Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 14th December 2019 - 10:57:21

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Kids - General > Lest We Forget review

« The Jungle reviewThe JungleElephant Joe is a Knight reviewElephant Joe is a Knight »

Score: 8.8/10  [5 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 2841 - Lest We Forget
Author: Feana Tu'akoi and Elspeth Alix Batt (Illustrations)

Lest We Forget
Price:
$31.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Scholastic (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
March 2011

Lest We Forget product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsTyson doesn't understand why Mum and Poppa would want to go to the Anzac Dawn Parade. Why celebrate anything as stupid as war?

But then he hears stories about the soldiers in his family and decides perhaps he should go to the Dawn Parade after all.

Check out Scholastic (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Scholastic (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
anzac   commemoration   dawn   nzmade   scholastic   war
Other listings you may be interested in:
Lionwolf : 2 : Here in Cold HellLionwolf : 2 : Here in Cold Hell
Rating: 8.8
Medicinal Herbs in the South PacificMedicinal Herbs in the South Pacific
Rating: 9.5
100 Discoveries - The Greatest Breakthroughs in History100 Discoveries - The Greatest Breakthroughs in History
Rating: 9.5
The Snake Book - Slip Sliding AwayThe Snake Book - Slip Sliding Away
Rating: 9.1
A Kingdom BesiegedA Kingdom Besieged
Rating: 9.5
MilkshakeMilkshake
Rating: 7.5
SinkingSinking
Rating: 8.5
ManifestationsManifestations
Rating: 3.0
My New Zealand Story - Harbour BridgeMy New Zealand Story - Harbour Bridge
Rating: 10.0
Die AgainDie Again
Rating: 9.8
Extinction GameExtinction Game
Rating: 9.0
Rory the Dinosaur Needs a Christmas TreeRory the Dinosaur Needs a Christmas TreeThe Little Ghost who Lost her Boo!The Little Ghost who Lost her Boo!
Rating: 9.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of honey.b

Review by: honey.b (Rachel)
Dated: 20th of May, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This is a brilliant book for teaching children and adults alike about ANZAC commemorations. Children especially who are having a hard time trying to figure out why their parents get them up early on a cold, sometimes wet ANZAC Day morning to just to stand quietly and watch a dawn parade will benefit greatly from this book.

The well illustrated book is both easy for children to read and comprehend. My nieces and nephews really enjoyed this story and have a greater appreciation and understanding for the ANZAC Day commemorations.

Although they have known it was an important occasion and enjoy watching their cousins, aunties, uncles and grandfather march in past parades has inspired them to take more interest in the occasion by doing their own research online and by asking questions about all aspects of the event. With their new found wealth of information they really can't wait for next years ANZAC parade.

I would recommend this book to all families. It's a must have book for all households.

Click here to read the profile of ibnita

Review by: ibnita (Anita)
Dated: 4th of May, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

With a Grandfather who never spoke of what he saw when he went off to War it has been hard to explain to my own children what he went through and why it is important to celebrate ANZAC Day. This book was very easy to read, each of my children came away with a much clearer understanding of what it is we celebrate and also the effects it had on those who went off to fight for our country. I thought it was very sensitively written, and the illustrations were wonderful. I think this would be a great book to have as part of your children's library or for schools.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 4th of May, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

WOW what a wonderful story. 'Lest we Forget' is absolutely amazing. The story and the message really hits home, and is one that I think every family should own. I read it alone to start with, as I like to get a feel for a book before reading it to my children, and so I know which children (as mine have a big age gap) it would be suited. After reading this, I myself had a new appreciation of wars and the people that leave their loved ones to fight for what is important (usually freedom).

I decided that we would read the book next as a family (including my husband and 4 yr old) and everyone sat quietly and listened for the entire story, which once finished then opened up a discussion on what it ANZAC day means and the importance behind it, and of course on war itself, and whether any of our family were in any wars.

This book not only has a great story, but it teaches so much in such a few short pages. And like Tyson, we all took something from it.

It is easy to read, and neither to long nor to short. The pictures although not true photographs still give the reader a sense of the love, hurt, courage every family endured when someone went to, fought in and came home from a war.

A truly wonderful book and story and definitely a must read for every family.

Click here to read the profile of emahlyn

Review by: emahlyn (Emma)
Dated: 23rd of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

This is a great book for teaching the younger generation about ANZAC day. It answers all the questions the young ones have, such as 'Why celebrate something as stupid as war'.

In the story Tyson (a young boy) doesn't want to attend the ANZAC memorial service, as he doesn't want to celebrate war or people dying and being injured. So his Mum, Nana and Poppa teach him about the great depression and how men went to war to support their families as there was barely any work for them. They explained how it was a chance for the men to see the world and the men went to protect their countries. Tyson takes some time to think about all this before deciding whether or not to attend the memorial service.

I would definitely recommend this book because it teaches children what ANZAC day is really about.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 23rd of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

In my youth, I was much like Tyson... unable to grasp why the old folks would want to remember the horrors of war, to celebrate the loss of all that innocent youth. Both my grandfather and father had fought in big wars, and they educated me in much the same way Tyson, the main character of this story, was educated... by telling the stories of what happened, why they did what they did, and why they knew it would have to be done again by another generation.

Like Tyson, I too went to the Dawn Parades, and still do... not to glorify war, not to celebrate the victories, but to honour those who stood up for what they believed in, what they felt was the right thing to do, and who laid down their lives for the betterment of others.

This is a very poignant reminder of my youth, and of why ANZAC Day is important... REALLY important. Why it is more than just a bunch of uniforms lurking around supermarkets selling mass-produced plastic poppies. It's about remembering those who did their duty, at the expense of life or limb... or soul.

Overall, as well as the beautiful and unusually coloured illustrations, which are a delight to see, this is one book every house should have in the kids' library. Use it to teach them why they must never forget... why they must find some way to learn to live in peace... while there is still a chance.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 8.8
Product reviews for listing 7486: The Singing Dolphin - Te Aihe I Waiata -  Author: Mere Whaanga

Product image for The Singing Dolphin - Te Aihe I WaiataEvery once in a while, a dolphin will come to the island beside Te Ara A Paikea (The Pathway of the Whales) at Mahia. It will leap and play with people, bring gifts, and sing songs. The story was inspired by the real dolphin Moko who lived and played there from 2007 to 2009.

Award-winning author Mere Whaanga tells a story of land, sea and seasons; of living creatures and family ties, and the songs that connect us all.  ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Does pushing the elevator button more than once make it arrive faster?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream