Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 22nd November 2019 - 05:26:22

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Personal Hygiene > Red Seal Baking Soda Toothpaste review

« Red Seal Natural Kids SLS-Free Toothpaste reviewRed Seal Natural Kids SLS-Free ToothpasteAnnapolis reviewAnnapolis »

Score: 9.5/10  [10 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 5725 - Red Seal Baking Soda Toothpaste
Brand: Red Seal

Red Seal Baking Soda Toothpaste
Price:
$3.50
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Red Seal

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Red Seal Baking Soda Toothpaste product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsRed Seal Baking Soda toothpaste helps clean better than regular toothpastes. Baking Soda breaks down into tiny particles that penetrate crevices in teeth enamel, removing stains and food particles while neutralising plaque acids. With a powerful, minty flavour for fabulous mouth freshness, it contains calcium carbonate, a mild abrasive for cleaner, whiter teeth.

    •  No added fluoride. There is conflicting evidence on the benefits of fluoride. Excess fluoride may cause chalky white patches on the teeth giving a mottled appearance. This condition is irreversible. Red Seal provides you with a range of non-fluoridated toothpastes to meet your specific needs.
    •  Baking soda freshness.
    •  Gentle but strong stain-removal qualities.
    •  Natural antibacterial action.
    •  Fights plaque and decay.
    •  Contains natural herb extracts and oils.
    •  Powerful minty fresh taste.
    •  Suitable for the whole family
    •  Paraben free.
    •  Colour free.
    •  No tricoslan, peroxide, potassium nitrates, or strontium chloride.

Check out Red Seal onlineClick here to see all the listings for Red Seal Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
antibacterial   baking soda   colourfree   herbal   natural   nzmade   parabenfree   slsfree   toothpaste   whitening
Other listings you may be interested in:
Red Seal Natural Herbal and Mineral ToothpasteRed Seal Natural Herbal and Mineral Toothpaste
Rating: 9.1
Red Seal Natural Kids SLS-Free ToothpasteRed Seal Natural Kids SLS-Free Toothpaste
Rating: 9.6
Red Seal Propolis ToothpasteRed Seal Propolis Toothpaste
Rating: 9.9
Odor-NiteOdor-Nite
Rating: 4.3
Bodeze Body Beautiful Sugaring GelBodeze Body Beautiful Sugaring GelRug DoctorRug Doctor
Rating: 7.8
The Scented Soap Deli - FreesiaThe Scented Soap Deli - Freesia
Rating: 9.5
The Scented Soap Deli - Green Tea and Hemp Seed OilThe Scented Soap Deli - Green Tea and Hemp Seed Oil
Rating: 10.0
Azor S Sensitive RazorAzor S Sensitive Razor
Rating: 8.6
SuperSkin Ultimate MoisturiserSuperSkin Ultimate Moisturiser
Rating: 9.2
The Better MousetrapThe Better Mousetrap
Rating: 10.0
Twistick Clean Me - Travel SoapTwistick Clean Me - Travel Soap
Rating: 9.3
Tea Tree DeodorantTea Tree Deodorant
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 14th of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

After many years of not caring for my teeth as I should and years drinking litres of Cola per day my teeth leave a lot to be desired. Becoming more and more self conscious of the fact that my teeth are discoloured and wanting to encourage my own children to take care of their teeth, I have tried many teeth whitening products but often find the taste very off putting.

The taste of the Red Seal Baking Soda toothpaste was minty, a little grainy but nothing I couldn't handle and left a refreshing feeling. Although I highly doubt my teeth will ever be sparkling white the staining has significantly decreased. Success! I am also impressed that a product that cost $3.50 can have this much effect over a fortnight using no chemicals when many other treatments that I have tried have not made any noticeable difference and have cost substantially more.

I am neither here nor there in the debate about fluoride so this in no way influenced my decision. I also love that it is suitable for the entire family and for the price its not so much of a stress if your three year old gets into it! All in all a great toothpaste that meets expectations set by it's self.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 19th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have always been excited when I am chosen to review something that has been sent to KIWIreviews, and this was the case with Red Seal Baking soda toothpaste. I have always been on the fence when it has come to the fluoride debate. It is probably something I should research further. My daughter is 8 years old and suffers many allergies, as a result she is on a lot of allergy medication. This medication weakened and damaged her teeth, resulting in her going from perfect teeth to needing 4 fillings in one go Sad Icon

During these visits to the clinic, the dentist advised that our best course of action was to paint her teeth with fluoride to help strengthen and protect them. Not knowing any different I agreed. Now other than her teeth being weakened and requiring the fillings, her teeth looked lovely. Over time after the fluoride had been applied to her teeth, I noticed chalky white patches appearing on her two front teeth, and no matter how much she brushed her teeth always appeared to have yellow discoloration to them. I was really dissapointed.

So obviously, when learning that the Red Seal toothpaste did not contain fluoride, I was over the moon. I was also happy to learn it was free of colour, peroxide, potassium nitrate paraben, and so much more that she did not need to be putting in her mouth. I was sold at the fact it was all natural, and I jsut hoped it was going to live up to everything it promised. After reading some discussion on KIWIreviews facebook page, I decided I was going to photograph my daughters teeth over the course of the couple weeks we had to review before needing to write this up. I was amazed by the results.

I am really super super impressed. In fact this is possibly the most impressed I have actually ever been about a product haha. The photos of course do help with my overall impression of this toothpaste, as I can not only see the results in person when she smiles but with the photos I can see what her teeth were like when we first started, without that visual I would possibly just shrug and say umm yeah I think it worked lol This stuff is amazing seriously. Not only has it whitened her teeth, but it also looks to have begun to repair the chalky white bits on her teeth. Due to her allergies, this will be the only toothpaste we will buy now. I will need to stock up on it where I am able, as we are seasonal workers, so will need to buy it in bulk for the off season too lol Smile Icon.

Not only am I impressed, but so is miss 8. She loves the look and feel of her teeth. She loves the smell and the taste. And where she used to spend a couple minutes brushing her teeth well, she now spends twice that time making sure every inch of her teeth are well and truly brushed. Thank you red seal and KIWIreviews, the results are amazing and we are so happy to have been chosen. My oldest boy suffers many teeth problems and had all his teeth removed aged 3 due to gum disease, so we are now on the hunt for another red seal toothpaste I recently read in another KIWIreviews red seal toothpaste review lol

Definitely two thumbs up, 100/10 from us.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 22nd of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was given a tube of this baking soda toothpaste to try and was looking forward to getting started as it has been many years since I've used baking soda toothpaste of any kind. As soon as I tried it for the first time, it brought back a familiar taste that I remember of other baking soda toothpastes.

Overall I loved the taste of this toothpaste - it was minty enough to give that really clean feeling, but not overpowering. The texture was quite grainy, but I loved this about it - it really felt like my teeth were getting a good clean and although it's hard to tell at this stage whether it is whitening them up, it certainly feels like it could be.

Like all red seal toothpastes, this is scientifically designed to give the best possible clean, but without using fluoride. The lack of fluoride was something I had to get my head around initially, but as a person who's not strongly inclined for or against the fluoride debate, the explanation on the box was enough to make me happy using this toothpaste.

I'd happily buy this toothpaste again... in fact I'm wondering why I ever stopped using baking soda toothpastes in the first place and I really hope that my teeth start looking noticeable whiter soon.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 20th of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Being a heavy coffee drinker I find my teeth are often stained so I tend to buy whitening toothpastes which half the time are triple the price of normal toothpaste and don't actually work. I also hate to think just how many chemicals are in some of them too. When the red seal baking soda came up for review I was keen to give it a try. Stain removing tooth paste without the chemicals!

I have been using the red seal baking soda toothpaste for just over a week and while there hasn't been much different in the whiteness of my teeth yet everything else has me sold on it. While a lot of toothpastes have a strong horrible taste I find the baking soda one just right. It leaves your mouth minty fresh without being over powering. I found after using it my teeth felt cleaner than they usually are. I had a friend staying last weekend and she gave it a go as well and her comments were well it leaves your mouth so fresh!

I did find the texture a bit odd to start with as it is a little more grainy than I am used to but I found by day three I wasn't even noticing it anymore. I will be continuing to use it and the red seal baking soda toothpaste will become a regular in our home. I love the fact it has no nasty surprises hiding in it.

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 19th of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I'm not a huge fan of brushing my teeth but I know from my many dentist appointments that it is a nessessary part of every day healthy living so twice a day I subject myself to typical minty tasting toothpaste that leaves my breath fresh and my teeth nice and smooth. I know this routine is good for me but when I go to the dentist and they tell me that I need another two fillings I can't help but feel like my chosen toothpaste isn't doing it's job correctly so when the opportunity to review some Red Seal toothpaste came up I put my metaphorical hand up and requested a tube to try.

The taste wasn't as smooth as I expected, it was a little grainy to be honest but that is such a minor thing it's not even worth worrying about. Red Seal gave my teeth the same clean feeling as other toothpaste brands but with far less chemicals (and who knows what else?!) and no flouride.

I'm hoping the baking soda in this toothpaste will eventually start turning my teeth whiter but I didn't see any noticeable change within the week that I was reviewing it. I will continue to use it though in the hopes that the claims made on the box are correct!

Well done Red Seal and supplying a great natural alternative to other toothpastes!

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 15th of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I've tried Baking Soda toothpaste in the past and really didn't like it as it was a very grainy toothpaste in texture and it really put me off the toothpaste but when I saw this up for review I thought that this would be a perfect opportunity to try out the competition and see if it could be any better than expected.

My first reaction is that I really like the box that this comes in, it is nice and basic, gives you all the information that you would need and I really do like the plant design on the right of the box, really caught my eye and makes it feel natural. One of the main things it states it can do is stain removal and while I've seen no huge difference to my teeth and their colouring I'm willing to continue trying it to see if it really does work. There is a slight grittiness to the toothpaste but it didn't take over the paste and it hasn't put me off buying this in the future.

I haven't really followed anything about flouride in toothpaste or water, but I am glad to see that this is free of it, as another option for people to use. A major plus for me is also that it hasn't been tested on animals, something that makes me more inclined to use it. This is a nice toothpaste and I'm happy to keep on using it.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 15th of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have found that in the past I could brush my teeth after breakfast and by lunch time I feel the need to brush my teeth again as they don't feel clean. I have also tried toothpaste that said it was all natural and good for your teeth but then the paste tastes like motor oil and doesn't do a very good job so I thought I would put my hand up for some toothpaste and hope for the best.

I really liked the packaging, found it fresh and innovative but I was a bit worried about the no fluoride as I am old enough to remember all the debate about having fluoride in the water and being advised by a dentist that the best toothpaste is one that contains fluoride. I tried some and found that I really liked the taste and I found that my mouth felt clean and that by dinner time I still had that nice clean just brushed feeling even after a full day of eating and drinking. The "grainy" texture wasn't a big issue as I wasn't expecting a smooth gel like you can get with chemicals.

I'm that impressed with the tooth paste that I would continue to buy it as my mouth and teeth have never felt cleaner. I would try the other flavours just to get some variety.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 23rd of August, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I've been happily using a brand of toothpaste for quite some time now so I thought it would be interesting to see how this Red Seal Baking Soda Toothpaste compares, especially with the claims to teeth whitening. My teeth are very discoloured from too much coffee drinking so I am always up to try anything that claims to whiten my teeth without using harsh chemicals.

I really like the taste of this toothpaste. It is very refreshing and definitely makes my mouth feel clean and fresh. I like the feel of the toothpaste on my teeth and they do feel very lean after brushing. I have been using the toothpaste for about a week and a half now and haven't noticed a huge change in the could of my teeth. I do however like the feel and taste of this toothpaste so much that I will continue to use it. Hubby also has been using it and seems to be quite happy with its performance also over our normal brand.

I will definitely continue to use this as I love how my teeth feel after each brushing with it and can definitely recommend trying it. Although I don't specifically look for a product that doesn't have fluoride in it if that is what you would prefer then this is definitely a brand worth trying.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 21st of August, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Short version: My second-favourite toothpaste EVER!

Longer version: I gave up smoking many many years ago, but the damage to my teeth was done. My 'compensation thing' - drinking a major-brand cola - hasn't done them any great favours either. Tar and cola stains don't make for that Hollywood Smile.

Having tried some of the earlier tooth-whitening products years ago, they were almost too horrific to describe. Caustic liquids dabbed on the teeth, dripping down to give generous chemical burns to my defenceless gums... ineffective gels and rubberised mouthguards that get really uncomfortable after only a few minutes... even prolonged periods sitting in a chair with ultraviolet lights cooking the inside of my mouth.

Then I just gave up.

A month ago I discovered Red Seal's Baking Soda toothpaste, and since I had already been using their amazing Propolis Extract antibiotic toothpaste to help deal with an infected tooth, I thought it couldn't do any harm to give it a try. SO glad I did! In the last month, my teeth have started to show definite signs of lightening up. Still got a long way to go, sure... but the journey has certainly begun with promising results in a timeframe I can certainly live with.

Overall, the (second) best toothpaste I own... beaten only by the Red Seal Propolis one. This was so easy to use - well, naturally. But it was also gentle, effective and most importantly for those of us with sensitive teeth... PAINLESS!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 21st of August, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I took a tube of this Red Seal Baking Soda Toothpaste home the other week. I have been using it daily since then, and have enjoyed it very much. The taste of this paste has a minty flavour, with a definite baking soda taste and feel to it as well. What that does, is deliver the powerful minty fresh taste as promised. It really is very bold. The paste also has a grainy or powdery texture to it, when you bite down.

I found this to be a great morning paste for getting ready in the morning. It made me feel refreshed and energised for the day. Because it is chemical free, I feel it is safer to have around on the bench. If the kids do get into it, then I don't need to worry about them having some on their own brushes. Apart from the flavour being unlikely to be acceptable to them.

I'm personally not at all worried about fluoride in our tooth care products, but I know some people who are. I'm glad that a product like this is available for people who want to limit that in their system. My own teeth are yellow from early childhood medication, where my adult teeth were damaged. So I didn't notice much difference in the colour of my teeth. But I did take a small amount and use it to clean the inside of my husband's coffee cup. The affect was very noticeable. Long-standing stains shifted easily with a rubbing of the paste into the cup.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 4272: The Better Mousetrap -  Brand / Manufacturer : Intruder

Product image for The Better MousetrapMade of tough plastic. The safest and cleanest reusable trap of all.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why does Goofy stand erect while Pluto remains on all fours? They're both dogs!"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream