Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 16th November 2019 - 07:36:49

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Fiction > Fifty Shades 1 - Fifty Shades of Grey review

« Dinosaur Rescue 5 - Spino-rottysaurus reviewDinosaur Rescue 5 - Spino-rottysaurusThe Curse of the Bogle's Beard reviewThe Curse of the Bogle »

Score: 7.2/10  [9 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3354 - Fifty Shades 1 - Fifty Shades of Grey
Written by E L James

Fifty Shades 1 - Fifty Shades of Grey
Price:
$19.99
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Fifty Shades 1 - Fifty Shades of Grey product reviews

NOTE: This book contains mature themes and descriptive content. Caution is advised for younger readers.

When literature student Anastasia Steele is drafted to interview the successful young entrepreneur Christian Grey for her campus magazine, she finds him attractive, enigmatic and intimidating.

Convinced their meeting went badly, she tries to put Grey out of her mind - until he turns up at the store where she works part-time. He invites her for dinner, and soon the unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana's quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too - but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey's singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success - his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family - Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey's secrets and explores her own dark desires.



Tags:
control   dominance   e l james   erotic   fantasy   fifty shades   mature   sexual   submission
Other listings you may be interested in:
Fifty Shades 2 - Fifty Shades DarkerFifty Shades 2 - Fifty Shades Darker
Rating: 8.1
Fifty Shades 3 - Fifty Shades FreedFifty Shades 3 - Fifty Shades Freed
Rating: 9.2
The Hythrun Chronicles #2 - WarriorThe Hythrun Chronicles #2 - Warrior
Rating: 9.8
Messy, Messy, Poppy CatMessy, Messy, Poppy Cat
Rating: 8.5
The Bridei Chronicles #1 - The Dark MirrorThe Bridei Chronicles #1 - The Dark Mirror
Rating: 9.8
The Last TheoremThe Last Theorem
Rating: 6.0
The Klutz Hand BookThe Klutz Hand Book
Rating: 9.0
Thea Stilton and the Blue Scarab HuntThea Stilton and the Blue Scarab Hunt
Rating: 10.0
Small ShenSmall Shen
Rating: 9.5
The Snake Who Came to StayThe Snake Who Came to Stay
Rating: 10.0
Runaway ToiletRunaway Toilet
Rating: 10.0
Artemis Fowl: The Lost ColonyArtemis Fowl: The Lost Colony
Rating: 9.8
Lily the Littlest Angel 3: Lily Goes Skitter SkatingLily the Littlest Angel 3: Lily Goes Skitter Skating
Rating: 9.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 7th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Level of Realism:
Score 7 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 5 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 8 out of 10

I borrowed this book off a friend at work and im totally glad i did as its definitely not a book i would read over and over again, although i am glad that I read it. Before reading it i had heard so much hype about it, it was all over the radio stations, plus my friends (both at work and outside) were all taking about it. I must say that although i had heard bits n pieces i still had no real idea about the story line.

When i first started the book, i found the same as a few others have mentioned, that it was very slow, in fact it took me a good couple of weeks to get through the first couple of chapters and i wondered what i had got myself into. Once further into the book and the drama had started, i found the content to be rather eye opening, a world i certainly dont live but realise others do. I found myself wanting to get into the book and tell them whats what and Mr Grey is certainly a type i hope to never met myself!

I must say that i didnt notice that it was poorly written, it engaged me (nearly from the start) and ended with me wanting to read the next book so i know what happens. To me this is what makes a good book ~ not whether it has amazingly big words and flash sentence structures etc. I must say that it does start to feel like its repeating itself ~ especially in terms of the sex scenes, however i was warned of this before i started reading ~The fact there is a storyline behind it keeps you hooked and reading through them.

I am totally glad i read this book and am looking forward to reading the others. For me its the type of book that once ive read it, i wont read it again and im totally glad i didnt buy it for this reason alone. I would highly recommend to others ~ but like others have said ~ definately not for children and teenagers!

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 6th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Level of Realism:
Score 7 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 8 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 9 out of 10

I received this book from a fellow reviewer, having heard so much about it I possibly had higher expectations than it deserved. The writing style is not one to write home about, pretty sub standard to be honest, and the story line is definitely an interesting one. I found initially the book was really slow to get going, and I found myself skipping paragraphs here and there as it just seemed to take ages to get to the expected story line that I had heard so much about.

The story is based around two main characters Anastasia Steele and Christian Grey, she is an innocent in more ways than one and he is a rich millionaire with a dark and shocking background and a very 'interesting' behind the doors interest in sex. I read the book in just one day, possibly quicker than normal because I skipped over parts. I did find that I just wanted to get to the end to find out what Christian's secrets were and how bad his childhood was, but of course you do not find this out in the first book.

There are two other books in the series, and the first book did leave me wanting to know exactly what was going on in his past and what was going to happen in their future. As poorly written as it possibly was I did need to get the other books to find out how it would end. I ended up reading all 3 books in a weekend. An interesting story line, could have been written better but it does hold your attention and make you wonder, which I guess was what the author wanted.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 12th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Level of Realism:
Score 5 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 3 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 6 out of 10

I got this book, from a fellow reviewer. I'd heard a lot about this book but had never been overly interested in reading it. But when it was offered up, I said yes please, and so it was mailed to me. First impression is of a nice design on the book cover.

I sat down to start reading it, and first impression was that the writing was nothing great. It wasn't a new style of writing, there was nothing to set it apart, and it was a very easy, simplistic read. My overall impression of this book is that it is a Mills & Boon type of style. One man, one woman, the man not usually right for the woman and yet she still falls head over heels for him.

I did find myself getting annoyed about her 'Inner Goddess' and I couldn't quite see where that fitted in with her character, so those parts did get on my nerves at times. On the other side of the scale though, I did enjoy the banter between our two main characters via email.

I found this to be a very quick read, I finished it within two days. It's still not something that I would spend money on owning, if gifted, perhaps I would read it once more (but only if I had all 3), but really only once more and not again.

The end was well written enough that you want to know where the characters go from there, how their relationship goes, etc. And whilst I will admit to feeling slightly curious about where they are headed, I am more than happy to wait till either I am given the next two, loaned the next two, or see it on the library shelf.

Click here to read the profile of esme

Review by: esme (Esme)
Dated: 9th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Level of Realism:
Score 8 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 8 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 10 out of 10

I got emailed the digital version of this series and decided to read it to see what all the fuss was about.
I found it kind of hard to get into at first, the first couple of chapters kinda dragged on but I pushed through it because i wanted to know more.
I found the mystery and suspense quite minimal in this book. Also found the story line lacking but I still pushed through. About half way through the book though I started to really enjoy it and sound myself lost in the story (My poor family were neglected while I was reading).
The ending of this book was very disappointing it was very abrupt and left me hanging so I ended up going straight onto the second book because I really wanted to know what was going to happen.
By the time I finished the series I wanted to read them again so I did and I have to say it was a lot better read the second time round.
The second time you were a lot more in the peoples minds and more understanding of who they were and why they did some of the things they did, Said some of the things they said.
All in all it was a good read once I got into it and plan on reading the books for a third time at some stage when I have time.
I read the full series the first time in 7 days. Second time I read it slower and it took me 12 days to read through the series, Once I got into it I found it very hard to put down and was pretty much reading from the moment I woke up until I finally fell asleep around 1am.

Click here to read the profile of kyz83

Review by: kyz83 (Kylie)
Dated: 24th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Level of Realism:
Score 7 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 4 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 9 out of 10

I had heard so much about this book, I couldn't wait to buy it. News about the books was everywhere - couldn't escape it, it was even news around the staff room at work.

First impressions were - lost in it. Straight away I was lost in Ana's world. Her world is simple and uncomplicated until she meets Christian. It quickly moves from simple and sweet to erotic and what I will call forceful. Christian certainly doesn't romance Ana in a stereotypical way.

I read this book over 2 days, while it was easily read and I certainly lost track of time there is only so many times you can read about a sex scene over and over or their 'inner goddess releasing'. It is an intense book but I believe could be condensed quite a bit as lacks a bit of a story line.

I will recommend this book to borrow off a friend but I wouldn't rush out and buy it. Great for a bit of escapism, a girl can dream eh.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 24th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Level of Realism:
Score 6 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 6 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 5 out of 10

I had to read since this was all everyone was talking about and all I can ask is why????

I found it rather repetitive and boring. Hated the way Anastasia had so much doubt and had to over analyse everything. Felt like I was reading the same lines over and over again and the crying was over the top.

I did enjoy the email banter that they sent to each other. Found that to be the highlight to the book and could not wait to read the next email.

The sex/bondage was rather long winded and drawn out. Didn't need to know everything she was thinking.

If I enjoy a book I get engrossed with it and just want to read it all the time but with this book I found it a bit of a chore to read. I found I only read at night while breastfeeding my baby which did feel a bit disturbing while reading some of the acts. Occasionally if she had finished before the chapter was over I would put her to bed and come back and finish the chapter but quite few times just left it mid page.

Because of the way the book ended I did have to go and buy the second book just to see what was going to happen.

Would I read this book again: NOPE

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 8th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Level of Realism:
Score 6 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 3 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 10 out of 10

I waited to read this book to see if my flatmate who never reads got through it. For the first few chapters i found it to be much like a high class mills and boon, then the drama kicked in.

I found parts of it rather eye opening into a world that although i know exists, believed stayed behind closed doors and out of books to that extent. I really found myself picturing the play room and several parts of the book, while others had me wanting to reach in and grab people and shake the living daylights out of them. I hope i never meet a guy like Mr Grey in my travels.

With the book being so much of what it is, i really doubt i would read it again and think it is a really good conversation piece. I have friends that love it and others that hate it, yet none of them can tell me why. I would like to hear the audio just to see if the book is any different as i find a lot of audio books are to the text. I think everyone should read it at least once just so they can say they have read this best seller and so that they know what all the hype is about.

I would love to give any other books by this author a chance to see if the writing style changes.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 12th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Level of Realism:
Score 10 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 10 out of 10

My husband bought me Fifty Shades of Grey because he had heard so much about it. I had never heard of it. I must have been living under a rock as it is a bestseller and everyone seems to know about it.

It is definitely an adult's book due to the very detailed sexual content. It opened my eyes to a whole other world. I certainly wouldn't give it to a teenager to read.

Each night once the kids had gone to bed I raced to do my chores so I could read. Once I started reading it I couldn't stop. I have had a couple of very late nights as a result. It was easy reading but was so compelling. I found myself constantly thinking about the relationship of the two lead characters.

This book has done wonders for my libido and my husband certainly isn't complaining about that. I have already bought the other two titles in the trilogy and can't wait to read them.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 12th of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Level of Realism:
Score 8 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 1 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 10 out of 10

Wow, i have a love/hate relationship with this book. I only discovered this series late last week, and i purchased on my Kindle for around $10.00. Immediately i began to read and by the end of that night i was 25% though the book. I was hooked. E L James is a TV producer, and the story has developed from fan fiction from Twilight. I have never read Twilight, but there are no vampires in this.

The plot traced the relationship of recent graduate Ana and billionaire Christian Grey though a very dis-functional, full on and unusual relationship. Grey is into BDSM and there are many erotic scenes in the book - not at all for the faint hearted. Once i was into the book, I can see why so many copies have sold and why there is so much controversy over it! Shesh!!

Near the end, i got a bit frustrated as the story seemed to lull out, and there appeared no great resolution. The last 10% of the book really kicks in, and leaves you needing more of this intense book. I read this book in 3 days, so very easy to sit and get lost in!

I couldn't and wouldn't read it again, its very intense and once is more than enough. But i will be buying 50 Shades Darker, the second book in the trilogy - just to see what happens.

I commend E L James on this book - its been such a sensation and i am pleased to say i have read it, rated it and hated it! But it provided much need light, if you can call it that reading!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 5698: Secret Agent Derek 'Danger' Dale: The Case of Animals Behaving Really, REALLY Badly -  Author: Michael Gerard Bauer

Product image for Secret Agent Derek 'Danger' Dale: The Case of Animals Behaving Really, REALLY BadlyIt's the biggest case Secret Agents R Definitely NOT Us have ever seen. Wild animals are turning to a life of crime and it's all the work of evil Doctor Evil MacEvilness.

Can Secret Agent Derek 'Danger' Dale outwit a criminal mastermind, escape the clutches of the four most deadly creatures on the planet and save the world's biggest diamond? Extreeeeeeeemely unlikely!

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why did Kamikaze pilots wear helmets?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream