Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 17th September 2019 - 14:36:45

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Mac Bar - Dark review

« Mac Bar - Dark & Milk reviewMac Bar - Dark & MilkSmartDraw 2012 reviewSmartDraw 2012 »

Score: 7.3/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3373 - Mac Bar - Dark
Manufactured by Mac Snack

Mac Bar - Dark
Price:
$1.75 - $4.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Mac Snack

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via the company website, at selected quality retailers and Farmers Markets

Mac Bar - Dark product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOrganic macadamia nuts chipped into organic dark chocolate, and shaped into a 30g bar of healthy goodness.

Our Macadamia Nuts are grown chemical-free and naturally fertilised, giving you a safe, healthy, nutritious and flavourful nut.

Macadamia Nuts are rich in beneficial Omega-3 polyunsaturated oil. Macadamia Oil has the highest level of C16:1 (Desmethyl) of any known plant oil and the lowest levels of Omega W6 fatty acids of all culinary vegetable oils. 5 to 20 Macadamia Nuts a day has proven to lower cholesterol levels.

Check out Mac Snack onlineClick here to see all the listings for Mac Snack Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chocolate   macadamia   nuts   nzmade   snacks
Other listings you may be interested in:
GEM Moroccan Spiced Lamb HotpotGEM Moroccan Spiced Lamb Hotpot
Rating: 9.6
RJ's Licorice MedleyRJ's Licorice Medley
Rating: 9.6
Innestyle Sauce - Double GarlicInnestyle Sauce - Double Garlic
Rating: 9.0
Mac Bar - MilkMac Bar - Milk
Rating: 7.8
Barker's Fruit For Cheese - Pomegranate & Black PepperBarker's Fruit For Cheese - Pomegranate & Black Pepper
Rating: 8.2
Angry Birds Fruit Gummies Theatre BoxAngry Birds Fruit Gummies Theatre Box
Rating: 7.9
Mac Snack - Lite RoastedMac Snack - Lite Roasted
Rating: 7.8
Mac Snack - Golden RoastedMac Snack - Golden Roasted
Rating: 8.3
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Italian Spice RubSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Italian Spice Rub
Rating: 9.6
Mac Bar - Dark & MilkMac Bar - Dark & Milk
Rating: 7.6
Pitango Organic Spring Lamb, Red Wine and Rosemary SoupPitango Organic Spring Lamb, Red Wine and Rosemary Soup
Rating: 9.7
Sids Low Sugar Plum Sauce Sids Low Sugar Plum Sauce 
Rating: 8.6
Mac Snack - Natural & CrispyMac Snack - Natural & Crispy
Rating: 7.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 15th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.8/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

I'm not a big dark chocolate fan, I find them too rich and they leave a bitter after taste. In fairness though I did try a small part of the Mac Bar.
I still don't like dark chocolate :) so I was more than willing to share this with my husband who does like the darker variety. What I did notice was the lovely texture, very smooth but this wasn't enough for me. The cocoa was very strong.
Price wise, I would pay up to $2 for my husband but nothing over that.
The packaging is very appealing, plain and simple and eye catching :)

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 22nd of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

After receiving these and putting them in the fridge while I tried to think of interesting ways to use them, I got distracted by family matters and forgot all about them until my little helper spotted them while hunting through the fridge on a recent visit. Funny thing was, I discovered about 5 hours later that about the same time he found them, I got an email asking if they had gone missing in the post, or would I be posting my reviews soon. Oops.

This was the second bar I tried, mainly because the young mokopuna who had volunteered to help his old Koro test them decided he wanted to go for the other end of the range after we tried the milk. He thought it would be even sweeter not knowing that dark chocolate has less sugar and more cocoa. Still he found it was pretty good though not his favourite. But me, I liked it a lot, always a fan of dark chocolate.

This bar had a nice sharpness to it that would have gone really well with a hot coffee or a tiramisu dessert. Just enough sweetness to cancel the bitterness of the coffee, but not enough to take away that richness. The macadamia nuts in it just added a really nice sideline to the flavour, giving it some depth and stopping it from being JUST an amazing chocolate. Whether this one or the milk would be my favourite, well I still can't say. I think I will need to buy some more of these and do some more testing and thinking. But this time, I will do it when I am home alone! Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 21st of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Over the last month or so, my life has been a bit crazy, with little time to chill out and try something new. So, it was with great anticipation I shoved the remaining two Mac Bars into my bag for a day at Fieldays. I figured I was in for a lot of walking, so taking along some high-energy snacks would be a smart move. Seems I was right, because I had no trouble walking a total of around 24km over the first day!

Having some idea of what to expect after trying the Mixed Choc bar, I was still unprepared for how rich the full-dark was. To be bluntly honest, it was a tiny tad too rich for my tastes, and I have to say I found the mixed bar to be a bit more appealing. I can't say I DIDN'T like this one, only that I found it slightly less appealing than the mixed, mainly because with this bar, I had a strange undertaste of bourbon of all things!

Overall, this is a lovely treat, and would go well as part of a gift pack or a special event table display, but as an everyday snack the price alone puts it off the list for me. Those with a lot more free cash would be smart to consider this over any other choccy bar around, for the health benefits alone, if not the ethical right'ness of organic, hand-made, NZ produce.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 8th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

WOW its not often you come across a dark chocolate that you can honestly say does not leave a gritty feel in your mouth, nor is it far too rich or bitter to actually consume with a smile on your face....But Mac Snack as done just that with this bar.

Mac Snack Dark believe it or not has 70% cocoa solids, but no sign of that horrid palm oil that has become a firm favorite for some other chocolate producers Sad Icon

This dark chocolate is really very nice. Smooth, velvety and a rich dark colour. It even smells great the second the packet is opened. It really is a fantastic dark chocolate. Not everyone is a fan of dark chocs, so this would be a great one for those who would like to eat it more but find other dark chocolates to bitter, strong or gritty. Mac Snack have created a fantastic combination with this one. Its full of macadamia and chocolatey goodness, rich tasting yet not over bearing.

Like the other bars in the range, the price starts around $1.75 per bar going up to around $4.00 depending on where purchased. I think for the size, that $4.00 is asking a little to much, but at the lower end of the pricing scale $1.75 to $2.00 is definitely a fair price to pay for this great little chocolate bar.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 4th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

I'm not a huge fan of dark chocolate to begin with, so gave the bulk of the bar to my husband to get his thoughts on it. I myself, had just a small piece. When compared to other brands dark chocolate this one tastes stronger, and also much richer, so for my friends who enjoy dark chocolate I would add this in a gift basket for them.
My husband said that he rather enjoyed it, and that the nuts gave it a great, added taste and overall improved the taste and texture of the bar.
While it's not something that will end up in my trolley, I would recommend it to my chocolate-loving friends. The price, would make it a decent treat every now and then when added to a gift basket.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 20th of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This bar is pure luxury. The organic chocolate contains 70% cocoa solids. There is not a drop of palm oil or any of the other rubbish that is in cheaper chocolate. You definitely get what your pay for: A top quality chocolate. It is also New Zealand made with locally grown macadamias.

I savoured every bite of it and let out an audible moan when my three year old daughter walked in on me eating this delicious treat. I was very generous and allowed her a bite. I expected her to spit it out as dark chocolate is more for an adult's palate. Instead she immediately returned for another bite. We were both disappointed when the bar was gone. We both needed more to be satisfied. A 30g bar is really a selfish treat. It is not big enough to share with anyone.

It didn't taste too bitter like most dark chocolate. It was divine. The macadamias have a natural sweetness that helps to balance out the bitterness of the chocolate.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 8073: Farrah's Italian Herb Wraps -  Brand / Source : Farrah's

Product image for Farrah's Italian Herb WrapsFarrah's Italian Herb Wraps contain a mix of roasted garlic and five classic Italian herbs - basil, oregano, rosemary, thyme and sage. Delicious filled with your favourite toppings for an easy lunch, they also make perfect thin and crispy pizza bases! Each Wrap is visibly soft and smooth, and can be used in a variety of tasty recipes - ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Reality is what refuses to go away when I stop believing in it."
Philip K. Dick

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream