packaging suggested. Everything was going well the jug had boiled,and I had filled the cup up with boiling water to the easy to see line inside of it, I folded the paper back down and then placed the lid back on and patiently as I waited for the noodles to cook 2minutes later and the noodles were cooked just how I like them,
Peeling off the paper I popped the lid back on and started to drain my noodles with the fancy drain holes that are on the lid which I thought was an excellent idea and pointed out to my work mates. However within seconds it was all over the lid was not the securest thing out there and even though I had my hand on it my noodles unfortunately outweighed this and ended up falling in the sink. Wondering what on earth I was now going to have for lunch I grabbed a pack of generic noodles from the work pantry and cooked these the same way when done I added the Japanese Teriyaki to these.

The flavouring came in liquid form and which a deep rich colour. Everyone in the staffroom with me commented on how they smelt rea─║ly nice, and I can say they also tasted great, the flavour was strong and stuck to the noodles really well, though I did find it to be not as sweet as my usual Teriyaki sauce. The noodles came with a cute little fold out fork which was very handy and convenient and meant no needing to wash dishes... yay.

I would love to buy these noodles again and try them in a Teriyaki chicken stirfry, they are a great little meal to have on hand for lunches and would be ideal for camping and hiking trips, anywhere that you can access hot water really! With a price of $1.30 they really are a great buy!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 5th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

When you find a product that looks like it should be a total no-brainer to make, it's quite annoying, frustrating and just plain stupid when it doesn't come out the way it should. There are so many products like that out there (eg. almost every microwave TV dinner I have tried) that adding one more to the list makes a little piece of me die inside.

Thank the stars this was not one of those. I don't think I could ever look at another pack of "instant noodles" again without wanting to smash it into dust if this had been.

I think what I liked the most about this was the way they managed to cover all the possible bases so tidily. Your prep container is also your serving dish, the noodles are basic with the sauce - an actual LIQUID sauce at that - in a neat little pouch, and you even get your little fold-up plastic fork. It basically means that if you have one of these handy, and you can get at boiling water, you have a basic but available snack. Perfect for camping, hiking and hunting trips.

I did find that, to suit my own tastes, I needed to adjust the prep instructions a little... but then I always like to see what can happen when I go a wee bit off the beaten track. The instructions say to leave the water in for 2 minutes then drain it all off. I found that the noodles weren't quite as well cooked as I prefer them, so I left the boiling water in for closer to 8 minutes. That's fine for me, I just poured in the water and left it sitting on the side of my desk while I finished off a few emails, and it was ready about the time I was.

What I didn't like quite as much was this flavour. I adore Japanese Teriyaki flavour - especially on chicken - but this turned out a bit weak for my taste buds. I suspect though there may have been a little bit of water left in the bottom of the cup after draining, because the sauce started out as a fairly thick paste, but ended up more like a mild soup, not sticking to the noodles as much as I wanted. Still, at this price, I could be tempted to buy a few more to give me room to experiment a bit more. I'm keen to try making these up as the base upon which I serve something like pan-seared chicken, or maybe even a bit of nice salmon or fresh tuna.

Overall, while far, far from the worst version of a 2-minute noodle packet, this failed to reach the level I was hoping for. Regardless of that, I will be looking to buy more in future because I think it has potential and the issue I had may be down to human error more than product failure.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.8
Product reviews for listing 7941: Raptor Rubs - Cowboy Steak Rub -  Brand / Manufacturer : Raptor Rubs

Product image for Raptor Rubs - Cowboy Steak RubNow you can season like a real foodie or masterchef, without having to buy loads of expensive, exotic ingredients or wait for time-consuming wet marinades. Within minutes your favourite cut of beef, steak, chicken, lamb, pork, salmon, seafood and vegetables will be ready to barbecue, roast, pan fry, grill or bake. Out on the bbq or in the kitchen, ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Education is what you get when you read the fine-print. Experience is what you get when you don't."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream