Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 22nd September 2019 - 07:33:12

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Pasta and Noodles > Just Noodles - Chinese BBQ Beef review

« Farrah's Wraps - Sprouted Grain reviewFarrah's Wraps - Sprouted GrainJust Noodles - Mexican Salsa reviewJust Noodles - Mexican Salsa »

Score: 8.9/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 6947 - Just Noodles - Chinese BBQ Beef
Produced by Just Foods

Just Noodles - Chinese BBQ Beef
Price:
$1.30
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Just Noodles

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Just Noodles - Chinese BBQ Beef product reviews

Just Noodles are different
Created by a real chef to bring to you the best authentic flavours from around the world, right to your plate.

Simple to prepare
Just remove the lid, add boiling water, wait for 2 minutes, drain, add flavour and eat.

For the budding chef out there
Simply add any pre-cooked meat to suit, or spice it up with Just Foods Crushed Chilli, Chopped Coriander or Crushed Garlic. Make your noodles your own.

    •  100% MSG Free
    •  Reduced Salt
    •  Sustainable Palm Oil

Fork and Drainage Lid included.

Check out Just Noodles onlineClick here to see all the listings for Just Noodles Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
bbq   chinese   instant   msgfree   noodles   sauce
Other listings you may be interested in:
Just Noodles - Japanese TeriyakiJust Noodles - Japanese Teriyaki
Rating: 9.0
RJs Soda TwistersRJs Soda Twisters
Rating: 8.3
Nosh RestaurantNosh Restaurant
Rating: 4.0
Kebabs on BroadwayKebabs on Broadway
Rating: 9.4
Barker's New Zealand Wildberry SauceBarker's New Zealand Wildberry Sauce
Rating: 9.7
Natures Fresh Smooth Hot Cross BunsNatures Fresh Smooth Hot Cross Buns
Rating: 9.3
Just Noodles - Mexican SalsaJust Noodles - Mexican Salsa
Rating: 9.3
Chunky Salsa Tomato and Capsicum SauceChunky Salsa Tomato and Capsicum Sauce
Rating: 9.8
Wattie's Toasties - Ham, Cheese and OnionWattie's Toasties - Ham, Cheese and Onion
Rating: 8.8
Kumara Croquettes with Sweet ChilliKumara Croquettes with Sweet Chilli
Rating: 7.9
Farrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted PepperFarrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted Pepper
Rating: 9.3
Chop Chop! Chicken - TeriyakiChop Chop! Chicken - Teriyaki
Rating: 8.4
Just Noodles - Indian Butter ChickenJust Noodles - Indian Butter Chicken
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 11th of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

My son came home from rugby and asked to try the Chinese BBQ Beef noodles. Which I thought was a good idea, to warm him and also to fill up his belly. I made the noodles and found this batch easier to make, I think due to the fact I have made a few now. The last ones I seemed to struggle when pouring out the liquid and the lid popping off, but this batch ran smoothly and I found this made them super easy to make, no stress or mucking around.

I noticed the sauce, when squeezing it in, was rather thick, so when trying to mix it was harder than the other ones. The end result was great though because of the thickness of the sauce. I personally would say out of all the flavours I have tried that this Chinese BBQ Beef flavour was my favourite. My son soon grabbed them off me to try himself, and he didnā ™t give them back. He said "itā ™s nice and spicy but not too spicy. How the flavour is in all the noodles so it makes it all nice and good. Also the cup warms me up as I hold it."

I would buy this flavour again; itā ™s hard to find good snack food that my son likes. I find these quick and easy to use and no fuss or mess. Donā ™t need to get out a pot to cook the noodles in or use a bowl or anything. Just add the boiling water and eat straight from the cup. I also like how these noodles are 100% MSG Free, have reduced Salt and use sustainable palm oil. Itā ™s good to know that the noodles I feed my son are of better quality for him. I look forward to buying more of these for myself and my son, will have to hide mine though so I can have the chance to eat them myself.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 11th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

The chosen flavour "Chinese BBQ Beef" left me curious as this could explain numerous different flavours in my opinion. As previous reviewers have stated I also expected a smokey BBQ sauce flavour.

The instructions state to leave the noodles for two minutes, I found this was not long enough and left them for just over five minutes which I found sufficient. It also does not state the amount of water needed only saying to cover noodles, I feel they could of been more clear with the instructions. The lid design is brilliant and I also liked that you could hold the cup without burning your hands.

The flavour had a very strong smell upon opening the flavour but it did not put me off. I love that the sauce stays thick and does not convert to a watery like flavouring so this impressed me and it seemed to be the perfect amount for the noodles. The taste was delicious and I have since purchased more of these noodles they will be perfect for the upcoming winter months and perfect for the school holidays. The price is perfect!

I would love to experiment more with these using them in stir fry and also I think they would be delicious in a chowmein!

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 25th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

After a busy day and a late lunch when it came time for dinner no one was particularly hungry so thought this was the perfect time to trial all three Just Noodles that I received. We spread them over an hour leaving a large gap between trialling the next variety.

I found the concept brilliant and easy and so fast. Remove lid, add boiling water, put lid back on and wait for two minutes, then add flavour - simple. My only complaint was I was unsure how much water to add as it was not mentioned, just states cover noodles. I found on the cup there was an indent close to the top which I filled the water to that - it seemed to work and cooked the noodles perfectly. I have not had a lot of practice with two minute noodles so was rather a novice at the whole thing.

This is the only flavour that I found the sauce did not cover all the noodles with. I found it was quite clumpy and parts of the noodle where unflavoured and no matter how much I stirred it did not help the situation. I found there was a very heavy spice with this that could be smelt and tasted. I found it a little too tangy for my liking and found this was my least favourite of the lot of them.

This would be great on a cold day but I think you would definitely need to add some meat or vegetables just to help balance the taste out. This was the only one that the girls did not want to finish and even my husband was struggling to finish it. Unfortunately not one we will be trying again.

Click here to read the profile of raz_1984

Review by: raz_1984 (Sarah)
Dated: 21st of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10

Always on the look out for new and exciting noodles, especially new flavours! To begin with, the look. Very inviting to try, but clear and concise packaging, simple yet effective and looks affordable. And when in use, the packaging is actually usable!

The packaging is great as the water can be poured directly in, boiling, and you can still hold it without burning yourself. The cup had a line where to fill with water to and once done, you leave! Once the water has been in long enough, the lid comes into play...awesome design!! No more lost noodles down the drain from coming around the edge of a fork when trying to drain the water. And no burnt hands!

The fork I found to be rather useless though. Folding out was a good idea to include, but the direction it folds means when you stir the noodles in the water, it folds back into itself! I decided to not use the fork included after numerous attempts and just used one at home. The flavour was yum, but found it didn't mix in too well into all the noodles so there was some mouthfuls that were flavoursome, and others that lacked any flavour at all! Not sure if I would describe the taste as Chinese BBQ Beef though, but couldn't pinpoint the actual flavour.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 17th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

Trying out my second Just Noodles product, I endeavoured to ensure that I didn't add the flavour sachet until after I had finished cooking them and drained the water. I stuck to the directions and left it to cook for two minutes before draining, and again found the results to be a little too firm for my liking. This also created a little bit of an issue with the mixing as the noodles held their shape too much and clumped together, not allowing me to get an even mix.

When I smelt the paste and had a quick taste, I could tell it was going to be a very strong overpowering flavour, but once fully mixed in with the noodles it had the perfect ratio of noodles to sauce. the flavour was strong and deliciously sweet, but was not too overbearing. Simply put, I think these may be my new favourite noodles; especially at such a great price.

I didn't add anything else to this product; no meat, no vegetables, but its still taken out the top spot without these additions.

I will likely need to experiment a little bit with the level of draining. I have been so impressed with the draining lid provided, that I feel I may be removing too much water, which is leaving the noodles a little on the dry side, but that can be easily sorted by leaving a little water in to mix with the paste.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 12th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

I requested these noodles not knowing what to expect from the flavour to be honest, as in my books the words 'Chinese BBQ Beef' could mean a whole lot of different flavours or taste sensations, though I was hoping for a BBQ sauce like taste.

I had some beef schnitzel out for dinner but decided to cut it into strips of beef, rather than cook it as crumbed schnitzel as I usually would so that I could make it into a stir fry using my Chinese BBQ Beef Just Noodles. I prepared the noodles following the simple, easy to follow directions. Leaving the noodles in the cup with boiling water I waited 2 minutes before checking on how the noodles were cooked,they were just how I prefer to eat them so I drained off the water using the handy lid that doubles as a drainer (just be careful to make sure you hold it in place as you tip out the water as the noodles are a bit to heavy for the lid to support on there own). With the water drained off I added in the sauce, it smelt strongly of spices and was a deep red colour, it was certainly thick and looked more like a paste than it did a sauce in my opinion. My only problem at this point was due to the thickness of the sauce it was quite hard to mix in, especially to the noodles at the bottom of the cup and using the supplied fold up fork was a mission as it kept clicking apart as I mixed, however I got there in the end.

I added the noodles to my stir fried meat and vegetables and stirred them around, I now had a quick easy dinner ready to go. Miss 3, my partner and myself all said the same thing about the sauce, that it was to spicy for our liking, while we finished ours Miss 3 refused. With the sauce being 41% tomato paste I was surprised by the spice level.

Though these are not for me I'm sure people who like a bit of spice would enjoy these and for the price it would be well worth trying.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 5th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

I hate BBQ sauce as a rule. The gunk slathered onto fast food burgers or glopped into little sealed tubs to be handed out with your chicken nuggets leaves me feeling queasy even before I open it. Not really a big fan of the heavy-handed "smokey" flavours. If has more smokey flavour than a good Bourbon or a lightly smoked Havarti, then it's not going to go down too well with me. Because of that, I was a little hesitant to try this flavour but taking risks with the taste buds kinda goes with the territory in this line of activity. So... TALLY-HO!

I was so pleasantly surprised, I almost jumped in the car to go and buy more right away. Being nearly 1am, that would not have netted me much in the way of positive results, so... here we are. I wantses more! The flavour was very Asian in all the ways I like, with a rich, deep flavour profile that came through well. Ensuring there was no residual water in the cap, I found the sauce remained quite thick and stuck to the noodles extremely well, carrying the taste right through every bite. The flip-side of that was, of course, it didn't mix through very evenly, so I had to choose between patchy flavour or cold noodles because of the time taken to mix it all through evenly. I chose to enjoy the taste and just take extra care when grabbing a forkful.

Speaking of forks... there is a dinky fold-up plastic fork included but I found during mixing that it kept popping loose and trying to fold up again, so while I applaud the level of provisioning, I opted to use a regular fork instead. That said, were this being used on a camping trip or as a quick snack at an afternoon stop-over on a hike, the included fork would have done in a pinch.

After trying another flavour, and finding that 2 minutes soak in the boiling water wasn't enough to cook the noodles to my level of preference, I gave it a full 8 minutes again. This time, however, I also left on the pottle's tear-away seal. The instructions say to remove the drain lid and the seal, then cover the noodles with the boiling water and replace the drain lid only. Instead, I only tore the seal open half way - enough to reach in and remove the flavour pouch and fork - then filled the mug almost to the brim with boiling water, folded the seal down and secured it with the drain lid. This retained a lot more heat, and also prevented it from sloshing out hot water as I carried it from the kitchen to my desk. Highly recommend this plan - you get much better results and more bulky noodles. More filling!

Overall, this is one I plan to stock up on for those quick snacks to tide me over during high workload days. I may need to empty a shelf in my cupboard just for these. Wink Icon

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.6
Product reviews for listing 1211: Meatlovers Classic Pizza -  Produced by The Chicago Pizza Company

Product image for Meatlovers Classic PizzaJoey 'Beefs' don't like much - but he sure loves his Chicago Meatlovers. A former butcher's apprentice, Joey knows his fine cuts from the baloney.

It's fully loaded with wood-smoked bacon and ham, cabonossi, salami, onion and capsicum layered over the family's secret BBQ sauce - it ain't for the the faint hearted.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I really have a secret satisfaction in being considered rather mad."
W. Heath Robinson (1872 - 1944)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream