Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 24th July 2019 - 07:55:23

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Kids - General > Boy vs Beast - Battle of the Mutants review

« Elephant Joe is a Knight reviewElephant Joe is a KnightKlutz - Headbands & hairstyles reviewKlutz - Headbands & hairstyles »

Score: 9.3/10  [2 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 2843 - Boy vs Beast - Battle of the Mutants
Author: Mac Park

Boy vs Beast - Battle of the Mutants
Price:
$10.00 each
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Scholastic (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
March 2011

Boy vs Beast - Battle of the Mutants product reviews

Eggs have hatched in Terradon but it is a not a rock beast. The ice is melting in Isolus and it is raining in Tornados. There are dust storms in Tornados and water is invading Sludgia.

Will Kai be able to battle the new mutants with his new combo gear? Will he learn how to stop more mutants coming?

    •  Book 9: Terraserpix - Fire/Rock/Water mutant
    •  Book 10: Flamatoraq - Fire/Air/Water mutant
    •  Book 11: Stormasaurix - Fire/Rock/Air mutant
    •  Book 12: Aquaterros - Rock/Air/Water mutant

Check out Scholastic (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Scholastic (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
air   alternate dimensions   battle   beasts   earth   elements   fire   isolus   kai masters   mac park   mutants   scholastic   sludgis   tempesta   volcan   water
Other listings you may be interested in:
Amisfield: Food, Wine and Stories from Central OtagoAmisfield: Food, Wine and Stories from Central Otago
Rating: 10.0
Weirdo 7 Mega WeirdWeirdo 7 Mega Weird
Rating: 8.3
Boy vs Beast - Lava Mega-MutantBoy vs Beast - Lava Mega-Mutant
Rating: 8.8
Boy vs Beast - Battle of the Mega-Mutants: ChillterratanBoy vs Beast - Battle of the Mega-Mutants: Chillterratan
Rating: 7.8
Walking the TreeWalking the Tree
Rating: 8.0
The RunawaysThe Runaways
Rating: 5.0
Boy vs Beast - Border Guard Battle Files : Land and AirBoy vs Beast - Border Guard Battle Files : Land and Air
Rating: 9.8
Boy vs Beast - Battle of the BordersBoy vs Beast - Battle of the Borders
Rating: 9.5
Boy vs Beast - Battle of the Mega-Mutants: TorlavasaurBoy vs Beast - Battle of the Mega-Mutants: Torlavasaur
Rating: 7.8
Boy vs Beast - Battle of the WorldsBoy vs Beast - Battle of the Worlds
Rating: 8.6
Line WarLine War
Rating: 9.8
Boy vs Beast - Ice Mega-MutantBoy vs Beast - Ice Mega-Mutant
Rating: 9.0
Boy vs Beast - Fully Loaded.Boy vs Beast - Fully Loaded.
Rating: 8.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 11th of May, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Well, I must say that this new set of books from the "Boy vs Beast" series is rather impressive. Yes it still had short sentences but it was much cooler than the other books due to the fact that it was more active and exciting. The first two book covers were great, but the last two were a little bit on the "unattractive" side unfortunately.

I think my personal favourite out of these four books is "Book 9: Terraserpix" since it showed new rooms that were added to Kai's lighthouse, and believe me, those rooms were awesome! I was absolutely blown away when I found out that the third wall in the battle chamber was finally unlocked, and that it enabled Kai to take old weapons and make new combo weapons.

The "Fire-Water-Rock" mutant looked great, and I loved the way that the three beasts that made up the mutant were put together into a creature that was not too mixed up and was easy on the eyes (and by the way, the other mutants were just as good as this one as well).

I happened to notice that in "Book 12: Aquaterros", the first chapter said that Kai was playing a video game which was almost exactly the same as one I vaguely recall playing on the "Boy vs Beast" website, so that gave me an interesting surprise. I'm hoping that there will be further books in the series since the last book of this batch showed a room in Kai's lighthouse that was still under construction, so I'm bursting with curiosity about what that room will be.

The price of these books is suitable, not too low and not too high. They are great for kids 7-11 age-wise, but not interest-wise; I mean a 5-year-old could see this book and want to read it, and 11-year-olds might think they're a little too old for these books. I think your child will enjoy these four books, so get ready for another round of action and adventure with "Boy vs Beast: Battle of the Mutants".

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 1st of May, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

this is the first encounter i have had with these titles and i wanted to try them out on my younger family members. having missed the first two series the background story was a bit empty but that didnt seem to matter to the kids at all. each of the kids seemed to have their own favourite title and creature but they all agreed the best character is BC the robot dog. personally I thought the dialogue was targetted a little too low and that the best age group for these books was around the 6-7 years old range. from what i have read about the previous sets this book covers an evolution of creatures and characters so it will be interesting to see how the next series pans out.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 6672: Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials Movie Tie-In -  Author: James Dashner

Product image for Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials Movie Tie-InThe second book in the Maze Runner series that is soon to be a motion picture, hitting theaters September 18, 2015. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. This special movie tie-in hardcover edition features an eight-page full-color insert with photos from the film.

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end.
Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I like to pick up hitchhikers. When they get in the car I say, "Put on your seat belt. I want to try something. I saw it once in a cartoon, but I think I can do it."
Steve Wright

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream