Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 24th September 2019 - 02:07:20

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Health & Fitness > Beauty and Skin Care products > Earthwise Baby Shampoo review

« Earthwise Baby Lotion reviewEarthwise Baby LotionEarthwise Baby Detangler Spray reviewEarthwise Baby Detangler Spray »

Score: 9.5/10  [12 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 6840 - Earthwise Baby Shampoo
Brand: Earthwise

Earthwise Baby Shampoo
Price:
$7.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Earthwise

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Earthwise Baby Shampoo product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsFeaturing Splash the fish from the One Drop Crew, our gentle plant-based shampoo with goats milk keeps fine baby hair soft, clean and smelling gorgeous.

    •  SLS Free.
    •  SLES Free.
    •  Paraben Free.

"I'm Splash the fish and I love blowing bubbles
I'm a fun-loving sort but I get into trouble
For playing tricks on the rest of the crew
When I hide in the coral and wait to shout 'boo!'"

    •  No Laundry Enzymes
    •  No Optical Brightners
    •  No Nitrates
    •  No Chlorine
    •  No Ammonia
    •  Phosphate Free

Check out Earthwise onlineClick here to see all the listings for Earthwise Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
baby   bath   delicate   earthwise   gentle   goats milk   hair   nzmade   paraben free   plant based   shampoo   sles free   sls free
Other listings you may be interested in:
The AbSwingThe AbSwing
Rating: 9.3
Glow in the Dark Colour Hair SprayGlow in the Dark Colour Hair Spray
Rating: 8.8
Earthwise Baby Bubble BathEarthwise Baby Bubble Bath
Rating: 9.5
Fresh Strawberry eJuiceFresh Strawberry eJuice
Rating: 9.5
GHD Gold Classic StylerGHD Gold Classic Styler
Rating: 9.9
Johnsons Kids Shampoo and Conditioner BlueberryJohnsons Kids Shampoo and Conditioner Blueberry
Rating: 8.0
Blue Earth Shampoo Soap BarBlue Earth Shampoo Soap Bar
Rating: 10.0
The BeanThe Bean
Rating: 9.0
Shoe ClinicShoe Clinic
Rating: 9.8
Essence Massage OilEssence Massage Oil
Rating: 9.7
A Natural ApproachA Natural Approach
Rating: 10.0
Sweet Orange Sugar ScrubSweet Orange Sugar Scrub
Rating: 9.2
Baby by Earthwise Detangler Jungle FruitsBaby by Earthwise Detangler Jungle Fruits
Rating: 9.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 26th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

So I love the earthwise products so I had to give this baby shampoo a go, even though we have no babies in the house at the moment I do have a 6 & 7 year old that I thought I could use this on. My 7 year old is pretty good with hair washing but it can be a mission to get her to do it herself, her hair is long and using bottle to pick up and put on her hand to hair she gets annoyed and wont do it. This baby shampoo made it easier for her to pump the shampoo onto her hand without putting way to much on which would end up in her eyes, She did need two pumps to get all her hair but its much less than normal, Her hair was easy to wash and rinse with this shampoo and after towel drying was still a bit knotty so we left it to dry on its own which made it easier to brush and tie up, would be awesome if there was a baby conditioner.

As for my 6 year old son he HATES with a passion his hair getting washed, to the point he still has cradle cap as he wont wash it. Now I showed him the bottle and told him because it says baby on it, it would be gentle on his eyes. He let me give it a go on him; very nervous about it. I only needed one pump for his hair and it made it very bubbly and he loved his mohawk from the shampoo. He will also let me do it again he tells me. Even though its $8 a bottle I think its worth it for my son to get his hair washed and since it only needs one pump for him this should last a long time.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 24th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We are converted Earthwise fans but I hadn't tried this shampoo. My three girls have got long knotty hair that we struggle to keep tangle free so we use Earthwise Detangler. As this shampoo didn't come with a matching conditioner I figured I would use the detangled instead.

The pump bottle is fantastic and made it so easy to dispense the shampoo into wet hands. The shampoo frothed up easily and I didn't need much to wash Miss Fives hair. Miss Fives hair washed really nicely and smelt amazing. When it had washed out her hair was fairly soft and tangle free so I towel dried and sprayed a few sprays of de tangler into it. Once I had brushed her hair it was soft and amazing. The next few days Miss Fives hair was just glossy and brushed really easily. Her hair was probably the most manageable it has been for quite some time.

I love the dispensing bottle and the fact that I can re tighten the lid so I can take this to the pools and away without worrying about spills. I also love that this is a product that I can safely use on my girls without worrying about nasty chemicals. The shampoo smells amazing and in conjunction with the de tangler this is perfect for my little miss. I can definitely recommend this.

Click here to read the profile of chugga

Review by: chugga (Yolande)
Dated: 14th of February, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Earthwise Baby Plant Based Shampoo was tested on 5 family members from adult to 5 months old. The product is presented in a pump top bottle that is easy to use and has a pleasant, mild scent. The lid is easily unscrewed meaning the bottle lends itself well to being re-used (Recycle number 2 - transfers/leaches no known chemical, can be disposed of in recycling), packaging is in keeping with the brands 'more environmentally friendly' ethos - well done. The simple yet striking contrast of orange and black on a white background and a 'Nemo' resembling stylised fish adds additional 'cute factor'.

Prior to using on any of the children, I tested the shampoo on myself and was pleasantly surprised at how little I needed to wash my hair, my only disappointment was not having an Earthwise Baby plant based conditioner to follow up with. My eldest grandson was pretty neutral about using the product - but he is coming up 10 soon and not overly thrilled about using "baby" products but due to him having sensitive skin and usually at least 1 rash somewhere, it is still the best option for him.

My granddaughter and second to youngest grandson are usually the most reluctant of hair washers - but both of them were chomping at the bit to try out the 'special shampoo' made 'especially for kids', we were off to an excellent start! The end result was no drama or bother what so ever and two young ones with lovely clean hair with using only a small amount of the product, making it quite economical even though it isn't particularly 'cheap'.

By this stage, I had pretty much made up my mind that this product was worth paying a little more than average but there was one test subject left - Master 5 months old who unlike the other kids, would take his bath in the kitchen sink does increase the probability of shampoo getting in his eyes. There was absolutely no signs of distress on his part despite some shampoo-containing water running down his face - that's exactly what we love to see. I would definitely recommend this product to others.

Click here to read the profile of emmzip

Review by: emmzip (Emily)
Dated: 13th of February, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was so excited to get chosen to review the Earthwise Critters Baby Shampoo as hair washing is not an enjoyable experience in our household...until now! I have 3 young children who are 3 years old, almost 2 years old and a 5 month old baby so I love having products I can use on all 3 of my children. My son has eczema and having a young baby I don't like to use harsh products that aren't gentle on their skin. So I find the Earthwise products range are perfect for our household.

I love the simple yet effective packaging. Basic white, with black writing and a cute stand out picture on each of the bottles. The shampoo comes in an easy to use pump bottle which is perfect when you are trying to hold a slippery baby or quickly wash a toddlers hair who isn't too impressed about getting their hair washed in the first place.

My children loved the cute gold fish on the bottle and loved that they could help me with getting the shampoo out of the bottle. I let them pump the shampoo onto my hand which made them keen to let me wash their hair. Because let's face it how many children enjoy having their hair washed. For the first time there were no tears when I washed their hair! Amazing! A shampoo that is gentle on their hair, skin and eyes.

$7.99 is a bit more than I would normally spend on a shampoo, but you only require one squirt of shampoo as a little goes a long way. So is fairly good value for money. It's also nice knowing i'm using a shampoo that is good for my children's hair and skin. The shampoo has a nice sweet smell, but isn't too overpowering and leaves my children's hair smelling clean and fresh. I would definitely recommend the Earthwise Critters Baby Shampoo to my friends and family. We will be adding this shampoo to our shopping list when we run out as it's great!

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 13th of February, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

With sensitive skin in our household (especially miss 3), we are reluctant to try new brands. But after recommendations from friends about how great earthwise was (and seeing it was available to review) I bit the bullet and requested some.

I showed miss 3 the bottle when it arrived and the first thing she pointed out was the fish and told me that it looked like finding nemo. I read her the wee verse about splash the fish and she actually asked if she could use the shampoo - that is a first for miss 3 as she is wary about new things in case it makes her itch. I was thrilled that the bottle was easy to hold onto and the fact it had a pump. Miss 3 enjoyed this also as she got to "help" me by pumping some into her hand and rubbing it into her hair.

I like how you only need 2-3 pumps and you get a decent amount. It lathered up really quickly in my daughter's hair and it gave a good coverage for the amount we used. The wee verse on the bottle stuck in my daughters mind as she started saying "boo" while shampooing her hair. I asked why she was saying it to which she replied "that's what nemo said remember Mum its on there" while she pointed to the bottle.

After lathering up her hair and rinsing it out next was the big test. We dried her hair, brushed it and put it up over night. I was interested to see how it was in the morning. In the morning we undid her hair and brushed it. It was so soft, had a nice smell to it, was shiny and her head wasn't itchy! This is a huge success in our house as now we have another product and brand added to our list that our sensitive skinned family can use. Thanks Earthwise for another fabulous product!!

Click here to read the profile of rachaelch13

Review by: rachaelch13 (Rachael)
Dated: 12th of February, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Shampooing is a drama filled event at our house with two boys who hate getting shampoo anywhere near there eyes or head for that matter. I decided to give them a little pep talk about the shampoo before their baths we talked about the product and that it contained no nasties and was very gentle so wouldn't hurt their eyes like some other shampoos we had tried in the past and the pump meant they could get the right amount out without trying to wash out a quarter of a bottle with lots of screaming and yelling going on.

My oldest boy who is 6 decided he was brave enough to try it out and he quite liked that it contained goats milk as apparently they are very funny animals. He was able to use the pump to get out a small amount of shampoo without the struggle of trying to close the lid with a handful of shampoo running everywhere. It lathered up really well and has a very mild but pleasing smell, he closed his eyes tightly and started to wash it out he soon realized that it was not stinging his eyes and this never happens he opted to wash his hair again to show dad! With this great experience behind us the 3 year old also had a cry free wash and we have continued this with their nightly baths. I wish I had found this product sooner, bath time is so much more enjoyable and it leaves their hair clean and smelling fresh we love it!

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 1st of February, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Hair washing (and brushing) usually create the biggest drama in our house between Miss 2 and myself as she hates to get her hair wet and even more hated is when she gets shampoo in her eyes from all the wriggling around she does in order to try and stop me from washing her hair! I was super excited to see the Earthwise Baby Shampoo in my collection of review goodies amongst all of the other amazing products from Earthwise, as we have in the past used another (hugely expensive) shampoo on Miss 2 which contained goats milk and this didn't seem to affect her eyes when the soap got in it and so I hoped for the same success with this product.

The first thing which really impressed me about this product was that it comes in a pump bottle, this was ideal for me as it meant I could try and keep Miss 2 still at the same time as I pumped out some shampoo into my hand without her wriggling away to the other side of the bath trying to escape from me. I wet her hair and then applied 1 pump of the shampoo to her hair, there was the usual complaining to be heard but when I rinsed it out and it got in her eyes, she realised that her new 'fish' shampoo didn't hurt her, in fact when I rinsed it out she asked if she could do it again by herself as it wasn't going to hurt her.

Miss 2 has super fine hair which goes crazy curly and out of control, usually the morning after I have washed her hair and she has slept on it it goes extremely fluffy and frizzy, however I noticed the morning after washing it with this product that the fluffiness was reduced greatly and that it was a lot easier to manage, especially when used in conjunction with the Earthwise baby detangler spray. The shampoo has a really pleasant, fruity scent to it which is really nice, it left Miss 2's hair really soft and shiny and the smell actually stayed on her hair for nearly 2 days.

Being free of nasties and chemicals means like all of the Earthwise products that this is great to use on children with sensitive skin, like my daughter. The cute addition of the animals on the bottles makes it exciting for children and my daughter loves being able to find the animal we need each bath time! Another great product from Earthwise which I highly recommend,

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 31st of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love baby shampoo for my son's hair as he has very soft fine hair I do not like to use anything to harsh on his hair and I like to use products without harsh chemicals. The earthwise baby shampoo is perfect and we have found to work like magic on cleaning his hair. Not only does it feel soft and light after washing but it smells great too. I can never resist a post bath cuddle when this shampoo has been used!

My son is not a fan of having his hair washed as products often hurt his eyes so hair washing time can be quite a drama. With these pump bottles he can get involved in washing his own hair so it is less frightening for him to get his hair washed. I love the new look bottles with the pump as it is a lot easier to use than the previous design. I also love that each bottle now has its own character with cute pictures on the packaging. My son liked the goldfish on the front of this one.

The shampoo works up a really good lather so you know you are getting a good clean while only using a very small amount at a time. It also rinses really well from the hair so that when the hair dries it isnt left feeling heavy from product left in the hair. I really love that because my sons fine hair can often be left looking quite greasy and washing regularly with this shampoo keeps it looking and smelling fresh.

Click here to read the profile of raz_1984

Review by: raz_1984 (Sarah)
Dated: 22nd of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Having previously tried the pink hippo Earthwise shampoo, we had always loved it...but being in a bottle where you had to have 2 hands to dispense was not ideal due to having to have 1 hand on the child! But now they have bought out the pump bottle, an incredible and awesome product has just gotten better!

The scent is amazing, it doesn't have that lingering chemical smell that I've smelt in other baby shampoos and actually cleaned the hair and made it feel clean! Normally I would wash twice with shampoo, once with conditioner and then a detangler (other supermarket brands) but this time it has been once with shampoo and then once with the detangler (review to follow) and it did a fantastic job with my 4 year old, very curly haired girl! And the amount that you need to wash a pre-schoolers hair is so minimal, I can see the bottle lasting a very long time.

The pump bottle not only makes it easy for me to use, but also for her. She's at the age she wants to try washing her own hair, rather successfully, and having the pump bottle for her to use also makes her feel very grown up! And being so gentle on skin and eyes with the goats milk, I don't worry that her eyes are going to hurt or sting from accidentally getting bubbles in her eyes. She even mentioned, excitedly, that it didn't hurt when the bubbles slid down off her head.

After using the shampoo the night before, I noticed that my daughter's scalp wasn't dry, and her hair was soft and manageable. And left a lingering fruity smell which wasn't overbearding. It would be great to have a conditioner to use also as an accompaniment, but even on it's own it is awesome. This will be on our list of to-buy from now on.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 21st of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Again I am a huge fan of the packaging for the Earthwise baby range. Simple with the much loved splash of colour. Perfect for this range! I also love that even the shampoo has a pump action top as getting shampoo from other types of bottles can sometimes be tricky especially with a wet and slippery newborn!

Although none of my children are newborns I still use baby shampoo as it it is a lot more gentle on such fragile hair and also does not set off their eczema. They also liked that the bottle had the pump as it helps moderate the amount you use. This is perfect for kids as well as babies!

The scent is soft, gentle and delicious! It smells as you would expect a baby shampoo to smell. Again the bottle is clearly labelled with not only instructions, ingredients but reassurance that the shampoo is good for your baby and the environment which is fantastic! This range is grey water and septic tank safe which is awesome! This shampoo and the baby range is also cruelty free which is a huge advantage in our household and in many others I would imagine!

Gentle on baby, kids and the environment!

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 11th of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Being a baby range did not stop me wanting to wash both my boys' hair with this. I have continued to use baby shampoos since they were babies as I find this is the best way to find products that are more natural and not harsh on their scalp. Both my boys are sensitive to many bath products and will quite often break out in a rash so finding a product that is very natural, using only plant based products is a bonus for our family.

I liked reading on this company's webpage that they pride themselves in looking after the environment. This is always something I try to consider when purchasing products. There is no concern about the environment once this product leaves the plug hole. Using only sustainable palm oil is also a big plus for me and I will be spreading the word to others about this company being a company of choice.

The shampoo itself has a very light smell and although made with goats milk lathers up well over the hair. I have one son with baby like hair and another with very coarse hair. Both boys hair was left soft with no need for conditioner. The pump bottle was an added bonus and meant that there was no need for that awkward tipping a bottle upside-down, only to guess how much you need. The pump makes this easy for mum and children to use and not waste.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 23rd of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have got in the habit of just using my own shampoo and conditioner on my children's hair. It has seemed the easiest thing to do but perhaps not the best for them. It was great when the earthwise products came up for review. I have always wondered what the shampoos and other products are like and have never got round to trying them.

I was a little nervous about using the shampoo without any conditioner on my daughter's hair as we have struggled to keep the knots out of her hair. Conditioner seems to have been the answer up to now. I used the shampoo this time and then I used the Earthwise detangler. I have got to say that her hair it looking great and knots are limited to a small number. I can't 100% say which one did the trick but I am very happy with the combination.

I like the fact that the products are gentle on the environment and my children's hair and scalp. Miss Three and Mr Six both had their hair washed with the baby shampoo and I think it worked well for both of them. I wouldn't just consider this for babies, I was very happy using it on my kids too. Mr Six gets eczema and we have stayed away from washing his hair too much as it can irritate him. Miss Three seems to have been reacting to something (perhaps in the shampoo and conditioner I have been using on her) and tends to scratch a lot. I think that the scratching has reduced considerably since using the Earthwise baby shampoo.

I like the pump bottle and I think they would be so much easier when bathing a baby than using a bottle which requires two hands to use. With the pump bottle, one hand can be holding the baby while the other hand can pump some product out. I like the scent of the shampoo. The funny thing is that the smell seemed to stay in my son's hair more so than my daughter's! I did find myself giving Mr 6 a hug and having a sniff of his hair!!

Having experienced the baby shampoo and other Earthwise products, I will now consider trying other products of theirs. I have just popped onto the Earthwise website and there are lots of products in the range (I wasn't aware that there was quite so many products above and beyond laundry powder and dish wash!).

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Health & Fitness'...

Score: 6.8
Product reviews for listing 1205: Lateral Thigh Trainer -  Brand / Source : -unbranded-

Product image for Lateral Thigh TrainerA Fun, Fat Burning Cardio Workout! The Lateral Thigh Trainer System gives you two potent workouts in one machine. A fun, fat burning cardio workout plus a super effective toning workout. The Lateral Thigh Trainer not only moves up and down, it also moves in and out at the same time.

The secret is the bi-directional skating like motion, unlike ordinary steppers the Lateral Thigh Trainer unique movement targets multiple muscles from ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do we press harder on a remote control when we know the batteries are flat?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream