Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 16th July 2019 - 12:53:01

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Pickapeppa Gingery Mango Sauce review

« Pickapeppa Hot Pepper Sauce reviewPickapeppa Hot Pepper SaucePickapeppa Spicy Mango Sauce reviewPickapeppa Spicy Mango Sauce »

Score: 9.3/10  [7 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 2678 - Pickapeppa Gingery Mango Sauce
Produced by Pickapeppa

Pickapeppa Gingery Mango Sauce
Price:
$5.95
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by West Indies Spice Traders

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected retailers

Pickapeppa Gingery Mango Sauce product reviews

Deliciously tangy blend of mangos and ginger... just enough to get your taste buds dancing.

Check out West Indies Spice Traders onlineClick here to see all the listings for West Indies Spice Traders Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
garlic   ginger   jamaica   mango   onion   raisins   sauce   spice   spicy   vinegar
Other listings you may be interested in:
GEM Country Chicken and Leek PieGEM Country Chicken and Leek Pie
Rating: 9.0
Pickapeppa Hot Pepper SaucePickapeppa Hot Pepper Sauce
Rating: 8.5
Frankton Heat Hot SauceFrankton Heat Hot Sauce
Rating: 9.2
Turkish Calzone - Deli MeatsTurkish Calzone - Deli Meats
Rating: 8.4
Pickapeppa SaucePickapeppa Sauce
Rating: 9.7
Loaf Mini-Bites - Lolly BitesLoaf Mini-Bites - Lolly Bites
Rating: 9.4
Old El Paso Mexican Sour Cream ToppingOld El Paso Mexican Sour Cream Topping
Rating: 1.5
Pickapeppa Hot Mango SaucePickapeppa Hot Mango Sauce
Rating: 8.9
Pickapeppa Spicy Mango SaucePickapeppa Spicy Mango Sauce
Rating: 9.5
Tasty Pot Soup - Good Soup for a Bad DayTasty Pot Soup - Good Soup for a Bad Day
Rating: 7.7
Tegel Cuisine Chicken KievTegel Cuisine Chicken Kiev
Rating: 9.0
Alexandra's Quinoa - White Bean & CranberryAlexandra's Quinoa - White Bean & Cranberry
Rating: 8.9
Ciabatta Fold with Fresh Garlic ButterCiabatta Fold with Fresh Garlic Butter
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of sgt.shultz

Review by: sgt.shultz (Andrew)
Dated: 1st of December, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

After trying other sauces in this range I had to remind myself that this wasn't going to burn my mouth beyond hope of repair. I decided to try this in a stir-fry - I know, how original huh? But before I added this sauce my wife had already added a standard 'off the shelf' sauce, so I tried it before adding this product and got the usual boring results, I then added the gingery mango sauce, stirred it through and recommenced eating the meal. The difference was instantly noticeable, the amount of flavour was wonderful and made even the smallest morsel of food tasty,the taste of mango came through nicely and added that fruity sweet taste to the meal which, when I had finished, left me wanting more. It certainly put to shame the other sauce that the others had to settle for and will definitely be used again.

Click here to read the profile of diogenes

Review by: diogenes (Rob)
Dated: 10th of November, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I wasn't sure I would like the Gingery Mango sauce. I mean, no chillie? What was the point of a sauce without chillie?

I hasten to say I was proven wrong yet again. And not only that, I found another one SWMBO (she who must be obeyed) would like too. And my daughter, which surprised me further.

This sauce gives a different heat and spice when compared with anything with the chillie in it. There is a great warmth that is masterly balanced with the sweetness of the mango. The Mango adds the yin, to the ginger's yang. There is tanginess that adds a host of notes to any dish. I have had this on toast or crumpets (odd, I guess. But I love it) and added to stir fried dishes. I can thoroughly recommend its use in stir-fry dishes in place of bog-standard sweet chillie sauce. It raises a dish from the standard to the sublime.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 5th of November, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This has to be one of the nicest sauces I have come across. The bottles in comparison to other sauces available are slightly smaller, however I dont think you need to use quite as much as you normally would.
The labels are not hugely appealing, if not somewhat faded looking, which makes you wonder if the contents will be a bit boring like the label, but this is not the case at all.
The flavour is absolutely divine and the price is well within budget.
Consistency and smell to are yum and very appealing, unlike some sauces where the smell can instantly turn ones stomach.
Definitely worth it in my opinion and further more even our children loved this one (aged 4-10yrs)

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 14th of October, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

This was a really pleasant alternative that I probably would not have given a second glance at as I walked the supermarket shelves - mainly because the label is deceptively bland - something you could NOT justifiably accuse the contents of being.
The strong ginger flavour really seemed to poke through the spice for me, giving it a delightful tang that offset the sweetness of the mango perfectly. Though I am not a great fan of ginger in any form outside of baked goods (try adding some freshly grated ginger to your next fruitcake recipe, if it doesn't include it already) this was something utterly inspiring.
After trying it on pork, steak and on toast under a portion of savoury mince, I made it into a range of dips and spreads using things like cottage cheese, cream cheese, reduced cream, etc. It also made a really nice sandwich-spread when mixed with some tuna and finely grated tasty cheese.
All in all, this is something you really should try, even if only once. It's not that expensive, and if you can't find it in your local store, it's worth checking the official website for details. You can even email the boss there and he'll let you know your nearest retailer, or send you some direct if you mention you read about it here. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 12th of October, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Ohhhh this one is a real yummy one, two great accompanying flavours mixed together in a delightfully tasting sauce.

This one almost reminds me of a slightly tangy mango chutney without the chunks, in fact it went really well with a nice serving of corned silverside. Or even with some cold roast beef or lamb sandwiches Smile Icon

I just can't get enough of these sauces and this is yet another one that will make it's way onto the shopping list.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 19th of September, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Another great, versatile sauce with a stunning fruity-spicy flavour that leaps up and down on your tastebuds screaming "YOU LIKE ME, JUST ADMIT IT!"

Not usually a great fan of ginger except in baking, but this was a really tasty exception! It transformed into something wonderful when mixed with any of the following: cream cheese, mayonnaise or tartare sauce.

This one really took me surprise when I added a layer of it to some pan-fried toasted ham-cheese-pineapple sandwiches... it really added a delightful, fruity, spicy kick that complimented the sweetness of the pineapple and 'umami' of the champagne ham.

Overall, another 'almost perfect 10' because, though I adore this sauce, it simply didn't quite beat out the 'Spicy Mango Sauce', and it's still hard to find in bigger chainstores - probably because of the restrictive mark-ups such stores demand.

Click here to read the profile of knightwolf

Review by: knightwolf (Mark)
Dated: 17th of September, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Beautiful, just beautiful!
What else is there to say? This sauce has a wonderful taste that makes you believe it's a hot sauce, but without the heat.
My partner(who won't eat hot sauce) likes it too.
This sauce has a nice, clean, fruity taste with just a hint of spice from the ginger that really brings out the flavours of whatever it has been added to.
Recommend mixing with cream cheese for an excellent different dip experience.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.0
Product reviews for listing 8271: Texas Mesquite Smoked Cheese -  Brand - Texas BBQ Foods

Product image for Texas Mesquite Smoked CheeseWe take real NZ cheese and smoke it with mesquite. This gives it a true smoky flavour with a lovely sweet finish. It is perfect paired with crackers and is delicious in cooking, particularly in mashed potato, potato bake and many other dishes. This is the real deal. Beware of imitations!

Ingredients
Milk, Salt, Cultures, Enzyme (non-animal rennet). Contains ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Sometimes only those who love you can tell you what you need to hear, instead of what you want to hear."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream