Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 6th December 2019 - 05:01:00

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Kids - General > The Unicorne Files 2: Alexander's Army review

« Dragon Knight #4: Dragons! reviewDragon Knight #4: Dragons!How to Speak Dolphin reviewHow to Speak Dolphin »

Score: 9.3/10  [1 review]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 6653 - The Unicorne Files 2: Alexander's Army
Author: Chris D’Lacey

The Unicorne Files 2: Alexander's Army
Price:
$17.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Scholastic (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
September 2015

The Unicorne Files 2: Alexander's Army product reviews

The second installment in critically acclaimed Chris d'Lacey's The UNICORNE Files series. A gripping and original paranormal adventure, perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz's Power of Five books.

Check out Scholastic (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Scholastic (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chris dlacey   mystery   novel   paranormal   scholastic   teenager
Other listings you may be interested in:
TransmissionTransmission
Rating: 7.5
Start Right Workbooks - Year 3Start Right Workbooks - Year 3
Rating: 10.0
The Snake Book - Slip Sliding AwayThe Snake Book - Slip Sliding Away
Rating: 9.1
Discworld : Tiffany Aching 4 : I Shall Wear MidnightDiscworld : Tiffany Aching 4 : I Shall Wear Midnight
Rating: 9.8
The 39 Clues - 11 - Vespers RisingThe 39 Clues - 11 - Vespers Rising
Rating: 9.5
Nights Masque - 1 - The Alchemist of SoulsNights Masque - 1 - The Alchemist of Souls
Rating: 9.8
FeverFever
Rating: 9.0
Klutz: The Book of Impossible ObjectsKlutz: The Book of Impossible Objects
Rating: 9.1
Things That Go!Things That Go!
Rating: 9.6
Wheelnuts! Craziest Race on Earth - #1 - Desert Dust UpWheelnuts! Craziest Race on Earth - #1 - Desert Dust Up
Rating: 8.8
Bye! Bye! Bye!Bye! Bye! Bye!
Rating: 9.9
Ella Diaries #2: Ballet Back FlipElla Diaries #2: Ballet Back Flip
Rating: 10.0
Putangitangi WalksPutangitangi Walks
Rating: 10.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 27th of October, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have not read the first book in this series, but it was not important - this is very much a standalone novel and I found that not having prior knowledge did not matter at all. I liked the opening paragraphs: from the very first word the reader is catapulted into the story, becoming an honorary member of the Malone family as he or she follows the adventures of Michael. Magic abounds in this tale: it is all too easy to suspend disbelief and go along with accepting Michael's special powers, the ability of two-dimensional characters to suddenly come to life, and the whole concept of transforming from one life form into another.

The very idea of a young boy being recruited by the Unicorne organisation because he is the only person with the ability to carry out a mission for them (because of his special powers) is in itself an interesting idea. But throw into the mix a shop that sells unusual comics, a girl who is sometimes a bird, and a couple of highly unusual father and son conflicts, and you have the makings of a first-class spooky adventure story.

I found the main characters believable (sometimes scarily so) and actually started to feel sorry for Freya. It was difficult to know who Michael should trust: every character seemed to be hiding something and it was often hard to know what was real, what was fantasy, and what was outright lies! It would be quite unnerving to live in a world where you could not be sure just who you could trust, and have to constantly be on your guard against concealed weapons and hidden threats.

An air of normalcy, provided by the characters of Michael's mother and his know-it-all little sister, prevents the story from becoming too farfetched. There are times when even this down-to-earth pair is under suspicion, but luckily they come through as the only characters who keep Michael grounded. For a fantasy to work, there needs to be just enough mundane content to anchor the reader to the real world.

I like the way that the author describes the "auma" rather than using the word "ghost". It somehow makes the whole idea of "haunting" more poetic as it refers to a certain feeling or impression rather than a supernatural being. And it makes it slightly more plausible for the sceptics. The style is generally quite informal, using jargon only occasionally to illustrate a point. This means that the story is accessible to the average young reader.

Having finished the book in record time, I am now intrigued to follow Michael's adventures in the third book of the series. I look forward to reading it and finding out what happens as he embarks on the next step of his assignments for Unicorne and his quest to find his father.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 8.9
Product reviews for listing 5274: Double Trouble - Prank Alert -  Author: Fiona Regan

Product image for Double Trouble - Prank AlertMeet Thomas and Cooper. Identical twins. Master pranksters!

The best thing about being twins is that you always have twice the fun (but get in double the trouble!).

Tommy and Coop can't help themselves, they just love pranking! But what will happen when their school prank gets completely out of hand? Will they get stuck with the worst punishment ever - more recorder practice?

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"We don't have much money to do this, so we're going to have to think."
Sir Ernest Rutherford

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream