Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 21st October 2019 - 16:59:21

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Young Adult > The Hunger Games : 1 review

« Oh, the Places You'll Go reviewOh, the Places YouSinging For Freedom reviewSinging For Freedom »

Score: 8.9/10  [9 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 2193 - The Hunger Games : 1
Written by: Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games : 1
Price:
$21.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Scholastic (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
January 2009

The Hunger Games : 1 product reviews

Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. But Katniss has been close to death before - and survival, for her, is second nature.

"The Hunger Games" is a searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present. Welcome to the deadliest reality TV show ever.

Check out Scholastic (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Scholastic (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
archery   battle royale   capitol   district 12   horror   katniss everdeen   murder   peeta   reality tv   romance   scholastic   survival   suzanne collins   wilderness
Other listings you may be interested in:
Geronimo Stilton - Rumble in the JungleGeronimo Stilton - Rumble in the Jungle
Rating: 9.2
The Hunger Games : 2 : Catching FireThe Hunger Games : 2 : Catching Fire
Rating: 8.8
Hope in a Ballet ShoeHope in a Ballet Shoe
Rating: 9.8
The Kiwi Hokey Tokey - Board Book EditionThe Kiwi Hokey Tokey - Board Book Edition
Rating: 10.0
The Hunger Games : 3 : MockingjayThe Hunger Games : 3 : Mockingjay
Rating: 8.9
Ella and Olivia #14: Spelling Superstar    Ella and Olivia #14: Spelling Superstar    
Rating: 10.0
The 39 Clues - Unstoppable book 2: BreakawayThe 39 Clues - Unstoppable book 2: Breakaway
Rating: 10.0
Children of the Lamp:  The Grave Robbers of Genghis KhanChildren of the Lamp:  The Grave Robbers of Genghis KhanThe Ingo Chronicles - StormsweptThe Ingo Chronicles - Stormswept
Rating: 10.0
The Hollows InsiderThe Hollows Insider
Rating: 9.8
Hack AttackHack Attack
Rating: 8.5
Ultimate Spider-Man: Great Responsibility Ultimate Spider-Man: Great Responsibility 
Rating: 8.6
Darkglass Mountain: 3: The Infinity GateDarkglass Mountain: 3: The Infinity Gate
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 31st of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I watched the movie of this book with my daughter when it came out and then we were lucky enough to win the set of books from KIWIreviews as a prize in a competition. I didn't read any of them at first because I had seen the movie and although I enjoyed the movie I wasn't really motivated to read the books, but I picked this one up recently and started reading only to find myself hooked on it.

Well it is a fantasy style novel where the United States is no more and has been divided into 12 districts run by the powerful capital. The story is based on the capital running a game which is a fight to the death with one boy and one girl from each district and basically the only option in this game is to kill or be killed!!

I can see why the book and later the movie was such a big hit as the book is jammed full of action! But despite that there are so many great themes that are perfect for teenagers. And the action in the book keeps you flicking the pages as the suspense builds. I certainly had to pick up the second book and find out what happens next as the ending of this one kept me guessing!

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 6th of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Well I seem to of been living under a rock as I haven't really heard much about these books but they were a requirement of a full year course I am taking, I began to read this at the start of the school holidays. The book caught me unaware, I really didn't know what it was going to be about, and reading the blurb, it didn't really interest me.

By the third or so chapter I was completely hooked to the point the book was finished on the second day. The book covers a wide range of 'big ideas' including identity and leadership. The dystopian nature of this fiction is grappling and intriguing. The relationships that are created, maintained and mourned for are realistic and relatable. This really is a must read both any teenager, regardless of sex. I really look forward to being able to use this within a classroom as I now feel quiet passionate about the content.

Katniss is a clear role model for teenagers, she is energetic, witty and moody, just like every teenager! Suzanne Collins has really done a fantastic job, I strongly believe that this book would hook in the most reluctant reader and allow them to enjoy reading on their own. The bonus is that there are two other books that follow allowing the story line to live on, change and develop.

Click here to read the profile of sinfulbaker

Review by: sinfulbaker (Kelly)
Dated: 4th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 8 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I first learned of the book series after seeing the movie, at first reading it was like watching the movie in words which most know can be tedious, but after you get settled in you start to feel the emotions of Katniss and Peeta as well as many of the characters they meet along the way.

I don't want to divulge to much into the actual story, I wouldn't want to spoil it.

The world it this is set in is something realistic, there is nothing far fetched about it. The love story is sweet and not pushed upon you, thus making me want to read the next book and then the next just to simply find out what happens to the famous Hunger Game winners, to the teams around them, to the people they meet along the way. There is so many twists and turns the hurdles of the characters its never ending from start to finish, there is many moments where the book can't be put down just because you must know what is about to happen. Even a few to many tear jerking moments in there too.

I'd recommend the book for any young adult from the age of 12-13.

Click here to read the profile of ibnita

Review by: ibnita (Anita)
Dated: 6th of February, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Dystopian fiction is really popular and having read a few books in this genre prior to receiving The Hunger Games i was wondering if it would live up to the hype that was currently surrounding it with news that it was to be made into a movie.

Diving right in to Katniss and District 12 i immediately felt a bond with her and her plight, having stepped forward to replace her younger sister in a fight to the death. With colourful characters, a love triangle, and of course, the Games itself this book kept the suspense and action going right up to the last page. I could imagine in my head what it was like both in the districts with their descriptions and in the arena, and as Katniss and Peeta fought for survival i fought along with them.

As the first in a trilogy The Hunger Games has enough suspense to have me keen to get started on the second. A book i would recommend for teens and adults alike i will be keeping my eyes open for further work by author Suzanne Collins.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 1st of February, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 4 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I borrowed this book as I had seen the first film. It took quite a while before I was finally top of the wait list at the library and I could finally read it. It didn't take me long to read, just a couple of days, moments of reading stolen throughout the day, and once the kids were in bed.

My mum told me to pass it on to her, only if I thought it a good read, but I won't be as I didn't find it anything great. I don't feel any need to read it again, and whilst it was a good read, for me it was nothing great. I will, however, read book two and three and I did still like it enough that I would like to read the whole series.

I am incredibly glad that I watched the film for this first, as reading the book (putting the movie out of my head as much as possible) it didn't cause enough excitement and had I read it first, then news of a movie adaptation would have caused no excitement from me at all.

The book is well written, and all from the point of view of Katniss, our heroine. For me, personally, I felt the movie did better to state the danger Katniss was ever getting in to, the book always has things left out of a movie. It was a good book, but I'm not fussed about ever reading it again.

Click here to read the profile of laugan

Review by: laugan (Selena)
Dated: 3rd of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

After delaying reading this for so long I noticed it was cheap in the Amazon bookshop for the Kindle so I purchased it. I was concerned that it was going to be like other recently hyped books that didn't live up to expectations, I couldn't have been more wrong.

I found that Hunger Games was a fresh subject that hasn't been written to death already and would captivate most readers. The story flowed nicely and I often found myself thinking about it while I wasn't actually reading it, which I class as the sign of a good book. There is enough descriptions for you to immerse yourself in the books without feeling overwhelmed with detail.

I would recommend The Hunger Games for anyone, probably a mature teen up, I feel that all the books in the trilogy have a good story to tell.

Click here to read the profile of phoenixslip

Review by: phoenixslip (Natarsha)
Dated: 6th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The Hunger Games surpassed everything I thought this book would be. It totally surprised me how from the first page, it was so incredibly vivid, into this futuristic world.

I was totally hooked from the start, as the author Suzanne Collins, means business and is straight to the point describing the destitute shanty villages that Katniss lives in, the main character, in her home town, namely, District Twelve.

Her little sister gets chosen, but being the older protective sister, she insists they take her instead. I loved her courage for standing up to swap places.

I can't even comprehend the strength and stoic mindset that Katniss and other children and teens have to be in and go through, to compete in these Hunger Games.

Honestly, this book is so real the way it is written, that it could actually be a reality in a not so distant future. It is seriously one way to decimate the stupid and weak, in a forced natural selection test.

As a mother, this is disgusting and horrifying. I can't even want to imagine my child being selected to go fight to the death with a bunch of kids, so my child can win as Tribute to our district, or worse be killed horrifically.

The Hunger Games haunted me during and much after i finished reading this novel, but not to say the least, I'm hunting down a copy of the second instalment in this series, "Catching Fire".

I totally recommend The Hunger Games to everyone.

Click here to read the profile of buzz

Review by: buzz (Buzz)
Dated: 11th of August, 2009

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

The 'Reality TV' game has made it to the future, and what goes on behind the scenes untill a contestant goes into the arena is scary.
This is not a game for the weak and faint-hearted. Its kill or be killed and let the victor take the spoils. You kill your opponent by any means, there is no fair play in this game.
It is also about waking of feelings for each other in two of the contestants, and what they do to survive in the arena of the games. How to beat the system and still be true to themselves... and above all, not hurt each other.
Twenty-four contestants enter the arena... only one survivor will walk out...
This is a must-read for all who enjoy 'Reality TV' shows with a twist!
Bring on book two of this series, it can only get better.

Click here to read the profile of anistasya

Review by: anistasya (Beaulah)
Dated: 28th of July, 2009

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 8 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When I first read the blurb for this book I thought "This sounds like Battle Royale" - a famous Japanese pop culture film with teens slashing and killing each other until there is only one left standing in a government controlled arena.

Reading Hunger Games, I did find many similarities, yet there were enough differences to make this an entirely new experience. In fact, whilst I found Battle Royale difficult to watch and overly depressing / gorey, the Hunger Games was exciting, intriguing and surprisingly, really romantic.

Going in, of course, I was not expecting romance in the slightest - though I probably should have been, after all Battle Royale had a romance (though the girl was a complete wimp). I loved the self-sacrificing nature of the young boy in this story, and the way that Katniss keeps convincing herself that he's just using some sort of ploy to trick her. I also love the way that from the very first page, Katniss takes charge of the story and not once does she lose that powerful, determined 'survivor' characteristic. If I had to compare her to any other literary character, I think it would be Ellie from 'Tomorrow when the War Began".

Despite being completely out of my normal genre, I simply could not put this book down and I was highly disappointed when I got to the end and realized there were another two books to go. I am glad this is a series though, it is shaping up to be a whopper of a story with heaps of subtle and not-so-subtle political commentary.

Love it.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 9.9
Product reviews for listing 6679: Jungle Bells
Author: Anika Moa

Product image for Jungle BellsOh, what fun it is to ring
the jungle bells today-AY!

Sing, swing, and stomp along with the incomparable Anika Moa and a playful parade of adorable animals for a Christmas jungle holiday!

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit."
Harry S Truman (1884 - 1972)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream