Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 9th December 2019 - 14:42:04

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Cakes and Muffin > Patisserie Filling - Lemon and Passionfruit review

« BeeSeal reviewBeeSealSpiced Eggplant Chutney reviewSpiced Eggplant Chutney »

Score: 9.3/10  [12 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 3412 - Patisserie Filling - Lemon and Passionfruit
Brand: Barkers of Geraldine

Patisserie Filling - Lemon and Passionfruit
Price:
$5.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Barkers of Geraldine

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and selected retail outlets

Patisserie Filling - Lemon and Passionfruit product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsAt Barker's we are a leading supplier of bakery fillings to NZ bakeries and cafes. Now, we have made a selection of our favourite bakery fillings for you to use in your own kitchen.

Simply snip the ready-to-use piping bag and fill tartlet shells, brandy snaps or use in desserts and home baking.
    •  Ready to use - just snip and pipe
    •  No mess, disposable piping bag
    •  Gluten free

The options are endless. Here are some easy serving ideas:
    •  Combine with whipped cream and fill meringue nests
    •  Use as a sponge cake filling
    •  Add to vanilla ice-cream

Check out Barkers of Geraldine onlineClick here to see all the listings for Barkers of Geraldine Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
baking   dessert   filling   lemon   nzmade   passionfruit   pastry   patisserie   piping bag   tart
Other listings you may be interested in:
Curry ExpressCurry Express
Rating: 8.5
Jewel of India : Lamb Kebab KormaJewel of India : Lamb Kebab Korma
Rating: 8.5
Pickapeppa Spicy Mango SaucePickapeppa Spicy Mango Sauce
Rating: 9.5
Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite MayoChop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite Mayo
Rating: 7.3
GoBake Sprinkles CollectionsGoBake Sprinkles Collections
Rating: 9.3
Pitango Kids free range very mild chicken curryPitango Kids free range very mild chicken curry
Rating: 10.0
Yoghurt Tub Apricot & HoneyYoghurt Tub Apricot & Honey
Rating: 9.5
Rings Around Uranus (low gluten)Rings Around Uranus (low gluten)
Rating: 8.5
Taste of India Butter Chicken Simmer SauceTaste of India Butter Chicken Simmer Sauce
Rating: 9.1
Pacific Crown Tuna - Ginger and LimePacific Crown Tuna - Ginger and Lime
Rating: 8.7
Squiggles Hokey PokeySquiggles Hokey Pokey
Rating: 9.3
Howler Hotdogs - Gluten-FreeHowler Hotdogs - Gluten-Free
Rating: 9.5
Farmland Fine-Sliced Corned SilversideFarmland Fine-Sliced Corned Silverside
Rating: 8.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 17th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Ingredients:
Score 10 out of 10
Instructions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

At my daughters birthday party recently I wanted a few quick sweet treats that I could whip up more for the adults than the children so I decided to buy some sweet little pastry tart cases and fill these with a variety of different fillings. Searching the supermarket shelves for different filings I stumbled across this Lemon and Passionfruit filing which I thought would work great and would taste delicious as I have tried several of the Barkers curds which tasted amazing.

So along with some cheesecake filling, chocolate mousse, custard and canned fruit I set home to put these tarts together. The Lemon and Passionfruit filing was so simple to use, it comes in a plastic ready to use piping bag so all I had to do was snip off one corner and then squeeze it into the pastry cases. I loved the simplicity of using this product especially when I already how so much other things I needed to do. I topped these tarts with some meringue which I cooked using my kitchen blow torch until the topping was golden and crisp to make mini lemon (and passionfruit) meringue pies. Still having quite a lot of filling remaining I decided to use some more of the filing as a cheesecake topping, so that I had a berry cheesecakes as well as lemon and passionfruit cheesecakes, this work great though I did find I needed to thin the filling down with a small amount of water though this didn't affect the flavour at all.

The flavour of the lemon and passionfruit filling is absolutely divine even on it's own. The lemon wasn't to sour in taste and the passionfruit made a good balance while adding a touch of sweetness, everyone commented on the taste of the filing and liked it equally as much in both ways it was served, as cheesecakes and in lemon meringue pies. There are so many ways I can think of to use this filling in and I can't wait to buy more and put these ideas into action.

A great high quality product so simple to use and with endless possibilities, well done Barkers.

Click here to read the profile of chugga

Review by: chugga (Yolande)
Dated: 11th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Ingredients:
Score 10 out of 10
Instructions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

OK folks now this is seriously on the "Oh YUM" shelf - so much so that we had to go back and buy some more - and I don't even like citrus as a sweet. An absolutely perfect balance of passionfruit and lemon however changed my mind.

The downside of this product - trying to keep everyone from eating it all before you have used it. We made good old fashioned cheesecake and plenty of it - which was just as well - 6 people were only too happy to devour it and request more. I mixed half with a plain cheesecake filling and then used the rest as a topping.

When they say the options are endless, they really are. I have repurchased the same flavour then intend to try the boysenberry next. Would definitely recommend to others.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 24th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Ingredients:
Score 9 out of 10
Instructions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Now i'm a fair to middling cook, but when it comes to baking I just don't seem to really have that magic touch that so many others do when it comes to baked goods. Even when I use a premix recipie it never comes out quite right, but I thought i'd have another go at baking using this patisserie filling in the mixture.

So i decided to try the old staple - muffins, I mean I really can't stuff these up too much can I? After whipping up the muffin mix I grabbed the filling bag, now this bag is great it is ideally shaped so that just snipping off one of the narrower ends it makes the perfect piping bag, so no more do you have to try and feed the filling into one of those fancy piping bags, and it also means one less thing to wash Smile Icon. After piping in the filling I let oven do it's thing.

When the end result came of out of the oven the smell of the lemon & passionfruit filling was amazing, and made the family's mouths water with anticipation. After the muffins had time to cool down it was on to the taste test. Now i'm not really a lemon kind of person, but in the interest of unbiased reviewing I took a shot and tried one. The taste was amazing and the lemon was nowhere near as overpowering as I feared it would be - the passionfruit gave it a great balance. The texture was just the right creaminess. The rest of the family agreed with me about the taste and have demanded that I now get more of this filling so that we can try it in other recipies. Next time we might try one of the recipies supplied in the box.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 19th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Ingredients:
Score 9 out of 10
Instructions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love Barker's Lemon and Passionfruit curd, so I knew this product was instantly going to be a winner and a hit with all our family and friends. The package of filling is angled and was easy to snip open and re-sealing was pretty easy too. I just used a peg. I liked that there were recipe suggestions as well.

I found the filling to be very sweet with a bitter after taste. I made a cheesecake and mixed the filling into the cream cheese topping for the cake. This was easy and worked well. The result was a creamy lemony dream, which I offered up to friends at a dinner party.

I like that this product is very versatile. I can use it as an icing, mixed with a bit of icing sugar. You get heaps in the packet, so I could easily make a couple of different things with the same bag and it seemed to keep well in the fridge too.

It is a little pricey, but as I say you get a lot in the packet. If you have something special coming up like a birthday, and you want to cater yourself I think it would be a good investment.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 29th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Ingredients:
Score 10 out of 10
Instructions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Quite simply, this is the most awesome product ive used in ages! I received this on the weekend and its been staring at me most of the week as i pondered what to make, and who was going to eat it (if i don't have a plan....it would be me that eats it all....not good!) Daycare had a dinner night, so i made a plate of kids desserts and thought id take something made with this along to see how it went.

I brought pre rolled sheets of pastry and made my little tartlet cases. This was a nightmare! Im more of a savoury baker/cook and as i followed the instructions on the back of the box ... you had to use rice to weigh down baking paper and bake the pastry so it didn't rise before you filled it with the passionfruit and lemon filling. ANYWAY! once that fiddly job was done, it was such a breeze to pipe the filling in, using the bag it came in straight from the pack and just snipping the corner off.

The product smells divine and the colour is nice and bright. I must have had 4 wee tarts during the night i made them.....they were yum! I took a couple down to my nan and she presumed i made the filling .. i let her in on the secret and she was amazed!.

As for the daycare dinner .. they all went, so they must of been good! Some of the mums added vanilla ice cream to the top of the tart, i thought that was a great idea (i had meant to put cream on the top, but i ran out of time and they didn't really need it)

Overall, this is a product i definitely would buy again, i would love to try the other flavours and i think its really reasonably priced for such a 'home made' feeling to the dessert you can create.

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 29th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Ingredients:
Score 9 out of 10
Instructions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

totally in love with this stuff. so easy to use and it tastes wonderful. the bag was brilliant as it was shaped like a narrow diamond so turning it into a piping bag was as simple as cutting off one of the skinny corners and squeezing gently. i even had my kids helping me out. we bought a couple of plain sponge cakes at the supermaket and mixed some of this filling with some whipped cream to make a really tasty layer in between and then we used more of this filling with some gelatine to make little cubes to put in between as well. we topped it off with more whipped cream with some grated lemon zest and candied orange rind chopped up really tiny. it was an amazing cake made a lot better by having this filling to work with. it made the cake so simple to put together and cut away so much time that the cake went from idea to eat in less than 20 minutes and most of that was just waiting for the geletine to set. the smooth texture of the filling was so nice to work with and the seeds were really easy to pull out as there wasnt heaps of them and by pinching the end of the bag as I squeezed most of them stayed in the bag anyway. the friends I had over at the time were so impressed they made me bring out the box so they could see what it was. they phoned me about 3 hours later when they got home to tell me how much it was at the supermarket because they bough 4 boxes for their own use just based on the taste of my cake. I have to admit I have gone and bought some more of this flavour and the berry one too. thanks KIWIreviews and Barkers.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 25th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Ingredients:
Score 9 out of 10
Instructions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Wanting to try a different spin on the "filling in the baked goods" theme, I took an old favourite Lemon & Walnut Loaf recipe and adjusted it a little to use ingredients on hand, including swapping out regular flour for wholemeal flour instead. For the next alteration, I used organic macadamia nuts instead of walnuts, and included a little of the Patisserie Filling into the batter to enhance the flavour.

To really boost that 'heart of gold' effect, I laid down about half the batter in a loaf tin, then piped a generous portion of the patisserie filling down the middle, topped with the last of the loaf batter. Into the oven until golden brown, then let it stand for 10 minutes, turn onto a wire rack and let it cool for 20 minutes, then topped it with an icing made from Lemon & Passionfruit Patisserie Filling, fresh lemon juice, and some icing sugar. Once this had set, it was time to taste...

Delightful, though unfortunately a little dry due to forgetting to boost the butter to compensate for the wholemeal flour. -oops- My bad. Still, very tasty indeed! The patisserie filling worked a treat in all three roles: ingredient, filling and icing. This, if nothing else, struck me as the hallmark of a really useful product to have in the pantry at all times. You could, almost literally, use it for anything!

Overall, very impressed. The consistency of the filling allowed it to be as liquid as needed to combine well, yet firm enough not to utterly give way and dribble all over the plate when the loaf was sliced. The photo shows the filling starting to sag out - Guilty Admission Time: I didn't actually wait for the loaf to go fully cold before I simply HAD to sample it! The filling was still a little warm and thus a tad softer than it was 10 minutes later. At that stage, I was able to slice the loaf and the filling stayed in place without trouble. Would I go out and buy this, Most definitely yes! Would I be keen to try some of the other flavours? Quite possibly, depending on if it was on sale at the time. I am not a huge berry fan, and the chocolate filling is something I would be wanting to try before I buy.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 25th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Ingredients:
Score 9 out of 10
Instructions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I don't normally do a lot of fancy baking. Scones and damper are about the limit of my usual. But I did agree to give this stuff a try so I roped one of my older mokopuna in to help me. She is a much better oven operator than I am. She noticed I had some bananas on the windowsill that were starting to go past the ripe stage so she suggested we make some banana muffins with this filling in the middle. I didnt really understand what she was on about so I just did a bit of supervisory stuff. You know, where I stand back and look important while she does the real work. LOL Icon

After making the muffin mix up she filled the moulds with it and piped a good blob of this stuff into the middle of the mix. She said at the time she thought the muffin mix would push the filling up and out, so we tried to spoon some of the batter over the top of the filling. It worked for some, not for others. But even the messiest ones turned out to taste pretty fine to me.

This filling stuff comes in a diamond shaped bag so making a piping bag out of it is as simple as cutting off one of the two sharp corners. What I liked about this was it was easy for me to do even with my arthritis, but I found it a bit rough trying to squeeze the piping bag enough to get anything out really. What I ended up doing was shoving the sealed end of the bag up through and upside down funnel. I could easily hold the funnel, and by pulling on the end of the bag, make everything squeeze out. No fine control at all, but it was better than nothing.

I don't know if I would buy this again. It is not really my kind of product, but my lovely helper was very impressed, and asked if she could take the rest home to share with her flatmates. She rang me later that night to tell me she had made more muffins, used it to make ice cream, mixed it with whipped cream to fill some sweet pastry cups she made, and still had a little bit left over. So it is great value for money. I might not get any more, but I know she now has it on her shopping list and has plans to try the other flavours too. She has promised to bring me some of the results, so she can get her old Koro's opinions. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 25th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Ingredients:
Score 8 out of 10
Instructions:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I was very pleased to find four recipes included with this product, my only disappointment was that I assumed that there would be more ideas on what to use it for on their website, but sadly there wasn't any, which was a shame as I would have liked some more ideas.

Getting it out of the box, I liked the shape of the bag, as it made it easier to squeeze it out. I had a small taste of it before adding it to my cooking and found the taste to be a good consistency and taste. We decided to make the muffins that came in the recipe booklet. All went well, but from the instructions I expected that the small amount on top would sink in, it didn't, and this led to a bit of a mess in the oven.

The muffins tasted great, and the kids were already pleading for some. My 3yo gobbled it down, and my 4yo took it nice and slow, savouring it. I have no doubt that I will buy this again, as it's something so easy to use. Perfect for a quick, yummy flavour to any dessert.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 24th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Ingredients:
Score 9 out of 10
Instructions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

This lemon and passion fruit patisserie filling is yum.

I was being lazy and took the suggestion on the back of the packet and just brought some pre made patisserie cases, you could make your own, or make one of the awesome recipes that come in the box.

This product is awesome for a very quick easy dessert that is pretty impressive, you can do what I did, and have little cases full of this great flavoured food, you can add it to a variety of different desserts to add flavour to them, or just have it with ice cream.

The bag is in a strange diamond shape, allowing you to cut the corner off one end have a ready made piping bag, making filling things easy. I loved the lemon and passion fruit flavour, and I am sure the other two flavours are equally as good.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 22nd of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Ingredients:
Score 10 out of 10
Instructions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

My team of three year olds helped me to test Barkers Lemon and Passionfruit filling. I squeezed some out onto their fingers and I heard a chorus of "Yummy." The little fingers were held out repeatedly for more. The filling on its own is a delicious mix of sweet passionfruit with tangy lemon.

I found the filling easy to use. All I had to do was snip off the corner of the bag and use it as a piping bag. It could then be resealed with a peg or clip. I think If I was designing a product like this I would have used a screw top opening like they have on baby food pouches. The filling is thick enough that it is easy to the flow from the bag.

After looking through the recipes that came in the box I choose to make gooey centred muffins. It was a very easy recipe to use and although it was only supposed to make twelve muffins we had nineteen. The recipe was obviously designed for Barkers as it didn't contain any sugar, relying instead on the sweetness of the filling. My team of taste testers couldn't wait for the muffins to cool and risked burns. As they ate them I again heard the three year olds chorus on "Yum." I would have to agree with them. The filling and the muffins were great. I am now keen to try the other varieties of patisserie fillings.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 22nd of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Ingredients:
Score 7 out of 10
Instructions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

This product comes in a box and the "patisserie filling" is in a diamond shaped plastic bag. This bag can be used, according to the box, to pipe the filling directly into your pastry cases. On the back of the box is a recipe for Easy Lemon and Passionfruit Tarts. In this you pipe the filling into your sweet pastry shells and serve. Wallah a pretty easy dessert!

Inside is a small booklet with four more recipes. They all looked yummy but with three sick kids I decided to go for the Easy Lemon and Passionfruit Ice Cream.

It was indeed the easiest Ice Cream I have ever made and what is more it was actually quite yummy. So much so that we had to force ourselves to wait for it to properly freeze before we ate it... The ice cream took ages to set and whilst it was nice whilst a mousse consistency it was actually much nicer once it had frozen overnight. My only criticism would be that the passionfruit seeds were really dry and crunchy and quite unpleasant to eat. I ended up picking these out. I would like this more if the seeds were moister.

The ice cream got the thumbs up from the whole family and I would make this again if I just wanted a quick and easy dessert to impress with.

Ingredients in this mix are sugar, water (not much as it is a very thick filling), lemon juice 13%, passionfruit 12% and then all those extras that make you just want to have your own fresh lemons and passionfruit. Thickener, vegetable oil - not specified what type- preservatives, colours, emulsifiers etc. Despite these 'horrid' extras it actually wouldn't put me off buying this product to use again and to try out some of the other recipes.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.2
Product reviews for listing 4451: Scone Toast: Apricot and Honey -  Brand / Source : Golden

Product image for Scone Toast: Apricot and HoneyInspired by traditional scones, our scone toast is baked with the finest quality ingredients, the tastiest apricots & a hint of honey.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I wonder if other dogs think poodles are members of a weird religious cult."
Rita Rudner

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream