Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 19th August 2019 - 09:27:38

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Health & Fitness > Beauty and Skin Care products > Earthwise Gentle Baby Soap review

« Earthwise Baby Detangler Spray reviewEarthwise Baby Detangler SprayPowerLine AV2 DHP-701AV 2000Mbps Starter Kit w/ Gigabit Lan reviewPowerLine AV2 DHP-701AV 2000Mbps Starter Kit w/ Gigabit Lan »

Score: 8.5/10  [12 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 6842 - Earthwise Gentle Baby Soap
Brand: Earthwise

Earthwise Gentle Baby Soap
Price:
$3.20
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Earthwise

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Earthwise Gentle Baby Soap product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsFeaturing Flipper the penguin from the One Drop Crew, our gentle plant-based baby goats milk soap makes bath time fun. It's a soft, neutral way to get clean and smell good.

    •  SLS Free.
    •  SLES Free.
    •  Paraben Free.

"I'm Flipper the penguin and I fly through the sea
Chasing the fish that I eat for my tea
I waddle on land - which the seals find quite funny
So I flip quickly over and slide on my tummy"

    •  No Laundry Enzymes
    •  No Optical Brighteners
    •  No Nitrates
    •  No Chlorine
    •  No Ammonia
    •  Phosphate Free

Check out Earthwise onlineClick here to see all the listings for Earthwise Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
baby   bath   clean   delicate   earthwise   gentle   goats milk   neutral   nzmade   paraben free   plant based   sles free   sls free   soap
Other listings you may be interested in:
Sukin Facial MoisturiserSukin Facial Moisturiser
Rating: 10.0
Earthwise Baby Body WashEarthwise Baby Body Wash
Rating: 9.5
Avon Footworks Cracked Heel Relief CreamAvon Footworks Cracked Heel Relief Cream
Rating: 10.0
Professionnel Expert Series - Shine Blonde Shampoo Professionnel Expert Series - Shine Blonde Shampoo 
Rating: 8.8
The AbSwingThe AbSwing
Rating: 9.3
Sunsilk Co Creation Hair Balm Curl BoosterSunsilk Co Creation Hair Balm Curl Booster
Rating: 10.0
Bye WartBye Wart
Rating: 8.0
Baby Bath and Body WashBaby Bath and Body Wash
Rating: 6.8
Botty Barrier Creme Fragrance Free - 150 mlBotty Barrier Creme Fragrance Free - 150 ml
Rating: 8.6
Maybelline Dream Nude AirfoamMaybelline Dream Nude Airfoam
Rating: 5.5
Baby by Earthwise Sleep Spray Lavender and ChamomileBaby by Earthwise Sleep Spray Lavender and Chamomile
Rating: 9.1
Johnsons Baby PowderJohnsons Baby Powder
Rating: 9.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 12th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

My children have very sensitive skin, so I was keen to try a product that I anticipated would be gentle on my children's skin. The soap is sold boxed, with a little water symbol on the cover. When you unwrap the soap the same water drop is engraved on the outside of the soap.

The soap itself has the look of handcrafted soap, it is a clean white colour, without the 'shiny' look of traditional commercial soaps. I sniffed the soap, and found it unscented, the product doesn't say unscented, but it also doesn't say scented. When put to the test as a soap it did all the things that I wanted it to do, it lathered up beautifully, it seemed gentle on the children's skins, and as I have one child who isn't very tactile, it wasn't too 'slimy' either! The real test is will the children's skin react in any way, - we have been using the soap for a week now and their skin is looking great. I read some of the reviews on the product and price seemed to be a concern, but after a week of use the bar of soap looks barely used, so I imagine it is going to last much longer than liquid soap.

I would recommend that those people without babies or children in their households purchase this as a gift for new parents. I think because of the way this soap is presented in its box, it would be a great addition to go with any baby shower gifts, I believe that it is a lovely way to introduce new parents to quality products that are going to be gentle on new babies skin. New parent's will also be delighted to find a product that is chemical free and made in New Zealand.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 12th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was keen to try this soap out, there are very few soaps that I can use that don't dry out my skin (which leads to flaky skin, skin cracking, getting infected etc) and that is the last thing I want. This is a good sized bar of soap and free from colours, something I quite like in a soap, and had a nice, light fragrance to it. I compared it to the cake of soap that I already had open and it certainly is a bit bigger, however o wouldn't say its worth another $2 based on size alone.

Giving it a try for the first time, I found that it felt nice and moist on my skin and not as slick, for want of a better word, as other soaps make my skin feel. Afterwards, I didn't feel like my skin was too dry but as with any new soap or cream, I wouldn't know till I used it multiple times. I have found that this is better than other brands that I have tried and it certainly seems to be lasting well. My hands appreciate this soap, my kids also love this and its gone down well with everyone.

Price wise, its a little much for a bar of soap but I may well get me another when this one runs out.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 12th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

As I have very sensitive skin and this is something my niece's and nephew have too I'm always looking for new products not only for me but that they can safely use when they come to visit as well. I love the Earthwise products and have found that none of us react to their products so I was very keen to try out the baby soap.

Opening up the soap I was expecting a slight scent but found it was unscented which suited me fine as scents tend to add a lot of nasty things to products. First impressions were good, the bar was a good size and the soap lathered up well. First use the soap left them skin feeling nice unlike most soaps which leave me feeling dry. Using it on the kids they were the same they were left with soft feeling skin. The big test though was using it for a few days to check for any reactions. I'm pleased to say there has been not a single rash or itchy skin as a result of using the soap.

Once again Earthwise have delivered what they promised a soft, gentle soap that is kind to your skin. It is perfect for baby or anyone was sensitive skin.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 11th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

We are not big users or fans of cakes of soap in my household, but we are massive fans of Earthwise. With our first grandbaby due to make her grand arrival in July this year, and with my own children having many skin and other allergies, its always hard to find the perfect 'cleaners' whether for the home, or for the family. We thought that the earthwise plant based soap with goats milk would be a good one to try given that, it contains none of the nasty ingredients, in most things these days, that cause all the reactions.

So to be completely honest, I opened the box to see if it had a nice scent, and actually found myself dissapointed. I guess because it says it is plant based, I expected a nice fresh, natural, maybe earthy smell, but was met with a somewhat plastic, false smell....perhaps the goats milk? I have never used goats milk products before, so would not recognize the smell to be fair.

I used the soap to wash my hands, and its not really for me. I did not like the feel it left on my skin. Kinda made my skin feel plastic like lol, I don't know, it is a bit hard to explain, but none the less I did not personally like it. Miss 9 did not mind it, and I admit she did not have a flare up after using it, which is great. But she didn't particularly love it either. She gets agitated by cakes of soap anyway because they are hard to hold onto. And because we are quite particular with what she uses, she did not use a great deal of it either.

I think the price is a bit on the high side, especially for one cake of soap. However, being a trusted brand, being for babies, and being as natural as they are I guess the price is pretty fair. Although it is not for us, I think I will try it out on baby, as I think that perhaps the feeling of plastic, or kind of sticky we get is purposely done. Babies can be pretty squirmy, add slippery soap and they can easily sleep out of ones hands. Maybe this soap has a 'grip' to it on purpose, so babies are less slippery when bathing with it Smile Icon we shall see...

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 10th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Earthwise Products have long since been used in our household, but we do not often use soap in the bath for the three kids, as Miss nearly 5 has very sensitive skin due to allergies , and extra things besides water to bathe her in exacerbate the eczema. I am always keen to use better, safer, and more gentle products on all my family, so it is a pleasure to try this.

The first thing I did when we received our review goodies , was to read the ingredients on the back - and no surprise , and to my delight , no added extras or nasties - free of the stuff I like to avoid for my 3 kiddies. It always worries me when I cannot pronounce some of the ingredients in it! No brighteners and enzymes is a big thing for us - I do not see the point in "whitening" a soap that has no actual need.

Popped the soap into the bath ready for the kids that evening, and the first thing I noticed was that there was no overpowering smell - which for my sensitive nosed husband is something I always watch out for. Putting it into the water, it acted as expected - and lathered nicely onto a cloth. It was not too sudsy, nor did it have no bubbles - perfect in that category. It cleaned dirty knees, and felt tip off the kids nicely, leaving a slightly moisturised feeling afterwards. None of the kids complained, so perhaps that is meant to happen, so as not to dry out the skin. I personally did not really like the feeling for me however.

The price is a little on the high side - and it is unlikely I would buy it as a constant everyday soap, but, to add to a baby shower gift basket - I would definitely pop it in. It is also good to know that, if my daughter's eczema flared up - we could change to this with no irritation for her skin. Great work Earthwise - lovely product. Would love to see a multi pack option, which could make it a little more price competitive.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 7th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

So I love earthwise and their products, I use a lot of earthwise products in my house. Since we will be having a baby in September its good to try things out beforehand. Now this caught my eye since it doesn't have a lot of nasties in it - just like a lot of earthwise products. No Laundry Enzymes, No Optical Brighteners, No Nitrates, No Chlorine, No Ammonia, Phosphate Free, this made it more important to give a bar of soap a go. Now its a nice little size comes in a nice box and when you pull the soap out it has the picture of the penguin on the soap which is pretty cute.

Now shows how much I don't use soap bars in my house, my kids had NO idea how to use this but gave it a go, they both didn't like it as it wouldn't stay in their hand and caused a meltdown city in the shower from my son and my daughter just got angry they both went back to pump bottles of soap. Me on the other hand been brought up using soap bars I tried it on myself in the shower, since its for babies thought it would be good for me (I can't use many soaps). I really didn't like it, I had to wash it off pretty fast. It made my skin feel like rubber but when I ran my finger down my leg it kinda stuck and wasn't smooth, which doesn't work well with me.

With the price being just over $3 its not something I would buy for myself or family - it really wasn't a hit in our household, I will stick to the pump bottles of soap instead.

Click here to read the profile of martaa

Review by: martaa (Marta)
Dated: 4th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I am a big fan of Earthwise products but I do not normally use ordinary soap in my household (I'm more of a pump-dispenser type). I was also using body washed on my baby from early on. However, I found that, having purchased Earthwise Gentle Baby Soap for my toddler to try originally, I started using it in the shower on myself and I absolutely love it! The goats milk makes the soap very gentle but luxuriously creamy. I find that it moisturizes my skin and protects it from dryness,even after shaving. My skin is normally very sensitive and dry and I do find that this soap cleanses well without over-drying or aggravating it. Unlike some reviews I've read, I do not find it gets too slippery either. I love that it has no nasty chemicals whatsoever but still does exactly what a good soap should.
I also like the price of the soap (much cheaper than other natural alternatives currently on the market) as well as the packaging which is simple yet attractive. It is also easily recyclable which is a must when purchasing a product with eco-friendly credentials.
I would happily recommend it as a soap the whole family can use as it is very gentle and effective.

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 29th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love the fact that this soap is NZ made by a good reputable company like Earthwise. We were lucky enough to be given some of this soap to review and we really got to see how well it works on dirty kids with slightly sensitive skin.

My children, Mr 2 years and Miss almost 5 years are typical kiwi kids who love to get down and dirty at any chance they can. Last weekend they managed to find the one and only mud pit on our section and got head to toe covered in mud. But this just gave me the perfect opportunity to try out the soap.

I popped both kids in a bath full of warm water and grabbed a wash cloth to lather some soap onto. I found the soap lathered really well and it didn't have any strong smells which is good for a kids product. My daughter is old enough to wash herself now and she found the soap really easy to use, she is used to using body wash so a bar of soap is a new experience for her. Both kids came out of the bath smelling fresh and beautifully clean.

Usually I have to be careful with the products I use on my children because they can sometimes react to some of the ingredients but this Earthwise Soap didn't cause any reactions at all in either child but that is what I've come to expect from Earthwise products so I wasn't too concerned about trying something new and different on them.

I've used a few other Earthwise baby products before and have always found them excellent and now regularly buy them not only for my kids to use but also as baby shower gifts. I think the price of this soap is a little on the high side but in saying that it does go a long way and I will make sure to look out for it when it's on special just like I do with the other products - the nature of these products means it's nice and easy to stock up while on special and you don't have to worry about it expiring anytime soon.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 24th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

converted Earthwwise users I was keen to try this gentle goats milk soap. As I would expect the soap was packaged in a recyclable cardboard box. I like the colour scheme on the packaging. The box was easy to open and the soap a good size.

I must confess to being more of a fan of liquid soaps out of pump bottles as I find soap does just get rather slippery. With this soap I decided to just follow the directions and wipe the soap with cloth. The soap lathered up really nicely. My three girls were more than happy to be guinea pigs and try the soap. We all really liked the scent. The soap cleaned really well and left the girls all clean and smelling really nice. Their skin wasn't left dry and the soap didn't leave any traces.

I really like this soap and would definitely recommend this to anyone that wants a nice gentle soap for their babies skin. Whilst I prefer to use liquid soaps there is certainly a place for normal old fashioned soap and this definitely fits the bill. I will use this in the future and it is great little gift for a new baby.

Click here to read the profile of emmzip

Review by: emmzip (Emily)
Dated: 13th of February, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We were lucky enough to be selected to review the Earthwise Gentle Baby Soap. I loved the packaging of the soap, it was very appealing with the bright blue penguin on the box. I also love that on the Earthwise website under 'Gentle Soap' there is a wee rhyme and colouring in picture you can print off for older children. These can be found here: http://www.earthwise.co.nz/products/critters-baby-soap

When it comes to bath products it is important to us that the products are gentle on our baby and children's skin. With Earthwise I knew it would be perfect for my son's sensitive skin and also good to use on my baby.

The soap is easy to use, just wet the bar and latter it on your child. I liked to amount of suds it let off, meaning I could gentle massage the soap onto my babies skin before rinsing it off. I found it very effective at washing the dirt/food off my son. I loved the gentle smell of the soap, and that it wasn't too overpowering.

Price wise I would personally wait until it was on special as $3.20 for a bar of soap is a little bit out of my price range, but I would definitely buy this product and recommend it to all my friends and family.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 31st of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Having used the previous range of Earthwise baby products in the past I was keen to give the new look product a try. It seems mostly the same as the previous look bottle with the goats milk and we did love the one we had used in the past. But this packaging with the little penguin was very cute! I like to use Earthwise products in our house as I have found they are gentler on our skin and it is an added bonus that they are earth friendly.

My son and I both get eczema regularly and my son can have allergic reactions to some skin care products so I am always looking for products that don't affect his skin. I find this soap at only $3.20 a bar is very cost effective way of using a more natural product as a lot of the baby care ranges on the market can be very pricey. So this would definitely be a good choice in our house.

The soap bar itself works up a really good lather and you can feel that it is gentle on your skin as you apply. If find with soaps with lots of perfumes that you can feel it sting on patches of eczema but this soap didn't have that effect. My son loves to be independant and wash himself these days and we have found the easiest way for him to use the soap is to insert it into a mitten flannel and this soap lathers well enough that you can work up a really good lather from within the flannel.

I will definitely be buying this again to use for the whole family as I like that it has a lot of the nasties that other soaps have taken out and is still at a good price point.

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 3rd of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When purchasing soap I like to find a soap that can be used by the whole family. My sons and I have very sensitive skin so I am always looking for very natural soaps, with not much scent. However it still needs to be able to wash the grime from the days play and work. We also like to use products in our house that are palm oil free.

This soap ticks all of those things, although it is not palm oil free, Earthwise only uses sustainable palm oil.

It lathers up very nicely and leaves the skin very smooth. Some goat's milk soaps I find don't last as long, however I felt that this cake of soap definitely lasted. By being plant based none of the family has had any reaction to this soap - no itching or redness.

I am aware that Earthwise produce other soap products which I am keen to try and see if there is any difference between a baby soap and that of the other soaps. I wonder if there needs to be more added to deal with body odours as the kids grow.

I will definitely be looking out for this product on special as I feel the $3.20 a cake is a little overpriced.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Health & Fitness'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 4642: Baby by Earthwise Body Wash with Goats Milk -  Brand: Earthwise

Product image for Baby by Earthwise Body Wash with Goats MilkBath time is baby spa time with luxurious Earthwise goats milk body wash. Softly scented, it's ever so gentle on delicate skin.

To get the perfect mix, drizzle about a tablespoon of body wash directly into the bath after filling. Give the water a swoosh with your hands to check the temperature's just right. Add baby and let the giggles begin.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why does your Obstetrician or Gynaecologist leave the room when you get undressed if they are going to look up there anyway?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream